April 19, 2024, 01:33:22 PM

Author Topic: Carlos Tevez Thread.  (Read 49522 times)

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
Re: Fergie Signs Tevez
« Reply #120 on: July 05, 2007, 11:12:05 AM »
Don't love him but also don't hate him... He is from Argentina that is a hard fact to overlook!

But if Lula could grow to love Carlitos who knows... I might be able to stand him! maybe!

But I still hope this story is false, I already cringe everytime I see Heinze in a ManU shirt.

Tevez might be a different story, he was able to win over Corinthian fans, because of his humble backgrounds, his unrefined attitude and his stuggle to rise out of poverty, people identified with that in Brazil and embraced him!

I don't know, I rather we not get him! But if we do I can live with it!

Ps. if we do get him, I can only infer that means Fergie plans on keeping Heinze around... Damn

Heinze is a good player, just not as good as he was before the injuries. He was always a blade man and now that he lacking that little extra he is getting shown up.

That aside Tevez would be a good buy. I just hope that Ronaldo lets him take some free-kicks once in a while. I would be concerned about the size of the front line (look at some of Drogba’s goals to see the benefit of an imposing centre-forward) but they were thinking of buying Defoe so I much rather see Tevez. I also hope that Saha could be fit for a whole season because he will complement Tevez and/or Rooney very well.

If this happens and Tevez plays as he could peopel will be talking about him like they do cantona in a couple years. Old Trafford is a real big stage for quality players to shine on.

I am openly biased against Argentina, so doh study it.... I am irrational when it comes to Argentina, I doh even like Maradona (till this day he won't admit that he is actually born in brazil...  see what I mean by irrational! lol) Even as a defender Heinze could score a goal every game and if given a choice I would still say get of rid of him! thats how bad I am!

Tevez, its hard to totally hate him, because he comes from such a NON aristocrat/socialist type of background...one reason why he was eventually embraced by Corinthian fans as they identified with it! Granted he is definitely not the only player from Argentina to come from humble beginnings, but something about Tevez nature makes me view hime differently! With that said I still don't love him and hope he does not come to ManU!

If he does I will have to deal with it! Rafael Sobis would be a great fit at ManU!

« Reply #121 on: July 05, 2007, 11:23:05 AM »
Well i check Google News... and i eh see nuttin yet. Wonder if is true. If it is....it go be interesting to see next season.....i real looking foward to it.

The talk is making the rounds in legimate football sources.

The Guardian/Observer is reporting it as a deal in the works as well as the Manchester Evening News. It is not just a rumour.

« Reply #122 on: July 05, 2007, 11:37:13 AM »
manu or elsewhere, tevez going to a big side. based on what i see, he is a superstar in the making.

nice baby mudda too - www.nataliafassimodel.com

allyuh see what football could do.

« Reply #123 on: July 05, 2007, 11:46:37 AM »

allyuh see what football could do.

...what, get yuh ah chicken head Fassi gyal?

Nah...I good widout football hoss, lol

« Reply #124 on: July 05, 2007, 01:50:21 PM »
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=443675&cc=5901
League to prevent Tevez transfer to United?

The Premier League will block Carlos Tevez's expected move to Manchester United unless they are satisfied the transfer fee will go to West Ham.

The league accepted in April that West Ham had terminated all agreements with Tevez's agent Kia Joorabchian - and will keep a watchful eye on any transfer to ensure that the club keep their promise.
A Premier League spokesman said: 'As far as we are concerned any deal to take Carlos Tevez away from West Ham has to be done directly with the club.'
The league's stance means that the Argentina striker's proposed move to Manchester United is far from sealed even if they have agreed a deal in principle with the player's representatives.
One possible avenue would be for West Ham to be paid a transfer fee and then agree a compensation figure with Joorabchian for breaching contracts with his company Media Sports Investments (MSI) when they terminated those agreements following their £5.5million fine in April for breaching Premier League rules.
It is understood, though, that the league would want a substantial chunk of the transfer fee to remain at West Ham rather than it all be handed over to MSI in compensation, otherwise they could be accused of merely covering up the third-party agreements that has caused so much controversy.
The details of a deal for the 23-year-old are still unclear because any attempt to sign him on some kind of loan arrangement would be fraught with problems.
Tevez is still under contract for three more years with West Ham.
Given the history surrounding the player, United are certain to go through all the paperwork in minute detail to ensure everything meets Premier League rules.
Tevez, who is currently in Venezuela with Argentina for the Copa America campaign, has been linked to several clubs in England.
He told Argentina newspaper Clarin: 'As far as I am aware, I have not received any official offers.
'Once an offer arrives then we will see. But the fact that Real Madrid, Internazionale and Manchester United are interested in me makes me proud.'

« Reply #125 on: July 05, 2007, 02:13:21 PM »
Same news as above but from Skysports : League may block Tevez transfer

Plus West Ham may have more problems looming: Hammers hit by new twist in Tevez saga

I feel that West Ham didn't reveal everything about the Tevez transfer and any transfer will expose the truth.  I hope this is the end corporate-owned player contracts.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #126 on: July 05, 2007, 02:46:43 PM »
This is a fishy post i not seeing this nowhere not even on the premier league site!!!. I Hope its not true though GO CHELSEA!!!!.

Tevez gives Alex firepower of '99- Yorke
« Reply #127 on: July 05, 2007, 05:28:32 PM »
Tev gives Alex firepower of '99

CARLOS TEVEZ will make Manchester United unstoppable.

That is the view of Treble winner Dwight Yorke, who believes his old club have assembled one of football’s most exciting squads ever.

Yorke was the 29-goal top scorer in the historic Red Devils side that won the title, FA Cup and Champions League in the 1998-99 season.

The Old Trafford outfit have not reproduced the same excitement, glory and goals since that amazing campaign.

But with the signing of West Ham’s Argentinian star Tevez on top of the arsenal of frightening firepower United already have, Yorke believes they are ready to do so again.

Tevez, 23, sparkled in a struggling Hammers side last season and kept them in the top flight with seven goals in the last 10 games — including the only goal against United on the final day.

But Yorke believes English football has not seen anything yet from Tevez, who will sign on at Old Trafford in a five-year, £38million deal.

The Sunderland striker, 35, said: “You look what he did last season. He almost single-handedly kept West Ham up with some incredible performances.

“Now imagine what he can do playing with better players at United.”

Yorke reckons Tevez will blow away the myth that South American players cannot cope with the Premier League.

After all it was United who got their fingers burnt with the £28.1m acquisition of Argie Juan Veron.

Yorke said: “There is a lot of scepticism over South American players in England.

“I was at United when they signed Veron and there is no doubt he was an exceptional player but it just did not work out for him.

“The difference with Tevez is we have already seen what he can do in this league and in a very difficult situation.

“He produced the performances when they were really needed. He will love it at Old Trafford. He is a typical United player, full of flair and goals.”
Click here to find out more!

Tevez will join Alex Ferguson’s other summer signings Owen Hargreaves, Anderson and Nani at the Theatre of Dreams.

Yorke said: “Sir Alex has put together an incredible set of players this time.

“I know since the 1999 team began to break up he has been looking to assemble a squad with the same attacking quality and firepower we had.

“It looks like he has got it now and it could be an even more exciting group when you look at the squad.

“When you consider their ages too he looks like he is building something to dominate for some time to come.”

United were packed full of goals last season with Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo grabbing 23 each.

That was the highest of any United pair since Yorke and Andy Cole hit 53 between them in that Treble year.

Fergie has added vibrant young attacking midfielders in Anderson, 19, and 20-year-old Nani, plus the defensive qualities of Hargreaves, 26, in midfield.

And the fiery Scot has sent further shudders through football by capturing Tevez.

Black Cats star Yorke said: “It really looks unstoppable. Last season United played some of their best football in about five years. Ronaldo and Rooney put pace back in the team.

“And you still had the wise old heads of Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes there too. It proved too much for anyone in the Premiership — and now they have made these signings.

“From what I know about Nani and Anderson it looks like they have another two exciting players.”

United fell short of their Treble dreams last season.

Tired legs failed to lift them over the semi-final hurdle in the Champions League against eventual winners AC Milan.

They also looked dead on their feet as injuries and fatigue took their toll in a dour 1-0 FA Cup final defeat to Chelsea.

That is why Fergie has bolstered the attacking side of his squad.

In ’99 he could call on two from Yorke, Cole, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Teddy Sheringham to grab the goals.

Yorke added: “I think Sir Alex has always been trying to get back to that stage again.

“A situation where he can swap the side around, give players a rest but not lose any of its effectiveness.

“It’s so hard to win a Treble. It was unique and magical when we did it.

“But we did not have many injuries then which helped us.

“Last season United had the quality to win a Treble but when the injuries kicked in there was not enough strength in depth to make up for it.

“As well as they did, they just ran out of players and energy at the end.

“The league is always important to United but I know how special the Champions League is to everyone there — Sir Alex would love to win another one.”

United have certainly stolen a march on their domestic competitors.

HAMMER TIME ... Tevez saved West Ham from the drop
HAMMER TIME ... Tevez saved
West Ham from the drop
As it stands, Chelsea will still look to Didier Drogba to carry them alongside the misfiring Andriy Shevchenko.

Arsenal, meanwhile, are reeling from the departure of superstar Thierry Henry to Barcelona.

Liverpool have at least pulled out an ace in the signing of Fernando Torres from Atletico Madrid.

But they will all need to go some to match the power of United.

After three barren years, they hit back in style with the title last year.

And without a ball being kicked yet they have signalled their intent for the upcoming campaign.

Yorke said: “When they failed to win the league for three years there were plenty of doubters as to whether things were crumbling at United.

“It looked like first Arsenal and then Chelsea were going to dominate.

“But I didn’t doubt them. Sir Alex and the lads really hit back in style.

“Now with these signings they look ready to reinforce their position and get back to the top in Europe again.”

Yorke will face them when he returns to Old Trafford with Roy Keane’s newly-promoted Sunderland.

He added: “It’s an exciting prospect and the sort of challenge you look forward to."

n.custis@the-sun.co.uk

How Dwight rates big four

ARSENAL
THE Gunners will struggle to fill the void left by Thierry Henry.

He is still one of the best strikers in the world but it is Barcelona who will benefit now.

One player who could really shine is Robin van Persie. He is one of the best players in the league.

His partnership with Emmanuel Adebayor up front could surprise a lot of people next season.

CHELSEA
BLUES striker Didier Drogba had an incredible impact last season.

He had a difficult time settling in at Stamford Bridge, but when he did we saw he was world-class.

But there was a massive reliance on him last season as he waded in with 33 goals in all competitions.

Andriy Shevchenko is really going to have to step up to the plate to support him.

LIVERPOOL
FERNANDO TORRES has impressed me every time I have seen him play. He is a great signing for Liverpool.

Dirk Kuyt had a promising first season at Anfield — even if he did not grab as many goals as he would have liked.

But players with his ability always tend to shine in their second season in this league — just as Drogba did at Chelsea.

MAN UNITED
EVERYONE is wondering where boss Alex Ferguson will fit in all his new arrivals.

But I can see Manchester United playing an impressive three-man front line of Carlos Tevez, Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo.

They can all play through the middle, drop in behind one another or go out wide.
Opponents will not know how to mark them — once they get over the shock of facing such a quality line-up!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2007310111,00.html

« Last Edit: July 05, 2007, 05:50:30 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

Re: Tevez gives Alex firepower of '99- Yorke
« Reply #128 on: July 05, 2007, 06:25:39 PM »
It hurts to laugh at it but

This is hilarious:
Shrek & Venom lol

« Reply #129 on: July 05, 2007, 07:16:03 PM »
That is one of the best pics of Tevez I see yet.

He need to get rid of that long hair with a bando hairdo.

Drogba too.

By the way, I thought there was s thread created for all things United.

That barely last a day in truth.

« Reply #130 on: July 05, 2007, 07:45:44 PM »
That is one of the best pics of Tevez I see yet.

He need to get rid of that long hair with a bando hairdo.

Drogba too.

By the way, I thought there was s thread created for all things United.

That barely last a day in truth.

For real Small Mag.  Keep you Man U graffiti and paraphernalia in one place please.   ;D

« Reply #131 on: July 05, 2007, 08:47:13 PM »
Allyuh see wha ah was sayin????

« Reply #132 on: July 05, 2007, 09:03:08 PM »
Wait till they meet CHELSEA- NO Fire in the Power

« Reply #133 on: July 06, 2007, 12:47:22 AM »
I will keep on barking....

Tevez is the most magical player to play in England since Eric Cantona.

Europe better watch out if all the red tape with this go though.

Man Utd with Carlos Tevez is just plain unfair to the rest of the league....

Offline Remie

« Reply #134 on: July 06, 2007, 03:42:00 AM »
If Saha is injured Man Utd will be short of physical presence up front. Like how Barca were short when Eto'o got injured even though they had plenty skillful players. You can have plenty good players but you need a good balance. Man Utd better hope Saha stays fit if they dont sign another striker who can hold the ball up.

Im not so sure Man Utd will be unstoppable. I am very interested to see how this team will work if Saha is injured.

If Man Utd signed another stiker like a Berbatov or Santa Cruz only then i would say they would be unstoppable.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2007, 06:56:57 AM by Remie »

« Reply #135 on: July 06, 2007, 06:45:47 AM »
Allyuh see wha ah was sayin????

haha yeh   

dsi i will ask tallman to move this thread into the stretford end

« Reply #136 on: July 06, 2007, 07:11:11 AM »
yeah boy..fergie have me confused with that signing. He want to get rid of Saha but nobody on his side capable of beign the goal poacher through the middle. All of them is skilful men who could score and create but no true goal poacher or fox in the box. I could see a rotating strike force of Rooney, Ronaldo and Tevez, with Scholes, Carrick and Hargreaves in the midfield but...no true striker.

I guess he just planning to have defences confused with nobody to mark.

« Reply #137 on: July 06, 2007, 07:41:47 AM »
I don’t know that there is any intention to sell Saha. Tevez is an addition to fill a recognized gap.

I would actually like to see Ronaldo playing a more conventional forward role. When I first saw him I thought that he had all the goods to make a good striker, touch, pace, skill, height, strength, two-footed shooting, heading ability.

He score 20+ goals last season from the wing he might be able to do the same from a more advanced, central position.

If Anderson and Nani really develop on the wings it might be worth trying to convert him.

« Reply #138 on: July 06, 2007, 07:48:38 AM »
I don’t know that there is any intention to sell Saha. Tevez is an addition to fill a recognized gap.

I would actually like to see Ronaldo playing a more conventional forward role. When I first saw him I thought that he had all the goods to make a good striker, touch, pace, skill, height, strength, two-footed shooting, heading ability.

He score 20+ goals last season from the wing he might be able to do the same from a more advanced, central position.

If Anderson and Nani really develop on the wings it might be worth trying to convert him.

yeah Saha will stay as he should.. he is just so bloody frustrating... 

his injuries..his attitude..   smile you are playing for the biggest club in the world!

Anyway sell Smithy.. so we have in order

1)Rooney
2)Tevez
3)Saha
4)Ole
5)Rossi(if he stays(loan) he will be number 4)

then Ronaldo..Giggs..Anderson can all play striker

We are fine

Offline Remie

« Reply #139 on: July 06, 2007, 07:58:56 AM »

Yep, i havent heard anything about Man Utd wanting to sell Saha either. My concern for Man Utd would be if Saha were to get injured as he is injury prone.

I feel Man Utd would be better off just buying a back up striker like Santa Cruz rather than converting Ronaldo to a conventional striker, because one of Ronaldo's main strengths is running at defenders with the ball at his feet. If Ronaldo goes as a conventional striker he will have to play with his back to goal for a large part which will take away from his main strength of attacking defenders with the ball at his feet.

Although i do agree Ronaldo also has all the attributes to play as a conventional striker but the question is it worth the sacrifice of taking away his creativity from attacking defenders with the ball at his feet? In my opinion no when a big club like Man Utd can just steal a player like Berbatov from my club Spurs to play that conventional striker role.

You could argue that Ronaldo could change positions like Henry did from wide to central. But in my opinion 20 goals and numerous assists would tell me to keep Ronaldo in the position where he currently is playing.

« Reply #140 on: July 06, 2007, 08:00:22 AM »
If Saha is injured Man Utd will be short of physical presence up front. Like how Barca were short when Eto'o got injured even though they had plenty skillful players. You can have plenty good players but you need a good balance. Man Utd better hope Saha stays fit if they dont sign another striker who can hold the ball up.

Im not so sure Man Utd will be unstoppable. I am very interested to see how this team will work if Saha is injured.

If Man Utd signed another stiker like a Berbatov or Santa Cruz only then i would say they would be unstoppable.

If???  :rotfl: :devil: How many games did Saha play last season? The beauty of the victory last season is that the goals came from EVERYWHERE. Once the team plays the same fluid style, the goals will come... If Tevez settles, then the rest of the league aint ready for what he bringin... that is a player I coveted for years now (hell, since I saw him in Trini for the World Cup).

RIP to the ManU thread  :devil:

« Reply #141 on: July 06, 2007, 08:02:16 AM »

Yep, i havent heard anything about Man Utd wanting to sell Saha either. My concern for Man Utd would be if Saha were to get injured as he is injury prone.

I feel Man Utd would be better off just buying a back up striker like Santa Cruz rather than converting Ronaldo to a conventional striker, because one of Ronaldo's main strengths is running at defenders with the ball at his feet. If Ronaldo goes as a conventional striker he will have to play with his back to goal for a large part which will take away from his main strength of attacking defenders with the ball at his feet.

Although i do agree Ronaldo also has all the attributes to play as a conventional striker but the question is it worth the sacrifice of taking away his creativity from attacking defenders with the ball at his feet? In my opinion no when a big club like Man Utd can just steal a player like Berbatov from my club Spurs to play that conventional striker role.

You could argue that Ronaldo could change positions like Henry did from wide to central. But in my opinion 20 goals and numerous assists would tell me to keep Ronaldo in the position where he currently is playing.

Good points Remie.  :beermug:
Hard luck for Spurs eh... but maybe not. Hopefully Spurs can take a spot away from Le Arse.

Offline Remie

« Reply #142 on: July 06, 2007, 08:16:58 AM »

If???  :rotfl: :devil: How many games did Saha play last season? The beauty of the victory last season is that the goals came from EVERYWHERE. Once the team plays the same fluid style, the goals will come... If Tevez settles, then the rest of the league aint ready for what he bringin... that is a player I coveted for years now (hell, since I saw him in Trini for the World Cup).

RIP to the ManU thread  :devil:

Man Utd were just about good enough last season when Saha was injured but by no means were they unstoppable. A depleted Chelsea side took Man Utd till the penultimate game. Im gonna tell you now that a proud man like Mourinho wants that tittle back bad. If youre happy as Man Utd supporter to go into the new season with one conventional striker with physical presence then thats your choice. But if i was a Man Utd supporter i would be asking serious questions if another striker like Berbatov or Santa Cruz isnt bought bearing in mind the massive amounts bought on the other guys who i would argue are not as important as someone like Berbatov.

« Reply #143 on: July 06, 2007, 08:34:32 AM »
tell dem remie....

i just sitting here enjoying de flawed reasonings...

people doh seem to realize that as good as tevez is, he's just an argentinian rooney and both of them will not be able to play in the same XI... They dont complement each other..  Its the exact reason why martin jol never plays robbie keane and jermain defoe together as good as they are..

go ahead.. buy him!  i want to see them decide which of these two volatile players they going to bench..

notice what chelsea doing? building a squad rather than making the mistake on going for superstar players.. mourinho know what he doing, he try it their way last year with ballack/sheva and it didnt work...

de galacticos of man utd will fall!

« Reply #144 on: July 06, 2007, 08:55:07 AM »

photoshop

Offline Remie

« Reply #145 on: July 06, 2007, 08:58:50 AM »
I think Tevez can be a good signing because i dont expet Nani or Anderson to play a great deal this season, and potentially you could play 2 holding mids with Tevez and Ronaldo starting on both flanks drifting in with Rooney behind Saha.

The query i have is if Man Utd are flashing money about wouldnt it be sensible to cover Saha as well with a natural replacement?

« Reply #146 on: July 06, 2007, 09:00:25 AM »
tell dem remie....

i just sitting here enjoying de flawed reasonings...

people doh seem to realize that as good as tevez is, he's just an argentinian rooney and both of them will not be able to play in the same XI... They dont complement each other..  Its the exact reason why martin jol never plays robbie keane and jermain defoe together as good as they are..

go ahead.. buy him!  i want to see them decide which of these two volatile players they going to bench..

notice what chelsea doing? building a squad rather than making the mistake on going for superstar players.. mourinho know what he doing, he try it their way last year with ballack/sheva and it didnt work...

de galacticos of man utd will fall!

Which galacticos are you talking about? Tevez (maybe)? Who are the rest? Nani? Anderson? Is Hargreaves a galactico now?   :devil: :rotfl:

« Reply #147 on: July 06, 2007, 09:03:14 AM »
Man Utd were just about good enough last season when Saha was injured but by no means were they unstoppable. A depleted Chelsea side took Man Utd till the penultimate game. Im gonna tell you now that a proud man like Mourinho wants that tittle back bad. If youre happy as Man Utd supporter to go into the new season with one conventional striker with physical presence then thats your choice. But if i was a Man Utd supporter i would be asking serious questions if another striker like Berbatov or Santa Cruz isnt bought bearing in mind the massive amounts bought on the other guys who i would argue are not as important as someone like Berbatov.

What kind of revisionism is this? “Depleted Chelsea team” Who deplete them, not their own management?

And I also seem to remember United playing with several injuries, Saha, Vidic, Ferdinand, Evra out for significant spells.

Last time I checked Berbatov was not for sale so there is no sense in harping over buying him. It is not an either or situation and if Tevez is bought there will be no other big-money striker coming in again.

Don’t try to tie up nobody head about how you would be worrying if you was a United fan. That is wishful thinking.

Study how yuh going to play Lampard Number One (Ballack) and Lampard Number Two (Lampard) in the same midfield again and play one setta long ball for Shevchenko.

United have potential for success and potential for problems and so does Chelsea so please don’t try to make it seem like things so sweet down at Chelsea.

« Reply #148 on: July 06, 2007, 09:03:42 AM »
I think Tevez can be a good signing because i dont expet Nani or Anderson to play a great deal this season, and potentially you could play 2 holding mids with Tevez and Ronaldo starting on both flanks drifting in with Rooney behind Saha.

The query i have is if Man Utd are flashing money about wouldnt it be sensible to cover Saha as well with a natural replacement?
Good points again Remie. I actually agree with the concern about Saha, but my point is that it has been proven (maybe you are not convinced) that the squad can survive without Saha. It is important though to have options up front, and a striker of Saha's qualities is needed.

« Reply #149 on: July 06, 2007, 09:13:43 AM »
in my dialect of spanish, galactico translated in english means big money player...

the plus 15 million pound players on that side..

Rooney
Ronaldo
Tevez
Hargreaves
Carrick
Ferdinand
Nani
Anderson

Funny how nobody talking about Man United trying to buy a trophy this season.. I guess that talk is the reserve of the Chelsea haters...