April 27, 2024, 09:47:20 AM

Author Topic: Ball boy scores in Brazil  (Read 7807 times)

Ball boy scores in Brazil
« on: September 12, 2006, 12:24:44 PM »

RIO DE JANEIRO, Sept 12 (Reuters) - A Brazilian referee faced suspension on Tuesday after she awarded a goal that television pictures showed was scored by a ball boy.

The 89th minute goal allowed Santacruzense to snatch a 1-1 draw at home to Atletico Sorocaba in the Paulista Football Federation (FPF) Cup on Sunday, a regional tournament played in the state of Sao Paulo.

Pictures showed that after a Santacruzense player shot narrowly wide, the boy collected the ball with his feet and took it back on to the pitch.

ADVERTISEMENT

However, instead of returning it to the goalkeeper, he subtly tapped it across the line into the net.

Although there was nearly 10 seconds between the shot going out and the boy placing the ball over the line, referee Silvia Regina de Oliveira awarded a goal amid furious Sorocaba protests.

Oliveira, who has refereed in the Brazilian first division and the Copa Sudamericana, said she based her decision on the linesman.

"I should have trusted my own vision," Oliveira said in a radio interview.

Marcos Marinho, head of the FPF's refereeing commission, said the goal would stand and the referee would face suspension.

"It was a very serious mistake and, unfortunately, the punishments will have to be applied for the referee and linesman," he said. "There was a lapse of concentration and that can't happen in football."

Re: Ball boy scores in Brazil
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2006, 01:05:04 PM »

RIO DE JANEIRO, Sept 12 (Reuters) - A Brazilian referee faced suspension on Tuesday after she awarded a goal that television pictures showed was scored by a ball boy.

There's your problem right there. She probably just didnt know the rules  :D

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2006, 01:32:46 PM »
first yuh let them vote
then yuh let them in the oval

now they refing games

LORD!

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2006, 02:07:06 PM »
careful there disgruntled...

« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2006, 02:12:20 PM »
is dat ball boy eligible for we or not, sound like he have Trini parenting    :D

Offline rowdy

« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2006, 02:17:35 PM »
first yuh let them vote

now they refing games

LORD!

[...] said she based her decision on the linesman.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2006, 02:23:41 PM by rowdy »

« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2006, 02:52:48 PM »
first yuh let them vote

now they refing games

LORD!

[...] said she based her decision on the linesman.

nice observation  ;D

Offline Stevie F

« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2006, 02:55:38 PM »
she awarded a goal that television pictures showed was scored by a ball boy.

she based her decision on the linesman.

SHE SHE SHE !!!!!!!! Say no more

« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2006, 03:24:34 PM »
That is madness. That ball boy woulda get one dread  bullet with the same ball.

« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2006, 03:25:17 PM »
look it here lol  :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://espnbrasil.uol.com.br/scripts/assista/assista.asp

:rotfl: the funniest thing is the commentator still shouting GOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL! like it's an amazing shot or something.

« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2006, 03:28:33 PM »
look it here lol  :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://espnbrasil.uol.com.br/scripts/assista/assista.asp

whey de fawk.... dat ent nowhere close to even being ah lil bit of maybe a goal..... LOL  :rotfl:

I really ent believe that is what happen.... ha ha haha.... and de ball boy stand up dey breezing normal normal after.... ha hahaha

« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2006, 04:10:36 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: funniest thing I saw in a while.. on toppa ah all that... the ballboy still chillin out by the Goal Post like he eh do nothing wrong..

« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2006, 04:13:15 PM »
The ref is definitely to blame but what going on with the home team and the ball boy. To just sit back and say nothing is very low.

« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2006, 04:17:02 PM »
Arsenal should sign he lil tail up pronto!  At least he could put de ball in de blasted net.

« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2006, 08:53:26 PM »
Arsenal should sign he lil tail up pronto!  At least he could put de ball in de blasted net.

why he cyah defect to Trinidad

« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2006, 07:25:12 AM »
that is the best I have seen in some time

« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2006, 07:46:07 AM »
Somebody say "hush mouth money"  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #18 on: September 15, 2006, 12:23:03 PM »
Here is the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yht5mD0xnvk

I still can't believe that.
Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

« Reply #19 on: September 15, 2006, 12:36:36 PM »
I might be alone in this, but were I on the other team i would be telling the ref, that no goal was scored.

« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2006, 12:45:34 PM »
I might be alone in this, but were I on the other team i would be telling the ref, that no goal was scored.

What if is ah last minute equalizer to stave off relegation??

Yuh ent see dem men take off celebrating full pelt!!!  :rotfl:
GOALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLll

« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2006, 12:52:58 PM »
Dat thing make Toronto sports news yes. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  Lastnight I watching it, and let me tell you, it looks even funner on a big screen  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2006, 02:15:10 PM »
Well, as absurd as it looks, it is pretty obvious that the ref and linesman did not think the goal scored from the shot.  I also do not think that the ball boy actually meant anything by it. It was a limp kick away from the opposing keeper that barely crossed the line..almost as if by accident.

Here is my guess on what I think happened
1) Both the ref and linesman knew the shot did not go in..no goal was called.
2)The linesman probably looks away and then surprisingly sees the goalie pulling the ball out of his own net after he appeared to have already gathered the ball from behind the goal from the ball boy. Only he never got the ball...the linesman and the ref may have turned away just before and assumed he got the ball. The linesman then assumes the  goalie screwed up at the spot kick and accidentally put it in his own net..he raises his flag one time
3) The ref kinda sees the same thing. She thinks she sees the goalie getting the ball from the ballboy. Next thing you know he is pulling it out his own net and the linesman confirms her suspicion by waving his flag.....she then puts the 2 together and calls goal...erroneously

really poor refereeing and even poorer sportsmanship

Offline ndookie

« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2006, 08:48:41 AM »

pres could use one ah dem...
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2006, 12:59:51 PM »
de woman ref is ah a damn ass, the linesman is ah damn ass too!!! an de wicked fellah from de next team who take off running-in celebration???-wid he hand in de air is a friggin criminal!!!

« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2006, 07:00:30 PM »
wow! just when i thought i've seen everything! this is more ridiculous than maradonna's "Hand of God" goal!