October 04, 2023, 06:11:29 PM

Author Topic: T&T put faith in foreign legion  (Read 3048 times)

T&T put faith in foreign legion
« on: March 18, 2005, 04:47:58 AM »
By FIFAworldcup.com

Trinidad & Tobago boss Bertille St. Clair has called up 20 players for a week-long training camp in Miami ahead of next week's qualifier against Guatemala. Thirteen of the 20 are foreign-based professionals, compared to home-grown Guatemala's two.

Leading the overseas contingent are goalkeeper Shaka Hislop of English Premiership side Portsmouth, Birmingham City's Dwight Yorke and journeyman Stern John currently of Coventry City. The trio all played in T&T's first final-round qualifier – a 1-2 loss to the USA at home on 9 February.

Also, the coach has called on Rangers defender Marvin Andrews, Dundee's Brent Sancho, Wrexham duo Carlos Edwards and Hector Sam, and the Japan-based Silvio Spann.

St. Claire will surely be hoping his stable of minor stars can help secure the side's first points of the campaign on 26 March on the road at the Estadio Mateo Flores in Guatemala City. The clash will prove a tough test for the only remaining Caribbean side in the six-team CONCACAF 'Hexagonal' as the Central Americans have a spate of attacking options, including the Los Angeles Galaxy duo of Carlos "El Pescadito" Ruiz, and Guillermo Ramirez.

T&T's Miami training camp was initially supposed to include a friendly with Honduras, but the game was cancelled when the teams were recently drawn in the same group for this summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup. St. Clair still intends to play a friendly against a team to be named at a later date.

But despite a poor start to the campaign and an upcoming clash against a significantly improved Guatemala - who drew 0-0 with Panama in their opener – St. Clair is in optimistic mood.

Domestic concern or foreign policy?
"The squad of players we have put together is a well-rounded one and we expect them to rise to the call in what is our first away game of the round," St. Clair said. "We will be gathering in Miami before the match and this is an important phase because the majority of our players are from outside and this gives us a chance to get together and get ready."

Guatemala boss Ramón "El Primitivo" Maradiaga, for his part, has planned a training camp for 21 players to prepare for what will be the Central American side's home opener. The Honduran-born coach is hoping for a wild crowd to help tip the balance against St. Clair's Caribbean outfit.

"This game is important to us and we hope to be supported by our fans at the Mateo Flores stadium. We will do our best to put on a great show for them," he remarked recently.

Maradiaga is also planning to set a spy in place for Trinidad's friendly in the United States. "I don't know if I or someone else will be at Miami to watch Trinidad but we surely want to see what they have to offer," he added.

Aside from the MLS tandem of Ruiz and Ramirez, the 19 remaining Guatemalan squad members play their club football at home – a fact that Maradiaga has trumpeted as a huge training advantage. With six players from Comunicaciones and five from Municipal, the nation's traditional top two clubs are well represented.

Re: T&T put faith in foreign legion
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2005, 08:31:16 AM »
The Honduran-born coach is hoping for a wild crowd to help tip the balance against St. Clair's Caribbean outfit.

You see Guatemala's coach is Honduran-born. It shouldn't matter about being drawn in the same Gold Cup group as Honduras this is the WORLD CUP we are talking about - much more important business.  I feel this friendly match thing was a set up from the start by the Guatemala coach and Honduras.

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2005, 09:38:17 AM »
Just this week I was wondering about Cox

Can anyone tell me why they are ignoring Boucad??

Peace,

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2005, 10:06:45 AM »
Probably just a numbers game...no room for Rougier, Dwarika, Jemmott, Seaton, Conrad Smith, Rahim etc. etc. either
For the most part BSC is picking guys that are playing regularly for their clubs (except dwight and Sam although Sam comes off the bench alot - like he will for T&T)

Out of the current squad chosen who would you leave out for Boucaud?
« Last Edit: March 18, 2005, 10:08:23 AM by arrow »

who to throw out
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2005, 10:27:05 AM »
I wouldn't throw out anybody.

I would let the boy train with the team and then decide who to throw out.

Dwarika was left out after training...ah could live with that...he eh playingn no ftbl.

Roug..seems to be over the hill...at least they give him a chance.

Rahim...I just don't understand what happened with that man.

But Bouc. was the find of 2004...being on the bench is not reason enough to drop him.

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2005, 11:18:03 AM »
You have to limit the team to 20-22 can't just call back everybody.  I agree he looked useful last year but perhaps Taylor is scouting him and says he is out of form.  The choice of who to bring back is extremely tough.  I feel Avery should have got his chance as well, and he had been training regularly with the team earlier this year.  And I feel that once Boucaud's season is over and he can come and train with the squad over summer he will be back in the mix for sure.

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2005, 12:51:18 PM »
It shouldn't matter about being drawn in the same Gold Cup group as Honduras this is the WORLD CUP we are talking about - much more important business.

Dem on scenes. De Gold Cup groupings were announced on March 2nd and de announcement fuh de Honduras match was made on March 3rd.

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2005, 11:30:18 PM »
Tell dem Tallest.  is real kicks, shits and giggles.