April 19, 2024, 04:00:42 PM

Author Topic: World Cup in South Africa ?  (Read 14188 times)

Offline Winnipeg Fury

World Cup in South Africa ?
« on: September 08, 2006, 07:03:57 AM »

If this can't be contained, one would have to question if FIFA would allow SA to host the World Cup. (Check out those HIV rates, what is that, 1 in 7?).
Combine that with their insane crime rate, and you have one truly wonderful country.

Expert: Killer TB strain, found in 28 South African hospitals, must have crossed borders
The Associated Press
Published: September 7, 2006

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa A killer strain of extremely drug-resistant tuberculosis has been found in at least 28 hospitals across South Africa and almost certainly has spilled across borders, a specialist said Thursday.
 The virtually untreatable super bug could jeopardize efforts to deal with the AIDS epidemic, according to experts from the U.N., the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and 14 southern and central African nations convened to discuss how to combat the threat.
 Experts note that TB diagnostics haven't changed in 100 years and TB medication in 50 years, calling for better and faster methods. They blamed the antiquated methods on the fact that TB is largely a disease of the poor — often spread by overcrowding when an infected person sneezes or coughs and the airborne bacteria infect someone else.
 Last year the Global Alliance for TB Drug Development, a nonprofit organization, began tests on a new treatment that would half the time of treatment to two or three months, lowering the risks of developing resistant strains and expanding the number of patients receiving treatment.
 Currently, about 9 million new active cases of TB develop each year and about 2 million people die. Some 200 million more people will fall ill with TB by 2020 and 35 million will die, according to the alliance's projections.
 In South Africa, no one knows how many people are infected with the particularly virulent strain announced last week, Professor Willem Sturm told the conference, highlighting the dilemma facing already overburdened health workers.
 Victims in South Africa were "all over the place ... you can almost be sure there will be infection in Mozambique and even farther (abroad) because people travel, and quite some distance," Sturm told The Associated Press.
 The new extremely drug-resistant TB strain was discovered by rural doctor Tony Moll in eastern KwaZulu-Natal province, where it killed 52 of 53 HIV-positive patients within 16 days during a study carried out from January 2005 to March 2006.
 Sturm, a microbiologist at KwaZulu-Natal University's Nelson Mandela School of Medicine, said reports he had gathered from hospitals around the country this past week showed at least 28 hospitals had at least one patient with the new strain, but indicated others could be dying from it without ever being tested.
 The super bug is particularly dangerous for countries with high HIV rates that fuel a TB epidemic which in turn endangers uninfected people. Moll became suspicious he had a super bug on his hands when patients responded well to antiretroviral treatment, then suddenly died.
 "What's the point in investing hugely in ARV programs if patients die a few weeks later from extreme drug-resistant tuberculosis?" Dr. Paul Nunn, head of the U.N. World Health Organization's TB resistance program, said on the sidelines of the conference.
 South Africa's government estimates more than 5.5 million of the country's 44 million people are HIV-positive — second only to India — and more than 900 people die each day. At any given time, some 330,000 South Africans have TB and 6,000 have a multiple drug-resistant variant. Half the population is believed to have latent TB.
 Drug-resistance grows when people do not complete a grueling six-month regimen of medication that cures the disease. That's difficult in a country where most people are poor, where taking the medication on an empty stomach makes one ill, where one might have to walk half a day to the nearest health center, which might be out of medication, and where there is high illiteracy.
 Multiple drug-resistant TB does not respond to a "first line" of drugs that in South Africa cost about R400 to cure a patient, compared to R24,000 to cure multiple drug-resistant TB. Extremely drug-resistant strains do not respond to a "second line" of drugs.
 South Africa's Health Department said this week it was exploring the feasibility of importing two even more expensive drugs that might help. But Moll noted the new strain was so virulent that patients died even before doctors received the results of their tests.

Re: World Cup in South Africa ?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2006, 07:08:30 AM »
Opening up your can of worms early this morning eh?

You recall when Toronto had SARS..or when 2 calfs got tested with mad cow disease

The same world pariah status that the entire country received due to hysterical media reports,,, is what you are attempting to do here

Granted, they have problems,, but you should do a little more research...people in the cities arent dropping dead from TB,,the baggage handlers in the airport wont give you AIDS by lifting your bag
And the chances of you getting carjacked in your shuttle to and from the games I'm sure will be minimal to non existent

Then again, you live in winnipeg.....a moose crossing the street is front page news out there
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 07:16:22 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2006, 07:21:46 AM »

You recall when Toronto had SARS..or when 2 calfs got tested with mad cow disease

The same world pariah status that the entire country received due to hysterical media reports,,, is what you are attempting to do here

Granted, they have problems,, but you should do a little more research...people in the cities arent dropping dead from TB,,the baggage handlers in the airport wont give you AIDS by lifting your bag
And the chances of you getting carjacked in your shuttle to and from the games I'm sure will be minimal to non existent

Then again, you live in winnipeg.....a moose crossing the street is front page news out there

ouch...

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2006, 07:26:05 AM »
nothing to worry about

canada wont be there

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2006, 07:36:26 AM »

Sorry, "I didn't open the can of worms," the World Health Organization did.

No moron, "the baggage handlers in the airport won't give you AIDS."  But as TB is an airborne virus, they can give you TB.

Time for an education ?

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2006, 07:42:38 AM »
WHO warns of TB with extreme drug resistance

[Date: 2006-09-08]

The World Health Organisation (WHO) has issued a stark warning - to act immediately to stop the spread of a tuberculosis strain with extreme drug resistance (XDR-TB), which has killed 52 out of 53 patients diagnosed with the disease in South Africa.

While the strain has been found around the world, it has been particularly prevalent in Asia and the former Soviet Union until now. An outbreak in South Africa's KwaZulu-Natal region rapidly killed 52 of 53 patients diagnosed with the disease. All of those tested were also infected with HIV.

The outbreak has caused considerable alarm, prompting an emergency meeting of African health experts from 11 African countries and the WHO to discuss the problem. The WHO representatives call for rapid interventions to limit the spread of this disease, akin to those in response to avian flu and the SARS outbreak, to stop the spread of the strain as soon as possible.

'This must be taken with the same degree of seriousness. There is no time to wait,' said Ernest Jamarillo from the WHO at the Johannesburg conference.

The fear in Africa, especially southern Africa, is that XDR-TB has probably already spread. The disease may be common in mining areas, where it could be spread very easily through close personal contact. When XDR-TB is combined with HIV, the results are devastating, especially to populations only just beginning to feel the benefits of combination retroviral treatments.

Only 44 of the 52 deaths in KwaZulu-Natal were tested for HIV infection, but all carried this second disease. XDR-TB is so-called because it has developed resistances to both first line treatments, and at least two of the six second-line treatments, severely reducing the number of possible interventions available.

The South African Medical Research Council, the United States Centres for Disease Control, and the WHO issued a seven-point action plan to tackle the disease now:

- conduct rapid surveys of XDR-TB;
- increase laboratory capacity;
- improve the capacity of health managers to respond to XDR-TB outbreaks;
- implement infection control precautions;
- increase research support for anti-drug development;
- increase research support for rapid diagnostic test development;
- promote universal access to antiretroviral drugs under joint TB-HIV activities.

The bacterium would have only had the opportunity to mutate and develop further resistances through improper application of existing measures to treat the disease. This could be either through poor monitoring, or through lack or resources.

Most alarming is that the 53 cases so far identified are just the confirmed cases. 'We have no surveillance systems at the moment, so we don't really know how many people are infected,' said Prof Willem Sturm, who identified the strain in KwaZulu-Natal.

The EU was instrumental in pushing for effective measures to prevent the spread of both SARS and avian flu, and these strategies could be adapted to halt the spread of XDR-TB.

In addition, the EU' Sixth and seventh Framework Programmes (FP6) continues research into TB, and is active in running trials through the European Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) scheme, which aims to increase the number of effective interventions that could be effective against TB. The development of a new antibiotic, Platensimycin, by Merck, Sharp and Dohme in the US may also offer an effective treatment, should it successfully make the transition to human clinical trials.

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2006, 07:45:04 AM »
Education from where?
The manitoba one room schoolhouse that you 'done got yer book learnin from'

You dont think with the entire world comming to a major event, baggage handlers will be screened for TB...any and everybody associated with the world cup will be specifically picked...Security will be tighter

Then again, maybe I was right.....You dont think

Did you not get your roadkill stew this morning? is that why youre so cranky?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 07:49:38 AM by Dutty »

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2006, 08:03:58 AM »

Baggage handlers will be screened.  Well thank God !   :rotfl:
And what about the rest of the population ?  Maybe we can bring back segregation and lock them away ?

Your right Dutty, I will take your medical advice over the WHO.  Forget the fact that WHO is alarmed and called an emergency meeting.  If you say they are safe, that is good enough for me.

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2006, 08:17:49 AM »
Easy on the panic button

Do you recall the WHO also called an emergency meeting about SARS?

Do you also recall them issuing a worldwide travel advisory....which affected the whole country of canada...even though only two cities had sars

I dont see a big travel advisory to south africa....of course you running around in hysterics will stop the world cup and the spread of disease,,,curling up in a fetal postion while sucking your thumb, will help too
see how much we kind trinis care about your health?

If you like I could fedex you some possum stew to get your insulin levels up

« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2006, 08:24:01 AM »
Easy on the panic button

Do you recall the WHO also called an emergency meeting about SARS?

Do you also recall them issuing a worldwide travel advisory....which affected the whole country of canada...even though only two cities had sars

I dont see a big travel advisory to south africa....of course you running around in hysterics will stop the world cup and the spread of disease,,,curling up in a fetal postion while sucking your thumb, will help too
see how much we kind trinis care about your health?

If you like I could fedex you some possum stew to get your insulin levels up

Damn Dutty yuh in rare form today (well not so rare, but form nevertheless)...the article reps a legit concern.....so ease up the man

HIV should not be too much cause for concern, because people don't just catch HIV.........and everyone knows how to protect themselves from it.....so it comes down to personal behavior and practice...

And from what I remember, TB is  preventable by vaccine....and I think if the authorities act now, they can get the TB situation under control by 2010....

peace ?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 08:28:37 AM by kicker »

Offline Swima

« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2006, 08:24:33 AM »

Baggage handlers will be screened.  Well thank God !   :rotfl:
And what about the rest of the population ?  Maybe we can bring back segregation and lock them away ?

Your right Dutty, I will take your medical advice over the WHO.  Forget the fact that WHO is alarmed and called an emergency meeting.  If you say they are safe, that is good enough for me.

I doubt that Dutty is implying that South Africa is ready to host the World Cup now. What he is saying is that they should get their act together by 2010 in order to successfully host the World Cup. There is a bit of bad press going around about having South Africa host a World Cup in it's current condition. It's really tainting the image of the country which, believe it or not, has managed to bring down it's crime rate over the past few years. The good thing is that the World Cup is in a little under 4 years and there is some time still to get their house fully in order.
Instead of only focusing on the things needed for improvement, how about we also highlight the things which have already been improved upon. Many of their Stadia are ready or already under contruction, and they have had the experience of hosting lesser sporting events quite successfully.
As another poster said... Canada won't be there anyway, so you have nothing to worry about.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2006, 08:30:39 AM »
wait wait stop de press!

what year is it? 2006

when is the world cup? 2010

:thinking:

it still early....south africa will handle dere stories....
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 08:34:25 AM by lickslikefire »

« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2006, 08:45:57 AM »
There is no need for this to descend into a petty spat....

WF. Thank you for the report. Many people have a number of fears about SAfrica, and this article addresses a legitimate health concern. However, it has been tagged by WHO and health authorities have some time to combat the problem. Don't get me wrong...noone should take the news lightly but your title is a bit sensationalist.

Also, there has been a lot of negative press for South Africa ever since it was awarded the WC in 2010. Some of the criticism is fair, but some of of it is just due to the fact that it is a sub-Saharan African country and all the negative stereotypes have emerged in the press.  I am sure that it was not your intention, but hopefully you can understand that your post just adds to the grwoing list of South Africa bashing (and Africa by extension) and many will be wary of your motives. Are you concerned about the viability of South Africa as a WC host or are you taking a cynical pot shot at a troubled nation?

Anyway..can we agree not to let this thread descend into a downward spiral of insults and accusations and try to maintain a certain level of maturity and dignified debate on the forum.

best to all :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2006, 08:54:27 AM »
 I am sure that it was not your intention, but hopefully you can understand that your post just adds to the grwoing list of South Africa bashing (

Anyway..can we agree not to let this thread descend into a downward spiral of insults and accusations and try to maintain a certain level of maturity and dignified debate on the forum.

I disagree...did you read the inital lead -in?

"If this can't be contained, one would have to question if FIFA would allow SA to host the World Cup. (Check out those HIV rates, what is that, 1 in 7?).
Combine that with their insane crime rate, and you have one truly wonderful country"

The poisonous sarcasm is bursting at the seams....besides you forget who you dealin wit or wha?

Anyway, say wha....I hear ir have 3 cases of west nile virus in B.C. and 1 case of kookamongaphobia in Madagascar

I better go and wrap mih bedroom in plastic and have mih can of sheltox and curl up in de corner oui....yuh cyah take chances of ketchin anyting dese days

Offline Swima

« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2006, 08:58:03 AM »

Anyway, say wha....I hear ir have 3 cases of west nile virus in B.C. and 1 case of kookamongaphobia in Madagascar

I better go and wrap mih bedroom in plastic and have mih can of sheltox and curl up in de corner oui....yuh cyah take chances of ketchin anyting dese days

:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2006, 08:59:32 AM »

Oh boy...ah think this thread done wid da one !! :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2006, 10:07:47 AM »
 I am sure that it was not your intention, but hopefully you can understand that your post just adds to the grwoing list of South Africa bashing (

I disagree...did you read the inital lead -in?

"If this can't be contained, one would have to question if FIFA would allow SA to host the World Cup. (Check out those HIV rates, what is that, 1 in 7?).
Combine that with their insane crime rate, and you have one truly wonderful country"

The poisonous sarcasm is bursting at the seams....besides you forget who you dealin wit or wha?

There is no 'panic' in the title, it was simply a question (yes, there's a question mark).
SA has one of the worst crime rates in the world (not sarcasm, fact), nearly 1 in 7 are HIV positive (fact).  Yes, the WHO has issued public statements and called an emergency meeting.  If the article scared you, sorry, I did not write it.

Poisonous sarcasm  ?  Did I upset you, Ditty ?  You better go hide in your plastic bedroom and play with your Barbie doll.

« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2006, 10:47:00 AM »
i read a few months ago that FIFA would hold the world cup in germany again if SA was not a viable venue. FIFA has some kind of contingency plan. don't know if SA does - mbeki is a real so and so.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2006, 10:52:09 AM »

And from what I remember, TB is  preventable by vaccine....and I think if the authorities act now, they can get the TB situation under control by 2010....

peace ?

TB is not preventable by vaccine.  If you have active TB, it can be treated with proper medical care.  It is highly contagious (unlike HIV), hence the WHO's concern.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2006, 10:54:39 AM by Winnipeg Fury »

« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2006, 11:00:33 AM »
Winnipeg, what's your opinion on Bird Flu? Do you think China won't be hosting the Olympics?

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2006, 11:03:42 AM »
Winnipeg, what's your opinion on Bird Flu? Do you think China won't be hosting the Olympics?

Not a clue, and I'm really not a big fan of the Olympics.

« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2006, 11:10:40 AM »

Is that an issue again? That's too bad from more than just a sporting point of view. I remember they lost the last Women's World Cup because of it..so it is possible I guess.

« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2006, 12:21:20 PM »

Could that be because Canada never manage to ever do well at the olympics (and I guess sports in general) ;D

« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2006, 12:28:44 PM »

Could that be because Canada never manage to ever do well at the olympics (and I guess sports in general) ;D

RF yuh hadda remember ice hockey....dese Canadians is throw all deh resources into hockey

They list sports as follows:

1. Ice Hockey
2. Ice Hockey
3. everything else  ;D

« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2006, 12:45:28 PM »

RF yuh hadda remember ice hockey....dese Canadians is throw all deh resources into hockey

1. Ice Hockey
2. Ice Hockey
3. everything else  ;D

it so it go:

1. ice hockey
2. cfl
3. women's soccer
4. curling
5. ultimate frisbee
6. everything else

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2006, 01:09:03 PM »

1. Ice Hockey
2. Ice Hockey
3. everything else  ;D

it so it go:

1. ice hockey
2. cfl
3. women's soccer
4. curling
5. ultimate frisbee
6. everything else

That's pretty funny.  Soccer doesn't rank for Canada, and we still kick T&T's ass. :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2006, 01:18:58 PM »

1. Ice Hockey
2. Ice Hockey
3. everything else  ;D

it so it go:

1. ice hockey
2. cfl
3. women's soccer
4. curling
5. ultimate frisbee
6. everything else

That's pretty funny.  Soccer doesn't rank for Canada, and we still kick T&T's ass. :rotfl:

you mean the 0-2 and 0-4 in the last qualifiers? maybe you meant "lick" not "kick"?

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #27 on: September 08, 2006, 01:21:02 PM »
I know he not rating Canada football team.

« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2006, 01:41:06 PM »

Not a clue....

Well at least you're honest & accurate

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2006, 01:44:01 PM »

1. Ice Hockey
2. Ice Hockey
3. everything else  ;D

it so it go:

1. ice hockey
2. cfl
3. women's soccer
4. curling
5. ultimate frisbee
6. everything else

you mean the 0-2 and 0-4 in the last qualifiers? maybe you meant "lick" not "kick"?

I always get a kick how you guys hang onto those 2 matches.  

Then I have to remind myself how your U-17's have NEVER beat Canada, how your U-20's have NEVER beat Canada, how your U-23's have NEVER beat Canada, how your women have NEVER beat Canada.

And when it comes to our World Cup teams, you have 2 victories in 10 matches.  Hardly something to brag about.   But I'm feeling charitable so that's OK, because that's all you have !! :rotfl: