March 28, 2024, 04:59:59 PM

Author Topic: biggest upset in wc history  (Read 3626 times)

biggest upset in wc history
« on: September 06, 2006, 10:57:59 AM »
which game is considered the biggest upset in a world cup.

Offline Lightning

Re: biggest upset in wc history
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2006, 11:01:13 AM »
cameroon 1- argentina 0
Senegal 1 - France 0
USA 1 - England 0
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2006, 01:35:09 PM »
north korea beating italy in 66

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2006, 07:07:59 PM »
who decides that match was de greatest upset? u? or u taking that from somewhere?

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2006, 08:23:49 AM »
who decides that match was de greatest upset? u? or u taking that from somewhere?

nah is not a statement,it open fuh debate.

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2006, 02:20:43 PM »
oh was jus wondering nah....wud have to go wit the US vs England and also Cameroon against argentina

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2006, 09:44:17 AM »
T&T 0   SWE 0  ;D

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2006, 11:07:26 AM »
T&T 0   SWE 0  ;D
dat is what i also see from my vantage point man  ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2006, 03:08:21 AM »
What ties are allowed? ;D Then here's another.

Italy 1-Cameroon 1 (1982)

Italy scored in the 60th minute and Cameroon responded in the 61st!

Obviously I'm kidding (re: biggest upset) but, considering that Italy drew each of its group matches (as did Cameroon) and then went onto to win the WC after narrowly qualifying out of group (over Cameroon!), I like the plot.

Sure Italy beat Argentina and Brazil en route to the trophy but what lucky bastards they were to make it to the second round. This was a Cameroon playing in its first WC! Paolo Rossi at this stage of the tournament was a rehabilitated footnote.

« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2006, 10:15:25 AM »
cant remember the final score..think it was 2-1..but south korea versus italy in 1966 world cup...same two opponents in 2002 when south korea won 1-0.

« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2006, 01:47:18 PM »
Fordy, it wasn't South Korea. As posted by capodetutticapi, it was NORTH Korea - now of nuclear fame - that featured. They won 1-0.

From today's perspective, another remarkable aspect of that match is that no bookings were issued. (I almost used the term 'carded', but reds and yellows didn't come into effect until the '70 WC.)

Offline sprangerdavid

« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2006, 05:50:13 PM »
definately cameroun and argentina in 90,even with 9 men cameroun held them off at least i think they had 9 men,correct me if i wrong.