March 28, 2024, 08:49:08 AM

Author Topic: English Premier League (EPL) Thread  (Read 256453 times)

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
Re: 2010-2011 English Premier League Thread
« Reply #870 on: January 08, 2011, 12:57:32 AM »
There is a difference in the league this year due to a number of factors imho. 

Money has and always will play a massive part in it, however Man City are the exceptions rather than the rule now, Manu are really spending and their squad isn't as frightening as it used to be, Ambramovich has pumped £100's Million into Chelsea and has an aging squad and new rules next year, Arsenal with the Emirates haven't been spending and Liverpool haven't really been spending.  Spurs needed to spend heavily as they were in big trouble season before last.  I think owners are starting to realise spending is a bit like being a hard man, eventually you come across someone harder or you get old, with money its someone with deeper pockets (ala City) or you go skint (ala Liverpool). 

On top of that teams have changed their attitude to the top 4 and no longer go and lie down but have a go as they have nothing to lose, this has helped in some of the results.  This has helped changed the attitude of other teams going to these grounds.

As for teams making a profit in the EPL, just look at Manu, Liverpool, Chelsea most are not. 

The EPL has been like a runaway merrygoround with ever increasing transfer fees and wages with the result of clubs just losing money, eventually everyone bar the very few exceptions will be thrown off if it is not slowed down. 

In the old division pre EPL better players were spread about a bit more, although Manu, Liverpool always bought the best, imho its much better for all fans and the league if we see a return towards that.  Squad sizes and financial rules will help, its nit just a problem in the EPL but all the leagues across Europe. 

As an example if you look at City's recent purchase, most mid table teams could improve their sides significant by adding 2/3 players for what City have shelled out, but all of them can't afford to do that.

« Reply #871 on: January 08, 2011, 07:52:19 AM »
Hodgson Sacked, Dalglish in charge till end of season.....

they trying anything to beat United this weekend.... 

I must admit..I'm a bit worried now, I think we are too good and too strong for them but they will be up for this game big time... say wa.. may the best team win yes

« Reply #872 on: January 11, 2011, 06:19:59 PM »
City's strikers cost a 137mil plus. The new striker cost 27m, Tevez 25m, Ade 25m, Ballotelli 25m, Santa Cruz 20m plus and then Jo. Santa Cruz and Ade riding pine and Jo dose sometimes get run on the wing! This is what contributes to managers ( Erickson and Hughes) getting fired!

« Reply #873 on: January 12, 2011, 02:14:22 PM »
Sweet goal from Torres 3 minutes in, only to be nullified by an equalizer that was helped by very poor defending.

« Reply #874 on: January 12, 2011, 03:27:09 PM »
Blackpool 2 - 1 Liverpool 69'

« Reply #875 on: January 12, 2011, 03:32:04 PM »
i heart blackpool's heart

« Reply #876 on: January 12, 2011, 04:09:47 PM »
King Kenny boy... I wonder if they lose 3 in a row on the weekend if the fans will still be like NEVER FEAR KING KENNY IS HERE!!

SHIT SIDE

« Reply #877 on: January 14, 2011, 09:07:33 PM »
I want a Blackpool scarf-dig the colours and design!

« Reply #878 on: January 15, 2011, 09:56:10 AM »
Like they replace Chelsea with Man City on Tv or wat? The Chelsea game not even on TV, I thought it may have been on ESPN but not even. It on ESPN home but not in the states.

« Reply #879 on: January 30, 2011, 06:14:20 PM »
Fabregas is an elitist little twit! He can't get tackled, always trying to ref the game, seems to think Arsenal invented football and continually disrespects his opponents by questioning the way they choose to play the game. Arsene9 has taught him well! I hope if he does go to Barca he eats bench like Kleb. Decent player but very hard to like unless you are an Arsenal fan. Spoil and classless brat!
.Fabregas branded a "tit" on Twitter by Hudds midfielder

Mirror Football-Published 23:00 30/01/11 By John Cross
Recommend

Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas was last night accused of telling Huddersfield players to “f*** off” after their bad tempered FA Cup clash.

Huddersfield midfielder Anthony Pilkington claimed Fabregas refused to swap shirts and swore at Lee Pielter and Gary Roberts.

Pilkington said on his Twitter site: “2 lads asked him for his shirt and he told them to f*ck off!! Sick player but what a tit!”

Pilkington later apologised for his Twitter outburst and claimed it was in the heat of the moment.

Huddersfield players were unhappy with Fabregas for waving an imaginary card to try and get Jamie McCombe sent off before the Arsenal captain fired home a late winner from the penalty spot.

« Reply #880 on: January 31, 2011, 08:02:15 AM »
hmmmmmm....

Torres leaves training ground in helicopterReports say Liverpool striker Fernando Torres has left the club's training ground in a helicopter, adding to speculation that the Spaniard could be on his way to Premier League rival Chelsea. British newspapers say Chelsea is prepared to pay 50 million pounds ($79.5 million) for the Spain striker, but Liverpool has so far denied a deal is in the works.

« Reply #881 on: February 02, 2011, 02:31:52 PM »
Tevez is a real player. The fella work rate is out of this world. I think you will be hard pressed to find a player with such a work rate.

« Reply #882 on: February 02, 2011, 06:11:10 PM »
Come on Spurs make the push for fourth!

« Reply #883 on: February 02, 2011, 07:14:12 PM »
Tevez is a real player. The fella work rate is out of this world. I think you will be hard pressed to find a player with such a work rate.

:thumbsup: leggo beast

« Reply #884 on: February 02, 2011, 08:06:35 PM »
They runnin this nice little feature on Shaka during half time of EPL matches on Foxsoccer Plus. Hope people get to scope it.

« Reply #885 on: February 02, 2011, 08:51:34 PM »

Dirk Kuyt.

« Reply #886 on: February 02, 2011, 10:47:42 PM »

Tevez in a league all by he self....the man is a PEST!!  I swear he does do two lines and some crystal meth before each game.

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #887 on: February 02, 2011, 10:57:50 PM »
Tevez is and will always be top 5 of my players. Since Boca days

« Reply #888 on: February 04, 2011, 11:17:19 PM »
As usual, home team listed first.  All times EDT:

Saturday February 5

Stoke City v.   Sunderland - 7:30 am ESPN2/ESPN3.com

Manchester City v. West Bromwich Albion- 9:55 am FSP

Newcastle United v.   Arsenal- 10 am FSC/Fox Deportes

Wolverhampton Wolves v.   Manchester United - 12 pm FSC/Fox Deportes

Sunday February 6

West Ham v.   Birmingham v. - 8:30 am FSP

big game!!  big game!!  big game!!  big game!!
  Chelsea v.   Liverpool- 11 am FSC/Fox Deportes

big game!!  big game!!  big game!!  big game!!

Manday February 7

Fulham v.   Aston Villa 3 pm FSC/Fox Deportes
« Last Edit: February 04, 2011, 11:19:29 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #889 on: February 05, 2011, 11:11:31 AM »
GOAL CRAZY PREM

1705: I can tell you, by the way, that today is officially a record Saturday for Premier League goals, beating the 36 goals scored on 27 November. Breathtaking.

1702: And we've still got Wolves v Man Utd to come. Just... wow.

1700: A total of 33 goals we saw from our six 1500 Premier League matches. That's nearly an average of six a match. Added to our early kick-off, that makes a grand total of 38 goals in seven games. I can't get my head around it.

1658: What on earth? I mean, seriously people, what on earth have we just witnessed? Extraordinary afternoon. Utterly extraordinary.

1656: FULL-TIME Newcastle 4-4 Arsenal

1654: FULL-TIME Wigan 4-3 Blackburn

1654: FULL-TIME Tottenham 2-1 Bolton

1653: FULL-TIME Man City 3-0 West Brom

1653: FULL-TIME Everton 5-3 Blackpool

1652: FULL-TIME Aston Villa 2-2 Fulham

FT Stoke 3- 2 Sunderland

« Reply #890 on: February 05, 2011, 11:20:39 AM »
GOAL CRAZY PREM

1705: I can tell you, by the way, that today is officially a record Saturday for Premier League goals, beating the 36 goals scored on 27 November. Breathtaking.

1702: And we've still got Wolves v Man Utd to come. Just... wow.

1700: A total of 33 goals we saw from our six 1500 Premier League matches. That's nearly an average of six a match. Added to our early kick-off, that makes a grand total of 38 goals in seven games. I can't get my head around it.

1658: What on earth? I mean, seriously people, what on earth have we just witnessed? Extraordinary afternoon. Utterly extraordinary.

1656: FULL-TIME Newcastle 4-4 Arsenal

1654: FULL-TIME Wigan 4-3 Blackburn

1654: FULL-TIME Tottenham 2-1 Bolton

1653: FULL-TIME Man City 3-0 West Brom

1653: FULL-TIME Everton 5-3 Blackpool

1652: FULL-TIME Aston Villa 2-2 Fulham

FT Stoke 3- 2 Sunderland

West Brom and Bolton rel pull stones.  Dey spoil it!

**manUre like dey wanted in on de pullstones action, too...and get it. Well done, Wolves. :beermug:**
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 01:31:50 PM by Mango Chow! »

« Reply #891 on: February 06, 2011, 09:12:22 AM »
any link available for the chelsea - livers game.????

atdhe doh have it on their lineup

« Reply #892 on: February 06, 2011, 09:14:16 AM »

um yuh not home or yuh doh have FSC ah tink dey showing it dere........

« Reply #893 on: February 06, 2011, 09:17:53 AM »

i watching d pre game show rite now on fsc, but wud they block the game? sportsmax dont have the rights?
i dont have sportsmax

« Reply #894 on: February 06, 2011, 10:16:59 AM »

i watching d pre game show rite now on fsc, but wud they block the game? sportsmax dont have the rights?
i dont have sportsmax

http://www.atdhe.fm/index.php?option=com_lsh&view=

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=103740&part=sports

« Reply #895 on: February 06, 2011, 11:18:18 AM »
This game is f**king lullabys.

« Reply #896 on: February 06, 2011, 11:27:53 AM »
This game is f**king lullabys.

liverpool come to play to not lose and Chelsea playin' like dey eh want to win....bullshit in de back, boom, bang, 1-0 liverpool! steups!!

« Reply #897 on: February 06, 2011, 11:35:10 AM »
what a snore fest...chelsea players play around torres, me ent see like they try to look for him or include him

look pool now score

« Reply #898 on: February 06, 2011, 11:53:39 AM »
stamford bridge ent no fortress no more...i like luiz though, he will be immense for chelski.

« Reply #899 on: February 06, 2011, 11:54:54 AM »
f**k u Chelsea :devil: