April 28, 2024, 03:46:22 PM

Author Topic: Unofficial thread for the CFU Youth Cup  (Read 83353 times)

Re: Unofficial thread for the CFU Youth Cup
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2006, 06:22:30 PM »
Just got home. It was a decent performance from the team. I wouldn't take too much comfort in the scoreline because Aruba had nothing- I'm not trying to be disrespectful. Our players routinely stripped the ball away from them when they had it. The best player for them was #2 defender who does look like a girl. Yeah they got a goal but it was due to a defensive miscue that never re-occured. They had absolutely no midfield and were no match for the bigger,stronger and faster opponents.

Ok enough about them let me talk about us

I'll start with the negatives:

Even though we scored goals we never possesed the ball for more than 3 minutes in the game. Given their superiority they were supposed to have done more with the ball

There is a lack of sharpness in front of goal not really from the two fron men but from the other men who got chances. Sorry eh I don't know most of the players names but #20 missed at least 2 sitters and 1 good chance.

Not all of the players possess the requisite ball control that will be critical in tougher games.

Some players particularly # 15 who came on and # 5 take far too long to make decisions

I saw some really sloppy passes under no pressure

Chad De Freitas has talent but he doesn't work for the team.

The Positives

Decent crowd. Its likely to double Wednesday. I would say maybe 2000 came out.

The defense is very sound. They make strong tackles and read the game very well. I saw few mistakes and even then the Fullerton or another defender would clean up quickly

We were able on countless occasions to spring an attack wide that Arubans had no answer for

Generally the team works hard. I can't make many complaints about the level of effort

Upfront we have pace. Finally ! Not just pace but control. # 10  in particular doesn't need many opportunities to control and turn with the ball. On countless occasions he latch on to long passes or let the ball bounce on his head,turn, and the jets would fire. Pace Pace PACE !!!( As Andre would say "ah love it") # 11 as well.

The crosses on the left side particularly in the 1st half were encouraging

Chad De freitas had very good touches in the first half. This player has vision and he appears to be less selfish than before and is a good passer of the ball.(He Stopped playing in the 2nd half though)

Man of the Match
I saved the best for last. We have a player to look at closel in the coming games. Leston Paul # 6 I happened to be sitting right in front of his parents. This yute could pass. Any kinda ball he giving but I really want to see him in a tougher game because they gave this man too much time and space to do what he wanted. The entire second half was his. Pass after pass, turn after turn. I heard two yutes who seem to be abreast of youth football saying he was better than da silva .I ent kno that yet but all I could say is he is a looks like he could be a general with some work. His father told me he playing for NE Stars and transfering to CIC soon. Look out for this yute. I can't explain how excited I am about this player. Stay tuned !

To tell you the truth I cant remember most of the goals we probably should have scored 12 but I happy for now.

I down in the LG again on Wednesday !
« Last Edit: August 14, 2006, 06:41:08 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2006, 06:26:18 PM »
spanner???

« Reply #32 on: August 14, 2006, 06:30:16 PM »
spanner???
no dred.all i see is 2 3 cut back and wrong address.

« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2006, 06:32:31 PM »
When does the B team play?

« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2006, 06:39:10 PM »

T&T B v El Salvador - 15 Aug, 06.

Jah Gol, thanx for the report, one question though, are you sure Leston Paul plays for North East Stars ? because the TTFF have him listed as a Defence Force player, can you confirm ?

I know he played for North East Stars once, I just need to know if he transfered or the report is wrong...

Was Wim there ?
« Last Edit: August 14, 2006, 07:00:44 PM by Flex »

« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2006, 06:52:08 PM »
Brain child off WHO he could-off read this site and get that idea I’ve been specking about this for years and I’m sure other forumites broth this topic up before

Bill him!...yuh know dey like tuh tief ideas.

There was a goal During Ple Whe.. I did not see the scorer...

No lie.. they broke the coverage to show ple whe..

we always have to take care of the important things
« Last Edit: August 14, 2006, 06:55:25 PM by Tongue »

« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2006, 07:00:58 PM »

T&T B v El Salvador - 15 Aug, 06.

Jah Gol, thanx for the report, one question though, are you sure Leston Paul plays for North East Stars ? because the TTFF have him listed as a Defence Force player, can you confirm ?

I know he played for North East Stars once, I just need to know if he transfered or the report is wrong...

That's what his father told me but to be honest with you I heard from somebody on the way out of the stadium say that he plays for Defense Force.

« Reply #37 on: August 14, 2006, 07:18:14 PM »
I down in the LG again on Wednesday !

Wednesday is in de Mannie. De next match at de LG is on Friday.

« Reply #38 on: August 14, 2006, 07:20:25 PM »
damn. where I getting taxi to reach there ?

Offline john_public

« Reply #39 on: August 14, 2006, 07:28:04 PM »
i was limin with a group ah jahblo players and they tell me he (#6) does play with them, so i eh to sure na. but he have skill, he real control de game ( i didn`t really see him in the first half though)

i like how de game went generally, de # 20 need to work a lil more though

on a next note, dat fitness man is a mad man, he runnin dem fellars to de ground, even in  ' keep warm drills'

it look like jack warner was the mike man also  ;D ;D ;D ;D

weds for sure again

« Reply #40 on: August 14, 2006, 07:30:19 PM »
Daaamn, T&T setting some new standards boy....

We rest 8 on a team and commentators still commenting we have to improve...

Congrats T&T!

I like to habit of scoring many goals and blowing out teams, even if we dont look perfect on the field.

Any footballer will tell you how difficult it is sometimes to raise your standard against lesser opposition.

Keep up the goals and the winning habit fellas, one step at a time.....

This must be 19 goals they score in their last 3 'competitive' games...

« Reply #41 on: August 14, 2006, 07:53:36 PM »
i was limin with a group ah jahblo players and they tell me he (#6) does play with them, so i eh to sure na. but he have skill, he real control de game ( i didn`t really see him in the first half though)

on a next note, dat fitness man is a mad man, he runnin dem fellars to de ground, even in  ' keep warm drills'

it look like jack warner was the mike man also  ;D ;D ;D ;D

weds for sure again

I see them men warming up for almost 60mins

« Reply #42 on: August 14, 2006, 07:59:31 PM »
I was down in d Gomes too

I missed d first goal we conceded but after that was all T&T. Jah Gol report summed it up completely.

Would love to see that squad play against stronger opposition, to sum it up in a word the victory was comfortable.

First touch was not too good, we looked significantly more composed in midfield in the second half becuase of the opposition 1, the scoreline 2.

In the first half it seemed the boys were trying a bit too hard to go forward and were losing the ball trying the difficult pass upfront, once we got up 2 or 3 goals the attacks were more calculated and eventually more successful knocking the ball around midfield then down the wings and the inside upfront.

Cyar ask for much more from the first game, Good Win boys, time to move forward.

And yea boy.................90th minute and up 7 goals and dem subs still warming up.
and yea #6 is one for the future.....

Fuentes get $250,000 bonus & we cant even get a U-16 report.
« Reply #43 on: August 15, 2006, 02:58:30 AM »
Fuentes get $250,000 tax payers bonus money & we cant even get a U-16 report, a line up from last night game, no report, players numbers, nothing, thanks to a few men on Flex site we still get a lil something.... We dont even know who on the B Team (President X1). Not even a photo or highlight. He writing false report about the build up saying Franz Hisbands scored 2 goals in the first game vs the US College team when Ethan Gordon scored one of those goals, we do not know who score in the 5-0 win over them in the second game also. Who coaching de B team...

We have nothing going on now except for de under 16 cup and nothing. No senior game, no training, no PFL reports, no SSFL reports, no women games, no FIFA convention, nothing going on that should take away your time from your job, then why not a nice report from de under 16 game.

Shaun, if this is not your job, please forgive me.... but wha going on.

You barely did 2 reports from the world cup, came back and got $250,000 tax payers bonus money and nothing on we other teams. Before de world cup you did so GOOD with them photos and so on !!! what happened...
« Last Edit: August 15, 2006, 05:20:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Fuentes get $250,000 bonus & we cant even get a U-16 report.
« Reply #44 on: August 15, 2006, 03:40:04 AM »
number 20 is a raw tlanet. number 9 i believe it was chad was impressive... almost all de players were impressive then again it was Aruba...

theyre lookin good so far... put in 8 goals.... the number 20 wing back managed to bad two...

possibly the best goal of the night was a header scored from a corner from just outisde the box... ah rel pele bullet head top right corner... number 12 scored it.

funniest thing is we went 1-0 down in the first few minutes...

das about all i can vividly remember ah had just come back from ah big sweat and i was tired no arse.

« Reply #45 on: August 15, 2006, 03:42:54 AM »
Cyrus and the goalie are definite ones to watch..

Chad Defrietus slightly overrated.. but i hope he get proper guidance...

THAT Was level licks . !

occoner i know the goalie personaly and he eh nuttin special atol... he aright... I used to rel play with him in GGS he has certainly improved tremendously... buh theyre are plenty better to be found than him...

« Reply #46 on: August 15, 2006, 03:46:16 AM »

on a next note, dat fitness man is a mad man, he runnin dem fellars to de ground, even in  ' keep warm drills'

weds for sure again

.... you sure you was watching the same game as me... yeah the man throw away a couple of chances... but work wise... well lets some it up... a wingback managing to get up into the box with firm control on the ball on 6 different occasions is an impressive amount of work the simple fact that a defender scored twice from live ball situations proves hes a work horse.

« Reply #47 on: August 15, 2006, 04:56:47 AM »

TRINIDAD and Tobago's Daniel Joseph, left, outsprints Arubans Sven Da Silva, centre and Francois Croes yesterday in their Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Under-16 Championship match at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar. (2006-Aug-15)

« Reply #48 on: August 15, 2006, 05:12:46 AM »
altho we doh usaully agree

yuh right on this one ;D :beermug:

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #49 on: August 15, 2006, 05:53:02 AM »
Can we some scores from other countries ?

How are the defending champs looking ?

« Reply #50 on: August 15, 2006, 05:55:37 AM »
Can we some scores from other countries ?

How are the defending champs looking ?

you all are playing today fury

« Reply #51 on: August 15, 2006, 05:57:13 AM »

weds for sure again

.... you sure you was watching the same game as me... yeah the man throw away a couple of chances... but work wise... well lets some it up... a wingback managing to get up into the box with firm control on the ball on 6 different occasions is an impressive amount of work the simple fact that a defender scored twice from live ball situations proves hes a work horse.

He was allowed that freedom because of a lack of Aruban attacks. It didn't make sense for him to stay back and defend nothing.

But I would agree that he worked. However the same can be said of most of the other players.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2006, 06:11:59 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #52 on: August 15, 2006, 06:32:23 AM »
Shaun probably have a clearly defined role as the senior team media rep now...big post so he too big for them small game  :devil:

« Reply #53 on: August 15, 2006, 06:55:50 AM »
Flex, do you have a list of the players with their numbers so we could follow the game better next time ?

« Reply #54 on: August 15, 2006, 07:25:45 AM »
Flex, do you have a list of the players with their numbers so we could follow the game better next time ?

I have a list of the players on the team but NO numbers...

Sorry.

« Reply #55 on: August 15, 2006, 07:31:34 AM »

number 11 is daniel joseph and number 6 is leston paul  ;D

« Reply #56 on: August 15, 2006, 07:40:36 AM »
thanks anyway

« Reply #57 on: August 15, 2006, 07:42:34 AM »
Flex, I can't believe you post the picture and not the article

http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,42578.html
« Last Edit: August 15, 2006, 07:51:07 AM by Midknight »

« Reply #58 on: August 15, 2006, 07:43:33 AM »
I created a new thread for the article so I could publish it....

« Reply #59 on: August 15, 2006, 09:37:09 AM »

1.Jesse Fullerton, 2.Mark Rivers, 3.Ryan O'Neil, 5.Akeem Adams, 6.Leston Paul, 7.Brenton Balbosa, 9.Chad De Freitas, 10.Stephen Knox, 11.Daniel Joseph, 12.Robert Primus, 13.Stephen Chang, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 14.Jean Luc Rochford, 8.Sean De Silva, 15.Chike Sullivan, 16.Marcus Joseph, 20.Daniel Cyrus, 22.Glenroy Samuel, 19.Kevin Molino, 21.Kern Caesar.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2006, 07:33:42 AM by Flex »