April 24, 2024, 11:20:51 AM

Author Topic: Strickly local!!  (Read 1131 times)

Strickly local!!
« on: August 31, 2006, 01:17:04 PM »
ah listening to red 97 today..and they say dey playing ONLY LOCAL MUSIC today since it's INDEPANDENCE and all, and big up to them for dat...but in listening they also playing SOCA/Calypso by other artise from the caribbean...so my question is what is local music? is it the type of music or who sing it? so is ah reggae artist from trini music local? or any one who sing ah soca song...doh matter where they from is considered local?

For instance, they would play a soca song from Bds..and a reggae song by a local artiste...but not a reggae song from JA...hmmmm

Now I have no problem with it eh..is just ah observation...just wants to know what/who is local? dais all.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 04:11:52 PM by DeSoWa »

Re: Strickly local!!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2006, 04:18:10 PM »
i feel local music could be a genre that is indigenous to T&T no matter who is the artiste per se.  however a local  artiste i.e. national of trinidad and tobago singing reggae, rap, rock etc could aslo be considered 'local'

Re: Strickly local!!
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2006, 05:50:41 PM »
sounds logical...just wanted to hear what others thought. Thanks.