April 25, 2024, 08:55:15 PM

Author Topic: T&T players in de EPL  (Read 2958 times)

T&T players in de EPL
« on: August 22, 2006, 08:27:50 PM »
Since our captain joined de EPL wid Aston Villa, ah doh remember ah season dat we didn't have ah player or players, in de EPL. If I'm wrong, may be Tallman or anyone can correct me. Ah must say ,it was ah strange feeling tuh see de EPL open, and not look forward tuh seeing ah T&T player in de league.

Re: T&T players in de EPL
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2006, 09:09:46 PM »
your correct..

one would think that especially after a respectable performance in Germany we would have at least a couple of players in the EPL...

I'm still waiting for Carlos and Kenwyne to make the jump.. wait till mid-season... :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2006, 10:45:03 PM »
Since our captain joined de EPL wid Aston Villa, ah doh remember ah season dat we didn't have ah player or players, in de EPL. If I'm wrong, may be Tallman or anyone can correct me. Ah must say ,it was ah strange feeling tuh see de EPL open, and not look forward tuh seeing ah T&T player in de league.

J Lloyd Samuel playin with Aston Villa.  And he be a born Trini.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2006, 03:38:28 AM »

I doh think he counts Palos. He's not a recognised Trini player. He's an English player who have Trini roots.

With the exception of when he was trying to storm his into the Soca Warriors, no one talked about him as a Trini player. Not like Dwight and Shaka.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2006, 04:12:49 AM »
I don't care I'm counting J'lloyd Samuel.

« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2006, 07:14:33 AM »
i was going back in the archives and came across a "trinis ain action" thread with darren bent's name on it. what's up with that?

« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2006, 07:29:33 AM »
one would think that especially after a respectable performance in Germany we would have at least a couple of players in the EPL...

If only it were that simple

« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2006, 07:38:10 AM »

Only one man had the qualifications and just barely (Edwards)
Think about what you saw, normally the managers going for players that will bring something to their clubs.
Apart from the old established names (who would not get signed because of age) who was left that impressed ?

« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2006, 07:45:54 AM »

Only one man had the qualifications and just barely (Edwards)
Think about what you saw, normally the managers going for players that will bring something to their clubs.
Apart from the old established names (who would not get signed because of age) who was left that impressed ?

Well said....not really sure what people iz be watchin' or thinkin' when they bring up T&T's claim to the EPL based on the WC........

« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2006, 07:59:42 AM »
and imagine how many players from our world cup roster DONT EVEN HAVE CLUBS!! whitley, spann, andrews practically,theobold. how can tnt football have credibility and desire to get contracts when these guys are sitting at home chilling out.

« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2006, 08:21:25 AM »
and imagine how many players from our world cup roster DONT EVEN HAVE CLUBS!! whitley, spann, andrews practically,theobold. how can tnt football have credibility and desire to get contracts when these guys are sitting at home chilling out.

Let's face it . we sent a team to the WC comprising aging players, at best mediocre mid career players and at least one mental misfit.
They were used by the coach the best way he saw fit and they made us proud. But that was because they did not embarrass us and put on some unbelievable defensive perfomances.

As I keep saying that was the staRT of the journey and we have to look at the structure now being put in place and to the inspiration the TEAM would and should put into our young up and coming footballers.

Time to look ahead and work with the youths like we have never done before

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2006, 08:33:46 AM »
at least one mental misfit.

who is that boy? :o

« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2006, 10:13:05 AM »
Still looking for de days when we had Shaka, Yorke, Marcelle for that one season or Shaka, Yorke, John playing EPL. Hope we could continue to improve so we go have combos like that coming again

« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2006, 10:37:55 AM »

There are about 3 JAmauicans there...show some caribbean unity nah.  ;D Just the other day Jack warner was calling on Jamaica to show caribbean unity.

support Ricardo Gardener and Claude Davis. ther are tons of others, but I'll keep the two Jamaican born and bred ones as reference  ;D

« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2006, 02:48:07 PM »

There are about 3 JAmauicans there...show some caribbean unity nah.  ;D Just the other day Jack warner was calling on Jamaica to show caribbean unity.

support Ricardo Gardener and Claude Davis. ther are tons of others, but I'll keep the two Jamaican born and bred ones as reference  ;D

Reggaefan, strangely enough, meh yard man padnah on de job, said de same thing tuh meh. He said it in ah different way, but it meant de same thing.  :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2006, 02:54:04 PM »

Respect tuh yuh opinion Palos. But dat breddah, never played for us, so ah did not consider him. If he have ah break away season, and England call him, ah think he will accept it.