March 28, 2024, 02:39:24 AM

Author Topic: Anton Corneal ponders SSFL boycott.  (Read 30305 times)

Anton Corneal ponders SSFL boycott.
« on: August 27, 2006, 08:04:44 AM »
Anton Corneal ponders SSFL boycott.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The Trinidad and Tobago Secondary Schools' Football League (SSFL) could kick off next month without its star pupils after national youth teams' coach Anton Corneal admitted the possibility of a ban on national players.
Corneal, who coaches Trinidad and Tobago today in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) U-16 Youth Tournament third-place play off against Jamaica, believes that the country's chance of qualifying for the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Korea would be significantly boosted by a boycott of the SSFL competition.
Although no formal decision has been made thus far, Corneal proposed that his under-16 players would benefit more from strength and endurance training programmes and, possibly, international friendlies than representing their respective schools.
He argued that the national youth players could forget the lessons learnt from exacting opposition like Haiti-Trinidad and Tobago lost 1-0 to Haiti in the CFU semi-finals on Friday-if they return to the SSFL, and insisted a ban could help the team to qualify for the Under-17 World Cup.
"It is a conflict in the intensity of the game (at SSFL level) and what we are trying to get from them at national level," said Corneal. "When they play at that lower level twice a week and in training for their school teams, it becomes a norm...I am thinking of (withdrawing the players from the SSFL) so we can have proper preparation without being hindered."
Corneal suggested that the failure of national youth teams over the past decade and a half was a direct result of the influence of the SSFL, which he referred to as "a big bad wolf".
Trinidad and Tobago have not qualified for the final CONCACAF round at under-17 level since 1999. Two years ago, Corneal implemented a ban on school football as under-20 coach and is convinced that it helped his squad progress to the final CONCACAF stage where they lost all three group matches against the United States, Panama and Costa Rica.
Although the SSFL has been a nursery for national talent for decades, Corneal countered that school players in the 1980s and early 1990s also played senior football at club level which is no longer the case.
He claimed that he was not trying to belittle the schools competition but felt obliged to prioritise the national teams.
"Some people are against (the ban) and some people are for it," said Corneal, a former Fatima College standout. "But everyone is afraid to talk about it because it is taboo. The last few national (youth) teams didn't go through because they compromised. "I am not against the colleges' league but, when we are talking about qualifying for a World Cup, we have to put things into perspective."
T&T mesmerised by Haitian magic.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The Hasely Crawford Stadium fell under a Haitian spell on Friday evening.
Trinidad and Tobago's 1-0 loss to Haiti in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-16 Youth Tournament semi-final round might have prompted a hasty exit by spectators at the final whistle.
Instead, local fans stood in the aisles transfixed as over a dozen Haitian teenagers put on a dance exhibition that seemed to match their football performance for creativity, enthusiasm and, above all, audacity.
Jules Sandy, the game's lone scorer, celebrated his goal by bringing his finger to lip in a gesture to the home crowd and, at Surinamese referee Enrico Wijngaarde's final whistle, the Haitians indulged in some teasing hip movements in front the Trinidad and Tobago technical area that could be viewed as provocative. A post-game brawl between Argentina and Germany at the 2006 World Cup was ignited by far less.
But there was no denying that the young Soca Warriors had been mastered. "Haiti was more mature in their game," said national youth teams' coach Anton Corneal. "There were times when we had them on their back but they were mature enough to handle the pressure and play themselves out of it, especially in the second half."
It has been a tough week for Trinidad and Tobago football fans still basking in the country's historic showing at the Germany World Cup, just two months ago.
First, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation's (T&TFF) decision to scrap September friendlies against senior Mexican and Colombian teams suggest, correctly or not, that new coach Wim Rijsbergen does not have a squad worth fielding without his overseas contingent. It is a point that might prompt a cringe from Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene.
And Trinidad and Tobago's failure to top a four nation Caribbean group that did not include English-speaking rivals Jamaica would further sting local pride as does a continuing failure to produce a youth team capable of seizing one's breath. There were some shouts for Corneal's dismissal as the game headed to a predictable defeat although the youth team coach pointed out that he has done better than most in recent memory.
Two years ago, coach Nigel Grosvenor's under-16 outfit fell to Cuba by a 6-2 goal aggregate score in the final Caribbean qualifying leg while Ron La Forest's team ended bottom of a group that comprised Bermuda, Guyana and St Lucia in 2002.
In the past 15 years, Trinidad and Tobago appeared at the final CONCACAF group stage just twice--1999 and 1991--and, on both occasions, finished last and without a win. Still, Corneal promised that his team will do better next April in the final World Cup qualifying phase.
"We need to step up the program physically," he told the Sunday Express, "and play against competitive teams more often, not once, every two months, so the players know what it is like."
Corneal, an assistant to former head coach Leo Beenhakker at the 2006 World Cup, pointed out that the Warriors significantly closed the gap between themselves and respected international opponents like Sweden with just five weeks of intensive training.
Dutch coaches Rijsbergen and Jan Van Deinsen are, according to Corneal, playing an active role in an attempt to perform a similar job with the youth team.
It will be interesting to observe Haiti's mettle against Mexico in this afternoon's 4 p.m. final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium but the French-speaking islanders seemed a good yardstick to gauge the merits of Corneal's squad on Friday.
Trinidad and Tobago kicked off without the injured trio of Leston Paul, Stephen Chang and Daniel Cyrus--the latter confessed a back injury during the warm up--and were soon second best to the Haitians.
Corneal abandoned his 4-4-2 system to match Haiti's 3-5-2 in an effort to tame his opponent's midfield prowess while defender Brenton Balbosa was asked to stay close to Haitian captain and playmaker Joseph Peterson in Trinidad and Tobago's defensive third of the field.
The coach must have feared the worse when Peterson, the eventual man of the match, instigated an opening goal for Haiti after just 10 minutes. Haiti's skipper sent Normil Valdo clear down the right flank and his cross was teed up by St Victor Ulterguens for Sandy to finish with composure. Sandy wheeled away to face the home crowd with finger on lip. It was a signal of intent. Haiti were there to conquer not charm.
And yet there was something about the slick ball movement and deceptive shimmies from the Haitians that touched a chord with the Port of Spain crowd who alternated cheers for the home team with murmours of approval for the visitors.
Corneal claimed "four or five" scoring opportunities for his side but they came mostly from set pieces. Once the ball rolled, the Haitians were superior.
Peterson's clever turns in midfield and Valdo's penetrative runs down the right touchline were highlights of Haiti's offensive game while Saint Cyr Widner was commanding as a midfield sweeper.
In red, white and black strip, the central defensive trio of Robert Primus, Ryan O' Neil and Sheldon Bateau admirably managed an intense workload and there were flashes of potential from midfielders Kevin Molino and Chike Sullivan and forward Daniel Joseph. Corneal has eight months to transform this raw material into a world class product. But Friday belonged to Haiti.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2006, 09:17:42 AM by Flex »

Re: Anton Corneal ponders SSFL boycott.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2006, 08:21:10 AM »
Ok ban the players from school competition good idea  but continue to look at potential players in the secondary schools league... i know how they lazy already

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2006, 08:28:00 AM »
Having the players playing more competitive matches is a good idea but they need to try and develop the SSFL too.
Narrowing down the player pool for 2010 does not make sense right now. There will always be late bloomers and men who fly under the radar.

Even if the intent was to ban the players he didn't have to talk bout the "lower level". All he needed to say was that he wanted the team to train together under one system and have international matches. No need to make SSFL sound like it is the worst thing ever. Now any type of relationship the coaches try to develop with schools and their staff will be strained. Foot in mouth disease. It have better ways to say bad things.

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2006, 08:31:19 AM »
If they pulling the guys out of the ssfl they need to make sure that they get to play alot of matches bcuz it was evident that our boys aren't accustomed to playing aot of games in a short space of time.... we also need to keep on looking for players to add to the squad

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2006, 08:44:22 AM »
Having the players playing more competitive matches is a good idea but they need to try and develop the SSFL too.
Narrowing down the player pool for 2010 does not make sense right now. There will always be late bloomers and men who fly under the radar.

Even if the intent was to ban the players he didn't have to talk bout the "lower level". All he needed to say was that he wanted the team to train together under one system and have international matches. No need to make SSFL sound like it is the worst thing ever. Now any type of relationship the coaches try to develop with schools and their staff will be strained. Foot in mouth disease. It have better ways to say bad things.
thats true
but if i was a player now in school i woulda say to hell with National football and concentrate on my education and play for my schoool with the intention of possibly getting a scholarship...TTFF ent showing no inclination to be organised and be well prepared.
first of all it going to be too late to get that current side up to the level it should be, which is easily beat other regional teams. If the team ent winning, what good exposure a player going to get in terms of a future contract or scholarship. Then when the team does lose eventually, they just going to prk up that side till next 4 years, then the players who sacrifice just will have to fend for themselves till they step up to the U-19 squad etc..for other who ent lucky to make the U-19 team, well then they lose out.

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2006, 08:53:53 AM »
Very Good intent ...bad delivery

I understand his point....the youths std. drops when playin in the SSFL....plus taking away 20-25 youths from the SSFL meaning 1-3 per school at most. is not going to be to the detriment of the league. The key is to keep an eye on the SSFL for up and commers so the youths in the SSFL will keep themselves and as result the league competitive. By putting the league down does not encourge that.

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2006, 08:57:44 AM »
Very Good intent ...bad delivery

I understand his point....the youths std. drops when playin in the SSFL....plus taking away 20-25 youths from the SSFL meaning 1-3 per school at most. is not going to be to the detriment of the league. The key is to keep an eye on the SSFL for up and commers so the youths in the SSFL will keep themselves and as result the league competitive. By putting the league down does not encourge that.
i positive this ent the first time they doing this
they shoulda thought bout it since last year at least
not 1 week before the season start..steups
he must b trying to help Fatima win this year  ;D

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2006, 09:02:51 AM »
this could have both good and bad things comming out of it

good: chemistry, discipline and unity in the team

bad: morale, self-seteem, and missing out on real tv6 play of de day and express clippings and nuff hoes,family looking foward fuh yuh to rep yuh school, yuh bredren telling yuh boy play fuh we nah iz ah semi-final dan.

SCHOLARSHIPS

too much bad

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2006, 09:08:29 AM »
I am not overly concerned about the SSFL. Taking the players away will not be to the Leagues detriment. Not trying to improve the league will be to the country's detriment.

What happeining to the man who on the under 17 team and then get drop or replaced at the under 20 level. Who knows where his education will be at.

Corneal need to get some regional coaches trained. Tape the national training sessions and pass it on to schools. Let everybody know what they trying to do and what they trying to eliminate. Imagine all the schools playing at this "level." That is when the true talent will shine. Right now it hae skills men who would stand out but dribbling might not necessarily be what is best for the national team.

The TTFF need to start focusing on fitness. Implement some fitness testing for all footballers at every level. Start a database and start tracking men progress. It have men like Dwarika and Hardest blessed with talent but not using it. We need to weed out these men and let the serious dedicated men get they chance. The most skill in the world does not necassarily equate to the best team in the world. Ask Brazil.

Players like Gattuso who play a role will never be developed under our current system. Everybody cyah be the finesse midfileder.

EDIT

Is this kinda a mentality why we cyah field a team to play friendlies. All we eggs in one basket
« Last Edit: August 27, 2006, 09:12:54 AM by rippin »

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2006, 09:10:19 AM »
I am not overly concerned about the SSFL. Taking the players away will not be to the Leagues detriment. Not trying to improve the league will be to the country's detriment.

What happeining to the man who on the under 17 team and then get drop or replaced at the under 20 level. Who knows where his education will be at.

Corneal need to get some regional coaches trained. Tape the national training sessions and pass it on to schools. Let everybody know what they trying to do and what they trying to eliminate. Imagine all the schools playing at this "level." That is when the true talent will shine. Right now it hae skills men who would stand out but dribbling might not necessarily be what is best for the national team.

The TTFF need to start focusing on fitness. Implement some fitness testing for all footballers at every level. Start a database and start tracking men progress. It have men like Dwarika and Hardest blessed with talent but not using it. We need to weed out these men and let the serious dedicated men get they chance. The most skill in the world does not necassarily equate to the best team in the world. Ask Brazil.

Players like Gattuso who play a role will never be developed under our current system. Everybody cyah be the finesse midfileder.
well said Rippin  :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2006, 09:12:17 AM »
The SSFL is shit.  Too short and the coaching poor!  Trinis like too much gallery too.  Always with we is de best shit talk, and dat we is perennial kings ah Caribbean football...dat was de past.  Last WC qualifyoin Uncle Jack make sure we get de easiest ah passages, he hold de draw behind closed doors and den we struggle mightedly against St. Kitts and St. Vincent, who had a right to beat we, but had no luck and lacked the technical skills to put away dey many more chances.

In T&T man does always act like dey reach!  Allyuh read what de Haitian coach said?  He had his players training together, going to school together for over ah year.....dey developed an esperit de corps and came here to win.  I feel dey go buss Mexico ass!  Besides if Haiti with all de politcal and socio-economic morasses can have an academy of sorts what prevents us?  (hint ask Jackucla and his dumb ass supporters!)

When the SSFL was good, de oval used to be packed, Guaracara Park used to be packed, Arima used to be packed.  Dat was football and I seriously doubt that any secondary team from de last 15 years packed any ah dem stadiums...why?

Se league shitty!

Now me eh making no excuses for Corneal at all, but de idea seems logical.  The problem doh, will we like haiti have some proper international practice games?  

Given the mentality and History of the TTFF and the fickleness of the T&T public, I doubt it, but I have been wrong before, not often in regards to the TTFF but we will see.  I feel if Jack cyar make no money off de youth team, we eh getting no set ah practice matches.  

And if de team eh winning a lot, de fickle, asshole, non patriotic trinis eh going to see dem play, dat equals no money fuh Jack, so no damn international teams coming and we  youths eh going anywhere.

Look fuh some practice games against Jabloteh and Defence force and Tobago United as dem fellas education and training regimen.

Oh Lord ah hope ah wrong!

« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2006, 09:12:57 AM »
"It is a conflict in the intensity of the game (at SSFL level) and what we are trying to get from them at national level," said Corneal. "When they play at that lower level twice a week and in training for their school teams, it becomes a norm...I am thinking of (withdrawing the players from the SSFL) so we can have proper preparation without being hindered."

Corneal suggested that the failure of national youth teams over the past decade and a half was a direct result of the influence of the SSFL, which he referred to as "a big bad wolf".

Ah ehehe another example of ' the pot calling the kettle black'' If Mr.Corneal, could determine that this is  ah problem, why abandon it without  putting measures in place to remedy and to raise the standard of the players and the game at that level? Is this not an avenue for players to develop and to be introduced to the game?

Once more, I implore those who have been entrusted with the care and development of our game to develop  proper training, nutritional programs and athletic programs  so that our athletes would benefit from the knowledge and coaching.

I don't see how removing players who have been exposed to a higher level of the game would benefit the majority of our existing teams. Could these players not go back to their teams and have an impact on their fellow teammates? Could Corneal not implore the TTFF to assist with the coaching and development of  players and coaches at the school level?

Once more  this appears to be a'band aid solution rather than remedying the alleged problem. This is almost akin to the senior national team where the best players are removed from the local scene,  and  the local players and league are left to develop on their own without the  benefit of the SO-called expert. We saw the experiment of taking a local squad to Japan. Well instead of taking the time to implement a training program with these players, all of  a sudden  Friendlies are cancelled due to lack of players availability!!!!! the nonsense  continues.

Work with our youths, work with our coaches, work with our programs. Do not abandon our youths, do not abandon our coaches, do not abandon our programs.

« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2006, 09:22:05 AM »
These fellas were supposed to be in a live in camp 6-9  months ago with a sqaud of 40 players.In the last  2-3 months that list should have been cut to 23. We should have played against the U19 Pro- league teams to help prepare the players.

« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2006, 09:24:54 AM »
Nobody advocating de abandonment of de youths Alberta.  De league is de responsibility of de Schools demselves, unless I am mistaken.  

The league has deteriorated badly, it is too short and the emphasis has never been on player development, hence the reason we are always playing catch up.

We need proper youth leagues with well qualified coaches in charge to ensure development at a grassroots and community level.

The TTFF has never been interested in anything even remotely close to this, and when a man recently tried to implement a national program for the coaching and training of coaches, insisting that ALL persons aspiring to be national coaches in T&T need to hold accredited licences, he was demoted (Ah talking about Lincoln Phillips).

So back to the TTFF and Jack Warner again...what next fella?

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2006, 09:44:23 AM »
So instead of working with the coaches in the SSFL and telling them what is needed Corneal would rather ban players. What an idiot.
So let's see that's creates a coterie of players who are more or less guaranteed a spot on the national team. It reasonably excludes any potential player from the SSFL since they haven't been playing at a level Mr. Corneal ajudges to be appropriate. My question is how then and from where would players be selected in order to field national youth teams?

« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2006, 10:04:33 AM »
I wondering which players SSFL "PRODUCES"?

What is the definition of "PRODUCE"?

Because to me.....SSFL doh "PRODUCE" any player....certainly not in the past 10 years or so.

Who "PRODUCE" Stern John?  El Dorado?  The El Dorado coaching staff?

Latapy...Sando Tech?  Their coaching staff?

A case could be made for Dwight Yorke and BSC...yes....but that now is the exception rather than the rule.  Even then...Dwight Yorke was more a product of the St Clair coaching school, a year round initiative, rather than Signal Hill.  BSC just happened to be coach of Signal Hill.

To me the SSFL is a showcase league.  Players go to school, represent the school, maybe train for 2 months of the year, and then what?  What do they do?  Which SSFL coach then "produces" these players.

Is that the "PRODUCTION" we talkin about?

To me....representing a school and having a school "PRODUCE" players are 2 entirely different things.

Look at Leston Paul or Sean De Silva....CIC and CIC coaching staff "PRODUCIN" dem?

I agree with Anton Corneal on this issue.  The SSFL IS lower standard.  Our players WILL NOT IMPROVE if their focus is on SSFL football.

There is no "coaching staff" to really consult with.  These coaches in most part have these guys for a maximum 3 months of any year.  The pro league clubs already have their infratsructure in place where these same guys who REPRESENT SSFL teams are actually PRODUCED by most of the Pro League teams.  In the Pro League model, these young players play against their peers, and the best of them go on to play at higher levels like U 20 or even Pro League senor teams.  In other words...they playin "big man" football which was always the model used for our better youth players...from Alvin Corneal to Russell Latapy.

The SSFL has an undeniable emotional connect.  It has existing rivalries with tradition, it is heavily marketed in the media etc.  But the SSFL come like carnival in a way.  It seasonal...and not just seasonal....but the season way too short at that.  At the end of the day, is a "gallery" league.  Bragging rights is the main thing.  Yeah...it have a place for that too....but the priorities wrong.  The media priorities wrong.

Right now...the SSFL is a byproduct of the educational system.  Kids go to school PRIMARILY for educational purposes....NOT for SPORTING reasons.  That is how it should be and it's right and correct.  If we want to be SERIOUS about our football, as the Haitian's amply demonstrated with their model....you have to think about SPORT being a priority.  In the current structure with the SSFL...that NOT going to happen.  And I don't see that changing anytime soon.  The TTFF has no jurisdiction over the SSFL as far as I know.

As much as I disagree with a lot of things re: Anton Corneal....he is right on this issue in my opinion.

« Last Edit: August 27, 2006, 10:11:54 AM by palos »

« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2006, 10:08:26 AM »

So let's see that's creates a coterie of players who are more or less guaranteed a spot on the national team. . My question is how then and from where would players be selected in order to field national youth teams?

Well it seems this present under 20 team was picked that way  it is the  exact same players from the last under 17 team  "automatic selection" man

« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2006, 10:17:19 AM »
These fellas were supposed to be in a live in camp 6-9  months ago with a sqaud of 40 players.In the last  2-3 months that list should have been cut to 23. We should have played against the U19 Pro- league teams to help prepare the players.

of course jah gol...but u ent realise ttff put everything on hold for the World Cup? I mean everything...since carnival done, every man jack in football only had one thing to study...who studying dem snat nose chile and dem.. ???

u mad or what?  :o

« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2006, 10:32:55 AM »

of course jah gol...but u ent realise ttff put everything on hold for the World Cup? I mean everything...since carnival done, every man jack in football only had one thing to study...who studying dem snat nose chile and dem.. ???

u mad or what?  :o

« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2006, 10:45:09 AM »
It have decent ballers who didn't play for any club that does come out in SSFL. I agree that the standards not the highest but the fact is the standards in all of TnT football not the highest. Instead of continuing to harp on it somebody need to start improving the standards. Instead of bad talking the league lets try to suggest ways to improve it cause the TTFF not going to pay for men to get to college.

I went Naps in 2000 and the footballers there actually got an education wheteher they wanted it or not. Plenty of them went to college in the States and were able to get an education. The likelihood is some of them would not have gotten to naps based on academics if they wasn't playing ball. Where would they be now? (Sweating in quarry league.)

Who is to guarantee that players in the academy going to get a good education. TTFF not going to pay for teachers. If they do the players will only be doing HSB, history etc etc etc. Shaka Hislop did Mechanical Engineering. Would the academy's cirrculum be diverse enough for him to get the foundation he would have needed?

The senior national team only have 23 spots and some men will maintain they spot for bout 10-12 years. Do the math. What happening to these excess players from the under 23, 20 and 17 team?

With the TTFF track record I would find it very hard to trust them with my future.

The boycott might not be a bad idea in the short term but I hope is  not the long term plan.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2006, 10:50:58 AM by rippin »

« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2006, 10:50:43 AM »

There is no "coaching staff" to really consult with.  These coaches in most part have these guys for a maximum 3 months of any year.  The pro league clubs already have their infratsructure in place where these same guys who REPRESENT SSFL teams are actually PRODUCED by most of the Pro League teams.  In the Pro League model, these young players play against their peers, and the best of them go on to play at higher levels like U 20 or even Pro League senor teams.  In other words...they playin "big man" football which was always the model used for our better youth players...from Alvin Corneal to Russell Latapy.

Great post!! This paragraph is the key. BUT...the effing Pro-league by its very structure, limiting the player pool and is not very good at what it does. The only good thing that happens is that the games are played. The league needs to be reorganized to try to capture that same competitive spirit and "bragging rights", and community support that the SSFL has(or used to have anyway). We HAVE to have community support and all that follows from it to get the youths interested and move football forward. The SSFL cyar cut it.

« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2006, 10:52:49 AM »
It have decent ballers who didn't play for any club that does come out in SSFL. I agree that the standards not the highest but the fact is the standards in all of TnT football not the highest. Instead of continuing to harp on it somebody need to start improving the standards. Instead of bad talking the league lets try to suggest ways to improve it cause the TTFF not going to pay for men to get to college.

I went Naps in 2000 and the footballers there actually got an education wheteher they wanted it or not. Plenty of them went to college in the States and were able to get an education. The likelihood is some of them would not have gotten to naps based on academics if they wasn't playing ball. Where would they be now? (Sweating in quarry league.)

Who is to guarantee that players in the academy going to get a good education. TTFF not going to pay for teachers. If they do the players will only be doing HSB, history etc etc etc. The senior national team only have 23 spots and some men will maintain they spot for bout 10-12 years. Do the math. What happening to these excess players from the under 23, 20 and 17 team?

With the TTFF track record I would find it very hard to trust them with my future.

Education in Trinidad is getting cheaper and in some instances almost free.What we need to do is develop a scholarship program for the best players to attend UWI, UTT , SAM, SBCS etc.

« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2006, 10:58:34 AM »
Who is to guarantee that players in the academy going to get a good education. TTFF not going to pay for teachers. If they do the players will only be doing HSB, history etc etc etc. Shaka Hislop did Mechanical Engineering. Would the academy's cirrculum be diverse enough for him to get the foundation he would have needed?

The senior national team only have 23 spots and some men will maintain they spot for bout 10-12 years. Do the math. What happening to these excess players from the under 23, 20 and 17 team?

The boycott might not be a bad idea in the short term but I hope is  not the long term plan.

I do not believe TTFF is going to fund anything.  The T&T Government has made noises about investing in sport and football in particular.  TTFF as governing body for football in the country will more than likely be involved in administration (lawd help we)....but the actual funding will more than likely come from Government.

If I am not mistaken...that is one of the primary objectives of the Tarouba complex...not just to be a stadium...but a place where the best of our athletes can be trained and educated in a controlled environment with all the resources and facilities that complex is SUPPOSED to provide.

Offline Youth Baller

« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2006, 11:18:05 AM »
I am playing and have been training with Naps for the past two years an prefer to remain annonyoums tho , but i bet alvin corneal or whoever , that I could pick AT LEAST 5 school teams that would beat that Trinidad under-16 teams and even more teams that could beat some of the otheer shit teams like Suriname etc. and i have been to a U-16 game to see the standard of football. Also i cannot speak for much other teams but i knoe at Naparima with those W-Connection coaches that training is not any easy just get by training , they drill you and push you to your breaking point both with the technical and physical side of the game for corneal to say SSFL is a lower standard , look at those shitty teams in U-16 that getting beat 10 - 0 .What Corneal say might be correctt in certain zones like Tobago but not all the teams Personally i find daz shit talk , ne body agree or evrybody guh stuff fight it down that what he say is true?

« Reply #24 on: August 27, 2006, 11:27:06 AM »
Having read some very good posts- this is my two cents contribution. It seems that Anton is biting the hand that feeds him. Instead of depreciating the SSFl, one should from a national perspective try to enhance, elevate. improve the league.
 Surely national players role is to lift the younger players and set examples for the young to emulate. Hence the reason for experience players in the national Senior squad. What did we hear fron Birchill, whitley, et al that the older players inspired them.
 Secondly we are missing the Culture of SSFl football and pride in representing one's school.Anton should be calling all the SSFL coaches and help in their development rather than weaken their team.
 Pray tell me who and what team will the national team engage. We cant even get a friendly after our W/C showing.
 Let us get real fellas.

« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2006, 12:32:09 PM »
If Corneal's name wasn't Corneal...where would people have first heard of him?...would it not be playing for Fatima in what was then the College's League? whappen to dem fellas is dat they pretend to care bout TnT football.

« Reply #26 on: August 27, 2006, 12:46:26 PM »
as ah man already say, de delivery ruff.... but the intent is good.

Offline syd

« Reply #27 on: August 27, 2006, 03:56:01 PM »
Could someone enlighten me, who is the player that is called hardest

« Reply #28 on: August 27, 2006, 04:02:12 PM »

HERE IS YAH INFO  http://www.socawarriors.net/kerwyn_jemmot.htm

« Reply #29 on: August 27, 2006, 04:30:22 PM »

Ask he wife...she name TrinInfinite