April 25, 2024, 06:00:28 PM

Author Topic: Latapy named SPL player of month  (Read 7439 times)

Latapy named SPL player of month
« on: September 08, 2006, 07:02:48 AM »
Latapy, 38, named player of month
BBC Sport

Russell Latapy has been voted player of the month for August in the Scottish Premier League - at the age of 38.

The Falkirk midfielder was in the Trinidad and Tobago squad for the World Cup finals, although he was limited to one substitute appearance in Germany.

But he has now been rewarded for what award organiser the Bank of Scotland described as "a fantastic month".

The former Porto, Rangers and Hibernian midfielder was voted man of the match in three out of the five games.

"Leading the line from midfield, Russell's craft brought the team back into the game against Dundee United and his equaliser no doubt inspired them on to winning all three points at Tannadice," said a statement.

He also scored in a 2-1 defeat by Kilmarnock, whose manager, Jim Jefferies, was named manager of the month on Thursday.

« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 08:20:36 AM by Tallman »

Re: Latapy named player of month
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2006, 07:10:26 AM »
Congrats to the greatest midfield maestro ever....

Offline Phensic

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2006, 07:16:01 AM »

I second your sentiments samo.

Re: Latapy named SPL player of month
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2006, 08:33:40 AM »
Imagine that ...months after he was supposed to be not able to play ah whole game in a modest T&T team !!! Go Latas keep on defying the experts !!

Offline Remie

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2006, 08:36:11 AM »
Imagine that ...months after he was supposed to be not able to play ah whole game in a modest T&T team !!! Go Latas keep on defying the experts !!

Which experts? Anybody that thought Latapy could not play 90 minutes in the T&T team is no expert.

« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2006, 08:41:35 AM »

boy do people get carried

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2006, 08:45:16 AM »

Why yuh doh haul yuh canadian arse!!

i agree with yuh samo!!

« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2006, 08:46:35 AM »

Which experts? Anybody that thought Latapy could not play 90 minutes in the T&T team is no expert.

Well you and I know dat but .....
Just that some need more convincing than others ... I would start latapy on a T&T team today against any opposition..... but I am sure there are those who would not agree. Thanks for falkrk who extended latapy's contract ...please Russel ..dont go yet ...just give us one more performance in the T&T shirt..

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2006, 08:51:27 AM »
Don't worry Benie,Wim etc the experts on the game,they say he not good enough,no local Coach could have said or done that ppl here would have killed them,we are just blinded by these foreign Coaches they always know what's best for us.

« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2006, 08:52:46 AM »

OH GOSH !!! Let it rest nah.....everytime Latas name gets mentioned, we have to express that old bitterness ? Talk about kicking a dead horse...

A simple congrats would have sufficed

« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2006, 08:54:45 AM »
Don't worry Benie,Wim etc the experts on the game,they say he not good enough,no local Coach could have said or done that ppl here would have killed them,we are just blinded by these foreign Coaches they always know what's best for us.

Coop's..you real grinding that axe. Please show us where Beenie and Wim said Latas was not good enough.

Well done LATAS..

« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2006, 08:56:38 AM »

LOL

Well Done Latapy

« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2006, 09:01:00 AM »
a simple congrats go suffice... :beermug:

Like it have men here just collecting these articles to mail them to Beenie at the end of the year ::)

« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2006, 09:03:37 AM »
a simple congrats go suffice... :beermug:

Like it have men here just collecting these articles to mail them to Beenie at the end of the year ::)

Nah we wont have to mail it ..Wim could read cant he ?

« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2006, 09:09:56 AM »
Ge'on Latas.

Offline Darkromeo

• Tru Tru warrior
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2006, 09:12:09 AM »
u go latas. show dem wat u worth. "they cant keep ah good man down" nuff respect

« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2006, 09:12:47 AM »

OH GOSH !!! Let it rest nah.....everytime Latas name gets mentioned, we have to express that old bitterness ? Talk about kicking a dead horse...

A simple congrats would have sufficed

so where yours??

Well done Latas...Congratulations to one of my favourite football players of all time. Blessings.

« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2006, 09:14:33 AM »
The MAGICIAN LIVES ON!!!!

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2006, 09:16:09 AM »
so to move...!! :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2006, 09:25:35 AM »

Coop's..you real grinding that axe. Please show us where Beenie and Wim said Latas was not good enough.

Well done LATAS..
        My senses tells me if someone is good enough they will play,the Coaches are the ones that make those decisions,i don't know who else is responsible.

« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2006, 09:28:14 AM »

Well done LATAS..
        My senses tells me if someone is good enough they will play,the Coaches are the ones that make those decisions,i don't know who else is responsible.

You acting like only the starting 11 good enough..u r a coach. u know better dan dat
respect Coop's..

« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2006, 09:48:23 AM »

Why yuh doh haul yuh canadian arse!!

i agree with yuh samo!!

:-\

« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 03:14:28 PM by triniman »

« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2006, 09:53:14 AM »

Well you and I know dat but .....
Just that some need more convincing than others ... I would start latapy on a T&T team today against any opposition..... but I am sure there are those who would not agree. Thanks for falkrk who extended latapy's contract ...please Russel ..dont go yet ...just give us one more performance in the T&T shirt..
oh gosh yuh cyar let go

« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2006, 09:55:32 AM »
First of all congrats to Latas. He is definietly like wine that ages wonderfully.  At the same time, it really shows the state of the Scottish league, and its dearth of real talent.  That league used to be so competitive in the 80s, now it is in a moribund state.  It really need ah dose of JK. ;)

« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2006, 10:01:49 AM »

Well done LATAS..

You acting like only the starting 11 good enough..u r a coach. u know better dan dat
respect Coop's..
         Breds all i'm saying is that Lata's should have played more,he has the experience and ability to do that.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 10:32:19 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2006, 10:35:06 AM »
I've never heard Wim say anything directly about latas, it would be interesting to hear what his take is on the amount of playing time in the WC

« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2006, 11:26:52 AM »
Legends never die.

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #27 on: September 08, 2006, 11:39:07 AM »
De man like good wine  :beermug:

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2006, 11:41:02 AM »
Well done latas now press for SPL player of the year!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2006, 11:46:05 AM »
Congrats to the "BOSS", keep the magic flowing :beermug: