March 28, 2024, 04:01:21 PM

Author Topic: English Premier League (EPL) Thread  (Read 256531 times)

Re: 2014/15 English Premier League Thread.
« Reply #1500 on: August 11, 2014, 09:15:45 AM »
Check out this app called "Sunrise". It integrates with Google calendar and you can add your teams fixture list to it:

Liverpool - Southampton -:-  EPL
Sunday, August 17 - 8:30 AM
Anfield, Liverpool, England
(http://r.sunrise.am/Z.c.t)

« Reply #1501 on: August 11, 2014, 09:33:11 AM »

Which one of these fixtures is supposed to be scintillating?

Liverpool Saints vs Soton reserves   ;D

« Reply #1502 on: August 12, 2014, 10:14:58 AM »
Talk is some teams are toying with playing 3-5-2 as the swag system this season.

« Reply #1503 on: August 12, 2014, 10:45:59 AM »
Talk is some teams are toying with playing 3-5-2 as the swag system this season.

if it work ah wonder what people reaction here would be as opposed to when pacho saw its potential as our system......I have a friend dat coach youth football a while back........that swears that 3-5-2 should be T&Ts main system..........I remember man crying it dong and callin it all kinda dead system and f**keries.....conformist and followers that we are.......would be interesting to hear dey mout' if it proves to be a hit

« Reply #1504 on: August 12, 2014, 10:50:49 AM »

if it work ah wonder what people reaction here would be as opposed to when pacho saw its potential as our system......I have a friend dat coach youth football a while back........that swears that 3-5-2 should be T&Ts main system..........I remember man crying it dong and callin it all kinda dead system and f**keries.....conformist and followers that we are.......would be interesting to hear dey mout' if it proves to be a hit
It's been on my mind for sometime as a possibility I'd like to see us investigate. Question is who would be the wide men in that system?

« Reply #1505 on: August 12, 2014, 11:14:19 AM »
To me Formations are overated. Some body HAVE to DEFEND and some have to attack.

« Reply #1506 on: August 12, 2014, 11:51:42 AM »
To me Formations are overated. Some body HAVE to DEFEND and some have to attack.
I would tend to agree, however, I think you're oversimplifying things.

« Reply #1507 on: August 12, 2014, 12:35:19 PM »
A formation is a "thing'' on paper. A system of play is/should be more than that. Moreover, frequently terms are conflated and fans don't distinguish between 'system' and 'shape'.

« Reply #1508 on: August 12, 2014, 12:43:22 PM »
One of our biggest problems is lapses in concentration. Formation doh fix that.

« Reply #1509 on: August 12, 2014, 12:47:57 PM »

Was pacho ahead of his time or behind de times?
Formations and tactics come and go like style and fashion.

« Reply #1510 on: August 12, 2014, 02:28:25 PM »
A formation is a "thing'' on paper. A system of play is/should be more than that. Moreover, frequently terms are conflated and fans don't distinguish between 'system' and 'shape'.

I think yuh hit de nail on de head with that one! Well put!

« Reply #1511 on: August 12, 2014, 04:12:05 PM »

Was pacho ahead of his time or behind de times?
Formations and tactics come and go like style and fashion.

yes but like all things experimental there is most times a period of uncertainty and failure.........most were not asking why we playin dat, but "who was still playing dat".........even latapy was drillin 3-5-2 running scrimmage in 3-5-2......which looked decent by the way and then jump back in he safe 4-4-2 jeans when it mattered .........yeah d system requires discipline  and wing men with stamina......but sometimes we have to come out dat box we like to pigeon hole weself into and really try someting......we too risk averse as ah people....no balls

« Reply #1512 on: August 12, 2014, 09:29:12 PM »
wingmen with alot of stamina

also, well i can tell you in italy, some prefer 3 at the back as alot of defenders arent comfortable in the central 2 positions of a back 4...and as someone said above...rel rel rel stamina is needed or else you can be skinned badly...alot of discipline to make sure and come back and defend..i dont know in this age of starboy-ism if players here willing to do same...

thats y manu maybe thinking of cuadrado...excellent winger that doesnt shun his defensive duties

too bad juve and fiorentina has such a bad relationship

« Reply #1513 on: August 13, 2014, 08:11:10 AM »
August 16, 2014

Arsenal v Crystal Palace
Burnley v Chelsea
Leicester City v Everton
Liverpool v Southampton
Manchester United v Swansea City
Newcastle United v Manchester City
Queens Park Rangers v Hull City
Stoke City v Aston Villa
West Bromwich Albion v Sunderland
West Ham United v Tottenham Hotspur

Watch all or kill urself lol.... Burnley vs Chelsea is gonna be a treat  ;D ;D

I imagine yuh comforted by Chelsea 2 Real Sociedad 0 ... and the fact iz Burnley.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #1514 on: August 13, 2014, 01:17:45 PM »
August 16, 2014

Arsenal v Crystal Palace
Burnley v Chelsea
Leicester City v Everton
Liverpool v Southampton
Manchester United v Swansea City
Newcastle United v Manchester City
Queens Park Rangers v Hull City
Stoke City v Aston Villa
West Bromwich Albion v Sunderland
West Ham United v Tottenham Hotspur

Watch all or kill urself lol.... Burnley vs Chelsea is gonna be a treat  ;D ;D

I imagine yuh comforted by Chelsea 2 Real Sociedad 0 ... and the fact iz Burnley.
Lol Burnley actually plays good football, not expecting a walkover by any means. Just relieved that the BPL is back, my weekend breakfast lol

« Reply #1515 on: August 15, 2014, 01:55:25 PM »
The Premier League just released their handbook (detailing all the rules and regulations) if anyone's interested;

http://www.premierleague.com/content/dam/premierleague/site-content/News/publications/handbooks/premier-league-handbook-2014-15.pdf

« Reply #1516 on: August 16, 2014, 07:40:40 AM »
Gotta say that I admire how Swansea is insistent on playing attractive football.  It is in their DNA.

« Reply #1517 on: August 16, 2014, 07:48:59 AM »
Gotta say that I admire how Swansea is insistent on playing attractive football.  It is in their DNA.

They were opportunistic if nothing else.  Sigurdsson was real class, and Williams had an interesting game, he gave away a needless corner which lead to Rooney's well-taken goal.  Other than that he was brilliant.  Swansea played a solid, solid game.  I'm keeping my eye on this Ander Herrera for United, he's turning into a bit of a diver early on.

« Reply #1518 on: August 16, 2014, 08:37:02 AM »
For the Liverpool fans... we have a Paul Konchesky sighting.  Leicester giving Everton fits.

« Reply #1519 on: August 30, 2014, 10:04:20 AM »
Swansea is the class of the league?

« Reply #1520 on: August 30, 2014, 10:05:20 AM »
Stoke's bus was well appointed.
Newcastle-Palace = Match of the day

« Reply #1521 on: August 30, 2014, 10:09:45 AM »
Stoke's bus was well appointed.
Newcastle-Palace = Match of the day

Harsh... they took their chances as well.  Brilliant solo effort from Diouf.

« Reply #1522 on: August 30, 2014, 10:32:11 AM »
Alex Song get unveiled as the latest West Ham loan signing. How the mighty have fallen, he's only 26 and should be in his prime.

« Reply #1523 on: August 30, 2014, 10:55:01 AM »
Bullocks to the EPL - if only people talked up and was this excited about we local league- but like true to form we always had a tendency to see foreign as better and to downgrade we local

« Reply #1524 on: August 30, 2014, 10:58:53 AM »
Bullocks to the EPL - if only people talked up and was this excited about we local league- but like true to form we always had a tendency to see foreign as better and to downgrade we local

True! Savannah football is better quality than this crap.

« Reply #1525 on: August 30, 2014, 11:05:15 AM »
Yuh funnier than I thought- EPL is not crap and I could smell the satirical note - my contention is that we doh give the same credence to promote our own league- we doh look and talk about our local players to the degree that we do to the foreign ballets in my opinion, we idolize the EPL like these players are 'gods' of football

« Reply #1526 on: August 30, 2014, 11:54:30 AM »
Yuh funnier than I thought- EPL is not crap and I could smell the satirical note - my contention is that we doh give the same credence to promote our own league- we doh look and talk about our local players to the degree that we do to the foreign ballets in my opinion, we idolize the EPL like these players are 'gods' of football

lol. At least yuh get it and ent start to cuss meh.
I just comment on football I could watch. I used to enjoy watching local football when I was there, but you have to admit, even when we get a feed of a game, the overall quality is poor. Is not like anybody idolizing the MLS, or the A-league and that would be "local" football for me.

« Reply #1527 on: September 13, 2014, 09:06:53 AM »
Used to be come match day forum would be humming.  Cracker between City and Arsenal earlier... and a good match on now between Swansea and Chelsea.  Liverpool at Villa later.

« Reply #1528 on: September 13, 2014, 09:37:20 AM »
Used to be come match day forum would be humming.  Cracker between City and Arsenal earlier... and a good match on now between Swansea and Chelsea.  Liverpool at Villa later.

costa putting on show right now!

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #1529 on: September 13, 2014, 09:38:10 AM »
Well played Diego Costa  :beermug:  :beermug: and Leonardo Ulloa is class as well for Leicester City, scored again today vs Stoke
« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 09:43:11 AM by chelsealife »