Who remember this in 2001 ?
Live Chat post with Shaun Fuentes & Brent Sancho
Source: Flex Mohammed - socawarriors.netSando: Shaun and them is here,,,,
Palos: Bertille might be plenty tings but he have rinciple
Shaun Fuentes: good night folks
Palos: sorry...principle
Tallman: greetings
Dave: Hi guys!
Sando: Good night,,,fleX yuh come through......
Palos: aye Shaun...
Palos: Welcome Brent...if da is you..
fleX: Hello fellas,,,and thanks for coimng,,,I was getting worried, lol.....
Shaun Fuentes: sorry for the lateness fellas
brent sancho: good night everyone. Sorry I am late.
Shaun Fuentes: here with me is Brent Sancho
fleX: Trini time I guess.
Palos: lol!
Shaun Fuentes: We time
brent sancho: I was at the Marten Anatol soccer picnic.
fleX: Hello Brent its a pleasure.....
brent sancho: thank you.
KyrgyzstaniGold: your lateness is excused, welcome
brent sancho: appreciate it.
Dave: Hi from Portland Brent
Palos: so fellas...as time limited, same rules...2 question per man startin with who sign on first?
Shaun Fuentes: shot them
Sando: Brent do you know Ante a goalkeeper from Croatia that played with you at St Johns.
Kyrgyzstani Gold: ...ah go have to refer to you as "K" seen..
brent sancho: no. I do not recall.
Sando: ok....
Shaun Fuentes: Flex, we also wanna say much about Mickey's game on Wednesday
Tallman: Shaun, why do we have such a hard time getting good quality opposition for friendlies? The last time we had quality opposition was under St. Clair.
Palos: so fellas...leh we start with Flex....then Sando, K, Dave, Tallman etc.
fleX: Good ahead Shaun,,,,tell us more about Mickey....just want Brent to know that we have 2 Portland supporters on board....shoot Shaun....
Shaun Fuentes: We had one quality friendly under Bertille and that was against Colombia
Tallman: We also play South Africa, Morocco etc.
brent sancho: That is one of the main reasons I am online tonight, is to talk a little bit about the Mickey Trotman benefit game.
Shaun Fuentes: yeh but those were matches that came at a time when games were easy and when World Cup bidding was in the fray
Palos: so leh we start with the Mickey Trotman ting
Shaun Fuentes: other than that, the next game was against Honduras
Shaun Fuentes: but I agree with you, we do have a minor problem in getting appropriate friendles organise
Palos: go ahead Brent & Shaun
brent sancho: It takes place on boxing day.
brent sancho: It takes place at Felix Ferriera Recreational grounds...
brent sancho: starts at 1:30 with a female game.
brent sancho: Then,
brent sancho: the T&T foreign base takes on "Cool it". A local team by Mickey Trotman.
fleX: yes I red about it,,,,,,Shaun how can I advertise for this game,,,,,I want to help.......
fleX: in any way....
Shaun Fuentes: just keep it on your front page flex
fleX: ok...
Tallman: Who on de foreign base side ?
brent sancho: It kicks off at 3:30pm. with the likes of Brent Rahim, Gary Glasgow, Kevin Jeffreys, Leslie 'Tiger' Fitzpatrick (who is here right now as well)...
Shaun Fuentes: yes fellas we have the Tiger in the house
Palos: welcome Tiger!!
brent sancho: T-shirts, raffle tickets and a bar. All proceeds go to Mickey Trotman's family.
fleX: How is Tiger as a player ???never saw him play.....heard alot.....
brent sancho: He good to go.
Shaun Fuentes: he like a Tiger on his good day
fleX: that really nice........
Palos: Tiger...say someting nah
brent sancho: The 'Cool it' team has Jerren Nixon,
brent sancho: Angus Eve, Nigel Pierre, Arnold Dwarika...
Sando: how can we donate money to the Trotman game.....
Tallman: What are the terms of the benefit ? Does the money go to his family ?
brent sancho: We plan to set up a bank a/c and the info. will be handed to you guys as soon as possible.
Palos: nice
Sando: nixon is a great player man........we need nakhid to replace Warner........
Shaun Fuentes: yeh and we need princes town to replace Sando ent?
brent sancho: Leslie is on the same computer with me., that is why he can't talk at the same time.
brent sancho: He is here with me in person.
Palos: kool
Shaun Fuentes: Don't forget the entertainment Brent
brent sancho: Bunji Garlin, Nigel and Marvin Lewis,
bob: soccerfan, hello !
Sando: Bunji is boss
brent sancho: Radioactive, Jugglers, just to name a few... Bunji will most likely perform his tune in which he mentions Mickey
brent sancho: yes.
Palos: sound real nice....hope for a great turn out
fleX: thats real nice,,,,,respect to Bunji for that......
Tallman: Is the league that Mickey supported still alive ?
Shaun Fuentes: yes, Stern John helps out financially
brent sancho: Oh yes. They actually won the league this year. Cool it!
Shaun Fuentes: it is handled by Mickey's aunt
Tallman: Will this be a one time game or will it be an annual event ?
Shaun Fuentes: hopefully an annual game, right Brent
brent sancho: No. It is an annual event.
brent sancho: We are playing for a huge challenge trophy donated by CLICO.
fleX: Sorry I got cut off.
Shaun Fuentes: Flex yu aint pay your bill or what
Shaun Fuentes: lol
fleX: Yuh feel is TSTT or what..
fleX: lol
fleX: So Snacho are you going to Europe
??
brent sancho: Well there are a couple things in place for me in different European countries...
brent sancho: but,
brent sancho: my total attention is the Gold Cup.
Dave: we loved having you in Portland, Brent
Palos: so fellas, we startin with the 2 questions a man ting or we just free stylin?
fleX: ok Parlos start moderating the board.........
KyrgyzstaniGold: It's really great having you in portland Brent - hope to see lots more of ya
brent sancho: Portland is a great city.
Palos: ok...so is Flex, then "K", then Dave, Tallman, Palos, Doc and if Sando come back we pull him in
Palos: 2 questions per man
Palos: Flex start it up
fleX: 1. ok guys,,,start here............Sancho honestly where you over looked by Bertile St Clair because of your hair......
Shaun Fuentes: please you guys indicate who your questions are aimed at. That situation was delt with back then and it is water under the bridge. Mr. St Clair has done a lot for Trinidad football.
Palos: yuh listenin to Panday & Manning plenty boy Brent..safe answer bwoy..
brent sancho: No, it's just the truth.
Palos: jus kicksin lil bit....ah hear yuh
Palos: flex...question #2
fleX: I good
Palos: ok...so on to "K"
Palos: aka Kyrgyzstani Gold
KyrgyzstaniGold: I really dont have a question, I relly just came to support The Mickey stuff.
Palos: thanks for the support bro..ok...anything Dave??
brent sancho: That's good. I hope the general public feels the same way.
Dave: Hi Brent, any idea if you are returning to the Timbers next year?
brent sancho: There is something presently on the table with the Timbers.
brent sancho: But I hope to go to Europe. That is my #1 goal.
Dave: Is it up to them to offer you what you want?
KyrgyzstaniGold: Oh, ok, sure, NOW i think of a question - wait - i didnt mean to interupt, continue
brent sancho: No. I have a 2 year contract.
Dave: Apart from Zurich any other clubs offered a trial?
brent sancho: Yes, There are a couple clubs in Germany and Belgium that are very interested in my services.
Dave: Good luck!
Palos: thanks Dave...
brent sancho: Thank you.
Palos: Tallman...you next
Tallman: Shaun, do you believe that Warner is gone for good ? If so, what plans does the TTFF have to bridge the financial gap ?
Shaun Fuentes: yes of course, but this is expected to start no earlier than February, where appropriate screening sessions will be set up for the selection of Under 20 and Under 23 players
Shaun Fuentes: I should say that I don't expect him to totally sever his ties with the TTFF but we can expect him to have less involvement, even possibly financially which will be somewhat of a loss to the Federation.
Palos: no probs..we understand wha yuh sayin.
Palos: welcome maggie...2 questions per person to Shaun or Brent...you're after Doc
doc: Shaun, with respect to the difficulty of travel, are any effort being made to regionalize training to involve a broader base of players on all national teams e.g Tobago, South etc?
Tallman: Brent, what do you think has to change in T&T's defence in order for it to reach a world class standard ?
brent sancho: I don't think that anything needs to change, but we definitely need to work harder on keeping goals out and being more patient..
brent sancho: in our one-on-one defending.
Palos: yuh ok there Tallman?
Tallman: One thing that I do notice is that we are over zealous in our defending and we give up many free kicks just outside the area.
brent sancho: yes this is true but I think if we concentrate a little bit more and be a little bit more patient in our defending we should be alright.
Tallman: OK palos, I good.
Palos: kool...Shaun, my 1st question is for you
Palos: From the outside looking in, I am concerned that our preparation for the Gold Cup is much less than desirable. Is the coach and team concerned about this and if so, what are they planning to do about it?
Shaun Fuentes: yes I agree with this, but I think while we have found difficulties in getting appropriate matches arranged, the difference this time is that we'll have more than half the list of overseas players in camp from day one when training resumes
Shaun Fuentes: Also while it was always noticeable that whenever the entire team was together prior the game, the presence of the likes of Yorke and Latapy always had everyone on a high, even without these two around, while there will be something missing, I don't seeing us having much problem having a good spirit
Shaun Fuentes: this time around
Palos: thanks bro
Palos: Brent, fisrt of all let me congratulate you on what I thought was a really good performance against the USA. I was impressed by your calm manner at all times
brent sancho: Thank you very much.
Shaun Fuentes: Also I see us going into this tournament as somewhat underdogs and in the past even in a similar situation, we were always guarded against because of the names Yorke and Latapy and a couple others, but this time I don't see that happening and it could work in our favour
brent sancho: Swima send a hail to everyone.
fleX: my boy Swima, whats up.
Palos: Brent, on a scale of 1 to 10, how would you rate coach Simoes and how has he helped you the most on the national team
brent sancho: 10!
Shaun Fuentes: BOOOM
Palos: Expand on that 10...enquiring minds want to know...
brent sancho: He has been able to balance good coaching with good discipline and everyone is very comfortable with him.
brent sancho: I could see how he took Jamaica, diamond in the rough, and made them shine.
Palos: has he helped you personally with your game?
Palos: if so, in what way?
brent sancho: Yes, definitely. We talk often and he has taught me how to be a better positional player.
Palos: nice....that's it for me...thanks guys...Doc, you next.
fleX: 1. Shaun who was Simoes impress with on the school side that played the Soca Warriors last week and what was the starting and sub line up for the Senior team.....
fleX: sorry Doc......
Shaun Fuentes: Flex I will send you that info via email but off hand I can say Anthony Noreiga and Andre Pacheco. Noreiga is eligible for Under 23 and had a trial in Belgium and Pacheco is now 17.
fleX: Thanks...
doc: Brent what would you consider your primary playing position to be?
brent sancho: I like playing any central defensive position, or anywhere in the central defense.
doc: Brent! Being a full time pro', how has your club team training improved you as a player ?
brent sancho: I think the professional environment is one that is condusive to learning.
brent sancho: I have been able to develop and mature as a player and a person.
doc: There seems to be an opportunity to claim one of the CB positions now, are you ready to stake your claim?
brent sancho: Yes definitely. I am going to give 100% and try to stake my claim as a starter and a major contributor to this team.
doc: I wish you well!
doc: Shaun
Palos: Same here!!
brent sancho: thank you.
Palos: Shaun, you have any questions? If not, maybe we can just free style it unless it get's out of control
Tallman: Brent, if you do get a contract in Europe, how are you going to deal with demands of the national team ? Will you ask to be left out of some games ?
Palos: Same for you Brent.
brent sancho: I will try to make every single game that Trinidad has. Although it is nice to be playing in Europe, my main goal is to take Trinidad to World Cup.
fleX: impressive Brent,,,,but all players say this and when the time comes they turn their backs....
brent sancho: Trust me, anybody that knows me knows that's what my main goal.
Shaun Fuentes: what questions Palos
doc: with respect to the difficulty of travel in TT, has the TTFF considered regionalizing their training centers to broaden the base of players at all national teams?
Shaun Fuentes: I don't think right now Doc, the only possible camp may be in the US and right now there are no outright plans for that.
Palos: ok....what we'll do is this. Tallman & Doc asked questions so we'll answer those first. Shaun, I was referring to anything about the posters, Flex site etc.
Shaun Fuentes: I'm cool Palos.
Tallman: Shaun, are we seriously pursuing a bid to host the 2007 U-20 World Cup ?
Shaun Fuentes: yes we are, as a matter of fact, this was one of the topics of meetings at the recent FIFA Exec meeting
Dave: Brent, did you enjoy working with Bobby and Jimmy at Portland. Did they have anything to offer you coaching-wise?
brent sancho: Yes. They are an encyclopedia of knowledge.
flex: Brent can you predict a starting 11 for T&T in the gold cup and also can you see us qualifying for the 2006 World Cup ?
brent sancho: It's tough to name a starting team because you never know who will peak right before the Gold Cup.
Tallman: Shaun, is the TTFF doing anything formal/official in terms of fan support for the Gold Cup (e.g. charter flights etc.) ?
Shaun Fuentes: no nothing as yet, possibly these plans will come on board as the new year begins
doc: Brent, how close are you to being the player you know you can become?
brent sancho: Right now I am working very hard on developingon my weaknesses.
Palos: Shaun & Brent,,,,any good looking young players to look out for in the near future? Simoes spoke about a young left footer who should have been on the Under 17 squad
brent sancho: I have not been able to look at anyone in particular but from the reports that I have been hearing T&T seems to be in good hands.
Shaun Fuentes: yes of course, I see atleast five players coming out of the Under 17 team including Marvin Phillip, Kenwyne Jones, Nkosi Blackman, Jerol Forbes and Devon Leacock.
Dave: Brent, going back to your points on positioning and patience as a defender, were you dissapointed by some refs decisions last season. They seem to give yellows for any sliding tackle!
brent sancho: Yes I was very disappointed. I am naturally an aggressive player and I would not change for anything.
Shaun Fuentes: Andre Pacheco is a great left footed player from Princes Town Senior Comp.
Palos: ok...thanx.
Shaun Fuentes: there's always more, but those names look good right now.
flex: Brent are you comfortable in the left back position,,,,,why are their hardly any left footers on the T&T team,,,,,can Nixon still help us in 2006....
brent sancho: Yes I am comfortable although I am naturally right-footed.... Nixon can definitely help us in 2006. He is a very talented player.
Tallman: Shaun, we've always been thinking about forming an official Soca Warriors fan club? Do you think this would go over well with the TTFF ?
Shaun Fuentes: yes but you have to make sure and hold discussions with the Federation
flex: wouldn't he be to old
brent sancho: No, age is not a problem as long as you are willing to contribute 100%.
Dave: Brent, when do you travel for your European trials?
brent sancho: Right after the Gold Cup.
Palos: This one is for "Tiger" (if he still there)....were you nervous on your debut for T&T and what are your immediate footballing goals?
brent sancho - Tiger: Of course I was nervous, but you know, once you get out on to the field and you realise you are playing against just another human being, you settle into your game.
brent sancho - Tiger: What are my immediate plans for the future - to secure a contract with a professional team and to finally get my chance to play for the national team.
Palos: who are you currently playing with?
brent sancho: No club team at the moment. I have trial with a few A league teams when I get back to the States after the Xmas holidays.
flex: Brent and Shaun do you think Nakhid should of been sack by the TTFF,,,way wasn't the public inform of a better excuse for this.........
Shaun Fuentes: I can't really say why there was not a better explanation because at that time I was not with the Federation, but honestly I thought his days were over
Tallman: Shaun, now that Stephen Hart has been appointed to a coaching position with the Canadian Soccer Association, would the TTFF keep tabs on him ?
Palos: great question Tallman
Shaun Fuentes: Possibly.
Shaun Fuentes: Do you think that he can make a valuable contribution to our football
Shaun Fuentes: or just because he's been appointed by the Canada Federation, that makes him eligible
bally: shaun fuentes what is being done to get the young kids involve more in football and development to advants in the football world not just today but tommorow.
Shaun Fuentes: At this time, the community projects being done by FCOTT has really helped in this area just judging by the reaction of the kids when we go to the schools and I expect this to grow in the future
Shaun Fuentes: in terms of getting them advanced, I can't say for sure as yet.
Shaun Fuentes: it all depends on how much the kid is willing to do on his own as well.
doc: Brent like you is a foreigner in TT! LOLLL!!
brent sancho: The stadium and them so new, I does forget their name sometimes!
doc: hahaha! Its nice to have that kind a infrastructure. hahaha.
Palos: ok.....Brent & Shaun...if you had to descripe Mickey in a sentence, what would you say
fleX: fast and furious......lol......
Shaun Fuentes: a man with heart, hardworking and easy going so much that it would be easy to get attach to him.
bally: brent how do feal about yorke and latapy leaving the team like that
Palos: he seemed to touch so many different people on so many levels....
brent sancho: That's a difficult one... Mickey has touched me not just as a player but as a person.
bally: sorry its leaving
brent sancho: Fellas I gone there.
Shaun Fuentes: Flex, I'm releasing a piece in time for Wednesday with quotations from Stern and Russell Latapy talking about Mickey, so ill pass it on
fleX: That goal he score aganist Costa Rica I would never forget..................
Tallman: Will Stern John be at the game ?
Shaun Fuentes: no he will not tallman
Shaun Fuentes: and he's kinda disappointed
fleX: Take care Brent and thanks agian....
Tallman: OK breds, thank fuh allyuh time.
brent sancho: Don't forget Felix Ferria grounds, Pinto Rd. Arima. @ 3pm
Palos: thanks Brent and Tiger!!
Palos: what day again?
fleX: ok Brent.....come again.....
fleX: boxing day.
brent sancho: Thank you guys for supporting Trinidad and hopefully we can give you something to cheer for next month.
Palos: seen
Dave: Thanks Brent, Shaun and Flex and everyone for arranging this
fleX: OK shaun,,,looking forward......
Palos: thanks for being here Dave.
fleX: Same here Dave.
doc: Respect< fellas! later
Dave: Good luck T&T!!
fleX: Thanks Dave, laterz Doc.
brent sancho: Later.
Tallman: Allyuh ,ah gone
Palos: Later tallman...all de best.
fleX: OK - Tall.
bally: shaun fuentes i don't mean to be an ass hole but that's not the answer i was looking i need to hear some of development for the youths in tnt that's the only way we can move forward
fleX: Shaun does Latapy and Yorke still keep in touch with you guy's ??
fleX: sorry bally for cutting in.........
Shaun Fuentes: not really Yorke, more Latas.
Shaun Fuentes: I hear yuh Bally
fleX: Shaun when yuh ready to bounce just let we know..............
Shaun Fuentes: yeh man'
Shaun Fuentes: any of yu guys gonna be at the gold cup
fleX: yes at the Costa RICA GAME............
fleX: and hopfully Martinique too.
Palos: I going Trini for Carnival so can't make both
bally: i hope to be there if i get off
fleX: boy I miss T&T christmas boy....
Shaun Fuentes: yeh Stern was telling me the same yesterday, the man was sounding sad yes.
fleX: Shaun dont forget to send de squad for me nah..........
Shaun Fuentes: ok.
fleX: Shaun about the site being a public thing as you mention previously,,,,this is only on the forum most of the times.
Shaun Fuentes: yeh
fleX: I mean most of the site has good things....no
??
Shaun Fuentes: yeh i agree
Shaun Fuentes: but these guys sometimes only watch the TV rounds up, they hardly even read the papers particularly the foreign based
Shaun Fuentes: but dont worry if they dont come on every week or so,believe me, once they know someone is doing something positive , they appreciate it
fleX: O'.......
fleX: Its good sometime to listen to views from the outside......
Shaun Fuentes: thats one of the way i worked my way up
Shaun Fuentes: how you think i made it as a little 18 yr old from the Guardian at the Gold Cup with them fellas eh
Shaun Fuentes: lol
bally: shaun fuentes how much of the PFL games are on tv in tnt
Shaun Fuentes: none are live
Shaun Fuentes: just highlights
fleX: is Nixon joining the squad for the GC for sure
Shaun Fuentes: yeh he will be called for training and once he's fully fit and can fall into simoes' plans, sure he'll be there
Palos: Bally, I really like that idea about a show to promote the PFL
bally: i think they should show more games on tv
Shaun Fuentes: yes Bally
Shaun Fuentes: but the sponsors are not really willing
fleX: any Zamora news yet
or Silvio Spann.....
Shaun Fuentes: nah boy
Shaun Fuentes: I would love if we can get hold of Zamora
fleX: Personaly I dont think he may commit 100%......
Palos: well....allyuh know Trini...dey love foreign ting
Shaun Fuentes: for real palos
fleX: Palos we need to go down then.......lol
Shaun Fuentes: i think one of the breathrougs for the PFL is if we can get our highlights on some of the foreign weekly programmes like Futbol Mundial
Palos: however, if we were able to get coverage and show highlights like goals, dribbles, player interviews, top 10 goals of the week or top 5 whatever...it would be a start
Shaun Fuentes: but it's not easy to get on
bally: palos if you have tv you know how important it is you can reach alot of people with the media
Palos: fuh real....and make it a local flavor....all players have a nickname...de presenter have to have personality like Anil Roberts...he does make meh roll
Palos: yeah...no probs...
Shaun Fuentes: guys ANY MORE QUESTIONS, GOTTA RUN.
fleX: Take care Shaun and thanks again,,,laterz..
Palos: take care Shaun and thanks.
bally: thanks shaun.