April 24, 2024, 11:18:32 AM

Author Topic: Why the U16s should be held out of SSFL  (Read 1611 times)

Offline Lightning

Why the U16s should be held out of SSFL
« on: September 06, 2006, 07:36:15 AM »
From the U.S. Soccer Communications Center:

U.S. UNDER-17 MNT TO FACE BRAZIL, MEXICO AND PORTUGAL

IN NIKE NATIONAL TEAM FRIENDLIES ON NIKE CAMPUS FROM SEPT. 7-10

Draw to Determine Match Schedule to Be Held at Nike Campus on Eve of Friendlies;

U.S. U-17s Arrive in Beaverton Directly From FA Tournament in England

CHICAGO (Sept. 5, 2006) – The U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team will compete in the Nike National Team Friendlies along with Brazil, Mexico and Portugal from Sept. 7-10 on the Nike Campus in Beaverton, Ore.

The friendlies are structured in a six-game round-robin format with two games a day on Sept. 7, 8 and 10, but the actual match-ups on those dates will not be decided until the night before the event. On Wednesday, Sept. 6, a draw to determine the match schedule will be held during a reception for all four teams at the Tiger Woods Center.

All six games will be played on the Ronaldo Fields at the Nike Campus. The back-to-back matches on Sept. 7 and 10 will be played in the morning (9 and 11 a.m. PT), while the two matches on Sept. 8 will take place in the afternoon (3 and 5 p.m. PT).

“We are looking forward to playing three of the best international youth teams in the world during the Nike National Team Friendlies,” said U.S. Under-17 head coach John Hackworth. “We’re coming off international tournaments in Japan and England, but this three-game series will no doubt be the most challenging this group of players has encountered. By putting on this event, Nike has provided us with a great stage on our home soil to measure ourselves and continue our preparations for next year as we attempt to qualify for the 2007 FIFA U-17 World Cup.”

The U.S. Under-17s will be traveling straight to Beaverton from England where they spent the past week competing in the FA Under-17 Friendly International Tournament against England, Turkey and Portugal. The U.S. finished third in the four-team tournament, coming away with draws against Turkey as well as Portugal, who also traveled to Beaverton after their last match.

Before losing to England in the FA tournament, the U.S. was on a five-game unbeaten streak against international teams. Overall this year, the Under-17s are 5-3-8 in international matches, with victories over Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Jamaica and the Czech Republic.

Hackworth’s roster for the Nike National Team Friendlies will be exactly the same as the 18-player roster he took to England, which includes six new members that joined U.S. Soccer's Under-17 Residency Program this August: Howard Turk, Brendan King, Ryan Garcia, Gregory Garza, Ryan Finley and Zac MacMath.

Three players will be returning to their northwest roots as midfielders Daniel Wenzel and Brandon Zimmerman, and forward Ellis McLoughlin all hail from Washington. Wenzel has been one of the most consistent players for the U-17s during his year in Residency, while Zimmerman has impressed so far as he follows in the footsteps of his older brother, Preston, who was one of the leaders for Hackworth’s squad at the 2005 FIFA Under-17 World Championship. McLoughlin is considered one of the most dangerous strikers for the U.S., as the Seattle native leads the team with seven international goals and two assists.

Leading the way for the U.S. in the back is goalkeeper Josh Lambo who has earned the starting position in the net during the past year in Residency. Lambo can count on his consistent defenders Brandon Lee, Matthew Uy, Mykell Bates and Sheanon Williams, who has also played forward during his time with the Under-17s and is still a scoring threat from the back.

Along with Wenzel and Zimmerman, Hackworth can call on midfielders Jared Jeffrey, Daniel Barerra and Axel Levry, who scored the USA’s lone goal in their 1-1 draw with Portugal last week. Up front, Bryan Dominguez has been a regular starter with McLoughlin.

All the players on the U.S. roster are eligible for the 2007 FIFA U-17 World Cup which will take place from Aug. 18 to Sept. 9, in South Korea. The U.S. is the only country that has qualified and competed in all 11 FIFA World Championships at this age group, and will attempt to keep the streak alive next April when they compete in the CONCACAF Under-17 Qualifying Tournament at a location still to be determined.

Brazil and Mexico have won the past two FIFA U-17 World Championships (now called the FIFA U-17 World Cup), with Brazil winning the championship in 2003 and Mexico taking the crown last year. Portugal last competed in the 2003 FIFA U-17 World Championship, finishing in eighth place. 

- ussoccer.com -

« Last Edit: September 06, 2006, 07:43:24 AM by Lightning »
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

Re: Why the U16s should be held out of SSFL
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2006, 07:57:45 AM »
what the hell does this have to do with our players taking part in a tounament that last approx. a month.

get real ....... not because the states doing it means it good or us

Offline Lightning

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2006, 08:07:49 AM »
Context is a hell of a thing. You will find that the youth national teams in countries with a tradition of qualifying for world tournaments take their best 20-30 players and put them in some form of residency or club academy program. They don't play for their high schools. They play in high level international tournaments regularly and, as such, are better prepared for their qualifying.  The day we start worrying more about our placement in the Dallas Cup or Milk Cup than who win the north zone is the day we know we are serious about competing at the world stage.

If you don't like those two tournament choices then why not the Barcelona youth tournament or the Man U youth tournament. 

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2006, 08:22:05 AM »
Context is a hell of a thing. You will find that the youth national teams in countries with a tradition of qualifying for world tournaments take their best 20-30 players and put them in some form of residency or club academy program. They don't play for their high schools. They play in high level international tournaments regularly and, as such, are better prepared for their qualifying.  The day we start worrying more about our placement in the Dallas Cup or Milk Cup than who win the north zone is the day we know we are serious about competing at the world stage.

If you don't like those two tournament choices then why not the Barcelona youth tournament or the Man U youth tournament. 

what measures currently exist for such an academy to be developed. You all talk like this coud happen over night ..and the present U16 team wold benefit from it before the start of the tournament in April. Not gonna happen.

Firstly you have to look at school .. these fellas and students athletes riht now ...with the student comng first. What facilities are in place for the continuation of there education. Regardless of how good a baller you may be ..... you stil need a mininmum GPA to gain a scholarship.

The US, Barcelona and all the other big names you calling didn't just up and decide to have a a live in academy ..alot of thought was placed in that. Furthur more for such a program to exist the support and backing of the Government is a must.......which Government even show/showing the slightest inclination to sch a venture.

Another point ..... how many parents you think would be willing to sacrifice there lil babies for such an academy.

Lastly ...how many players allyh really think willing to scarifice for an academy. Them fellas on girls ...laying for the national team bringing some serious babes for them... they might take the camp serious for a while but for how long. The level of restrictions that woudl be enforced .them fellas not ready for .... if you think i lie ...just reember when allyh was 5/16 years ...and what allyuh use to want to do ..

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2006, 08:25:14 AM »
what the hell does this have to do with our players taking part in a tounament that last approx. a month.

it took a while to get those players to a particular level.......we should not throw it away by letting them play for a competition that have little or no value to the players footballing development!!

look at what the states are doing!! and we should look at them because their youth teams always beat ours!!

This is a small island mentality you having!!

« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2006, 08:40:41 AM »

it took a while to get those players to a particular level.......we should not throw it away by letting them play for a competition that have little or no value to the players footballing development!!

look at what the states are doing!! and we should look at them because their youth teams always beat ours!!

This is a small island mentality you having!!

Granted ....but what measures are in place to match the programs that the states employ. Keeping the guys out of the SSFL not going to turn them into world beaters. Also ...... prbably i missed it in all the threads posted ..but what alternative does Anton have for the same guys during the time they wold be out of Competitive football. No SSFL, no warm ups. No Tours (cause no parent sending dey chile away to play bal at the expense f their education).

So the fellas will live in the gym for the entire period of the SSFL......then what ??

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2006, 08:40:52 AM »
Fellahs clear something up for me

As far back as I can remember. The status quo has always been secondary schools have been the pipeline for our best players

If yuh was good, yuh get a scholarship to play for an american/foreign school to further your development
If yuh was really good, you get scouted by a minor club and get trials to further your development
However, Trinbago players have always had an achilles heel with discipline, especially mental discipline

Point is, the cream always rose to the top through secondary schools...obviously this same pipleine is where gally,yorke, latas shaka etc have emerged

What has happened that we now want to remove these players and coocoon them into some sort of an academy??

Has the level of talent in secondary school dropped? in a lull?
Is corneal just trying something radically different THIS year? To emulate the foreign systems?

SERIOUSLY,, ah trying to keep track of these threads, but missng something in the middle as people talking about our youth players are lacking fundementals

Yet these same schools are the ones that produced fundementally 'sound' (using the term loosely by the way) players a mere 10-15 years ago...which arguably beetween form 1-5 is just 3 'generations'

ah lorse  ???

Offline Lightning

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2006, 08:41:50 AM »

what measures currently exist for such an academy to be developed. You all talk like this coud happen over night ..and the present U16 team wold benefit from it before the start of the tournament in April. Not gonna happen.

Firstly you have to look at school .. these fellas and students athletes riht now ...with the student comng first. What facilities are in place for the continuation of there education. Regardless of how good a baller you may be ..... you stil need a mininmum GPA to gain a scholarship.

The US, Barcelona and all the other big names you calling didn't just up and decide to have a a live in academy ..alot of thought was placed in that. Furthur more for such a program to exist the support and backing of the Government is a must.......which Government even show/showing the slightest inclination to sch a venture.

Another point ..... how many parents you think would be willing to sacrifice there lil babies for such an academy.

Lastly ...how many players allyh really think willing to scarifice for an academy. Them fellas on girls ...laying for the national team bringing some serious babes for them... they might take the camp serious for a while but for how long. The level of restrictions that woudl be enforced .them fellas not ready for .... if you think i lie ...just reember when allyh was 5/16 years ...and what allyuh use to want to do ..

In a perfect world we'd each have a million $$ and the govt would have a top notch football academy to produce national team and scholarship players.

You have to crawl before you could walk. The academy isn't going to happen in the short term. But we could certainly start by having a 1 year program ( with no distraction from the colleges league) geared to have the U 16 team peak at qualifying time. the boys would go to their respective schools and get their education (mummy and daddy will like that ;D)
Yes youth men go play they self, that is part of the balance needed in life.  The key is that they will be focused on a goal and put in a better position to achieve that goal by sticking to a program of training and high level competition as prescribed by the national technical staff.

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2006, 08:46:27 AM »
I hear what you saying lightning......but it's better you tell me they doing that with the under 14's coming up. This U16 horse leave the gate already ..and they now trying to pull it back....... uphill battle.