March 28, 2024, 12:46:57 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Japan game.  (Read 56708 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Japan game.
« Reply #300 on: August 09, 2006, 02:51:02 PM »
Well is his first day on the job,so ah be easy on him.But they and me might start to wonder if we"ll ever
score again .They need to score

Re: News clip summary of Japan Vs TnT
« Reply #301 on: August 09, 2006, 03:04:52 PM »
dem Japanese highlights they just give a one side view

maybe there was only a one side view.....

read de reports...  we hardly had a shot on goal

Re: News clip summary of Japan Vs TnT
« Reply #302 on: August 09, 2006, 03:28:22 PM »
dem Japanese highlights they just give a one side view

so what fuentes giving all de time ? ?
you tink he paid to tell it like it is ?

« Reply #303 on: August 09, 2006, 03:46:49 PM »
The goals dry up long time now ,never a good ting .This kind of rut could last long ,we need easy com,like grenada or jamaica to break out of it.

Since when Jamaica and Grenada in the same category? You have a gmae vs Jamaica in Sept...simply means that you have at least one real bad cutarse to go before you start winning again  ;D

« Reply #304 on: August 09, 2006, 03:48:13 PM »
ah getting tired ah this rubbish. we lose and  we saying, well give the boys ah hand we werent disgraced. this is proffessional sport this is not an U16 tournament where you trying not to destroy young boys self esteem. an international football it doesnt have points 4 losing nicely. its time  we get over that. its time we set some high football standards 4 our team. imagine manu came 2nd in the epl and ppl want fergie head. the players and all feel disappointed. when u set an objective, once its not achieved then u have failed thats the reality of the professional world

you have to understand where t&t football is at the moment. WC is great and raises standards and such, but we are not at the point where we can expect much when we send our pro league players into 50,000 ppl halfway across the world to play a team coming from a much better league. its not so long ago our senior team couldnt beat martinique

these beatings will help in the long run. till then we just have to ask for more licks til we get our ass straight. im not happy with losing but this is how we get better. 2-0 aint bad. Two years ago 4-0 wouldve been a good result. so we making progress!

« Reply #305 on: August 09, 2006, 03:58:40 PM »
The goals dry up long time now ,never a good ting .This kind of rut could last long ,we need easy com,like grenada or jamaica to break out of it.

Since when Jamaica and Grenada in the same category? You have a gmae vs Jamaica in Sept...simply means that you have at least one real bad cutarse to go before you start winning again  ;D
Whey your computer alerts you anytime some say Jamaica oh what  :rotfl:.But seriouly jamaica go get good wood from we.What woulda been the score if you guys play Japan today ;D

« Reply #306 on: August 09, 2006, 04:15:47 PM »

Whey your computer alerts you anytime some say Jamaica oh what  :rotfl:.But seriouly jamaica go get good wood from we.What woulda been the score if you guys play Japan today ;D

Jap 5 Yardmen 0 at de half
Game get call off at half time because Yardmen start getting rough after the forth goal.

« Reply #307 on: August 09, 2006, 05:02:31 PM »

Ass is grass

« Reply #308 on: August 09, 2006, 05:50:01 PM »

Oh gosh you could never see de name "Jamaica" and eh say nothing, eh?

« Reply #309 on: August 09, 2006, 07:13:21 PM »
All yuh just relax!  OK we lorse, but man who never play with each other, travel 24 hours to play one game in 2 days with a new coach, did you all expect anything but a decent performance.  Give Whim at least three games with a settled side.  Right now is young boys getting sweat and the coach trying to see what he have.  Ent Chelsea lost to MLS last week/  You think Mourhino was worried?  We still learning to win and ah betting that we go be better next year than we are today.

Offline okaki

• Go! Silvio!
« Reply #310 on: August 10, 2006, 02:55:01 AM »
I came from National Stadium.
Trinidad area is so hot.

The T&T area swelled led by the Japanese Pan Player and The supporter of Yokohama FC which is the club which Silvio Spann played and Trini live in Japan. :beermug:

« Reply #311 on: August 10, 2006, 06:52:19 AM »

National Team Match: Japan vs Trinidad & Tobago

2 - 0

Date: August 9, 2005   
Japan 2

2   1H    0
0   2H    0

0 Trinidad
Alex Santos (17')
Alex Santos (22')    Scoring    

Cautions   JagdeoSingh

Two cheers for Osim Japan! At last we have the makings of a competitive football team.

But lets keep the celebrations in check for the time being, because there is still a long way to go before we can conclude that the long gloomy period of stagnation in Japanese football is over. Oh, there is no question that Japan's young guns played the most invigorating 25 minutes of football that we have witnessed in at least two years. The only problem is that they failed to do the same for a full 90. From the looks on coach Osim's face as the clock wound down towards full time, he was slightly less than satisfied, as well. What we saw on Wednesday evening was some excellent raw material. But the finished product is still a long ways off.

Lets get the misgivings out of the way first, because this is still the first step on a long road and we can be sure that things will improve over time. There is every reason to cheer both the result and the content of this match, and we intend to do just that. However, it is worth pausing for a moment to reflect on the shortcomings before we get too carried away with the joy and promise of a new era in the Japanese National Team's history. After dominating their opponent for the first half hour, the players seemed to sit back, pat themselves on the back, and start planning where to go for the celebration party, tonight. They showed flashes of brilliance from time to time over the remaining one hour, but generally speaking, they lost the hunger and determination needed to overcome a stingy physical defence like that of the Soca Warriors. This is not a minor issue, nor a nitpicking concern. Let us not forget that the core of this team was build on players who took part in the 2004 Athens Olympics, a team that we described at the time in the following words:

This group of pansies cant even produce the necessary combative effort to knock off a vastly inferior team. . . . The best thing that could happen would be for someone to pull the plug, let this group of losers swirl down the drain, and maybe . . . just maybe . . . they will learn that playing the amiable, easy-going nice guy never gets you anywhere in the world of sports . . . . (The olympic team are) the most limp-wristed group of shrinking violets to come out of Japan in the past 2500 years. Though they may have the potential to play skilled, highly technical football when the opportunity presents itself, this team is completely lacking in emotion and intensity. Lets face it, apart from Tulio, I could meet any one of these wimpy castrati in a dark alley, knock them down, laugh in their face, steal their girlfriend, and call them a loser . . . and still walk home without a single wrinkle in my Hugo Boss three-piece.

It is true that several years have passed since that was written, and not only have many of the players grown a pair of chestnuts in the intervening years, but the worst and wimpiest of the lot have been cast by the wayside (and good riddance). But we still look at some of these kids and wonder how much testicular fortitude they possess. When things go too easy for the Athens generation, as they did on Wendesday evening, they have a tendency to slack off, lose their focus and determination, and put on a sub-par performance. Although we were certainly pleased with the results from their first international test under coach Osim, we will definitely need to keep an eye on the team for the time being, to be sure that they have overcome the gutlessness that plagued them in their younger days.

To be fair, however, we should note that there were other factors which also contributed to the relatively anticlimactic nature of the second half (and even the late first half) of this match. The most obvious point to consider is that few of these players have worked together in at least two years. Coach Osim started a lineup that was drawn heavily from the Urawa Reds, in part because that ensured more continuity in their play. But once he started substituting, you could see the players struggling to read one another's intentions and moves. Second, Trinidad & Tobago seemed to figure out very early on that they were outmatched, and by the early second half they were clearly putting more effort into running down the clock than in trying to play football. Though we havent yet taken the time to clock the stoppages, it would not be surprising to find that 15 mintues or more of the second half were spent attending to "injured" players.

With this in mind, the opening half hour of the match was truly a joy to watch, especially to those who have been numbed to near-catatonia from watching old reruns of Zico Japan contests. Players were actually RUNNING OFF THE BALL (if you can believe it!), and trying to find space as they moved with short passing and quick overlapping runs through the Trididad defence. Unfortunately, most of the high-quality crosses were cleared away by the taller and more physical Trinidad defenders, who were able to outmuscle lightweights like Tatsuya Tanaka and Kazuki Ganaha. Both of these players were extremely sharp in their penetration, but they are not well suited to finishing off the high crosses from the wing. Still, some of the wide-open wing runs by Hayuma Tanaka, at right wingback, and Yuichi Komano on the left, were simply delicious, and had us licking our lips in anticipation of the sort of carnage that a powerful centre forward like Seiichiro Maki or Sota Hirayama could create if they get that sort of service on a regular basis.

The first goal arrived in the 17 minute, and was created by a flurry of shot passes that had the Soca Warriors tied up in knots. Eventually, all the central defenders could do to halt the swirl of offensive penetration was to haul down Tatsuya at the top of the penalty arc. Alex Santos stepped up and sent the free kick curling inside the right post, to give Japan the early lead.

Five minutes later, another swirling flurry of passes loosened up the center of the Trinidad defence, and as the ball swung out to Komano on the left flank, Santos started to rush forward through the gaping opening in the centre of the pitch. With Ganaha in one channel and Tatsuya in another, the defenders stood rooted in place, and Santos was able to prance all alone through the middle as Komano lobbed a cross in front of him. The keeper rushed out but was far too late, as Santos chipped the ball over his head and into the empty net.

As we have already noted, the players seemed to slack off a bit after taking a two-goal lead, and though they threatened a few more times before the break, things were already starting to get sloppy. In the second half, substitutions clearly had an adverse effect on the team's coordination. No doubt these players will need a lot more experience playing with one another in a competitive situation, before they can start to put their passes together in a smooth, unbroken sequence. Still, there were occasional flashes of excitement as the short passing game picked apart the Trinidad defence. If only the final passes had been on target more frequenmtly, Japan probably could have added two or three more tallies before the final whistle.

But as we noted at the top, Osim Japan is still a work in progress. There are a lot of things that the team needs to work on -- most of all, their work rate after they get a lead. Even so, you can be sure that fans of the Japan NT will be lying down to sleep, this evening, with smiles of contentment on their faces. The first outing for Osim Japan surely laid the Zico Era to rest, once and for all. And though the team's performance may not deserve perfect marks, it clearly does give us a hint of great things to come, over the next four years. For those many fans in National Stadium who were already holding up large South African flags, to remind the players of their ultimate goal, the future looks bright, and the promise of a better day is already being written on the score sheets that will cover the front pages of tomorrow's tabloids.

The Osim era has begun!

Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi, Yuichi Komano, Marcus Tulio Tanaka, Keisuke Tsuboi (Yuzo Kurihara 61), Hayuka Tanaka, Keita Suzuki, Alessandro Santos (Daisuke Sakata 85), Makoto Hasebe (Naoshi Nakamura 74), Koji Yamase (Daigo Kobayashi 56), Kazuki Ganaha (Hisato Sato 65), Tatsuya Tanaka
Williams, John, Sid Grey, Charles, Thomas (Ian Grey 78), Leon, Wise, Wolff (Jagdeo Singh), David (Baptiste), Noel, Glasgow

source: http://www.wldcup.com/Asia/nats/2006/trinidad.html

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #312 on: August 10, 2006, 07:10:24 AM »

I was thinking the same thing. :)

Offline onlikecorn

• vibes it up
« Reply #313 on: August 10, 2006, 02:07:41 PM »
link to the goals that we conceded....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDoZlwo06sc

allyuh should try this in de us, uk and canada. . .actually works. . . use it instead of google. . and get free ting. . i get real free ting already....

« Reply #315 on: August 10, 2006, 02:51:07 PM »
That first goal is called a stringgggggggg

« Reply #316 on: August 10, 2006, 03:20:06 PM »

Dat second goal make it look like we didn't have ah defence. Every man jack was ball watching. Yuh eh see how far Alex run from?

« Reply #317 on: August 10, 2006, 03:25:24 PM »

Dat second goal make it look like we didn't have ah defence. Every man jack was ball watching. Yuh eh see how far Alex run from?

they eh read the play. Alex's run and our defense is a good reflection of the difference in experience on the field.

« Reply #318 on: August 11, 2006, 12:16:52 PM »
Well it seems 2 is the magic number. We get two from Para, two from Eng, now two form Jap. We need to find some strikers who can put in 3.

Things not looking 2 good.  ;D

« Reply #319 on: August 11, 2006, 02:36:05 PM »
This group of pansies cant even produce the necessary combative effort to knock off a vastly inferior team. . . . The best thing that could happen would be for someone to pull the plug, let this group of losers swirl down the drain, and maybe . . . just maybe . . . they will learn that playing the amiable, easy-going nice guy never gets you anywhere in the world of sports . . . . (The olympic team are) the most limp-wristed group of shrinking violets to come out of Japan in the past 2500 years. Though they may have the potential to play skilled, highly technical football when the opportunity presents itself, this team is completely lacking in emotion and intensity. Lets face it, apart from Tulio, I could meet any one of these wimpy castrati in a dark alley, knock them down, laugh in their face, steal their girlfriend, and call them a loser . . . and still walk home without a single wrinkle in my Hugo Boss three-piece.

It is true that several years have passed since that was written, and not only have many of the players grown a pair of chestnuts in the intervening years, but the worst and wimpiest of the lot have been cast by the wayside (and good riddance).
Dis man doh eat nice at all nah...

Second, Trinidad & Tobago seemed to figure out very early on that they were outmatched, and by the early second half they were clearly putting more effort into running down the clock than in trying to play football. Though we havent yet taken the time to clock the stoppages, it would not be surprising to find that 15 mintues or more of the second half were spent attending to "injured" players.

I doh like what i hearing at all at all. I just hope that he was being biased

Five minutes later, another swirling flurry of passes loosened up the center of the Trinidad defence, and as the ball swung out to Komano on the left flank, Santos started to rush forward through the gaping opening in the centre of the pitch. With Ganaha in one channel and Tatsuya in another, the defenders stood rooted in place, and Santos was able to prance all alone through the middle as Komano lobbed a cross in front of him. The keeper rushed out but was far too late, as Santos chipped the ball over his head and into the empty net.
Back to the same damn thing...ballwatching again

Offline scricketball

No Japan-TT delayed coverage
« Reply #320 on: August 11, 2006, 06:40:47 PM »
Is only we pissed that with 20/20, we cyah see de Japan-TT game even delayed? Wha de France... :-\

« Reply #321 on: August 13, 2006, 05:58:53 AM »
Ah cyar believe up to now nobody eh give ah thought to showing de game.....the more things change, the more they stay the same....

Ah guess ah shouldn't expect nothing else from the same people who running de ting for donkey years and still cyar get it right.... >:(

« Reply #322 on: August 14, 2006, 06:55:23 PM »
I see about 17 players from the team that played us now making the Japan team. So for an almost PFL 11 we didn't do to bad...

Japan drop captain Miyamoto for Asian qualifier.

TOKYO, Aug 13 (Reuters) - Japan coach Ivica Osim dropped captain Tsuneyasu Miyamoto on Sunday when he named his 22-man squad for the midweek Asian Cup qualifier against Yemen.
Miyamoto, who captained Japan at the 2002 and 2006 World Cups, was overlooked while Osim also left out all of Japan's overseas players for Wednesday's Group A clash in Niigata.
Osim selected twins Hisato and Yuto Sato for his first competitive game since taking over from Brazilian Zico last month. Japan beat Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 in a home friendly last week in his first official game as coach. The defending Asian champions thrashed India 6-0 in their opening qualifier for the 2007 tournament. Japan travel to Saudi Arabia for their next Group A qualifier on September 3 followed by a visit to Yemen three days later.

SQUAD

Goalkeepers: Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi (Iwata), Norihiro Yamagishi (Urawa)

Defenders: Alex (Urawa), Keisuke Tsuboi (Urawa), Akira Kaji (Gamba Osaka), Marcus Tulio Tanaka (Urawa), Yuichi Komano (Hiroshima)

Midfielders: Naoshi Nakamura (Nagoya), Naotake Hanyu (Chiba), Yasuhito Endo (Gamba Osaka), Keita Suzuki (Urawa), Yuki Abe (Chiba), Koji Yamase (Yokohama F-Marinos), Yuto Sato (Chiba), Hayuma Tanaka (Yokohama F-Marinos), Daigo Kobayashi (Omiya), Makoto Hasebe (Urawa)

Forwards: Seiichiro Maki (Chiba), Kazuki Ganaha (Kawasaki), Hisato Sato (Hiroshima), Tatsuya Tanaka (Urawa), Daisuke Sakata (Yokohama F-Marinos)
« Last Edit: August 14, 2006, 06:57:15 PM by Flex »