April 18, 2024, 01:36:03 AM

Should T&T add a toll booth to the highway.

No
6 (40%)
Yes
7 (46.7%)
Give it a try
2 (13.3%)

Total Members Voted: 15

Author Topic: Traffic & Accident Thread  (Read 94390 times)

Re: What happened to the Aranjuez Crash Thread?
« Reply #30 on: June 02, 2007, 09:14:04 PM »
Sorry to hear that boss.
I didn't mean to ask about the thread to cause pain, but I thought that there was a lively, thoughtful and necessary discussion about the madness that takes place on our roads every day.
condolences to the friends and families who have lost loved ones.

nah doh study it... im ok.

Traffic in T&T Thread.
« Reply #31 on: October 21, 2007, 07:24:04 AM »
Traffic jam ‘agoraphobia ’ crippling motorists
By DENISE BALGOBIN Sunday, October 21 2007

Commuters have resorted to car-pooling, taking public transportation and leaving their vehicles at home, all in a bid to get away from the chronic traffic congestion which begins before 6 am every day choking off movement into and out of the city.

Many businesses have difficulty in operating properly, since employees as well as owners often arrive later than scheduled opening times, mainly due to uncontrollable traffic and transport issues.

Within the last year, almost every day, there are lines of cars from as far as Charlieville in Central, Curepe Junction in the East and the National Stadium from the West, at any given time during the day. Previously, the traffic was mainly around peak hours, but this has definitely changed.

Purchasing a vehicle is considered a sign of upward social mobility, but it can become frustrating when monthly instalments have to be made, yet you are unable to enjoy the luxury of a peaceful ride to get to work without having to face some kind of “road rage” from irate drivers.

So you resort to public transportation, such as a bus or taxi, the latter sometimes being scarce as some drivers are caught in traffic, and others want to take a short break before making another trip, which just results in more stress for the travelling public.

According to Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA) President Gregory Aboud, many members of this organisation live on the East-West corridor, so they have become somewhat “accustomed to” the traffic issues.

“It takes from ten to 30 minutes more to make the same journey than it did just one year ago,” he stated in a telephone interview with Sunday Newsday.

“And any minor mishap, such as a flat tyre or a slow truck has a more drastic effect on the traffic than the authorities realise.

“This worsens when there is any type of accident.”

He said that DOMA is greatly concerned about the traffic signals at Curepe, UWI, Macoya and Trincity, “since these are obviously not programmed to cope with rush hour traffic.

A simple solution would be to programme the signals facing east to allow more west bound traffic in the morning, with the opposite in the afternoon (allowing easy east bound flow).

“What I find utterly ridiculous, considering the volume of East-West traffic, is the functions of the two traffic lights at Valsayn and the one at the Bamboo intersection. At least two of these should be switched off immediately, leaving just one at Valsayn.

“I am sure these minor changes would bring tremendous relief to lots of citizens, whose increasing stress levels are of serious concern.

Lots of our members suffer from loss of man hours, and there is also a high turn-over of employees at many business places, as workers just cannot cope with the time strains.”

What he finds commendable is the issue of traffic making its way onto the political platforms.

“The fact that it has been recognised as an area that needs attention gives us some hope for relief.”

The above issues have inevitably led to an increasingly “stressed out” society, where tempers flare at the slightest provocation.

This is supported by the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturer’s Association (TTMA) President Karen de Montbrun, who said members “are negatively affected by the congestion on our nation’s roads. Every day, thousands of workers spend hours in traffic heading to and from their workplaces.

This leads to frustration, low morale, and a decline in worker productivity. We are pleased that construction work has started on the long awaited Churchill Roosevelt/Uriah Butler Highway Interchange, which, once completed, will bring relief to motorists.

“However, the Association is concerned about another initiative the Government has in train to deal with traffic congestion – the proposed rapid rail project. The Government must explain to the citizens of this country why it is moving full steam ahead with this one alternative without the benefit of a proper study that would show what are the possible alternative options, and which is the best option for this country.

“Implementing a rapid rail system in this country will incur a massive cost – not just in the construction phase, but in its annual operation, and it is therefore imperative that a major investment study be undertaken prior to embarking on such a significant infrastructure development project.”

She added that the “Government’s focus on rail also limits their search for more economical, sustainable alternatives that can be more quickly implemented at less cost and bring relief: eg High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) lanes, better management of traffic and public transportation.”

A random check with TTMA members along the East-West corridor revealed that on average, workers leave their homes at least 45 minutes earlier to get to work on time, and spend an average of 45 minutes to more than one hour in traffic either way.

“Members have reported as much as a 50 percent decline in productivity, and a corresponding decrease in sales.

“Workers are not the only ones adversely affected. It impacts on the cost of doing business for manufacturers, importers and exporters as well.

“Long hours spent in traffic results in goods being delivered late, which can then lead to a drop in customer satisfaction.

“Sales are also declining, as sales people make fewer deliveries and customer visits during the course of the day.

“Traffic congestion delays trucks and thus limits our ability to move goods to and from the ports.

This could result in overtime costs, and increase the cost of doing business thereby making us less competitive,” de Montbrun ended.

“It is no longer enjoyable to drive on our highways and people are reluctant to go to work,” stated Dr Hari D Maharajh, consultant specialist in Psychiatry, Neurology and Family Medicine, and senior lecturer in the Department of Clinical Medicine at Mount Hope, UWI, during an interview with Sunday Newsday.

“Stress is the outcome of demands made on individuals, and can be handled in short doses, but when there is a build up of anxiety, there are obvious negative effects on humans,” he stated.

Describing what he terms a “learned helplessness”, the doctor stated that when individuals are subjected to negative experiences on a regular basis, they eventually learn to adjust to this negativity as a “normal” way of life. “It is difficult then for people to break out of the negative cycle.”

This he said results in deteriorating work performances, chaotic family lives and general personal confusion, with no system available to provide relief.

Dr Maharajh revealed that he had a patient who had a back operation about a year ago.

The individual works in Port-of-Spain and lives in Central, but is reluctant to return to work because of the simple fact that the usually 30-minute trip now takes more than two hours in sweltering traffic.

“Sitting in a vehicle for a long period can cause pains for the average individual, so imagine the pain of someone who has had back surgery.”

Giving an example of an average single mother in her mid-40s with two children having to make the trip on a daily basis, the doctor stated, “After it has taken two hours to get to work, you need a considerable amount of time to rest before you can start to perform your duties.

Then before midday, your boss gets upset and takes it out on you, so you try to cope.

“In the afternoon, you try to beat the peak time traffic to get home to your children, but it still takes almost two hours. Then you get home and try to help two demanding kids with homework, preparing dinner and then the day is over. There is no time for any type of relaxation before you have to get up in the morning to start the routine all over again.

“What quality of life are we building in this country with situations like these that face many citizens?” he asked.

A direct impact of traffic-related stress may be the various types of road rage displayed every day by motorists trying to shorten the trips into the capital.

Those drivers using the shoulders to shave off a few minutes are breaking the law and are often caught by strategically placed traffic cops, but many are able to evade them.

Some motorists get angry when vehicles unceremoniously cut in front of them which is a more than frequent occurrence, but there are also many passengers who are grateful for the time saved by “brave” taxi drivers who practice this.

This, Dr Maharajh described as a lack of respect for others, but “there are some drivers who will do whatever is necessary to get from point A to point B within a certain time frame.

There is a total disruption in the driving habits of many persons, who are mostly silently angry and frustrated by the traffic build up.

“The result is that citizens are generally becoming more abusive, as the tendency is to vent anger on the person next to you. Some people may even resort to alcoholism and even suicide when they cannot find solutions to their stress.

“The traffic congestion is affecting family lives and people’s health. With all these cars on the road, people, especially young children, are constantly exposed to a high level of exhaust fumes from which they can develop several diseases.

“Right now, there are many more persons suffering from symptoms relating to agoraphobia (a panic disorder) than a few years ago as a result of traffic woes.

People are now fearful of getting into cars because of the confined space. How are they supposed to get to work and then function at expected levels?”

According to the current issue of Contact magazine from the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce, ways to alleviate the traffic include designating the Priority Bus Route as an exclusive Rapid Bus Way with synchronised traffic signals; using the third (outer) lane of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway as a high occupancy vehicle lane (with more than two occupants, as defined by Dr Rae Furlonge); establishment of a National Transportation Management Authority, with responsibility for transportation planning and management.

The Chamber conducted research on the quality of life of persons facing the traffic issues and found that: “Only a few firms have implemented flexi-time work options for staff.

The average time spent to and from work on daily basis is about five hours, which for a professional working for $15,000 monthly ($82.50 an hour) translates into about $9,372 lost per month.

“Most families from Central with children going to school in Port-of-Spain leave home between 5.30 and 6 am, with the children sleeping through the entire trip.”

In August this year, Works and Transport Minister Colm Imbert stated that over the past several years, his ministry had done a considerable amount of work in designing a national grid of highways and roads in Trinidad, due to the major headache of traffic congestion during peak hours.

He said that designs were in the advanced stages for roads in different areas of the country, with packages large enough to attract experienced international contractors to complete the works within reasonable time frames.

Work on the long-awaited Uriah Butler Highway/Bamboo interchange is currently underway, which the Government hopes will assist alleviating the traffic bottlenecks which occur during peak rush hour traffic.

« Last Edit: February 16, 2020, 11:02:55 AM by Flex »

Re: Traffic jam ‘agoraphobia ’ crippling motorists
« Reply #32 on: October 21, 2007, 07:27:18 AM »
When i was  back home in May  traffic was backed up from Charlotte street going through the harpe all the way past Belmont intermediate!!!! and it was at a stand still... :o

« Reply #33 on: October 21, 2007, 07:40:30 AM »
Commuters have resorted to car-pooling, taking public transportation and leaving their vehicles at home, all in a bid to get away from the chronic traffic congestion which begins before 6 am every day choking off movement into and out of the city.
Eh nutten wrong wit takin dem measures, but traffic is relly one of de top problems in de country. I tink is ah combination of poor planning and political assholeness dat responsible for de level of gridlock dat exists.

« Reply #34 on: October 21, 2007, 02:49:49 PM »
Leaving work in Maraval at 4:30 pm on dey dot.
round sey savannah, take the Lady Young Road, cut across by that road where Neal and Massy is, end up in front Fernandes Compound, drive like ah maxi taxi driver, continue down the main road until you reach Curepe Junction. Cut across on dey southern main Road - 5:10 pm

Leave work in Maraval at 4:30 pm on dey dot.
You take Wrightson Road to dey highway straight down to southern main road - 6:45 p.m

:-\

problem is too much cars in TnT

« Reply #35 on: October 21, 2007, 04:30:22 PM »
the traffic in trinidad really getting worse and worse...anytime of the day is serious traffic on Wrighston Road. The funny thing to me is wen i in de north i stuck in it. In south i never really get catch in traffic for too long. There is always some alternative route/ backroad i kno to avoid most of it. Unfortunately i either doh have that kinda knowledge for de north or there just arent many alternative routes to one destination.
Doh even speak for those poor souls who hadda drive into diego on an afternoon..I do dat once and say never again.
Luckily is not often i hadda deal with the rush hour traffic heading north. Usually when i heading up north is after work done in south so i heading against the major traffic for most of the way. The only time i was real scared was wen my father had chest pains and we had to go up to westshore in rush hour in the morning. Really wasnt the smartest idea at the time cuz little did we kno he had a heart attack, if anything had happen in traffic we would have been stuck. Luckily made it up to westshore without anything further happening.

« Reply #36 on: October 21, 2007, 05:51:25 PM »
Doh even speak for those poor souls who hadda drive into diego on an afternoon..I do dat once and say never again.
yeah, last year I get ketch in dat...from st. james to west moorings did take real long  :o....is a good thing i wasnt goin blue range. ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #37 on: October 21, 2007, 06:12:22 PM »
Village landscape with a million cars?  This fackin foreign use shit cause all this damn trouble.  4-5 cars per household.  Anyway, this nice thing is they still driving fast and killing themselves on the small roads..Please continue to do so, traffic go ease up in about 22 years.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #38 on: October 22, 2007, 09:49:34 AM »
Trinis love their cars !
I used have a motorbike in Trinidad when I come back I getting myself a scooter !

« Reply #39 on: October 22, 2007, 11:26:37 AM »
The funny thing to me is wen i in de north i stuck in it. In south i never really get catch in traffic for too long.

The problem is that the entire country descends on POS every morning and leaves in the afternoon.
Major employers like the gov't should spread offices around the country.
Provide incentives for companies who set up offices in other parts of the country.
Tax breaks for one.

« Reply #40 on: October 22, 2007, 12:24:57 PM »
Peong I agree with you and Dr Rat.

With Rat:
There is just too many cars in Trinidad.
Doesn't matter how much road ways they design, train or ferry the government implement to help with the commut from east to west/north to south, once the don't deal with the foreign used vehicle market that is so huge and rampant in TnT nothing else would work.

Imagine there are 3 member familes with 3 cars in the yard. Nobody knows about car "pooling"....dat ah foreign word in Trinidad.

It has reached the stage that it takes hours to get from POS to Trincity on a normal week day. There is nothing name "rush" hour anymore. Rush hour starts from 5 am to 8 pm per day.

With Peong
You say you leaving the car home and taking ah maxi on the bus route to work...To get out of POS on afternoons via the bus route (maxi taxi) requires extra strength to push and determination that you reaching home at ah reasonable time....Fen for yaself because is you and 75% of Trinidad working in POS and reel close environs.

Major problems:
1. All major government buildings are in POS
2. All major advertising offices are in POS/Maraval
3. All major financial institutions are in POS
4. All major hotel industry is in POS, St Anns and Chaguaramas
5. All major head office Insurance companies are in POS
6. All major head offices are in POS.
7. All major media companies are in POS

Ah miss anybody out ???...oh wait where all those massive tall buildings going up? Not in POS ?
When ya ass dead on dey road, where ya ending up ? Not in POS morgue?

Is only dey major doubles people in dey EAST  :devil:  (shhhh Central people)

Everything major is in the West part of Trinidad.....why ???

« Reply #41 on: October 22, 2007, 11:28:08 PM »
de smartest, cutest, brightest most accomplished trinis live in the Wst,,what canI say.

Wise men come from de east..de doh stay dey!

« Reply #42 on: October 23, 2007, 02:42:09 AM »
de smartest, cutest, brightest most accomplished trinis live in the Wst,,what canI say.

One Wise Man here ;D
but I must say, my time in 'Gustine was good.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #43 on: October 23, 2007, 07:54:32 AM »

and people would steups and maybe cuss ya when ya make that statement
but you are correct.....

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #44 on: October 23, 2007, 10:59:03 AM »
..what the donkey picture man fail to mention is that the west also have plenty bullas and many who feel they more superior in terms of skin color.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #45 on: October 23, 2007, 11:09:55 AM »
the west also have plenty bullas and many who feel they more superior in terms of skin color.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :devil:
« Last Edit: October 23, 2007, 11:11:48 AM by WestCoast »

Ministry goes online with visual traffic Web site
« Reply #46 on: November 01, 2007, 09:03:13 AM »
Ministry goes online with visual traffic Web site
By Rhonda Krystal Rambally(Trinidad Guardian)

MOTORISTS using the main highways will soon be able to log on to the Ministry of Works and Transport Web site to see how much or how little traffic they may encounter before arriving at their destinations.

Line minister Colm Imbert said commuters and drivers would be able to log on to the Web site (www.mowt.gov.tt) and monitor the traffic before leaving their homes.

This initiative will come into effect over the next 12-18 months.

Speaking at the official launch of the facility yesterday at the ministry’s head office in Port-of-Spain Imbert said: “This Web site is the arrival of visual technology to the Ministry of Works and Transport.”

He said people with Internet capability could access information about the functions, responsibilities, projects and programmes carried out by the ministry.

He also said people could submit requests about road works and repairs, which he hoped would reduce the “couple thousands” of letters the ministry received each month.

He said the Web site was customer friendly, and easy to use with accurate and up-to-date information.

Imbert added: “Let’s make the ministry’s Web site the best Web site within the public domain.”

Touching on the East/West Corridor Transportation Project, Navin Ramsingh, project manager, said the prime objective of the project was to improve the capacity of the corridor system to alleviate the traffic congestion which exists during peak hours.

Ramsingh said plans for the Traffic Surveillance and Control System (TSCS) and a National Traffic Management System (NTMS) are to be expected soon.

« Reply #47 on: November 01, 2007, 12:22:57 PM »
This is not useful if there is traffic everywhere.
But if ppl spending time on a PC then they not on the road, hence less traffic.
Brilliant strategy!
Until they make it available as a mobile app.
Then is back to square 1.

« Reply #48 on: November 01, 2007, 12:49:22 PM »
see how Trinis smart eh

so ah living in dey east and i hafta go to work in dey west for 8am
ah get up bout 5am, log on on dey computer on dey visual traffic Web site, scan and realized dey traffic start on dey highway already, because dem who living Grande and Arima on dey road already....dem leave dey house bout half pass 4 - quarter to 5.

now i log on, and bout 5000 people log on dey same time. all of we figure out since dey highway have traffic, we might as well go on dey main road.
so dat means, 5000 ah we, plus dey maxi taxis who stoppin every 3 minutes because nobody want to walk ah little distance to dey destination, dey PH taxis who have to stop AFTER dey red light tun green, plus dey other 10,000 main road regulars on dey main road....

ah gone...

if dey bilnking government would put ah hold on all dem fly by night foreign used vehicle business that popping up in everybody back yard, all this shit bout traffic go stop.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 12:52:16 PM by Maharajin »

« Reply #49 on: November 01, 2007, 01:21:59 PM »
All yuh eh get de latest.....

Ah man shoot ah next one by Jean Pierre Complex over ah bad drive....

de bad drive apparently start somewhere along de Audrey Jeffers coming into POS....so the man who get de bad drive mus be retaliate (with some choice words) den dey apparently start to race each other till dey reach Jean Pierre.....

De bad drivee come out he car to confront de bad driver and next thing I hear de bad driver buss ah gun in de man tail yes.....true story....no lie....

Talk bout de wild, wild west....

« Reply #50 on: November 01, 2007, 01:24:07 PM »
well this is the high of it....
he dead ???

and ah sure brownsugar, this would become the norm. ya know how we like to follow fashion the wrong things eh....steups

« Reply #51 on: November 01, 2007, 02:35:13 PM »
He had pick up a "boulder" and then the bad driver shot him in the chest.  Police had block off that small street that fork off of Wrightson road from the lights by the Port Entrance by Ana Street to the light right by the Jean Pierre....guess it was more than an accident.   :-\

People in traffic for hours a day plus our bad driving habits.  And it getting dark 6pm so imagine reaching home in darkness everyday....hell some people leaving home in darkness too.  dat have to affect some of them.

But I find the buses we have not bad....just people don't know anything about them and the lines in City Gate is be real long.  That site supposed to have info on the bus but that have a stigma from long time.

edit:  just look at the Diego schedule and it is one per hour...dat is useless.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 03:11:51 PM by dcs »

« Reply #52 on: November 01, 2007, 03:29:38 PM »
..what the donkey picture man fail to mention is that the west also have plenty bullas and many who feel they more superior in terms of skin color.

Not my fault de COrPse man name john bull some ah allyuh from elsewhere.

He might be ah buller but he still smart.

How yuh bamsee doing?

By the way according to stats comiled by the UNC-A, de South is ah haven fuh bullers!

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #53 on: November 01, 2007, 04:28:15 PM »

Not my fault de COrPse man name john bull some ah allyuh from elsewhere.

He might be ah buller but he still smart.

How yuh bamsee doing?

By the way according to stats comiled by the UNC-A, de South is ah haven fuh bullers!

Thanks Donkey-man!
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #54 on: November 01, 2007, 06:32:45 PM »
ah say ah hadda come back online and give ya dis one.
i just got off dey phone with one of my friends living on Ana Street woodbrook.
working CGA in Laventille.

hear part of dey conversation:

phone ring and she have caller ID on dey cell

she: in ah ruff voice "WHAT?"
me: so evening, ah hear allyuh have traffic.
she: <long pause> deeeeese facking people, since facking 4 o clock ah leave facking Laventille. Girl hear meh nah, trinidadians reel facking dotish you hear.
me: (watching dey clock dat saying 8 oclock) so where you right now ?
she: infront ah facking Powegen nah.
me: so wait nah, you aint' reaching home before 9 oclock (ah chookin fire), so what taking place now ?
she: i doh know what happening, but somebody get in some accident, and ya not hearin nothing on dey 7 oclock news but ah want to pee bad.

me: well hear dey run down.
she: dese facking people stupid yes....

all i hear is "if dat facking clunt think he hittin meh bumper today he lie"
me: call meh when ya reach home eh - den ah processed to give she some ole talk bout somebody else....blah blahblah

ah going and call she back bout 10pm
« Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 06:36:58 PM by Maharajin »

« Reply #55 on: November 01, 2007, 09:05:48 PM »

If she now reach home she just in time to hear Imbert parroting about the wonderful work they have done for transportation and the "air conditioned" train they building   :rotfl:

« Reply #56 on: November 01, 2007, 10:23:29 PM »

If she now reach home she just in time to hear Imbert parroting about the wonderful work they have done for transportation and the "air conditioned" train they building   :rotfl:

Every industrialized nation in the world had rail.  we want it again.

What is yuh problem with dat?

Or de COrPse have ah better idea ent?

Donkey cart!

« Reply #57 on: November 01, 2007, 11:02:11 PM »
allyuh doh watch dey time...ah cyah sleep :-\

dcs ah didn't call her back nah...ah was fraid ah get cuss for living aboard.
So wait, they going to have train together with maxi taxi on dey bus route, PH taxi, taxi, PTSC bus, maxi taxi on dey main road PLUS you with ah car - all of that for ah little island ??? 
OR
are they planning on discontinuing maxi taxis on the bus route or infact PTSC buses?....if dat happen, plenty young boys and dey conductor will be unemployed eh. If dem know what good for them, hopefully somebody go whisper in dey ear to go learn to drive locomotive.

see how dem smart...steups

jus now allyuh getting subway - but ay ay ::)

CHECK DEY LATEST BOUT THIS SHOOTING....we reach were we going :-\

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news12.html

« Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 11:09:23 PM by Maharajin »

« Reply #58 on: November 02, 2007, 05:27:43 AM »
I did a project on this topic in school. First off...there is no way that road construction can keep up with the rate of purchase of vehicles coming in..unless the vehicular population is regulated. The only way that the vehicle population can be willingly regulated is by providing alternate means of transportation, REGULARLY and EFFICIENTLY. Singapore has a world renowned traffic management system, their square area is six times smaller than ours, with 4 times our population. Yet traffic is virtually non existant. They have a car to person ratio of 1:9...while we with a smaller population have a car to person ratio of 1:9. Meausures implemented included quota system, tolling and efficient public transportation. Problem is...it also requires public discipline....and we know how abundant that is here.

Take a read here
http://www.adb.org/Documents/Events/2002/RETA5937/Manila/downloads/tp_15B_menon.PDF

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #59 on: November 02, 2007, 05:37:18 AM »
Bourbon, I eh bothering with people who only looking for an excuse to bash progress in T&T simply because they are tribal and supporting their party!

others jes like sheep...blindly following bleating away, although in between the sheep are some braying jackasses!