April 25, 2024, 12:04:21 AM

Author Topic: Real Madrid VS DC United in SEATTLE!! Aug 9th!!  (Read 2464 times)

Real Madrid VS DC United in SEATTLE!! Aug 9th!!
« on: July 25, 2006, 01:10:27 PM »
For anybody who interested,and live in this part of the world, I know there are a few members from the West Coast. I will be there Representing..

http://www.seattlesounders.net/pressrelease.php?ID=497

WORLD POWER REAL MADRID TO FACE D.C. UNITED IN SEATTLE AUG. 9th
Posted 7/24/2006

(Seattle, WA) – The Seattle Sounders today announced that soccer superstar David Beckham and legendary Spanish Club Real Madrid will square off against Freddy Adu and Major League Soccer (MLS) side, D.C. United on Wednesday, August 9th at 8:00 PM inside Qwest Field.

In addition to the most recognized athlete in the world, David Beckham, the Real Madrid roster includes superstars Ronaldo, Emerson, Roberto Carlos, Robinho and Cicinho from the Brazilian National Team, Raúl, captain of the Spanish National Team, and recently signed Italian mega-star, Italian captain and 2006 World Cup Champion member, Fabio Cannavaro.

''Real Madrid is the premier soccer club on the planet, and we are thrilled to be able to bring them to Seattle,'' said Sounders owner Adrian Hanauer. ''It's always been our goal to host international matches, and this one will be special as its Real Madrid’s first visit to Northwest. In addition, D.C. United has the best record in MLS and features a roster loaded with talent. This is one sports’ fans won’t want to miss.''

''We are thrilled that Real Madrid can play another game in the U.S.,'' said Dave Checketts, chairman, Sports Capital Partners. ''There are a lot of soccer fans in the Seattle area who will enjoy this game and we are happy to help facilitate it.''

Hanauer secured the game through Sports Capital Partners (parent company for Real Salt Lake.)

Tickets go on sale to the public on Wednesday, July 26th at 10:00 AM. Prices range from $30-$125 and can be purchased through www.Ticketmaster.com.

Seattle Sounders season ticket holders should call the Sounders ticket office to take advantage of pre-sale opportunities available Monday, July 24th - 206 622-3415.

Group tickets (15 or more) will also be available through the Sounders ticket office – 206 622-3415.

''Three years ago when Manchester United visited Seattle, tickets sold out in four hours,'' said Hanauer. ''I am highly optimistic tickets to the Real Madrid match will sell quickly simply because Seattle sports fans will recognize the magnitude of the event.''

Real Madrid have been European Champions a record nine times and have also won a record 29 Spanish First Division (La Liga) titles. Since the start of the Spanish national league in 1928, Madrid has never been relegated from the top division.

The club's home is Santiago Bernebéu stadium in Madrid; it's one of Europe's finest and holds over 80,000 fans.

Continuing their U.S. tour, Real Madrid travels to Salt Lake City, UT to face Real Salt Lake of MLS on August 12th.

Real Madrid's opponent, D.C United, currently sit on top of the MLS Eastern Conference with a dominant 13-1-6 record. Their roster, led by U. S. pheenom, Freddy Adu, also includes Jaime Moreno (9 goals), Christian Gomez (7 goals, 7 assists) and Alecko Eskandarian (7 goals, 2 assists).

Adu was selected as the first overall pick in the 2004 MLS Superdraft. Entering his 3rd MLS season, Adu is a veteran of several U.S. National Teams including time with both the U17 and U20 teams.

Moreno, a native of Bolivia, is second in MLS in scoring with 9 goals. He has moved into second place on the MLS all-time goals scored list (103 career goals). He is United's all-time leader in games played (206), games started (202), goals scored (92), shots (517), shots-on-goal (298) and game-winning goals (17).

For more information on the Real Madrid vs. D.C. United match, visit www.seattlesounders.net, www.qwestfield.com or phone 206 622-3415.

Re: Real Madrid VS DC United in SEATTLE!! Aug 9th!!
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2006, 04:10:01 PM »
Oh gorrrsh ah real want to go!

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2006, 04:11:43 PM »
yeah.. the New Yorkers seeing them on Aug 14th...

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2006, 04:22:00 PM »

So what stopping yuh?  ;D

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2006, 04:22:07 PM »

Where else will they be going?

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2006, 04:22:50 PM »

So what stopping yuh?  ;D

Well dise kinna short notice. Plane tickets, game tickets, hotel accomodations...

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2006, 04:29:37 PM »
Ah hear yuh, but they only put out the press realease today and tickets go onsale tom....I 5 mins away from de stadium..so you know any Trini welcome. Ah think they only playing 2 games, but ah could be wrong...

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2006, 04:30:47 PM »
wa so big bout Real??? :rotfl:

Offline 1989

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2006, 05:28:11 PM »
Score Real 15 DC -2

Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2006, 06:52:24 PM »
Score Real 15 DC -2

YOU MAD
REAL MADRID??? TEAM CHEMISTRY - 0

DE LAST TIME REAL HAD COME DOWN TO PLAY THE LA GALAXY AND ONLY MANAGE TO SCRAPE DEM 1-0

you should know by now that in football there is never an easy game..no matter how good the opponent is!
Iz more like a 2-0 to Real

« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2006, 07:29:02 PM »

they playing at giants stadium? first time i hearing about them playing here.

« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2006, 12:12:49 AM »
Real Madrid 1:1 DC United.

The game was a good one. Ah get to see Beckham for a second time...his run was very slow, but he still have the great crosses, ah guess that is what he do best..he played in the 1st half only. I also got to see Van Nistelrooy who missed a sitter, Roberto Carlos with a perfect assist in the 22nd minute for cassano to score, and robinho share a few sweet passes up front, almost equalized in the 2nd half but ball was cleared of the line by a dc defender after a boss free kick from carlos was saved by the goalie but did not clear the ball and emerson chipped it hitting the cross bar which came to raul but his shot was blocked by a defender, ball being cleared after a mad scramble by DC united..

DC played good, but I did not think they created much chances against ah slow running madrid side...they got the equalizer 3 mins after Madrid scored in the 25th min, in what I think was the best goal of the game...it started with Adu on the right then he crossed it inside to the left, and there was a boss one two pass in the 6yard for a sweet goal. There was a record 68,000 in the stadium, the most for a Football game in the north west. Lots of waggonist at the game..over heard people talking behind me and one girl saying that Adu is 21 years and she only came to see beckham play... ;D

Madrid has a lot of work to do if they want to be considered a top team in spain.

« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2006, 08:45:57 AM »
Score Real 15 DC -2

YOU MAD

DE LAST TIME REAL HAD COME DOWN TO PLAY THE LA GALAXY AND ONLY MANAGE TO SCRAPE DEM 1-0

you should know by now that in football there is never an easy game..no matter how good the opponent is!
real not good...juve in second division  ;D...match fixing was it..is dat de only way dey could win titles..hm
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2006, 08:58:12 AM »

YOU MAD

Madrid has a lot of work to do if they want to be considered a top team in spain.

wateva, big big Barcelona who everybody jumping on as the latest bandwagon team only managed two draws in their pre-season US tour so far.......Chelsea lost to an MLS "all-star" team (which is really just a make-shift put together 11)......so a draw from Madrid eh no unusual result, and it has nothing to do with any less chemistry than any other team.......just the fact that they are still in preseason...and last year they walked all over the Galaxy.......that wasn't any scrape (If you even saw the match....or remember it. Zidane ran a clinic)

...funny how opinions are formed and people only see what they want to see.....bias is a hell of a thing

« Last Edit: August 10, 2006, 09:02:08 AM by kicker »

« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2006, 10:36:04 AM »
Boy allyuh need to get reyes.
full stop

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
Real Madrid and DC united play to a draw
« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2006, 12:05:12 PM »
Real Madrid, D.C. United play to 1-1 draw

AFP
August 10, 2006
SEATTLE, United States (AFP) - European power Real Madrid and United States league-leading D.C. United played to a 1-1 draw in an international football friendly.

Antonio Cassano scored in the 22nd minute to give Real Madrid a 1-0 lead but Alecko Eskandarian equalized for D.C. United in the 25th minute.

The teams battled goal-less from there, although two United defenders made saves from near the goal-line to deny the European side in the second half and Emerson put a shot off the post in the final seconds for Real Madrid.

ADVERTISEMENT

D.C. United, with the best record in Major League Soccer, returns to league play next week.

Real Madrid will continue its pre-season US tour on Saturday against Major League Soccer's Real Salt Lake, named in homage to the Spanish side, before returning to the start of league competition.

Updated on Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 11:09 am EDT

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=afp-fblusasparealunited&prov=afp&type=lgns

who dont believe me when i say cassano will paly a big part for the coach who developed him at roma (he is still growing too) at real this season...take this in stride ...i noe pre season measn ntohign much but a goo dperformance agaistn real salt lake would be enough to convinve enough the madrid faithfull that cassno is a player for the futre....5 goals in a 10-0 win teh other day and has socred every game i think since then ....