June 16, 2024, 12:13:23 AM

Author Topic: Who allyuh Know currently playing another sport,was ah boss footballer?  (Read 10541 times)

Re: Who allyuh Know currently playing another sport,was ah boss footballer?
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2006, 08:38:43 AM »
Well this cat already retired but Hakeem Olajuwon was a pretty good goalkeeper.

« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2006, 08:56:32 AM »
If we going back in time the list gets long,

Sean Connery turned down the chance to sign for United.

Former England cricket captain Ian "Beefy" Botham was good enough to play professionally for Sc**thorpe.

On the reverse also, both Nevilles were youth cricketers and Phil Neville was especially good and had to chose football.

yeah we know beefy quite well hes damn hard to get the ball off too... he seems like he could have been an even more talented rugby player!

« Reply #32 on: August 14, 2006, 09:20:27 AM »
me

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2006, 09:46:44 AM »
Our embattled TD Lincoln Phillips, played basketball for T&T along with a few of his team-mates like Charlie Spooner and Ray Robinson(Regiment).

Offline Swima

« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2006, 09:58:50 AM »
As we slightly strayed from the topic a few times... i guess it is common knowledge that Bob Marley was an avid footballer who played with the most famous jamaican baller of the time Alan 'Skill' Cole. Those who saw him sweat in those days said he could have likely played at international level for Jamaica.

In that context, maybe he wasn't such a great baller afterall... ;D (RF even though i don't post often anymore, i still see you are up to your old tricks so that one was for you) 
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #35 on: August 15, 2006, 01:42:58 PM »
Kwandwayne Browne, the Pele of hockey worldwide, was a good footballer. He play with Hector Sam up to u-16 at QRC and was the creative midfielder on the side, but then he started playing for the men's national hockey team at 14 so it was really a no-brainer as to which sport to choose.

Allyuh ever notice that men is play the same way no matter what sport they playing? For example, if a man is dribble plenty in football, u know he will dribble plenty in basketball and try to play all kinda fancy shot in cricket ?

On that, Darren Cowie - one of the national hockey players - used to be QRC captain.
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #36 on: August 15, 2006, 02:25:19 PM »
christian vieri aparantly was a good cricketer he use to live in Australia as a child

meh gyal brother who went Fatima swim play football and cricket for Fatima
he was even trying out for the national side when BSC was d youth coach in like 89 and ah man break he foot and BSC so wicked leave the man lying down dey bawling is only cause ah parent was a doctor that he get carry to the hospital

Lara was real good, he is just a natural athlete the man could play any sport I feel if he put he mind to it
a time it had a cricketers vs footballers game in the stadium training ground like 5 years ago and he come on and real rip

on a side not Dion Sanders and Bo Jackson use to play american football and baseball at the same time

« Reply #37 on: August 15, 2006, 03:05:35 PM »
This thread seemed to have digressed a little but ...

Football and Cricket for TT:

Ellis Puss Achong
Andy Guanteaume
Jeff Stollmyer (I think his brother Allan?? did as well)
Roy Seon great footballer was 12th man for TT in the 40s.
Willie Rodgriguez
Alvin Corneal
Clifford Roach

Other multi sportsmen...

Clive Pantin, football and Hockey for TT...also good cricket player.

Clint Marcelle good all rounder for Mucurapo..cricket

Charlie Davis...TT school boys football team

Dereck Murray footballer for QRC...scored a last minute winner vs Fatima in Intercol (that bitch  :)

Tony Gray Keepr for ST. Augustine and national youth team. Was in national interol final vs.Fatima 1979..lost 1-2.

David Mohammed the cricketer of the 80s was one of the best youth defenders in TT ... Captained Naps and the South U-19 football team.

Allan Young the hockey player was a very good last stopper for Fatima.

Larry Gomes was supposed to be a decent footballer and a very good sprinter. Cut everybody ass on the WI team, in a beach race in Aus. in 1984.

I could be wrong but I believe that Shldon Gomes was a good footballer for QRC and of course good enough to score a double century in the Shell Shield.

Boldon and Lara were good footballers. yes.

Anil Roberts trained with the national youth football team in 1988. Of course was a boss swimmer.

Dwight Yorke also playd Cricket with the national U 12 team along with Brian Lara.

Peace,

« Reply #38 on: August 15, 2006, 03:22:48 PM »
the tread gone off track...anyway since man mentioning Julio Iglesias and Rod Stewart, ah might as well toss een Ronnie Mc Intosh, played hockey for T&T, and a descent footaller as well. we also have:

Erica Downes, football and basketball for T&T and could have walked on to the nat'l netall team if she wanted to

Sharon Castanada, played netball and basketball for T&T
« Last Edit: August 15, 2006, 03:29:02 PM by College »

« Reply #39 on: August 15, 2006, 03:32:33 PM »
as a kinda reverse perspective

Paulo Wanchope used to play real  basketball in his day before deciding on football

« Reply #40 on: August 15, 2006, 08:16:20 PM »
Ok Currently playing Football but used to play youth cricket for TNT

We Captain Cyd Gray

Oh yeah I was in Shaw Park about ..........Years ago when Brian Larra played in a match with a national select team against a Tobago team. It was a benifet match for Dwight Yorke I think. He played the first half....not too bad at all.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2006, 08:19:25 PM by Rastaman »

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #41 on: August 15, 2006, 10:41:14 PM »
I know Ato retired from track, so this doh really count for this thread..but he was a boss footballer. I played with him at under 14 level at Fatima before he left for the US. Real talent.
He was and All-State forward at Piedmont Hills High in San Jose, CA

I think that is how he was discovered in track..Track coach saw him playing ball

Cyd is also a good athlete- I use to run track against him and we represented trini long time.. and ting..He had some toes..
« Last Edit: August 15, 2006, 10:46:28 PM by doh_stick »

« Reply #42 on: August 15, 2006, 11:11:30 PM »
I know Ato retired from track, so this doh really count for this thread..but he was a boss footballer. I played with him at under 14 level at Fatima before he left for the US. Real talent.
He was and All-State forward at Piedmont Hills High in San Jose, CA

I think that is how he was discovered in track..Track coach saw him playing ball

Cyd is also a good athlete- I use to run track against him and we represented trini long time.. and ting..He had some toes..
Yeah boy how ah forget that. He uused to run too. Every distance from 100 to Cross Country. The man was just a pure athlete

« Reply #43 on: August 15, 2006, 11:56:40 PM »
Shirvan Pragg.

Captain TT and WI cricket U19 teams at the age of 17.

Also captain QRC senior football team.

Every time ah tink about dat youth mih porse does raise.

Gone from us because of a car accident.

RIP Shirvan

« Reply #44 on: August 16, 2006, 12:19:22 AM »
How bout Bo Jackson.

He play Pro Baseball and Pro American Football together. Not just after one career then the other.

There were other sports too. Bo did know Cricket, Basketball, Tennis, Golf and ah few other sports. The man was pure talent.

Yes Bo "knows" Jackson was ah true boss.

Might as well mention him since the thread digressed already :chilling:

« Reply #45 on: August 16, 2006, 01:16:37 AM »
Shirvan Pragg.

Captain TT and WI cricket U19 teams at the age of 17.

Also captain QRC senior football team.

Every time ah tink about dat youth mih porse does raise.

Gone from us because of a car accident.

RIP Shirvan

Yes, as a yute I used to call Pragg "Super Coolie."... ;D

However, he never Captained the WI Youth team. He perhaps should have but the Captaincy was given to Roger Harper and the VC was given to Livingston Lawrence of Antigua. That shocked a lot of people.

Peace,

« Reply #46 on: August 16, 2006, 03:11:34 AM »
Kobe Bryant was a descent footballer

Damn I was going to say that one ;D