April 28, 2024, 06:33:59 PM

Author Topic: Bayern kick off title defence with win over Dortmund  (Read 1656 times)

Bayern kick off title defence with win over Dortmund
« on: August 12, 2006, 06:04:29 AM »
Bayern defeat Dortmund in Bundesliga opener
http://www.soccerway.com/news/2006/August/11/bayern-defeat-dortmund-in-bundesliga-opener/

Written by: Stephen Sharp
MUNICH, Aug 11 (SW) - Bayern Munich marked the beginning of the 2006/07 German Bundesliga season with a 2-0 victory over Borussia Dortmund at Allianz-Arena on Friday evening.

The match marked the 500th Bundesliga appearance for Bayern goalkeeper Oliver Kahn, while Nélson Valdez and Alexander Frei made their debuts for Dortmund as the two starting attackers.

The visitors got off to a rough start as they lost midfielder Sebastian Kehl to a knee injury in the 19th minute, but it would get worse as Bayern took the lead five minutes later.

Dutch forward Roy Makaay at first looked to pass off to Bastian Schweinsteiger, but instead he whipped in a shot from the top of the area and beat goalkeeper Roman Weidenfeller for the first tally of the season.

Makaay and strike partner Roque Santa Cruz had several chances to extend the lead before the interval, but early-season finishing kept them from making the Dortmund deficit any bigger.

They would get rewarded for their pressure in the 55th minute as Schweinsteiger latched onto a cross from left-back Philipp Lahm before slotting home for the second goal.

Markus Brzenska and Dede both had headers go wide as Dortmund went in search of a goal, but they could not hit the target.

Re: Bayern kick off title defence with win over Dortmund
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2006, 04:29:42 PM »
I realizing that man in this forum does only watch EPL, La Liga and MLS....

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2006, 04:38:11 PM »

I follow Bundesliga but the scoreline isn't a surprise.

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2006, 04:58:29 PM »
I see Podolski was on the bench.....kind of a surprise...

Also realize both teams lost their best players. Bayern lost Ballack while Dortmund lost Koller and Rosicky.

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2006, 09:09:52 PM »
i watched this game - enjoyed it more than epl. even though the pace seem a little slower, it was very controlled. i swear in epl you see more out of bounds and blazing over the bar.

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2006, 09:53:13 PM »
i watched this game - enjoyed it more than epl. even though the pace seem a little slower, it was very controlled. i swear in epl you see more out of bounds and blazing over the bar.

bundelsliga is underrated and de players have more room to use their skills and develop their skills, thats why germany does cut england ass almost all de time :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2006, 11:30:59 PM »

Yuh mad ah what? When ah sit down in front ah dat tv on ah weekend mey boi, wid FSC, GOL TV and Setenta or Setanta channels, yuh getting nuff ball from German, England, Spain, Italy, France, Holland and boring MLS(sometimes on espn and espn 2). Also ah think ah saw some football from Scotland on Setanta. So count me out ah dat.  ;)
« Last Edit: August 14, 2006, 11:33:39 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2006, 11:00:32 AM »
Congrats on 500th match Kahn

Offline dutchman

« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2006, 01:49:21 PM »
Nice especially to see the word Dortmund written BIG  ;)
sweet memories
thnxs bitter
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.