April 28, 2024, 01:53:47 PM

Author Topic: Potency foods and other enhancing stimulants.......some health facts  (Read 6505 times)

OVERVIEW:
Now leh we take this opportunity to go back in time on a different topic; leh we just drop all myths or if yuh story work share the  ole talk. Allyuh eh think ah Trini should have invented Viagra? ah mean look at all the type of enhancement 'herbs', stimulants we had  in the past?  I am inviting the readers to  share some of the local stories. Funny thing how different cultures had versions of various alleged potency stimulants. Yuh see to me( this is not from personal experience), Viagra is a North American stimulant in as much as we had various beliefs  from our society somebody invented this wonder pill and now it fully marketed. Now why was never of our local potency beliefs ever marketed? ah mean  man use to boast about the power of its magic.

My Initial story:

As a young boy ah remember the first story ah heard of was the  potency affiliated with drinking ah Guinness. That was the first drink ah ever ordered from a rum shop. Next ah heard of was potency associated with Oysters. Yes ah use to take meh oysters after school. Funny ah never ever really tested the theory to see if better potency ever resulted from the taking of those substances? what allyuh think?
 The TASK:
Later on in life ah heard about turtle soup; and using 'blue stone'. But ehehe it funny eh ah never heard of women having to use  these stimulants?
BELIEFS FROM DIFFERENT CULTURES:

"Traditionally, tongkat ali has been a plant found throughout Southeast Asia. In Vietnam it is regarded a cure-all. In sex-crazy Thailand, men have used it as a virility tonic for centuries. And in Malaysia, it has been harvested heavily to be sold in the US."

"Yohimbe is the name of the bark of a tall evergreen tree in western Africa known as Pausinystalia yohimbe or Corynanthe yohimbe. Yohimbe bark has been used for centuries in some western African nations for sexual enhancement. "

Now it have some more but now ah go let allyuh reveal allyuh stories. TAKE IT AWAY.

To support my thinking, here is an article about the alleged beliefs around certain food products:

IS FOOD SEXY? BY Caroline Coombs
Henry Kissinger once said "Power is the ultimate aphrodisiac," but he could have saved himself some trouble if only he had helped himself to a bowl of celery soup and a Hershey bar.

Throughout history the quest for the ultimate libido lifter has never ceased. Aphrodisiacs, defined as any "food, drink, drug, scent, or device that can arouse or increase sexual desire or libido" are appropriately named after Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of sexual love, beauty, and desire (1). The faith in aphrodisiacs has been so staunch that in the 17th century it was forbidden for monks in France to drink chocolate on account of its supposed amatory properties (2).

Documented sexual stimulants range from fish to artichokes, but you don't need a meal of caviar and champagne to whet your lover's amatory appetite; some aphrodisiac recipes as simple as celery soup could invigorate your sex life.

The reasoning behind the supposed sexually stimulating powers of different foods varies between cultures. In some countries aphrodisiacs gained their reputation through mistranslations over time.

For example, originally named "apple of the moors," the French translation of the common tomato was pomme d'amour, which in English means "love apple." At the time this rare delicacy was a sought-after love stimulant due to its red color, which indicates passion and excitement. However, once the tomato became plentiful and cheap in the 19th century, it was no longer considered an esteemed sex aid.

Additionally, vanilla attained its aphrodisiacal popularity from a linguistic origin. Once considered a powerful passion stimulant, vanilla is the diminutive of the Latin term vagina (2).

The appearance, rather than the name has attributed aphrodisiacal properties to some foods. In Britain, the Saxons believed in the Doctrine of Signatures which states "every plant that is of use to man has been marked by God in a way which reveals its intended use." Thus, phallic plants such as cucumbers, carrots, and ginseng are turned to for sexual success (3).

One such phallic food is the mandrake. Growing in the form of human limbs, the mandrake has been an esteemed aphrodisiac since Biblical times; its erotic effectiveness is even alluded to in Genesis 30 v. 15: "…Rachel said, He shall sleep with thee this night, for thy son's mandrakes…" (2).

This yellow fruit, which is the size of a plum, can be found in the Mediterranean area. Fable asserts that the magic mandrake is a root that grows in the form of male genitalia, glows in the dark, and lets out a mysterious shriek when pulled from the ground. It was used by witches in various so-called love potions during the Medieval era (3). Coincidentally or not, Aphrodite is also known as Madragoritis, She of the Mandrake (2).

Ancient Chinese culture claims that ginseng increases sexual potency. Its name is loosely translated as "man-like" and therefore by a belief similar to the Doctrine of Signatures, ginseng is thought to be a love stimulant.

Modern thought may dismiss ginseng's aphrodisiacal powers on these grounds, but research has actually shown an increased rate of ejaculation in male lab rats when fed ginseng. Furthermore, female rats that ingested ginseng were more responsive to the advances of the male rats. The root has also produced increased ovarian growth in frogs and enhanced egg laying in hens. More importantly, when tested in 133 humans, 22 reported a raise in blood pressure, facilitating the erectile process; 9 reported enhancement of sexual performance; and 93 experienced feelings of well-being (3).

The British Law of Similarity reasoned that if love and desire evoke feelings such as burning, sweating, fainting, and distraction, then any food that arouses the same feelings must produce love and desire (3). Examples may include chilies, curries, and other spicy foods.

Through this reasoning, Spanish Fly has become a well-known aphrodisiac. These "blister beetles" are found in the Mediterranean, Near East, and Britain. The active ingredient is cantharidin (hexahydro-3,7-dimethyl-4,4-epoxyisobenofuran-1,3-dione) which at a 3 mg dose is toxic and at a 32 mg dose can be lethal. When dried and crushed to a powder, Spanish Fly causes inflammation of the stomach and bowls, difficult and bloody urine, severe cramps, burning in the mouth and throat, vomiting, and convulsions. However, relief from the irritation in the urinogenital tract can be attained through sex. To the disappointment of many, cantharidin is now most effectively used as a topical wart remover (3).

Despite this most recent use, history shows that Spanish Fly has served an actual sexual purpose. According to the Annals of Imperial Rome, Spanish Fly was used by Livia, Emperor Tiberius' mother, to make members of the imperial family commit sexual indiscretions that could be used against them. Also, Madame de Pompadour used Spanish Fly as a way to regain and maintain the sexual attention of King Luis XV (3).

More savory alternatives to Spanish Fly are nutmeg or cinnamon, whose aphrodisiacal properties are attributed to their exotic flavors. Both come from East Indian trees and are used as flavorings in sweets and puddings. However, in excess of two tablespoons, nutmeg can cause headache and dizziness for an hour followed by hallucinations for several days. The active ingredient causes psychedelic effects similar to LSD. Therefore nutmeg is a favorite desert flavoring among prisoners in both the UK and US for this reason (3).

Some love potions are considered aphrodisiacs on the grounds that they invigorate and augment sexual performance. This most likely can be attributed to a surge of needed sustenance, which may be lacking in a lethargic lover.

Vatsyayana's The Kama Sutra cites many recipes including milk, honey, eggs, and ghee (butter) to increase sexual vigor. For example, one concoction demands boiling the testicle of a goat or ram in milk and sugar, resulting in a liquor that increases sexual appetite. A more straightforward potion demands equal quantities of ghee, honey, sugar, and liquorice mixed with milk and the juice of fennel to lift libido. However, scientific research contends that this mixture is only effective in providing proteins and vitamins to a deficient diet. Therefore, its effects may only be felt by an undernourished person (3).

Another aid used in the pursuit of sexual betterment is Rhino horn, which is popular in Chinese and Korean culture. Apart from resembling an erect penis, it contains high quantities of calcium and phosphorus, which can revive a listless lover. Like those recipes found in The Kama Sutra, the aphrodisiac effects of Rhino Horn are only psychological to those who have a bad diet (3).

Egyptians, Romans and Greeks hounded the erotic properties of mushrooms. They believed mushrooms should never be cut when added to dishes in order to maintain their carnal powers. Mushrooms are high in albumen and glycogen, which is thought to increase sexual vigor. However, since many varieties of mushrooms are poisonous, great care should be taken in choosing them (4).

Fish is another food thought to be a powerful aphrodisiac for several reasons. First, the association that Aphrodite was born from the sea lends credence to this theory. Fish is also very rich in phosphorus which is a powerful stimulant causing violent and spontaneous erections. French doctors studied the effects of phosphorus in the 19th century and concluded that it increases venereal wants and acts as an energetic stimulant of the genital organs (4).

Though not effective in increasing sexual vigor, alcohol is used widely today because it is thought to increase amorous inclinations. As early as 800 BC ancient cultures were distilling beverages to create alcohol. Associated with loose sexual morals, alcohol is known to reduce anxiety, boost self-confidence, and promote desire (3).

Champagne is thought to be the most effective aphrodisiac of all alcohol because the carbon dioxide bubbles stimulate the palate. Additionally, it does not have the same sedative effects as other alcoholic drinks. Yet studies show that alcohol can actually delay orgasm in males but in females it produces relaxation and facilitates intercourse by its muscle-relaxant properties (3).

Although for thousands of years cultures of the world have developed recipes to increase venereal desire, according to the FDA, "The reputed sexual effects of so-called aphrodisiacs are based on folklore, not fact" (1). Harry E. Wedek's Dictionary of Aphrodisiacs even asserts "the efficacy of aphrodisiacs is often a matter of long-standing tradition, untested for validity, but wishfully handed down in oral legend and folktales, in magic rituals and old wives' lore, through the succession of the centuries" (2). Despite these assertions, many sexual optimists still believe that the best way to a person's heart is through his/her stomach.

However, before you count on the potency of aphrodisiacs, take into account the words of the Roman Seneca:

I will show you a philtre without potions
without herbs, without any witch's

incantation--if you wish to be loved, love.

« Last Edit: August 23, 2006, 07:51:06 AM by AlbertaTrini »

Re: Enhancements; sexual stimulants:Myth or reality?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2006, 08:03:50 PM »
Seamoss good fur ya back...meh brudda get dat lyric enough from meh fadda.

we oman doh know bout dem thing...cause what we have comes natually.
all we had when we was growing up, especially during recess (twice ah day- half ah hour) and lunchtime (ah hour) was how to use ah hulla hoop - need i say more ? ;D  ;D

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2006, 08:08:44 PM »
So we starting t comple a list for the youths and them ; yuh see Carnival coming up and well at that time...well leh we leave that part out. So far we have:

GUINNESS: stiffer....okok...

OYSTERS: enhance sexual performance

SEAMOSS: good for the back.

hulla hoop : ......( THE WOMEN'S ANSWER) simple ent it relable and efficient why?
« Last Edit: August 20, 2006, 08:17:39 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2006, 08:15:13 PM »
hmmm see is only man you studying bout ?

HULLA HOOP fur dey girls...we doh need list. ::)

ah like this back in time thing yes; look what ah  find nah? ah think ah go call this thread calypso/soca on the topic of love making.........

Art of Making Love - Lord Shorty

[verse 1]
Love making is an art few of us master
Some men cyah even start to rekinle their women's fire
Continuosly they leaving their poor women on the shelf
And always in a hurry, only satifying theyself
Now when she walk out and go, they cyah understand
That she left for lack of complete satifaction
But your woman could never leave you as long as she live
If you play it smart and practice the art of this expert advice I'll give

[chorus]
If you want to make your woman feel the way she love to feel
First dim the lights
Then squeeze her tight
Whisper in her ear
Stick your finger in her hair
Suck she lip
Massage she hip
Then you move your pubic section
In a slow circular motion
As she eye get sleep
Papa is time to sqwoogie woogie

[verse 2]
Women act differently I know, according to their race
You'll find some woman noisy, any time any place
And then some are so reserved in all their doings
Although vibrantly being served, they cover they eye and wouldn't say a word a ting
The Spanish and Chinese will scratch you like they have claws
The Indians, the Whites, The Portugese, mister all is yours
But with a Negro or a Dougla you're in for a fight
And I can tell you brother, they fuller, bigger and lord they have appetite

[chorus]
Take a nipple in your mouth
That does tickle all about
Listen to her breathing
And if she gasping like she strangling
Doh stop, continue
Tell her what you going to do
Talk to she and make she answer
That my friend builds the fire
You must roll and grind your teeth
And even if she sour, tell she, she sweet

[verse 3]
It is a risk I agreed, pushing your tongue in some women ear
Because sometime it so waxy, them and all catching they tail to hear
So a man must have stamina and a strong constitution
Because being a lover, believe me takes a lot of man
Imagine you kiss your gyul and get a piece of bake she ate quite a while
The expert lover will swallow that with a smile
And if she raise she hand and she arm smell like stale potato
You must ask she "darling shunkans, sbunkans, spunkans, how you could smell nice so?"

[chorus]
You got to take your time
Let she do all the grind
And if tell you wait, oh gosh wait
Doh stop you doing great
Keep on the move
Stay in the groove
Now doh forget this nice middle finger
This fat magnificentfinger
Always keep it handy
In case of emergency

[verse 4]
When a man going down in age, he gets panicky
Because that is the stage, he's afraid of losing his verility
But pleasing a woman only takes common sense and wit
You don't have to be Superman, just know what to do and how to do it
Some men old, they cyah make, but see them in the dark
Packing if you will, trying to get a spark
Man this is frustrating, ask any woman
Ah she go tell you she prefer take a hot dog any day from a chinee man

[chorus]
And you feeling old
Perhaps your engine run cold
I know you may feel you want stimulant
That eh important
If you feel Shorty lying
Go find Panther ask him
You could do the same thing like Panther
Find a girl who is a sport lover
Take her to the savannah
To she hockey or cricket and soccer

Dat was ah Kaiso??  :o

No wonder he turn Ras and get conscious.......in conservative trinidad how shorty never get lock up fuh dat?

Offline cocoapanyol

ah like this back in time thing yes; look what ah  find nah? ah think ah go call this thread calypso/soca on the topic of love making.........

Art of Making Love - Lord Shorty

[verse 1]
Love making is an art few of us master
Some men cyah even start to rekinle their women's fire
Continuosly they leaving their poor women on the shelf
And always in a hurry, only satifying theyself
Now when she walk out and go, they cyah understand
That she left for lack of complete satifaction
But your woman could never leave you as long as she live
If you play it smart and practice the art of this expert advice I'll give

[chorus]
First dim the lights
Then squeeze her tight
Whisper in her ear
Stick your finger in her hair
Suck she lip
Massage she hip
Then you move your pubic section
In a slow circular motion
As she eye get sleep
Papa is time to sqwoogie woogie

[verse 2]
Women act differently I know, according to their race
You'll find some woman noisy, any time any place
And then some are so reserved in all their doings
Although vibrantly being served, they cover they eye and wouldn't say a word a ting
The Spanish and Chinese will scratch you like they have claws
The Indians, the Whites, The Portugese, mister all is yours
But with a Negro or a Dougla you're in for a fight
And I can tell you brother, they fuller, bigger and lord they have appetite

[chorus]
Take a nipple in your mouth
That does tickle all about
Listen to her breathing
And if she gasping like she strangling
Doh stop, continue
Tell her what you going to do
Talk to she and make she answer
That my friend builds the fire
You must roll and grind your teeth
And even if she sour, tell she, she sweet

[verse 3]
It is a risk I agreed, pushing your tongue in some women ear
Because sometime it so waxy, them and all catching they tail to hear
So a man must have stamina and a strong constitution
Because being a lover, believe me takes a lot of man
Imagine you kiss your gyul and get a piece of bake she ate quite a while
The expert lover will swallow that with a smile
And if she raise she hand and she arm smell like stale potato
You must ask she "darling shunkans, sbunkans, spunkans, how you could smell nice so?"

[chorus]
You got to take your time
Let she do all the grind
And if tell you wait, oh gosh wait
Doh stop you doing great
Keep on the move
Stay in the groove
Now doh forget this nice middle finger
This fat magnificentfinger
Always keep it handy
In case of emergency

[verse 4]
When a man going down in age, he gets panicky
Because that is the stage, he's afraid of losing his verility
But pleasing a woman only takes common sense and wit
You don't have to be Superman, just know what to do and how to do it
Some men old, they cyah make, but see them in the dark
Packing if you will, trying to get a spark
Man this is frustrating, ask any woman
Ah she go tell you she prefer take a hot dog any day from a chinee man

[chorus]
And you feeling old
Perhaps your engine run cold
I know you may feel you want stimulant
That eh important
If you feel Shorty lying
Go find Panther ask him
You could do the same thing like Panther
Find a girl who is a sport lover
Take her to the savannah
To she hockey or cricket and soccer

Boy..Shorty was so right yes!!  Somebody should cover dat calypso or it should be re-released.  Folks need a refresher!!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

oh yes and alberta...is BLACK STONE
i saw it once. it literally is a small black stone lord aloen knows what is made out of.....and u suppose to rub in on..de am..head.. before. dem older heads in de area swear by it says it works. but then again some of thes eppl claimed to have seen douen when they was hunting  :-\
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline cocoapanyol

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Dat is only part solution. Yuh still have tuh know WHAT tuh do.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

me eh need none of that. my shit in order.

re: the quote - "Power is the ultimate aphrodisiac", i beg to differ.

Money is the ultimate aphrodisiac
- Andre (2006)

Offline cocoapanyol

me eh need none of that. my shit in order.

re: the quote - "Power is the ultimate aphrodisiac", i beg to differ.

Money is the ultimate aphrodisiac
- Andre (2006)

Hmmm...ah suppose dat explains how Donald Trump gets women.

Boy..Shorty was so right yes!!  Somebody should cover dat calypso or it should be re-released.  Folks need a refresher!!!

Soooo...yuh does scratch wit yuh claws an ting den :devil:

Offline cocoapanyol

Soooo...yuh does scratch wit yuh claws an ting den :devil:

Dat one went over meh head   ???  ???

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

This can be very dangerous if yuh don't know what to do with it. VERY DANGEROUS.

Offline Lil Jodie P

i like dis thread!
ah have meh note pad...and ah reading!
ah feel ah might need ah demonstration tho...anybody care to help? ;)
FOREVER AND ALWAYS "Little Jodie P" :)

« Last Edit: August 21, 2006, 11:52:30 AM by Dutty »

Offline cocoapanyol

Dat one went over meh head   ???  ???

read shorty lyrics...den read yuh online name...is YOU who say is true  :D

Well if we talkin specifics and Shorty lyrics...den yes...if yuh like it so...ah doing it so.

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

cocoa enlighten me nah...
umm i doh know what tur do  :angel:

Offline cocoapanyol

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Girl..to each his/her own yuh know.  You mighten like what I like but ah know it have man (an even woman) who feel size is all dat matters.  Some man an dem does approach dey business like jackhammer and and when dey "done", dey throw dong dey.. ummmm tool.. and call dat George.  So if yuh ask me, pacro water and ting useless if yuh operating yuh machinery in dat kinda fashion.  Yuh follow meh? ;)

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Girl..to each his/her own yuh know.  You mighten like what I like but ah know it have man (an even woman) who feel size is all dat matters.  Some man an dem does approach dey business like jackhammer and and when dey "done", dey throw dong dey.. ummmm tool.. and call dat George.  So if yuh ask me, pacro water and ting useless if yuh operating yuh machinery in dat kinda fashion.  Yuh follow meh? ;)

loud and clear - look ting nah  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
oh god meh waist....girl ya win yes

but wait how come ah ain't hear nothin bout chinee herbal tea ?
from wha ah hear eh allyuh, is, dat tea is dey reason why it overly populated in china.
ah ain't know and ah ain't no no chinee tur confirm. :angel:

Offline cocoapanyol

pacro water
bois  bande
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

loud and clear - look ting nah  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
oh god meh waist....girl ya win yes

but wait how come ah ain't hear nothin bout chinee herbal tea ?
from wha ah hear eh allyuh, is, dat tea is dey reason why it overly populated in china.
ah ain't know and ah ain't no no chinee tur confirm. :angel:

AH cyar help yuh wid dat.  I personally do need no "enhancements', so ah doh have no knowledge bout dem ting.  My knowledge is strictly "procedural"

when i went dominican republic they tell me bout a ting called mamajuana.  is like a root u put in a bottle of liquor but when the liquor finish u could refill it with any liquor (i think).  my french pardner had a bottle and meh trini bredren carry a bottle home as well (good ting that was long before all these travel restrictions, imagine coming thru security with a bottle with a biiig root in it).  i never try it tho so i cannot testifiy as to its effectiveness.

Re: Potency foods and other enhancing stimulants.......some health facts
« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2006, 07:51:58 AM »
Here are some other  beliefs about specific food products:

Food List

Aniseed
A very popular aphrodisiac with many culinary uses. It has been used as an aphrodisiac since the Greeks and the Romans, who believed aniseed had special powers. Sucking on the seeds is said to increases your desire.

Asparagus
Given it's phallic shape, asparagus is frequently enjoyed as an aphrodisiac food. Feed your lover boiled or steamed spears for a sensuous experience. The Vegetarian Society suggests "eating asparagus for three days for the most powerful affect".

Almond
A symbol of fertility throughout the ages. The aroma is thought to induce passion in a female. Try serving Marzipan (almond paste) in the shapes of fruits for a special after-dinner treat.

Arugula
Arugula or "rocket" seed has been documented as an aphrodisiac since the first century A.D. This ingredient was added to grated orchid bulbs and parsnips and also combined with pine nuts and pistachios. Arugula greens are frequently used in salads and pasta.

Avocado
The Aztecs called the avocado tree "Ahuacuatl which translated means "testicle tree". The ancients thought the fruit hanging in pairs on the tree resembled the male's testicles. This is a delicious fruit with a sensuous texture. Serve in slices with a small amount of Balsamic vinegar and freshly ground pepper.

Bananas
The banana flower has a marvelous phallic shape and is partially responsible for popularity of the banana as an aphrodisiac food. An Islamic myth tells the tale that after Adam and Eve succumbed to the "Apple" they started covering their "nudity" with banana leaves rather than fig. From a more practical standpoint bananas are rich in potassium and B vitamins, necessities for sex hormone production.

Basil (sweet basil)
Is said to stimulate the sex drive and boost fertility. It is also said to produce a general sense of well being for body and mind.

Broccoli Rabe (And Other Mustard Greens)
The ground seeds of various plants in the brassica family were believed to increase virility. In the case of broccoli rabe its more likely a myth created to get people to eat this bitter vegetable.

Chocolate
The Aztecs referred to chocolate "nourishment of the Gods". Chocolate contains chemicals thought to effect neurotransmitters in the brain and a related substance to caffeine called theobromine. Chocolate contains more antioxidant (cancer preventing enzymes) than does red wine. The secret for passion is to combine the two. Try a glass of Cabernet with a bit of dark chocolate for a sensuous treat.

Carrots
Another good reason to eat carrots--believed to be a stimulant to the male. The phallus shaped carrot has been associated with stimulation since ancient times and was used by early Middle Eastern royalty to aid seduction. High vitamins and beta-carotene. Perhaps a justification for a piece of carrot cake?

Coffee
Caffeine is a well-know stimulant but remember, too much and it becomes a depressant. Serve small amounts of rich dark coffee in special little demitasse cups. Coffee stimulates both the body and the mind so partake of a little in preparation for an "all-nighter".

Coriander (Cilantro)
The book of The Arabian nights tells a tale of a merchant who had been childless for 40 years and but was cured by a concoction that included coriander. That book is over 1000 years old so the history of coriander as an aphrodisiac dates back far into history. Cilantro was also know to be used as an "appetite" stimulant.

Figs
An open fig is thought to emulate the female sex organs and traditionally thought of as sexual stimulant. A man breaking open a fig and eating it in front of his lover is a powerful erotic act. Serve fresh Black Mission figs in a cool bowl of water as it is done in Italy and be sure to eat with your fingers!

Garlic
The 'heat' in garlic is said to stir sexual desires. Make sure you and your partner share it together. Garlic has been used for centuries to cure everything from the common cold to heart ailments. This is a good time for moderation. Enjoy a pasta with a lightly garlicky sauce and it and lead up to something spicy in the bedroom later.

Ginger
Ginger root raw, cooked or crystallized is a stimulant to the circulatory system. Perhaps a stir-fry with freshly grated ginger can stir something spicy up in the bedroom later.

Honey
Many medicines in Egyptian times were based on honey including cures for sterility and impotence. Medieval seducers plied their partners with Mead, a fermented drink made from honey. Lovers on their "Honeymoon" drank mead and it was thought to s "sweeten" the marriage.

Liquorice (licorice)
The Chinese have used licorice for medicinal purposes since ancient times. The essence of the Glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) plan, glycrrhizin, is 50 time sweeter than sugar. Chewing on bits of licorice root is said to enhance love and lust. It is particularly stimulating to woman.

Mustard
Believed to stimulate the sexual glands and increase desire. Prepare a tenderloin roast (filet mignon) for two with a mustard and peppercorn sauce.

Nutmeg
Nutmeg was highly prized by Chinese women as an aphrodisiac. In quantity nutmeg can produce a hallucinogenic effect. A light sprinkling of the spice in a warm pumpkin soup can help spice up your evening.

Oysters
Oysters were documented as a aphrodisiac food by the Romans in the second century A.D as mentioned in a satire by Juvenal. He described the wanton ways of women after ingesting wine and eating "giant oysters". An additional hypotheses is that the oyster resembles the "female" genitals. In reality oysters are a very nutritious and high in protein.

Pine Nuts
Zinc is a key mineral necessary to maintain male potency and pine nuts are rich in zinc. Pine nuts have been used to stimulate the libido as far back as Medieval times. Serve pine nut cookies with a dark espresso for a stimulating dessert.

Pineapple
Rich in vitamin C and and is used in the homeopathic treatment for impotence. Add a spear to a sweet Rum drink for a tasty prelude to an evening of passion.

Raspberries and Strawberries
Perfect foods for hand feeding your lover. "Both invite love and are described in erotic literature as fruit nipples" Both are high in vitamin C and make a sweet light dessert.

Truffles
The Greeks and the Romans considered the rare Truffle to be an aphrodisiac. The musky scent is said to stimulate and sensitize the skin to touch.

Vanilla
The scent and flavor of vanilla is believed to increase lust. According to the Australian Orchid Society, "Old Totonac lore has it that Xanat, the young daughter of the Mexican fertility goddess, loved a Totonac youth. Unable to marry him due to her divine nature, she transformed herself into a plant that would provide pleasure and happiness." Fill tall Champagne glasses to the rim and add a vanilla bean for a heady, bubbly treat.

Wine
A glass or two of wine can greatly enhance a romantic interlude. Wine relaxes and helps to stimulate our senses. Drinking wine can be an erotic experience. Let your eyes feast on the color of the liquid. Caress the glass, savor the taste on your lips. Do remember that excessive alcohol will make you too drowsy for the after-dinner romance. A moderate amount of wine has been said to "arouse" but much more than that amount with have the reverse affect.

Reproduced with absolutely no permission from Gourmetsleuth.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2006, 09:17:31 AM »
Ah was jus thinking after re-reading dis thread dat de Viagra ting was ah fluke yuh know.

Dat wasn't invented tuh cure men...ahmmm...inability tuh rise tuh de occasion.  De pill was fuh hypertension which apparently more men suffer from because den dey realise dat dey gettin another benefit so tuh speak.  Nex ting yuh know, hypertension all but forgotten and odder issues take over.

Now like somebody else post here..ah tink is TriniCana...we woman doh need all dem stimulants, so ah doh really have no additions fuh de list yuh compiling dey Alberta.

« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2006, 09:25:04 AM »
Ah was jus thinking after re-reading dis thread dat de Viagra ting was ah fluke yuh know.

Dat wasn't invented tuh cure men...ahmmm...inability tuh rise tuh de occasion.  De pill was fuh hypertension which apparently more men suffer from because den dey realise dat dey gettin another benefit so tuh speak.  Nex ting yuh know, hypertension all but forgotten and odder issues take over.

Now like somebody else post here..ah tink is TriniCana...we woman doh need all dem stimulants, so ah doh really have no additions fuh de list yuh compiling dey Alberta.

well den it workin two fold....when dem ole fellahs take dey viagara and buss dey gunn

all hyper and tension GORNE oui

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2006, 12:24:25 PM »

well den it workin two fold....when dem ole fellahs take dey viagara and buss dey gunn

all hyper and tension GORNE oui

True...true

« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2006, 07:19:20 PM »
Funny thing ; I ejh too bother about the myths; like ah say ah like the alphabet backwards!!! works for me like phonics but I  like the healthy food idea. What foods really contribute as healthy stimulant for the body?