2 (4.3%)
Carlos Edwards
6 (13%)
Cornell Glen
4 (8.7%)
None
10 (21.7%)

Total Members Voted: 46

Author Topic: Who should wear #10 for T&T allyuh ?  (Read 9659 times)

Re: Who should wear #10 for T&T allyuh ?
« Reply #30 on: January 11, 2008, 10:57:34 AM »
I think that number in the context of the T&T senior men's football team should be retired.  Number 10 in T&T football will always be synonymous with Russell Latapy and it would be one of several fitting tributes to the GREAT MAN.

finally something we can agree on  ::)

« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2008, 10:59:32 AM »
I think that number in the context of the T&T senior men's football team should be retired.  Number 10 in T&T football will always be synonymous with Russell Latapy and it would be one of several fitting tributes to the GREAT MAN.

Wha yuh torkin bout sah?  Ent we agree on white woman too?  ::)

« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2008, 11:02:37 AM »

YUM!

« Reply #33 on: January 11, 2008, 11:23:11 AM »
YUM!
Jumbie, I feel de only time you go get dat dese days is when you go Swiss Chalet ;D ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #34 on: January 12, 2008, 05:09:20 PM »
When 1 ah Latas son play 4 oui

« Reply #35 on: January 12, 2008, 05:20:27 PM »
Nobody, plain talk bad manners

« Reply #36 on: January 12, 2008, 07:50:34 PM »
In today's football.....#10 is really just a number.

Lower St John is totally correct with his post.

Therfore, seeing that the significance of #10 has "devalued" somewhat in today's football environment, I think that number in the context of the T&T senior men's football team should be retired.  Number 10 in T&T football will always be synonymous with Russell Latapy and it would be one of several fitting tributes to the GREAT MAN.
Agreed here. I going through a tabanca everytime I see somebody call DE GENERAL, THE ONE, THE GREAT, DE MAESTRO OF CARIBBEAN FOOTBALL, DE LEGEND OF CARIBBEAN FOOTBALL, RUSSELL LATAPY

Offline Coach

« Reply #37 on: January 12, 2008, 11:06:16 PM »
#10 are usually the player on your team that puts the ball in the back of the net, Pele, Maradona etc..

Jones is young, has the potential, so by giving him the #10 can only boost his confidence plus he is recognize as a good striker in one of the world top leagues.

« Reply #38 on: January 13, 2008, 02:51:53 AM »

Answer these questions.
Does the coach allocate numbers?
And if so how ?
Starting from the keeper as 1 and so on ?
Players that get dropped, do their numbers automatically go to the replacements ?
If a player is out of the squad because of retirement and a new player takes his number then the player turns around and comes out of retirement, how does he get back that number even if the new player is in the squad also ?

How significant is a number to a player from your own playing experience ?

To me if a player gets a number and holds on to his place in the team and performs like the magician then the public makes that number synonymous with him but if a next player dons the same number it is of no significance until the player becomes a top performer , then the number and player become 1.

« Reply #39 on: January 13, 2008, 04:12:07 AM »
Nobody on that team is worthy of the number 10 jersey

« Reply #40 on: January 13, 2008, 09:55:40 AM »
I sure dat even amongst the national players, men does be hesitant to wear d #10 simply cause of d calibre of players who don it before dem and surely dey know it will be a comparison once dey walk on the field. I think in the last campaign before latas came back d 10 shirt was worn by both Scotland and Samuel. I think that d players should leave it alone but of course once you qualify for a fifa tourney your squad must be from 1 - 23 so somebody have to wear it. Dey may as well get used to wearing it whoever gets the nod for it.

If the rocket can transpose some of the club form onto the national stage. He will bring about a joy that we will be familiar with and nobody will begrudge him the shirt.

« Reply #41 on: January 13, 2008, 11:11:25 AM »
It is good that Latapy is still well respected. I am however concerned that we haven't produced any player who can realistically aspire to become as technically proficient as L10. We are yet to produce another playmaker of International repute.

In a few years perhaps a Leston Paul could make that quantum leap.

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #42 on: January 13, 2008, 01:16:47 PM »
i would say cornell glenn for number 10

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #43 on: January 13, 2008, 04:44:40 PM »
thats should be between glen and jones 9 or 10...glen 9 jones 10?glen 10 jones 9?

Offline madness1969

« Reply #44 on: January 14, 2008, 08:27:13 AM »
why u wasting time with glen. glen hasn't been playing in any high level leagues right now. i would like to have kj - 10, scotland-9(14 goals in his team)

« Reply #45 on: January 14, 2008, 01:04:52 PM »
#10 is ah set up number for hard tackle now. Retire tha number please...because we will never have another Latas.

« Reply #46 on: January 14, 2008, 01:20:37 PM »
7 was always a winger number.

It also used tuh be reserved fuh de midfield general.
I could only think of George Best being both as he was general anywhere on the field .

« Reply #47 on: January 14, 2008, 01:22:42 PM »
Jah Goal....dat born so

« Reply #48 on: January 14, 2008, 01:24:25 PM »
With the local talent scouts that we have I would wait on Maturana to discover that player...yorke could not play with latapy on de same team, rougier was a defender, Jones was a defender ...Theobald is a super player .....

« Reply #49 on: January 14, 2008, 01:26:48 PM »
  When i went to print the shirts for a team i worked with....i printed no 10, 13 , 2  and 4...

« Reply #50 on: January 14, 2008, 01:44:44 PM »
Wid due respect tuh KJ and Edwards, nobody eh deserve tuh wear dat shirt right now nah. Wid de wau how KJ playing and de direction he seem tuh be going, ah wud sau KJ. However, ah know some wud say dat he doh play dat central midfield position, so on ah different note. KJ should be wearing de no 9 fuh sure and we all know who si 14, dat doh change. Any way ah vote fuh Edwards as de no 10, he does play on de wings, but he is de only midfield player dat cud wear dat right now, and doh make dem commentators laugh at we T&T team. Wid dat said, it is not too late fuh Hardest tuh tuh ketch he self and stand up and represent, if he does, dat is we no 10 without a doubt. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #51 on: October 24, 2017, 09:31:35 AM »
We need to retire the number 10 shirt.