April 28, 2024, 05:45:01 PM

Author Topic: remember when?  (Read 1836 times)

Offline Lil Jodie P

remember when?
« on: August 16, 2006, 10:25:49 AM »
Remember what it was like when T.V. used to sign off?

Remember watching the last few minutes of signed off T.V. waiting for Sesame
Street to begin?

Remember when one T.V. channel was all you needed, and a remote was unheard
of and you used to be happy when yuh picking up channel nine?

Remember when Dominic Kalipersad was the man on TV from 7pm and you used to
wish news was never a show?

Remember when Judy Alcantara and Allyson Hennesey used to come on the TV
every day around lunch time?

What about de weatherman Robin Maharaj?

Remember when Channel 6 come on de air, how that was like the biggest thing
on TV?

Remember when a Donkey Kong or an Atari game was cool?

Remember when chicken and chips was Kentucky and you always wanted a
Kentucky kids pack to get a Jo Jo dollar?

Remember pitchin' marbles, pickin' mangoes, peltin' stones, shooting caps
guns, checkin' guavas for worms, flyin' kite, lightin' flambo, bussin
bamboo, runnin' races?

Remember home work?

Remember when as soon as you reach on the beach you want to run in de water
fast fast? Remember when yuh wanted to see how deep yuh could dig a hole in
de sand and if you could reach water?

Remember when walking arm in arm (sober) with a guy wasn't gay?

Remember when it was no big deal to kiss your father and your mother's
lipstick stayed on your face for the whole day of school? (Fuh real with the
lipstick shit!!)

Remember Alladin lunch kits and Trinpad copy books that had the national
anthem and "I solemnly pledge" on the inside cover?

Remember snakes and ladders, ludo, chinese checkers, go to pack, suck the
well, rounders, red light green light one two three, I spy, scooch and, kiss
catch- girls catch the boys (never wanted to get caught, but deep inside
wanted to get kissed).

Remember Star Wars, Buck Rogers, Star Trek, MacGyver, Equaliser, Simon and
Simon, Super Friends, the adventures of Batman and Robin, Teen Talent,
Scouting for Talent, Twelve and Under, pick a pan in Mastana Bahar, No
Boundaries, Turn of the Tide.

What about Ralph Maharaj in Cross Country?

Remember Wendell Constantine in Party Time? G-Force, Terror Hawks, Super
Gran, Star Fleet, He-Man, Street Hawk, Fall Guys. A-Team, even the old
people shows like Knots Landing, Falcon Crest and JR and Bobby in Dallas and
as much as I hate to admit it- Circle Square? (I used to love Circle Square
J)

What about when Kiskidee Caravan was the biggest concert out. Dan it up,
Shot call, Ambush and Edoo Edoo pom pom. (bloy bloy)

Remember when an RX 7 was de coolest car. When yuh see a black RX 7 it was
always de Knight Rider car. What about those Knight Rider lights?

Remember when Cinema was the big lime, south people remember going
Gulf City to go in de cinema upstairs?

Remember when Chinese Laundry dub tapes or rhythm nation, Dr Hyde was most
wanted. Remember when Papa Rocky was a big time DJ?

Remember when de only soca tune yu liked was "Dey say ah too young for soca,
oy yoo yoyy dey making joke" and roll up de tassa, and Sparrow's never eat a
white meat yet. Oh gawdd, what about bump and wine?

Wait Wait, what about Nelson's Soca Daddy (She fall and ... she uh uh)?

Remember when the only two ladies you knew who used to sing Calypso was
Denyse Plummer and Drupatee? Never did you think ayyy we going to see a sexy
woman on stage! (That is just wrong)

What about acid wash or stone wash jeans or hood tops with Malcolm X on it?
(cyah cyah, fuh real!)

Girls what about jeans with all dem fancy patches on it and yuh wearing big
belt too and shoes with fancy colour lacing?

Remember when shorts for girls used to reach all by they knee and you would
be like "she looking nice"?

What about Rikki Tikki and Uncle Ian who used to draw all kind of lines and
say this is the sun and that is the forest? Remember shouting
"HELLOOOOOOOOOOOO!" into d TV believing with all your heart that d Rikki
Tikki in-studio audience could hear you???? LOL!!!!

Remember when goin Intercol was the biggest lime after school? Either yuh
looking to go Skinner Park or in de Stadium.

What about those two to eight limes? Or when hanging by the video arcade was
cool?

What about the Penal Convent bazaars or the Fatima College dances? (Dread!
Fuh real! May Fiesta.)

Remember when going in the direction after Hilton was like going on some
hike in some weird area? Never heard about Coconuts then?

The only reason you going around the savannah was to go in the zoo or by de
botanic gardens.

Remember wanting to catch the maxi with the biggest sounds?

Remember when "race" was a word used to describe a running competition,
"colour" was used to describe yuh water paints or yuh drawing book and
religion was remembering the "our father" and "thank you for the food we
eat"?

Remember when a fight was a few hard cuff and ended with a simple sorry?

Remember when disease was the cold, starvation was a belly ache, a cold
drink was a big red, a solo or a tall pepsi and how high you got depended on
who was pushing the swings?

Remember when the Prime Minister was just a name in Social Studies and
politics was just a word in your spelling book? (Remember the Students
Companion????)

Remember when guns were full of water and knives were made of plastic?

Do you remember....... my Trini people?

FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

Re: remember when?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2006, 10:42:01 AM »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2006, 01:43:31 PM »
I used tuh love a good school BAZAAR!!  Dey still have dem?  ah wonder
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2006, 08:50:41 PM »
Thanks fuh the memories L.J.P....

« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2006, 09:33:12 PM »
ah remember meh brudda sunshine jockey shorts....dey bright yellow and dey red ones.
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

ah sure half ah allyuh still have it at dey bottom ah dey draw..err bayrow

« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2006, 10:34:31 PM »
Remember when a Donkey Kong or an Atari game was cool?

If you had Atari you was king, real friends

Remember Alladin lunch kits and Trinpad copy books that had the national
anthem and "I solemnly pledge" on the inside cover?

And on the back had times tables and conversion table(metric and volume)

Remember Star Wars, Buck Rogers, Star Trek, MacGyver, Equaliser, Simon and
Simon, Super Friends, the adventures of Batman and Robin, Teen Talent,
Scouting for Talent, Twelve and Under, pick a pan in Mastana Bahar, No
Boundaries, Turn of the Tide.

What about Hart to Hart and Sugar cane Arrows

Remember Wendell Constantine in Party Time? G-Force, Terror Hawks, Super
Gran, Star Fleet, He-Man, Street Hawk, Fall Guys. A-Team, even the old
people shows like Knots Landing, Falcon Crest and JR and Bobby in Dallas and
as much as I hate to admit it- Circle Square? (I used to love Circle Square
J)

How you go call He-man and leave out She-Ra, and dont forget Fraggel Rock

Remember when Chinese Laundry dub tapes or rhythm nation, Dr Hyde was most
wanted. Remember when Papa Rocky was a big time DJ?

Who here remember Production Sounds and Jhonny Q

Remember when the only two ladies you knew who used to sing Calypso was
Denyse Plummer and Drupatee? Never did you think ayyy we going to see a sexy
woman on stage! (That is just wrong)

Ok let we go back to Rose and Singing Francine

Girls what about jeans with all dem fancy patches on it and yuh wearing big
belt too and shoes with fancy colour lacing?

Remember when it change from Gun Mouth to Bell Bottom pants( as it does every 20-30 yrs) and what the fat lacing....that men used to thatch like coconut roof

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2006, 10:17:07 AM »
what about them ol skool DJs:

- rennie B
- stanley agustus
- dave elcock (in the morning)
- mad man maddy

Offline joadav

• Tortola BVI here I come!
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2006, 10:34:29 AM »
Remember what it was like when T.V. used to sign off?

Remember when chicken and chips was Kentucky and you always wanted a
Kentucky kids pack to get a Jo Jo dollar?

Do you remember....... my Trini people?

Hey what about Sunday Basket chicken and Famous Recipe (I think that's the name) it had a yellow box... anybody remember?
*ht007