April 29, 2024, 11:45:28 AM

Author Topic: Top 100 Calyypsos of the 20th century  (Read 14556 times)

Top 100 Calyypsos of the 20th century
« on: August 18, 2006, 07:31:00 AM »
i dont know if this wa sposted already but if it wasnt then

1      progress - King Austin (Austin Lewis) 1980
2.   Portrait of Trinidad - Mighty Sniper (Mervyn Hodge) 1965
3.   Jean and Dinah - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1956
4.   Bassman - Mighty Shadow (Winston Bailey) 1974
5.   Fire in Your Wire - Calypso Rose (McArthur Lewis) 1967
6.   High Mas - David Rudder (David Rudder) 1998
7.   Dan is the Man - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1963
8.   Maria - Lord Blakie (Carlton Joseph) 1962
9.   If the Priest Could Play - Mighty Cypher (Dillary B Scott) 1967
10.   The Sinking Ship - Gypsy (Winston Peters) 1986
11.   Jahaji Bhai - Brother Marvin (Selwyn Demming) 1996
12.   God Bless Our Nation - Lord Baker (Kent King) 1967
13.   Rainorama - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1973
14.   Steelband Clash - Lord Blakie (Carlton Joseph) 1954
15.   The Road - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1963
16.   Yankee Dollar (Rum and Coca Cola) - Lord Invader (Rupert Grant) 1946
17.   Mama Look A Boo Boo - Lord Melody (Fitzroy Alexander) 1956
18.   Lazy Man - Mighty Dougla (Clatis Ali) 1961
19.   Caribbean Unity - Black Stalin (Leroy Calliste) 1979
20.   The Slave - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1963
21.   Child Training - Mighty Composer (Fred Mitchell) 1969
22.   Love in the Cemetery - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1963
23.   Matilda - King Radio (Norman Span) 1938
24.   Little Black Boy - Gypsy (Winston Peters) 1997
25.   Federation - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1962
26.   Burn Dem - Black Stalin (Leroy Calliste) 1987
27.   Ice Man (aka Ice Ice) - Lord Melody (Fitzroy Alexander) 1960
28.   Rich Man Poor Man - Lord Brynner (Kade Simon) 1960
29.   Um Ba Yao - Merchant (Dennis F. Williams) 1978
30.   La La - Lord Nelson (Robert Nelson) 1976
31.   Nature's Plan - Johnny King (Johnston King) 1984
32.   Poverty is Hell - Shadow (Winston Bailey) 1994
33.   The Will - Scrunter (Owen Reyes Johnson) 1982
34.   Tourist Leggo - Short Shirt ( Emmanuel McLean ) 1976/7
35.   Trouble in Arima - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1954
36.   Ten to One is Murder - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Fra1ncisco) 1960
37.   Lorraine - Explainer (Winston Henry) 1982
38.   Ganges and the Nile - David Rudder (David Rudder) 1999
39.   Come Leh We Go Sookie - King Fighter (Shurland Wilson) 1964
40.   Dustbin Cover - Crazy (Edwin Ayoung) 1978
41.   Joan and James (aka Five Little Popos) - Mighty Bomber (Clifton Ryan) 1964
42.   Life is A Stage - Brother Valentino (Emrold Phillips) 1972
43.   Mama Dis is Mas - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1964
44.   Pan Talent - Mighty Terror (Fitzgerald Henry) 1965
45.   For Cane - Gypsy (Winston Peters) 1972
46.   Mary Anne - Roaring Lion (Raphael De Leon) 1946
47.   Severe Licking - Baron (Timothy Watkins) 1971
48.   Watch Out My Children - Ras Shorty I (Garfield Blackman) 1989
49.   Split Me in Two - Mighty Dougla (Clatis Ali) 1961
50.   Ras Mas - Explainer (Winston Henry) 1981
51.   My Pussin - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1965
52.   Mama Popo - Brigo (Samuel Abraham) 1960s?
53.   Black is Beautiful - Duke (Kelvin Pope) 1969
54.   Money is King - Growling Tiger (Neville Marcano) 1935
55.   Juba Dubai - Chalkdust (Hollis Liverpool) 1977
56.   A Mother's Love - Destroyer (Donald Glasgow) 1941
57.   Too Much Man Family - Mighty Zandolie (Sylvester Anthony) 1967
58.   King Liar - Lord Nelson (Robert Nelson) 1977
59.   Melda (Obeah Wedding) - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1966
60.   The Mecca - Brother Mudada (Alan Fortune) 1987
61.   Mr. Walker - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1968
62.   The Bedbug - Mighty Spoiler (Theophilus Phillip) 1953
63.   Congo Man - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1965/1989
64.   Pan in A Minor - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1987
65.   Education - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1967
66.   People Will Talk - King Fighter (Shurland Wilson) 1962
67.   Flag Woman - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1976
68.   Gavaskar - Relator (Willard Harris) 1972
69.   Soca Baptist - Blueboy ( Austin Lyons ) 1980
70.   Steel and Brass - King Wellington (Wellington Quashi) 1973
71.   Norman - Merchant (Dennis F. Williams) 1978
72.   Indrani - Lord Shorty (Garfield Blackman) 1972
73.   Never Ever Worry - Lord Pretender (Alric Farrell) 1962
74.    Is Thunder - Duke (Kelvin Pope) 1987
75.   Run the Gunslingers - Lord Caruso (Emmanuel Pierre) 1959
76.   Papa Chunks - Roaring Lion (Raphael De Leon) 1941/1995
77.   Scrunting Calypsonian - Trinidad Rio (Daniel Brown) 1978
78.   Supposing - Mighty Composer (Fred Mitchell) 1964
79.   Pan in Danger - Merchant (Dennis F. Williams) 1985
80.   The Bionic Man - Maestro (Cecil Hume) 1977
81.   What is Calypso? - Mighty Duke (Kelvin Pope) 1968
82.   Voices From the Ghetto - Singing Sandra (Sandra De Vignes) 1999
83.   The Graf Zeppelin - Atilla the Hun (Raymond Quevedo) 1934
84.   The Five Rules of Calypso - Mighty Fearless (Mikey Hamit) 1966
85.   Santa - King Solomon (Samuel Ryan) 1961
86.   Miss Tourist - Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) 1968
87.   The Outcast - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1963
88.   Women and Money - Mighty Conqueror (Leroy Paul) 1962
89.   Brown Skin Girl - King Radio (Norman Span) 1933
90.   Die with My Dignity - Singing Sandra (Sandra De Vignes) 1987
91.   Black Man Come to Party - Black Stalin (Leroy Calliste) 1991
92.   Ma and Pa - Lord Creator (Kenrick Patrick) 1965
93.   Obey the Highway Code - Magic (A. Rampersad) 1960s?
94.   Never Hang Your Hat - Lord Cristo (Christopher Laidlow) 1967
95.   Chinese Children - Mighty Terror (Fitzgerald Henry) 1950
96.   May May - Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco) 1960
97.   Raycan - Lord Shortshirt (Hector Emmanuel) 1977
98.   Soul Chick - Funny (Donric Williamson) 1973
99.   Don't Interfere - The Hawk (Kenneth Haywood) 1961
100.   Woman on the Bass - Scrunter (Owen Reyes Johnson) 1980
                                                                                          courtesy Kaisoca International
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: Top 100 Calyypsos of the 20th century
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 08:00:31 AM »
Who come up wit dat rankin system in trute?

Strange, I know a few of those on that list yet...I never heard about Progress from King Austin  :-\

Ah find Rose score too high wit Fire in yuh wire...and anyting from Black Stalin score too low (de man is ah genius)

Mih favourite kaiso from all time make de ---DUSTBIN COVAH   ;D

« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2008, 08:51:22 PM »
Allyuh Listen to the #69 track on Organic list.. :beermug:

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/soca_baptist.htm

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 09:34:59 PM »
no. 62 is ah classic.

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2008, 08:53:29 PM »
no. 62 is ah classic.

"If yuh thin don't be in a fright, it's only big fat woman I'm going to bite"

« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2008, 10:01:33 PM »
So far Progress seem like a good bet but the rest of that list seems suspect.

« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2008, 06:02:01 AM »
So far Progress seem like a good bet but the rest of that list seems suspect.

Nah dred... I think is only a lack of familiarity causing yuh to say dat.  I dunno how come I only now coming across this post, but I was pleasantly surprised to see two of my all-time favorite calypsos atop the list... hands down Progress and Portrait of Trinidad are two of the most beautiful compositions to ever come out of the caribbean.

Many of the songs on that list I'm unfamiliar with (which really is a shame, we should all be more familiar with these songs if the artists had the type of support in TnT to get their music played and sold), many more I'm familiar with the name and artist but not the song itself... which is to say don't ask me to sing it for you, but I know of it.

It's a good list, you can find and listen to some of the songs Here

« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2008, 07:38:12 AM »
I not too sure if the list is in order from what they think is best. But have real tunes dere I forget about and will defintely be geting !

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2008, 09:28:39 AM »
Pretty impressive list actually.

Progress is an excellent choice for top kaiso as is Portrait of Trinidad.

Man lazy man is boss kaiso..de man lazy tuh wine and dine
he lazy tuh talk he mind
sun hot like fire de man too lazt tuh perspire
he tired and he hungry like ah old ram sheep he too lazy tuh go to sleep

wow, re-reading the list..I am giving mad props to whoever came up with it..classics all.

« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2008, 07:44:15 PM »
no. 62 is ah classic.

"If yuh thin don't be in a fright, it's only big fat woman I'm going to bite"

daiz de damn ting self. :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2008, 07:55:11 PM »
Pretty good list. There are some other calypsoes could be on that list. But all in all  very good. There is a song by Anselm Douglas, Bois(When ah dead bury mih clothes) I thought could have been there.

« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2008, 08:50:28 PM »
Pretty good list. There are some other calypsoes could be on that list. But all in all  very good. There is a song by Anselm Douglas, Bois(When ah dead bury mih clothes) I thought could have been there.

Boss chune dat  :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: June 20, 2008, 09:02:26 PM »

Trying to find that tune on de net now cause ah dont have it on CD

« Reply #13 on: June 21, 2008, 12:18:06 AM »
Ah tell allyuh dat list suspect. Wey DE Hammer. Bahia Gyul. Calypso . Phillip my dear by Sparrow.  ;D Ah just on kicks, the list good, it have rel good songs on there.

« Reply #14 on: June 21, 2008, 12:38:57 AM »
Ah tell allyuh dat list suspect. Wey DE Hammer. Bahia Gyul. Calypso . Phillip my dear by Sparrow.  ;D Ah just on kicks, the list good, it have rel good songs on there.

Buh yuh right... it have plenty that missing. In the least I'd still quibble with the order the songs are listed (assuming that it's reflective of some sort of ranking or the other).

« Reply #15 on: June 21, 2008, 09:10:15 AM »
Yeah, Dem Crazy, they definitely need this tune on that list :devil: :devil:

Fishs go like #100 ;D

serious: they have to put this one :rotfl:
« Last Edit: June 21, 2008, 09:28:03 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2008, 09:11:22 AM »
Ah looking for a link to this one:

. "ah watchin you whole night
you prancing up whole night
you dancing up whole night
you poking me whole night
provoking me
if ah only hold you tonight is thunder"

« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2008, 09:14:23 AM »

provoking me

flicken BOSS tune ;D :D
« Last Edit: June 21, 2008, 09:18:04 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2008, 09:21:54 AM »

provoking me

flicken BOSS tune ;D :D

THANKS WC :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: Oh gosh this tune really pump meh up yes!!!!!  yes ah go have tuh play this tune as meh warm up yes:

Leh me dedicate this tune to  COCO and TrinCana :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :challenge: :challenge: :challenge: :challenge: :challenge:

p.s ah only see a picture ah  'Brownsugar' ah think she deserves  a dedication too oui.

Look nah : ten times ah done listen to this tune fuh the day and counting.......look nah at this damn time and age this have tuh become meh 'bomb TUNE' YES.

Ah lose track of the replays.......still playing and counting
« Last Edit: June 21, 2008, 10:23:50 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #19 on: June 21, 2008, 10:07:46 AM »
The Brass section in Thunder was one of the best. Loud, Clear, Clean and tight. That why it was so popular in Cental America.

Offline Swima

« Reply #20 on: June 21, 2008, 07:11:35 PM »
Saw this long time and never comment. Progress is a boss song but if this list does not include Calypso Music by David Michael Rudder, it gets no respect from me. Men who know dat song from start to finish know dat dat song could raise pores and when King David sing it live and go into the souter baptist session yuh does really ketch it.

Another of my favourites that should be on this list is Money ehn no problem. A song that is still relative today in TnT. But men know my feelings on shorty already..... frigging genious!
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #21 on: June 21, 2008, 08:25:37 PM »
Saw this long time and never comment. Progress is a boss song but if this list does not include Calypso Music by David Michael Rudder, it gets no respect from me. Men who know dat song from start to finish know dat dat song could raise pores and when King David sing it live and go into the souter baptist session yuh does really ketch it.

Another of my favourites that should be on this list is Money ehn no problem. A song that is still relative today in TnT. But men know my feelings on shorty already..... frigging genious!
Good call on Calypso Music... that belongs in the pantheon of Calypso recordings and any list would be incomplete and in authenticated without it.  I too have a keen appreciation for Shorty, so I hear you on Money Eh No Problem...but I think the case for Calypso Music is stronger.

... boy when King David start church in ah fete, is all kinda feelings does move in yuh chest yes  :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2008, 09:23:41 PM »
Who come up wit dat rankin system in trute?

Strange, I know a few of those on that list yet...I never heard about Progress from King Austin  :-\

Ah find Rose score too high wit Fire in yuh wire...and anyting from Black Stalin score too low (de man is ah genius)

Mih favourite kaiso from all time make de ---DUSTBIN COVAH   ;D
For real this song better than rose song
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/_ah_feel_to_party.asf

« Last Edit: June 21, 2008, 09:38:16 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #23 on: October 11, 2008, 11:31:13 AM »
Now i was not sure if to create a new thread just for this but i think it best fits under this threa..and i know alot of Kaiso lovers in here will appreciate watching and hearing this again..This is lyrics !!  CLASSIC !!   :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u81lNJbX8qc&eurl=http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/f16/post-ur-favorite-kaiso-182836/

« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2008, 12:15:03 PM »
Calypso Music by David Rudder is hands down the best Calypso I've ever heard....and arguably one of the best songs (regardless of genre) ever written.  With all due respect to Stalin (Bun dem was a big tune), but how David Rudder didn't win the Monarch in 87 is still a mystery to me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lJFxF_iNDY

Progress is great song too... miss that tune- good memories.

I'll get a bit controversial here and suggest that Maximus Dan "Fighter" should be in that list, even if for sentiment alone.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 12:24:17 PM by kicker »

Offline Swima

« Reply #25 on: October 13, 2008, 12:28:40 PM »
Calypso Music by David Rudder is hands down the best Calypso I've ever heard....and arguably one of the best songs (regardless of genre) ever written.  With all due respect to Stalin (Bun dem was a big tune), but how David Rudder didn't win the Monarch in 87 is still a mystery to me.

I'll get a bit controversial here and suggest that Maximus Dan "Fighter" should be in that list, even if for sentiment alone.

Doh worry horse. Fighter go make it on the top 100 of the 21st century!
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #26 on: October 13, 2008, 12:29:49 PM »

Doh worry horse. Fighter go make it on the top 100 of the 21st century!

lol- true- not paying attention as usual...  ;D

« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2008, 04:43:16 PM »

Sando dat song ain't name 'stick fight?"
If is dey same song, ah have it on mp3

« Reply #28 on: October 13, 2008, 04:53:36 PM »
The Brass section in Thunder was one of the best. Loud, Clear, Clean and tight. That why it was so popular in Cental America.

But Deeks back in dey day Duke had some memorable ones eh

Party Time
Outrageous
Total Disorder
Get on Radical
The Phun Uh Nung Sweet
Doh Fool Around by Me  <------ meh favorite
Soca Have Meh Tu Tul Bey
Party For Yuh Life <-----another favorite

My biggest grief is not keeping dese chunes with me when I left Trinidad :-[

« Reply #29 on: October 13, 2008, 10:05:51 PM »

Sando dat song ain't name 'stick fight?"
If is dey same song, ah have it on mp3
Yeh Cana the chuune name is "Stick fight" and i got it few days after i made that post  :beermug: