April 29, 2024, 10:07:43 AM

Author Topic: Santos double powers Japan over Trinidad.  (Read 4732 times)

Santos double powers Japan over Trinidad.
« on: August 09, 2006, 07:27:03 AM »
Santos double powers Japan over Trinidad.[/size]

TOKYO (AFP) - Japan won its first game under new coach Ivica Osim, with Brazilian-born Alessandro Santos scoring twice early to sink Trinidad and Tobago in a friendly 2-0. Japan won a free kick outside of the penalty area on just 17 minutes, and Santos opened his account with a left-footer that curled into the Trinidad goal.
He found the net again five minutes later, gently touching a Yuichi Komano pass for a fabulous looping shot that flew over goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, thrilling the crowd at National Stadium.
The young home side looked comfortable against the visitors, staging solid defense and sending sharp passes to frontline wingers on both sides and to strikers Kazuki Ganaha and Tatsuya Tanaka. Five of Japan's starters were making their national team debut, with six more fresh faces in a first appearance as reserves.
Osim did not call home Europe-based stars for the match, which served as a warm-up for Japan's home Asian Cup qualifier against Yemen next week.
Despite sudden heavy rain that swept the pitch in the second half, Japan kept up their offensive and threatened again on 77 minutes, when striker Hisato Sato narrowly misfiring on a Santos rebound.
The Caribbean side, who became the smallest nation ever to feature at a World Cup finals in Germany, struggled to find their rhythm and struggled to get through the Japanese defense. But in all fairness Trinidad and Tobago they did field a very in-experience team as their coach Wim Rijsbergen was un-able to get any European based players to join their team, so he had to settle for locally based players plus 5 debutant as well.
The visitors failed to benefit from several free kick opportunities, including on a miscue on the 20th minute by Japanese goalkeeper Yoshikatu Kawaguchi. Trinidad striker Gary Glasgow repeatedly dashed toward the right side corner but seldom succeeded in sending crosses.

Line-Up.

Trinidad & Tobago[/b]

Jan Michael Williams, Atiba Charles, Keyeno Thomas (Ian Gray 78th), Avery John, Clyde Leon, Cyd Gray (capt), Stephan David (Kerry Baptiste), Evans Wise, Trent Noel, Anthony Wolfe (Kendall Jagdeosingh 75th), Gary Glasgow (Andre Pacheco 90th).

Japan

Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi, Keisuke Tsuboi (Kurihara 60th), Tulio Tanaka, Alessandro Santos, Yuichi Komano, Tatsuya Tanaka, Keita Suzuki, Koji Yamase (Daigo Kobayashi 55th), Hayuma Tanaka, Makoto Hasebe (Naoshi Nakamura 73), (Daisuke Sakata 85th), Kazuki Ganaha (Hisato Sato).
« Last Edit: August 09, 2006, 07:57:47 AM by Flex »

Re: Santos double powers Japan over Trinidad.
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2006, 07:29:02 AM »
take meh boy kendal quite japan fuh ah cobo sweat

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2006, 07:32:10 AM »
take meh boy kendal quite japan fuh ah cobo sweat

Yuh think kendall sweat was ah cobo sweat,what about pacheco,madness bringing ah man on in the 90th minute...........   

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2006, 07:57:28 AM »
This was always going to about exposure. We need to give these fellas a feel for what international football is like. I don't expect us to start getting results any time soon. We had the oldest team at the world cup and now it's time to rebuild the squad. If that means losing for a while I don't mind that.

« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2006, 08:08:35 AM »
Santos double powers Japan over Trinidad.[/size]

TOKYO (AFP) -

The visitors failed to benefit from several free kick opportunities, including on a miscue on the 20th minute by Japanese goalkeeper Yoshikatu Kawaguchi. Trinidad striker Gary Glasgow repeatedly dashed toward the right side corner but seldom succeeded in sending crosses.

We could have used josh johnson here and we need a free kick specialist fuh the next world cup
« Last Edit: August 09, 2006, 08:13:40 AM by triniman »

« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2006, 08:12:42 AM »
....de hell is dis?? allyuh men AFTER-COACHIN again???

We played with a B squad ,that new to each other with zero international exposure and SERIOUS jet lag....against a ranked team that is tuning up for a big tounament

What exactly men was expecting?

« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2006, 08:14:04 AM »

We played with a B squad ,that new to each other with zero international exposure and SERIOUS jet lag....against a ranked team that is tuning up for a big tounament

me eh bad talking anything doh get it wrong

« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2006, 08:16:21 AM »

we was supposed to win 8-0..............lol

« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2006, 08:20:38 AM »

we was supposed to win 8-0..............lol

Nah....12....if stern was dey.....plus a live spanner seminar.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2006, 08:28:43 AM »
Well...some people did say dat we didn't pick we best 23 to go world cup and it had better players who remain at home.

Guess Hardest and Dwarika woulda make a difference.

Eeedah dat or some maybe now findin out there is a HUGE difference between club ballas and INTERNATIONAL ballas.

De exposure fuh we home based talent is excellent.  But jes goes to show.  We had bout 8 men from we top team in de PFL in dis side and from de match reports (because me eh see nutting)...we struggle mightily and didn't create a decent chance.  I for one not surprised.  As a man say..dis game would give we a good indicator of how we PFL stack up aganst de J League.  Based on this result and display....we not in de same area code at de moment and to me, dat eh really surprising.

I sure we players did their best and hopefully they can learn from the experience and go on to bigger and better things.

« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2006, 08:40:28 AM »
Prior to today's game, here are is the number of senior caps earned by members of the team:

Starting XI
Jan-Michael Williams (4)
Atiba Charles (19)
Keyeno Thomas (43)
Avery John (59)
Clyde Leon (1)
Cyd Gray (41)
Stephan David (0)
Evans Wise (18)
Trent Noel (10)
Anthony Wolfe (4)
Gary Glasgow (40)

Substitutes
Ian Gray (3)
Kerry Baptiste (10)
Kendall Jagdeosingh (0)
Andre Pacheco (0)

« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2006, 08:42:49 AM »
Well...some people did say dat we didn't pick we best 23 to go world cup and it had better players who remain at home.

Eeedah dat or some maybe now findin out there is a HUGE difference between club ballas and INTERNATIONAL ballas.

De exposure fuh we home based talent is excellent.  But jes goes to show.  We had bout 8 men from we top team in de PFL in dis side and from de match reports (because me eh see nutting)...we struggle mightily and didn't create a decent chance.  I for one not surprised.  As a man say..dis game would give we a good indicator of how we PFL stack up aganst de J League.  Based on this result and display....we not in de same area code at de moment and to me, dat eh really surprising.

I sure we players did their best and hopefully they can learn from the experience and go on to bigger and better things.
You've said it all.

« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2006, 08:49:42 AM »

2-0 Japan.

boy 'los ah guess we could also add prognosticator to your job description.... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2006, 08:54:21 AM »
i find the scoreline was decent against a pack opposition home crowd, these fellahs dont play 2gether, dey play against eachother in the pro league, it will take dem some time to adjust playing with one another, the more sessions and practises they have 2gether the better they will get, jagdeo and pacheco shouldnt have been used so late doh, but say wha, dey have more caps tuh get. :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2006, 09:22:44 AM »
Brazilian double defeats new-look T&T.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

A new-look Trinidad and Tobago senior team was not disgraced as it went down 2-0, conceding both goals in the first half to Japan before 50,000 odd fans at the Tokyo National Stadium on Wednesday evening.
With T&T having debutants Clyde Leon and Stephan David in its starting line up along with several other fresh faces, they fell behind to two early goals to Brazilian-born striker Alessandro “Alex.
A free kick was perfectly directed into the right corner past an outstretched Jan Michael Williams from atop the box and then the same player met a pass from Yuichi Komano and neatly lobbed an advancing Williams for goal number two.
With the likes of striker Anthony Wolfe, midfielder Evans Wise and defenders Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray and Avery John carrying the World Cup experience, the “Soca Warriors” had to work hard to match the quick running Japanese but they picked their game up and came away with an improved second half performance which could have easily seen them nick a couple goals.
The home fans were voiceferous throughout the encounter with only a small group of 60 odd Japanese fans choosing to wear the T&T colours and beat some steel pan. The evening’s proceedings was always going to be a worthwhile experience to the T&T players.
Williams had some early work to do as the home side came at the T&T defense and it was not until the 29th minute that Gray had T&T’s first real attempt at goal –a  one time volley which ended on the upper end of the net.
Glasgow then began to find his footing with some decent runs and Wolfe had a feeble effort on goal as both teams went into the half with T&T enjoying the better of the closing five minutes.
Two minutes into the second half, Wolfe tried to meet a left side cross but handled through the goalie Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi.
The small T&T contingent’s chants of “Warriors...Warriors” could be heard behind the southern goal and they thought there was something to cheer when Gray’s inswinging free kick was claimed by the goalie before Keyeno Thomas could connect. A minute later, following a good stop by Williams, T&T broke but Wolfe’s effort was deflected through to Kawaguchi. At that stage, it was evident that the game was being played at a quicker pace and T&T didn’t disappoint as they stuck in there with their tackles and tracking and began enjoying better possession than the first half. A drizzle also dampened the surface a bit and eased some of the easier humidity and with that, the T&T outfit began to enjoy the better run.
Kerry Baptiste replaced David in the 71st minute and played one inside the Glasgow who in turn found Wise out on the left top of the box but his left footed effort flew inches over the cross bar as the closing 20 minutes approached.
Glasgow also managed some trickery on the edge of the box, beating two defenders but his service couldn’t be bettered by substitute Kendall Jagdeosingh nor Wise. Later on Thomas had to be replaced by Ian Gray, going off with a dislocated elbow.
The final whistle came, bringing an end to Rijsbergen’s first game in charge and certainly leaving him with some food for thought ahead of his future outings. Jagdeosingh (20 years), Pacheco (21), David (27), Williams (21), and Leon (22) were among the new faces taking the pitch on the evening.

Line-Up.

Trinidad & Tobago[/b]

Jan Michael Williams, Atiba Charles, Keyeno Thomas (Ian Gray 79th), Avery John, Clyde Leon, Cyd Gray (capt), Stephan David (Kerry Baptiste 71st), Evans Wise, Trent Noel, Anthony Wolfe (Kendall Jagdeosingh 76th), Gary Glasgow (Andre Pacheco 90th).

Japan

Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi, Keisuke Tsuboi (Kurihara 60th), Tulio Tanaka, Alessandro "Alex" Santos, Yuichi Komano, Tatsuya Tanaka, Keita Suzuki, Koji Yamase (Daigo Kobayashi 55th), Hayuma Tanaka, Makoto Hasebe (Naoshi Nakamura 73rd), (Daisuke Sakata 85th), Kazuki Ganaha (Hisato Sato).

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2006, 09:24:19 AM »
we concede two in teh first 25 minutes o f the game.....the problem we use to have at the begining with beenie and eh fixed it for us and we settled down....now we still seeing the same thing im sure whim will fix it and im glad we seeing it so early and agaisnt such oposition

rather fix it now and deal with it ..ah love the experience them boys getting they go be ready for sotuh africa in a timing.......WE HELD JAPAN SCORELESS AFTER FINDING WE LEGS....all we have to do now is go back a bit to the teachings of Beenie about keeping the discipline and not coneeding int the first 30 mins so we can search for a goal...perfect it we these guys who didnt get the chance to learn first hand form DON LEO and we tiket book

VIBES IT UP

« Reply #16 on: August 09, 2006, 09:31:49 AM »
Brazilian double defeats new-look T&T.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

A new-look Trinidad and Tobago senior team was not disgraced as it went down 2-0, conceding both goals in the first half to Japan before 50,000 odd fans at the Tokyo National Stadium on Wednesday evening.
With T&T having debutants Clyde Leon and Stephan David in its starting line up along with several other fresh faces, they fell behind to two early goals to Brazilian-born striker Alessandro “Alex.
A free kick was perfectly directed into the right corner past an outstretched Jan Michael Williams from atop the box and then the same player met a pass from Yuichi Komano and neatly lobbed an advancing Williams for goal number two.
With the likes of striker Anthony Wolfe, midfielder Evans Wise and defenders Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray and Avery John carrying the World Cup experience, the “Soca Warriors” had to work hard to match the quick running Japanese but they picked their game up and came away with an improved second half performance which could have easily seen them nick a couple goals.
The home fans were voiceferous throughout the encounter with only a small group of 60 odd Japanese fans choosing to wear the T&T colours and beat some steel pan. The evening’s proceedings was always going to be a worthwhile experience to the T&T players.
Williams had some early work to do as the home side came at the T&T defense and it was not until the 29th minute that Gray had T&T’s first real attempt at goal –a  one time volley which ended on the upper end of the net.
Glasgow then began to find his footing with some decent runs and Wolfe had a feeble effort on goal as both teams went into the half with T&T enjoying the better of the closing five minutes.
Two minutes into the second half, Wolfe tried to meet a left side cross but handled through the goalie Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi.
The small T&T contingent’s chants of “Warriors...Warriors” could be heard behind the southern goal and they thought there was something to cheer when Gray’s inswinging free kick was claimed by the goalie before Keyeno Thomas could connect. A minute later, following a good stop by Williams, T&T broke but Wolfe’s effort was deflected through to Kawaguchi. At that stage, it was evident that the game was being played at a quicker pace and T&T didn’t disappoint as they stuck in there with their tackles and tracking and began enjoying better possession than the first half. A drizzle also dampened the surface a bit and eased some of the easier humidity and with that, the T&T outfit began to enjoy the better run.
Kerry Baptiste replaced David in the 71st minute and played one inside the Glasgow who in turn found Wise out on the left top of the box but his left footed effort flew inches over the cross bar as the closing 20 minutes approached.
Glasgow also managed some trickery on the edge of the box, beating two defenders but his service couldn’t be bettered by substitute Kendall Jagdeosingh nor Wise. Later on Thomas had to be replaced by Ian Gray, going off with a dislocated elbow.
The final whistle came, bringing an end to Rijsbergen’s first game in charge and certainly leaving him with some food for thought ahead of his future outings. Jagdeosingh (20 years), Pacheco (21), David (27), Williams (21), and Leon (22) were among the new faces taking the pitch on the evening.

Line-Up.

Trinidad & Tobago[/b]

Jan Michael Williams, Atiba Charles, Keyeno Thomas (Ian Gray 79th), Avery John, Clyde Leon, Cyd Gray (capt), Stephan David (Kerry Baptiste 71st), Evans Wise, Trent Noel, Anthony Wolfe (Kendall Jagdeosingh 76th), Gary Glasgow (Andre Pacheco 90th).

Japan

Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi, Keisuke Tsuboi (Kurihara 60th), Tulio Tanaka, Alessandro "Alex" Santos, Yuichi Komano, Tatsuya Tanaka, Keita Suzuki, Koji Yamase (Daigo Kobayashi 55th), Hayuma Tanaka, Makoto Hasebe (Naoshi Nakamura 73rd), (Daisuke Sakata 85th), Kazuki Ganaha (Hisato Sato).

See why Fuentes get a quarter million dollars too  :devil: :devil:

« Reply #17 on: August 09, 2006, 09:49:59 AM »
really not that bad a scoreline for such an inexperienced squad playing away from home.

« Reply #18 on: August 09, 2006, 10:12:32 AM »
i find the scoreline was decent against a pack opposition home crowd, these fellahs dont play 2gether, dey play against eachother in the pro league, it will take dem some time to adjust playing with one another, the more sessions and practises they have 2gether the better they will get, jagdeo and pacheco shouldnt have been used so late doh, but say wha, dey have more caps tuh get. :beermug:

yeah it's a respectable result for a relatively inexperienced team that hasn't trained together...playing away (far far away to boot).......There is a lot of upside potential for us, and that is the way we have to look at it.

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
« Reply #19 on: August 09, 2006, 10:14:36 AM »
i dont agree with you palos.....a full jabloteh side with a new striker or two would probably beat that japan side if they could only muster 2 goals against us. remember that we are playiing away from home and those players have never ever played together.

its sad to hear what happened to keyeno thomas because he is a good defender for jabloteh.

the best central defenders in the pro league are ian gray, keyeno thomas and dexter franklin - they are even better than attiba charles.

« Reply #20 on: August 09, 2006, 10:17:48 AM »
It just shows that the standard in the Pro League ain't that bad if we only get 2. As 4 the man who say that Beenie ain't fix the problem with conceeding early goals. This is the Trini psyche who fix him from eating doubles and reading papers before he start to work.  

« Reply #21 on: August 09, 2006, 11:12:30 AM »
we struggle mightily and didn't create a decent chance.  I for one not surprised.  As a man say..dis game would give we a good indicator of how we PFL stack up aganst de J League.  Based on this result and display....we not in de same area code at de moment and to me, dat eh really surprising.

This is why we need more players to go abroad and play their ball in foreign leagues.  Men used to cry bout why Beenie not picking more local based players, but with planning for the WC he could not take but only the best ones.
Now is time for grooming, and hands on work experience bring the PFL men come, everbody getting a sweat time to show and prove that you are just as good as or better than some of the foreign based.
Mus have somebody home who could take Avery Spot, we know Whitley should be playing abroad, now is time for Wim to do some tinkering in the Lab.

« Reply #22 on: August 09, 2006, 11:29:38 AM »
i dont agree with you palos.....a full jabloteh side with a new striker or two would probably beat that japan side if they could only muster 2 goals against us. remember that we are playiing away from home and those players have never ever played together.

its sad to hear what happened to keyeno thomas because he is a good defender for jabloteh.

the best central defenders in the pro league are ian gray, keyeno thomas and dexter franklin - they are even better than attiba charles.

yuh 4getting also that players like tinto, touissant, noray and marcano didnt even make the side, the result would have been diff if these players were there and jagdeo and pacheco started :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: August 09, 2006, 03:56:42 PM »

yuh 4getting also that players like tinto, touissant, noray and marcano didnt even make the side, the result would have been diff if these players were there and jagdeo and pacheco started :beermug:

And Hardest  ;D

« Reply #24 on: August 09, 2006, 07:39:41 PM »
What is really funny to me is how we quick to jump on we boys after seeing the score line and after reading the Japan article.

But after reading we own boy Fuentes article no body ent come on here as give the boys credit for the way they played.

Now the man ent say was play play better than them but we were competative and had some good posession. That sound like we were not outclassed which is good. Ok so we gave up some goals but that could be down to nerves which we can all expect.

Come on guys show your Warrior Spirit.