March 28, 2024, 11:19:51 AM

Author Topic: English Premier League (EPL) Thread  (Read 256473 times)

Offline Remie

Re: English Premier League (EPL) thread
« Reply #90 on: August 10, 2006, 04:13:55 AM »
who allyuh think go be the first managerial casualty for this season?
ah picking Chris Coleman

That is a very good choice. I'l go for Warnock of Sheffield United.

« Reply #91 on: August 10, 2006, 07:21:13 AM »
Sir Alex  :devil:

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #92 on: August 10, 2006, 02:32:40 PM »
BBC Sport

Man Utd capture Kuszczak on loan

Manchester United have signed Polish goalkeeper Tomasz Kuszczak on a season-long loan from West Brom, with a view to a possible permanent move.
In exchange, the Baggies will get defender Paul McShane and goalkeeper Luke Steele on a permanent basis.

Kuszczak, 24, will act as understudy to United's first-choice goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar, with youngster Ben Foster staying a second season at Watford.

Kuszczak can stake a claim to be United number one when Van der Sar retires.

The Dutchman is expected to call time on his own career after Euro 2008.

Kuszczak, who has won four caps for Poland, spent three years in Germany with Hertha Berlin before arriving at West Brom two years ago.

Sir Alex Ferguson's attempts to land the keeper had been frustrated throughout the summer, with an initial £2.5m bid rejected.

But with Kuszczak now at Old Trafford, Foster getting Premiership experience with Watford and Tim Howard on loan at Everton, United are hopeful they have enough strength in the goalkeeping department to maintain healthy competition for the next five years at least.

The transfer of Steele is unlikely to go down well with Coventry, who signed the youngster on loan from United.

But the player was recalled, then immediately sold to one of their local Coca-Cola Championship rivals.

« Reply #93 on: August 10, 2006, 02:49:50 PM »
BBC Sport

Man Utd capture Kuszczak on loan

Manchester United have signed Polish goalkeeper Tomasz Kuszczak on a season-long loan from West Brom, with a view to a possible permanent move.
In exchange, the Baggies will get defender Paul McShane and goalkeeper Luke Steele on a permanent basis.

Kuszczak, 24, will act as understudy to United's first-choice goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar, with youngster Ben Foster staying a second season at Watford.

Kuszczak can stake a claim to be United number one when Van der Sar retires.

The Dutchman is expected to call time on his own career after Euro 2008.

Kuszczak, who has won four caps for Poland, spent three years in Germany with Hertha Berlin before arriving at West Brom two years ago.

Sir Alex Ferguson's attempts to land the keeper had been frustrated throughout the summer, with an initial £2.5m bid rejected.

But with Kuszczak now at Old Trafford, Foster getting Premiership experience with Watford and Tim Howard on loan at Everton, United are hopeful they have enough strength in the goalkeeping department to maintain healthy competition for the next five years at least.

The transfer of Steele is unlikely to go down well with Coventry, who signed the youngster on loan from United.

But the player was recalled, then immediately sold to one of their local Coca-Cola Championship rivals.

United are also leading the race to sign Diarra from Lyon  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

that is why the Senna move is being put on hold

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #94 on: August 10, 2006, 03:50:14 PM »
Distin in limbo

Sky Sports

Trabelsi seals City move

Manchester City boss Stuart Pearce has continued his squad strengthening at Eastlands with the capture of Tunisian defender Hatem Trabelsi.

The rampaging full back has moved to Manchester on a free transfer from Dutch titans Ajax and has linked up with a squad which has already been swelled by the arrivals of Paul Dickov, Ousmane Dabo, Bernardo Corradi, Dietmar Hamann and Joe Hart.

Trabelsi, who had fitness problems earlier in his career, came through a rigorous medical before committing his future to City and Pearce is happy with his latest recruit.

"He is one of the best Bosmans of the summer," Pearce told the club's website.

"He has played at the highest level for Ajax, and been to three World Cups. He captains his country as well, so it is a good CV."

Trabelsi will increase competition for places at Eastlands, but Pearce will not be forced into underselling his players.

Sylvain Distin is believed to be ready to leave the club, but Pearce will not entertain taking less than market value for the French defender.

"Until people meet our valuation of Sylvain, he will stay where he is, which will only benefit me because he is a good player," said Pearce.

"It would be no skin off my nose if he enters the final year of his contract. I am a football manager, a year is a hell of a long time in football management."

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
EPL Season this weekend : Predictions Anyone?? Who knows Their Football!!
« Reply #95 on: August 15, 2006, 02:00:27 PM »
Yeah Fellas its that time, let me hear what allyuh think about the top four finshers & relegated clubs.

My Picks:

Top Four in order 1st to 4th : Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, Man U...

Relegated : Watford, Sheffield Utd, Wigan..

Note: I believe chelsea will do it again this year. Everyone concerned with pre season form but i glad they getting licks now to wake them up and protect against complacency

Liverpool may just miss out again this year, they are building a great squad but they need to fill another quality striking position for this to be a reality.

Arsenal are building a great young team but i think they need another striker to take the load off henry especially if reyes leaves.

I think this is the time that Alex Ferguson really bounce he head by selling off Ruud. He has been the top scorer every year for the team. It seems Alex may really pay this time around, he got away slighty with the falling out with others like Yorkie, Beckham, Stam, Keane.

Let me see what you all think????????
P.S. Dont reply after Bobby Mc Mahon gives predictions on friday night on Fox Sports.!!!

arsenal beat villa in their last 5 games so i say 2-0

1st to 4th......... Man Utd...Chelsea...Arsenal...Liverpool

relegated: Watford..Sheffield Utd and Fulham

1st to 4th......... Man Utd...Chelsea...Arsenal...Liverpool

relegated: Watford..Sheffield Utd and Fulham

meh boy shotta feel sheffield go mash up

i feel dey go pull ah wigan

Yeah Fellas its that time, let me hear what allyuh think about the top four finshers & relegated clubs.

My Picks:

Top Four in order 1st to 4th : Chelsea, Liverpool, Arsenal, Man U...

What a risk taker you are....those are the most outrageous picks I could imagine in the top 4  :P

« Reply #100 on: August 16, 2006, 08:08:18 AM »
updating the thread

United offer for Hargreaves

England midfielder Owen Hargreaves says he is weighing up a lucrative offer for his services from Manchester United.

The Bayern Munich man is expected to team up with Frank Lampard at the heart of The Three Lions' midfield for the friendly against Greece on Wednesday, but has domestic concerns to consider as well.

He has only just signed a contract extension with the Bundesliga giants, but has always wanted to prove himself in England.

It has now emerged that Sir Alex Ferguson has made a concrete offer for the Canadian-born player and Hargreaves is mulling over whether to make a long-awaited move to The Premiership.

"The offer from Manchester United is fantastic," Hargreaves told Sport Bild.

"Particularly as an England international, it is of interest and you never know if such an opportunity will arise again.

"Now is the time to take the next step to develop even further."

With the transfer deadline at the end of the month fast approaching, Ferguson had been tipped to bring in Villarreal's Marcos Senna, but the deal is thought to have stalled on the £8 million asking price for the midfielder.

The Red Devils have therefore turned to Hargreaves to join injured £18.6 million man Michael Carrick at the club.

Munich meanwhile, insist that the 25-year-old will remain at the Allianz Arena for the remainder of his contract.

"I have just spoken with [general manager] Uli Hoeness and he is absolutely clear that selling Owen Hargreaves is not an issue," Bayern press officer Markus Horwick stated.

"I think what Mr Hoeness says is enough to end any speculation.

"Owen Hargreaves will be staying with us for the remaining four years on his contract."

Having lost Michael Ballack already this summer, the German champions seem prepared to dig their heels in to hang on to the key central midfielder and United may now have to concentrate their search for a midfielder further afield.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #101 on: August 16, 2006, 09:04:09 AM »
I hope Hargreaves does go to United. Carrick and Hargreaves could well form a formidable partnership for Man U and England.

Re: EPL Season this weekend : Predictions Anyone?? Who knows Their Football!!
« Reply #102 on: August 16, 2006, 09:10:38 AM »
I think Tottenham will upset that top 4.

I dont think Chelsea is going to win again.

« Reply #103 on: August 16, 2006, 09:24:42 AM »
yeh it will help england  because they will get experience club wise and that could only enhance england's team

Offline ndookie

« Reply #104 on: August 16, 2006, 10:30:20 AM »
It will help Manchester United too , give a strong midfield that win and keep possesion a bit more than last years midfield does , because that is really the key for united .. because overall , the team is a winner , always was and always will be , so expect good things this season..

Speaking of Man Utd , anyone know the cost to buy the games on PPV from Columbus Communications ?

Ah fed up waiting to see replay ah match..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #105 on: August 16, 2006, 10:32:10 AM »
It will help Manchester United too , give a strong midfield that win and keep possesion a bit more than last years midfield does , because that is really the key for united .. because overall , the team is a winner , always was and always will be , so expect good things this season..

Speaking of Man Utd , anyone know the cost to buy the games on PPV from Columbus Communications ?

Ah fed up waiting to see replay ah match..

it doesnt matter....setanta sports got all the games now... ppv doesnt make a difference....   

Offline ndookie

« Reply #106 on: August 16, 2006, 10:41:56 AM »
Setanta Sports ?

Tell me more..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #107 on: August 16, 2006, 10:47:42 AM »
Direct TV    ...... channel 615....  dont think dey have it in TnT   ......  if dey do i will buy Direct TV 2day  das nah a lie

Offline ndookie

« Reply #108 on: August 16, 2006, 10:58:12 AM »
If that really on Direct tell meh eh , because Direct en that expensive , and ah mean , IS ALL THE MAN U games , thas priceles..

Anybody here working Direct TV ?
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #109 on: August 16, 2006, 11:10:13 AM »
If that really on Direct tell meh eh , because Direct en that expensive , and ah mean , IS ALL THE MAN U games , thas priceles..

Anybody here working Direct TV ?

yeh if yuh cud get Setanta Sports in tnt  on direct tv   i for one willllll buy direct tv.....   

Offline ndookie

« Reply #110 on: August 16, 2006, 11:45:22 AM »
Wednesday, August 16, 2006
   Channel #   Channel Name    13:30-14:00   14:00-14:30   14:30-15:00   
15:00-15:30   
varied..
   217   FX    .   FX Fuel Deportes Extremos    FX Speed
deportes
   606   FOXS     Fútbol para todos   .
   612   ESPI     Tenis - A.T.P. Masters Series
   614   ESP2     Mexican Football Weekly Show   ATV Racing    Fútbol amistoso Internacional
   616   GOLF     European Tour: KLM Open
   652   BEIS     Today Chicago Cubs v Houston Astros    Chicago Cubs v Houston Astros
mundos
   766   RAI    .    Italia - Croazia
   776   GLBO    .    Futebol Amistoso

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No setanta.. Anyone else does carry it ?
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #111 on: August 16, 2006, 04:46:53 PM »
Setanta is on Direct TV....   but u have to order it... it doesnt come with Direct TV....  but i dont think you cud get Setanta in TnT ....     why u doe give dem a call 2moro

Offline ndookie

« Reply #112 on: August 16, 2006, 10:52:08 PM »
Man Utd winning .. everything else doh matter..

And Man Utd 2 - Fulham - 0.
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #113 on: August 17, 2006, 06:07:47 AM »
1. Chelsea
2. Liverpool
3. Arsenal
4. Tottenham
5. Man United

18. Fulham
19. Watford
20. Reading

Sheffield going make ah big run............dey coach good!!

Offline Remie

« Reply #114 on: August 17, 2006, 08:05:58 AM »
1. Chelsea
2. Man Utd
3. Liverpool
4. Arsenal
5. Portsmouth
6. Spurs (my team)

18. Man City
19. Fulham
20. Sheff Utd

Offline Pompey

« Reply #115 on: August 17, 2006, 08:47:30 AM »
1. Chelsea
2. Man Utd
3. Liverpool
4. Arsenal
5. Portsmouth
6. Spurs (my team)

18. Man City
19. Fulham
20. Sheff Utd

I like that, wish I was as optimistic as you are ;D

I predict

1 Liverpool
2 Chelsea
3 Man U
4 Tottenham
5 Arsenal

8 Portsmouth

17 Reading
18 Watford
19 Fulham
20 Sheffield United

« Reply #116 on: August 17, 2006, 08:47:59 AM »
1. Chelsea
2. Man Utd
3. Liverpool
4. Arsenal
5. Portsmouth
6. Spurs (my team)

18. Man City 
19. Fulham
20. Sheff Utd

wud i love to see that!!!........   

man utd second   :-[     first biatch  ;)

Offline Remie

« Reply #117 on: August 17, 2006, 09:00:26 AM »
1. Chelsea
2. Man Utd
3. Liverpool
4. Arsenal
5. Portsmouth
6. Spurs (my team)

18. Man City
19. Fulham
20. Sheff Utd

I like that, wish I was as optimistic as you are ;D

I predict

1 Liverpool
2 Chelsea
3 Man U
4 Tottenham
5 Arsenal

8 Portsmouth

17 Reading
18 Watford
19 Fulham
20 Sheffield United

Harry is a top class boss with plenty money at his disposal. Now that players of the calibre of Campbell have signed i can see more players being attracted to Pompey. If Harry can get another striker in like Yakubu then i can definately see them being up there. Spurs need to sign a left mid quickly. We played Davids left mid for the whole of last season!

Offline Pompey

« Reply #118 on: August 17, 2006, 09:54:52 AM »
If we can get Obafemi Martins, Sully Muntari and Manuel Fernandes then a EUFA spot is a definate possibility.

we have made the best offer for Martins, it is just a case of persuading him he doesn't want to play CL football for a couple of seasons.

hopefully he is greedy and will take our offer.

« Reply #119 on: August 17, 2006, 08:17:30 PM »
If we can get Obafemi Martins, Sully Muntari and Manuel Fernandes then a EUFA spot is a definate possibility.

we have made the best offer for Martins, it is just a case of persuading him he doesn't want to play CL football for a couple of seasons.

hopefully he is greedy and will take our offer.

looks like they signed kanu.