April 28, 2024, 03:34:49 AM

Author Topic: Young Reggaeboyz Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'?  (Read 4912 times)

Young Reggaeboyz Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'?
« on: August 21, 2006, 07:23:39 AM »
Young Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'?

Jamaica Observer
Monday, August 21, 2006

Boxhill. we have to look at the bigger picture

Jamaica's chances of retaining their Caribbean Youth Cup (Under-17) suddenly became remote yesterday after an off-the-field intervention of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) late Saturday.

According to a release from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) yesterday, CFU president Austin 'Jack' Warner, on the advice of senior vice-president Lisle Austin, and with the approval the CFU's emergency committee, revised the format of the competition in order to determine the two Caribbean teams that will go through to the CONCACAF final qualifying round for the FIFA World Under-17 Championship.

The CFU Youth Cup is also being used as qualification for the World Cup.

With the competition now at the quarter-final stage and Jamaica being host of one leg of that CONCACAF qualification competition, the nation has been placed in Group B with the three non-Caribbean (guest teams) group winners - Canada, Mexico and Panama - while the other qualifiers, Barbados, Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname have been placed in Group A to participate in a league playoff.

From this playoff, the first and second-placed teams will subsequently qualify for the CONCACAF final round of the competition.
The first-placed teams of each group will play for the Caribbean Youth Championship, while the second-placed teams of each group will play for the third and fourth places.

Mexico are the reigning world champions at the Under-17 level, Canada are CONCACAF powers at the youth level, while Panama represent the traditional Central American quality, leaving the Caribbean champions with a mountain to climb, as opposed to the other Caribbean countries in Group A, which will be given a much easier passage to the final and third place playoff.

Under the original format, the Young Reggae Boyz, winners of Group F after three unbeaten games, were set to challenge preliminary round Group C winners Barbados tomorrow.
But under this new format, they were suddenly asked to travel to Tobago yesterday, to face Canada today in quarter-final action.
JFF boss Crenston Boxhill was not overly amused by this sudden change, but he preferred to put a philosophical spin on it.

"Based on us being the only Caribbean team in this group, of course it makes it more difficult to retain our title as Caribbean champions, but having said that, we have to look at the bigger picture," he said.
"Our aim all along was to qualify for the FIFA World Cup in South Korea in 2007 and to do so these are some of the teams that we will have to come up against and beat in order to be successful.
"Earlier this year we played the USA twice and with these high quality games, it will enhance our chances of the ultimate goal," he added.

The Observer learnt that Raymond Grant, the head of delegation of the David Hunt-coached team, was made aware of the changes early yesterday, after the team's management had scouted Barbados and scheduled an off-day for the players, in anticipation of a game against the land of the flying fish tomorrow.
Jamaica mauled Dominica 8-0 Saturday to complete their first round fixture.

The group winners will meet in the final on August 27, while the second-placed teams meet in the third place match on the same day.
Jamaica won the Championship last year after finishing third, behind two guest teams.

At the Ato Boldon Stadium on Saturday, Jamaica were led by a Romario Campbell hat-trick.
The Caribbean champions opened the scoring in the third minute through Andre Beckford, and Campbell struck in the 17th to take them into half-time with a 2-0 lead.
Jamaica then burst the floodgates with six goals in a 16-minute span.

Campbell converted his second in the 51st minute, and John Ross Doyle and Akeem Brown got into the act with goals in the 54th and 63rd minutes, respectively.
Campbell completed his hat-trick in the 67th minute.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
Re: Young Reggaeboyz Boyz 'Hi-Jacked'?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2006, 07:32:10 AM »
Oh lord, Jackula does it again.  ::)
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2006, 07:34:33 AM »

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2006, 07:42:48 AM »
If its a qualifying tour why invite teams in the first place ?

« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2006, 08:18:28 AM »

I still not sure why they changed the format mid-tournament.
U have to have consensus when doing something like that.

« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2006, 08:30:56 AM »
well jack going to help us to reach another world cup!! how else yuh go validate the govt money yuh want to spend

« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2006, 08:39:09 AM »

I still not sure why they changed the format mid-tournament.
U have to have consensus when doing something like that.

ask andre samuel   :devil:

« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2006, 08:45:35 AM »
well jack going to help us to reach another world cup!! how else yuh go validate the govt money yuh want to spend
Ordinarily ah would say weel yes  Jackula finally put he fangs in somebody else neck to the benefit of T&T

but den ah study...if he organizing for a smooth path for soca warriors in the next world cup...is only because he organizin heself up for an even better 'ticket or leave it' scam in 2010

and after all de stories dat come back from germany...tell yuhself double de amount ah people will try to reach south africa

Vampires does be out for self right troo

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2006, 12:31:44 PM »
brap! brap! do yuh thing jackular atleast is not T&T gehin facked dis time  :devil:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2006, 12:53:47 PM »
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :o

Reggae-Fan 
Posted Today @ 11:34:44 AM       

Reggae Junior
Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 1:15:01 PM
 Mo, Jamaica's place in the next round of the world cup qualifying was already secured liong before the this T&T tournament began. The kids went to T&T to play for the title of Caribbean under-17 champions, and did all hey had to do to set up a semi final show down with Barbados, only to be told at the last minute that instead iof playng Barbados, threy will now have to tackle Canada instead, and the Barbados group will go to the home team, Trinidad. Its highway robbery at best.

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2006, 01:27:19 PM »
:devil: :devil: :devil: :o

Reggae-Fan 
Posted Today @ 11:34:44 AM       

Reggae Junior
Group: Administrators
Last Login: Today @ 1:15:01 PM
 Mo, Jamaica's place in the next round of the world cup qualifying was already secured liong before the this T&T tournament began. The kids went to T&T to play for the title of Caribbean under-17 champions, and did all hey had to do to set up a semi final show down with Barbados, only to be told at the last minute that instead iof playng Barbados, threy will now have to tackle Canada instead, and the Barbados group will go to the home team, Trinidad. Its highway robbery at best.

yes man jones  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl: well done jack well  done  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :devil:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2006, 02:52:37 PM »
and here I thought Canada won it the last time...

« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2006, 06:09:22 AM »
Football experts hopping mad at CFU for format change and perceived bias against Jamaica
Observer Reporter
Tuesday, August 22, 2006

Jamaican football experts have condemned the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) for what they see as a tasteless and unethical act to prevent the nation's Under-16 football team from retaining its Caribbean Youth Cup with a fly-by-night changing of the competition's format.,/B>

The general comment is that Jamaica got a "raw deal".
The experts with whom the Observer spoke yesterday refused to make "public comments" or be identified, but they were clearly peeved by the action and flimsy explanation given by the regional body. The Observer sensed the experts refused public comments out of fear of possible repercussions.

"It has got to be unethical to do something like that, changing the format in the middle of a FIFA-sanctioned tournament," one expert said. "The JFF must have already appealed to the CFU," he added. "They can't allow this to go on."
"The act is gross," another football expert, who requested anonymity, said.

Yet another said: "This could be a ploy to make the present football federation president look bad, after he already is not doing a good job. The frightening thing about such a move is that it could only hurt our young footballers' development, especially by putting them in a group with Mexico and Canada, two teams who traditionally have beaten our team."
Yesterday, the Young Boyz overcame the odds to blank Canada 3-0 in their Group B game in Tobago.

Dever Orgill (26th), John Ross-Doyley (86th) and Keneil Hyde in time added, enabled the Young Boyz to avenge last year's 4-2 semi-finals loss against the North Americans.
In the other Group B game, Mexico stopped Panama 2-1.
The Young Boyz will face Panama tomorrow, and Mexico on Friday.

Like the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Crenston Boxhill, coach David Hunt was taking the format change in stride.

"We are a bit disappointed with the change, but we need to tell them (Jamaicans) that the guys are focused and they are trying to do their best," he said from Tobago last evening during Sports Grill on Hitz 92 FM.

Meanwhile, a stony silence greeted the Observer yesterday whyen the newspaper tried to get an explanation from the CFU general-secretary Kerri-Ann Alleyne.

When telephone contact was made with the office, the Observer reporter was stalled for about five minutes by an operator who asked the reporter to wait as Alleyne was on another call. The operator eventually returned to the line to say "the general-secretary has left for the day".
In the original format of the competition, Jamaica, who were winners of Group F after three unbeaten games, were slated to play Group C winners Barbados today, but were indecently asked to travel to Tobago on Sunday to face Canada in a quarter-final match yesterday.
Despite yesterday's win, the move could greatly jeopardise the Young Reggae Boyz's chances of retaining their title.

The powerplay that rattled the Jamaicans like a bombshell and left them stupefied, came late last Saturday following the CFU's emergency committee approval of a revised format for the competition as a means to determine the two Caribbean teams who will go through to the CONCACAF competition.

The competition is now at the quarter-final stage and as Jamaica will host one leg of the qualification round, they have been placed in Group B with the three guest teams - Canada, Mexico and Panama - while the other qualifiers Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Haiti and Suriname will play in Group A.

« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2006, 06:19:37 AM »
This is level craziness oui ..

And look last evening we nearly ketch we backside against those Flying fish stealing brothers , Barbados.. Lets face it, If we were Jamaica we would be crying fould too.. I dont think its very cool to change up a tournament format Jess jess so in the Middle of de tournament...

Another thing, Where de hell do we get the game officials from .. ITS THE WORST..!!!

oconnorg

« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2006, 06:24:21 AM »

And look last evening we nearly ketch we backside against those Flying fish stealing brothers , Barbados.. Lets face it, If we were Jamaica we would be crying fould too.. I dont think its very cool to change up a tournament format Jess jess so in the Middle of de tournament...

Another thing, Where de hell do we get the game officials from .. ITS THE WORST..!!!

oconnorg

Ketch backside yuh making me worried now real worried

« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2006, 06:25:21 AM »
Look like Jackula Quick change Master Plan blow up in he face

Karma is ah hell of a ting oui  :-\

« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2006, 06:31:02 AM »

oconnorg

Breds, I watch that game cussin yesterday.. Barbados had a lil Caucasian dude that scored a lovely goal I en guh lie.. But for nothing we ent want to socre our goals ..

Barbados PACK the defense .. I swear they were playing a 7 - 3 - 0 formation... But anyway, our guys were really the better team, we pile NUFF pressure on them, BUT.. Mistraps, bad passing, some sloppy blade tackling, AND the f**kin ref did not help the situation either.. Imagine a bajan will ketch ah cramp on the field and he blowing his whistle to stop play ?... What assness... And that is only one example of the shit these Match officials were doing ..

Back to the point, Our guys look Tired and uninterested in scoring, and tho they had the majority of the ball possesion , this was their WORST performance of the tournament...

Thank goodness we score ah goal oui.. Me and my Gf were real cussin watching the game..

And Anton fadda was criticising the team tactics, that was funny. lol..

« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2006, 06:35:32 AM »

oconnorg

Breds, I watch that game cussin yesterday.. Barbados had a lil Caucasian dude that scored a lovely goal I en guh lie.. But for nothing we ent want to socre our goals ..

Barbados PACK the defense .. I swear they were playing a 7 - 3 - 0 formation... But anyway, our guys were really the better team, we pile NUFF pressure on them, BUT.. Mistraps, bad passing, some sloppy blade tackling, AND the f**kin ref did not help the situation either.. Imagine a bajan will ketch ah cramp on the field and he blowing his whistle to stop play ?... What assness... And that is only one example of the shit these Match officials were doing ..

Back to the point, Our guys look Tired and uninterested in scoring, and tho they had the majority of the ball possesion , this was their WORST performance of the tournament...

Thank goodness we score ah goal oui.. Me and my Gf were real cussin watching the game..

And Anton fadda was criticising the team tactics, that was funny. lol..

looking Tired ok  but worst uninterested nah nah nah who the hell dey picking here!!!  we need to win to qualify for the under 17 final round wha the arse  >:( Well since they tired anton need to start with some subs like de silva etcetc

« Reply #18 on: August 22, 2006, 08:46:59 AM »
"As long as Jack Warner is involved in T&T football............"

Allyuh could fill in the rest!

« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2006, 10:42:14 AM »
I want everyone to slow down and think about the original format of the tournament. First and foremost, the tournament is a qualification round for caribbean teams to qualify for the final round of Concacaf WC qualifying in Jamaica. Making it a CFU tourney and adding guest teams and the final Wc qualifying round host team Jamaica ruins that process and was shitty organizing to begin with. Teams like Canada and Mexico are NOT supposed to be knocking caribbean teams out of a CARIBBEAN WC qualifying round. Teams like Cuba got screwed....The host nation of the final round, Jamaica, is not supposed to be involved in qualifying either.

So yes, the organizers did crap..they looking like some idiots. But that was because they had a stupid original format that corrupted the WC qualifying process...ask Cuba. The new format is ACTUALLY far more fair even though it comes a little too late. I understand people's frustration, but htis is not a case of corruption..this is a case of the organizers waking up and realizing they did some absoulte crap. The changed format actually allows the teams that are trying to qualify for the WC to play each other without any outside influence. All who cannot see the fairness in that...too bad. Doh study the Jamaican press..If the final qualifying round was in T&T and JA was trying to qualify for the WC from the caribbean qualification process and there was a chance that a team like Mexico could eliminate them..they would be arguing the other way about how corrupt the process is.

Sorry, but I think the organizers finally got it right...although I agree with everyone's frustrations. They are messing around with kids, some of whom must be very dissapointed..but if you have to cater to one group a) Canada, Mexico, Jamaica and Panama who care about being CFU champs and b) T&T, Haiti, Suriname and Barbados who are trying to qualify for the WC...which would you choose?

« Reply #20 on: August 22, 2006, 11:31:49 AM »
good post filho. Shitty for the organizers to do it now, but its better to get it right in the end than not at all.

« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2006, 01:28:23 PM »
I want everyone to slow down and think about the original format of the tournament. First and foremost, the tournament is a qualification round for caribbean teams to qualify for the final round of Concacaf WC qualifying in Jamaica. Making it a CFU tourney and adding guest teams and the final Wc qualifying round host team Jamaica ruins that process and was shitty organizing to begin with. Teams like Canada and Mexico are NOT supposed to be knocking caribbean teams out of a CARIBBEAN WC qualifying round. Teams like Cuba got screwed....The host nation of the final round, Jamaica, is not supposed to be involved in qualifying either.

So yes, the organizers did crap..they looking like some idiots. But that was because they had a stupid original format that corrupted the WC qualifying process...ask Cuba. The new format is ACTUALLY far more fair even though it comes a little too late. I understand people's frustration, but htis is not a case of corruption..this is a case of the organizers waking up and realizing they did some absoulte crap. The changed format actually allows the teams that are trying to qualify for the WC to play each other without any outside influence. All who cannot see the fairness in that...too bad. Doh study the Jamaican press..If the final qualifying round was in T&T and JA was trying to qualify for the WC from the caribbean qualification process and there was a chance that a team like Mexico could eliminate them..they would be arguing the other way about how corrupt the process is.

Sorry, but I think the organizers finally got it right...although I agree with everyone's frustrations. They are messing around with kids, some of whom must be very dissapointed..but if you have to cater to one group a) Canada, Mexico, Jamaica and Panama who care about being CFU champs and b) T&T, Haiti, Suriname and Barbados who are trying to qualify for the WC...which would you choose?

Ok scene thanks for that clarification. I honestly did not know all that.. All i knew it was level bull kaka tuh start wid on the organizers' part..

:beermug: :beermug:

oconnorg

« Reply #22 on: August 22, 2006, 03:25:32 PM »

Clarification please? are you saying that the Jamaican team has already qualified?

« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2006, 03:27:10 PM »
Yes Mose... Jamaica is hosting the next round of qualification for the World Cup.... therefore as hosts they automatically qualify!! They are therefore essentially a "guest team" in this competition!

Offline Lazie

« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2006, 05:03:54 PM »
FF, didn't we qualify due to our place in last year's competition?  Unless I've misunderstood whats going on.

« Reply #25 on: August 22, 2006, 05:23:53 PM »
So in other words JA got the better end of this DEAL. They got an automatic berth and getting the oppurtunity to play some top football  to improve themselves, which ordinarily is hard to organize or finance. Thus they will be better prepared for the next round. Where as Trinidad might actually not qualify for the next round OR if they do THEY will have to take their game to another level.

« Reply #26 on: August 22, 2006, 05:52:33 PM »
FF, didn't we qualify due to our place in last year's competition?  Unless I've misunderstood whats going on.

You qualified because you're hosting the one group in the final leg. The fact that you were the caribbean champs last year may have been determinant in awarding you the host spot but i doubt it.

Offline Lazie

« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2006, 07:08:56 AM »

You qualified because you're hosting the one group in the final leg. The fact that you were the caribbean champs last year may have been determinant in awarding you the host spot but i doubt it.

Well it appears somebody has been misinformed.  It could be me as well as it could be you.  I was of the impression it was as a result of our place in last year's competition.  Isn't the same for this year?  The highest placed team will qualify?  If mi have it wrong, I stand corrected.

« Reply #28 on: August 23, 2006, 07:19:23 AM »
Allyuh getting on rell jumpy with this youth side.
An I still ent understand dis whole tournament.
Is like Jack organise this jus to confuse the fish.