April 23, 2024, 08:33:42 AM

Author Topic: Mannings on test flight of private jet.  (Read 9385 times)

Mannings on test flight of private jet.
« on: September 14, 2006, 03:16:27 AM »
Mannings on test flight of private jet.
By: Kristy RAMNARINE (Guardian)

Government officials confirm Bombardier Global Express trip to Antigua last Saturday.
Less than 24-hours after Government announced it was shutting down State-owned airline BWIA, Prime Minister Patrick Manning went on a test flight of the executive private jet which the State is considering buying for a reported US$50 million.
Government officials yesterday confirmed that Manning, his wife Hazel and other officials were taken for a test flight aboard the Bombardier Global Express Jet last Saturday.
The Global Express is an ultra long-range business jet developed by Bombardier Aerospace, a subsidiary of the giant Canadian company which also builds and designs trains and transit systems.
Yesterday, a source close to the flight arrangements said Manning and his entourage boarded the aircraft from the old Piarco airport entrance. The party was flown north to Antigua. Without landing, the flight returned to Piarco just after noon.
The source said the prime ministerial party was served lunch by a Bombardier hostess.
It has been reported that Manning stopped using Coast Guard aircraft for trips following a scare he experienced during a flight from Barbados to Trinidad on January 8, 2005. The plane reportedly plummeted due to ice build-up on its wings.
Since then, Government has been leasing a private aircraft from Guardian Holdings Ltd. Sources said it costs US$24,000 to lease the GHL jet to Miami, but could not state the fees paid by Government.

In the works since 2004

The prospect of the Government’s possible acquisition of a private jet was first raised by reporters at a post-Cabinet news conference on February 5, 2004. It was raised in the context of a swirling controversy over a report of Manning’s acceptance of a flight in a private jet owned by Spanish oil giant Repsol.
Asked then whether it might not be appropriate for T&T to buy a private aircraft in light of the controversy, Manning said: “I could tell you that it is a question that is being discussed at certain levels of Caricom.”
The PM had said then that the use of private aircraft minimised the amount of time wasted in airports and waiting for flights.
Questioned on the cost of an executive jet, he added: “I can’t say. A feasibility study would have to be done.”

Unanswered

Only last week Tuesday, Government was expected to respond to a question posed in the Senate on the matter.
Opposition Senator Wade Mark had asked: “Could the Prime Minister state categorically if it is the intention of the government to purchase a private jet for the exclusive use of the holder of the office of the Prime Minister?
“If the answer is affirmative, would the Prime Minister further state: a.—the estimated cost of such an aircraft and b.—the procedure which would be followed to procure such an aircraft?”
Answer to the question was deferred to the next sitting of the Upper House on Tuesday.

Jet facts

The Global Express is an ultra long-range business jet, which was developed by Bombardier Aerospace.
It has a cruise speed just below sonic level at Mach 0.88 or 0.85 and is capable of using first class or secondary airports and basic short airfields in remote areas.
Global Express is certified by European (JAA and LBA) and North American (FAA and Transport Canada) airworthiness authorities.
Bombardier has developed the ultra long-range Bombardier Global Express XRS, which adds a forward fuel tank to extend the range to 11,390km (6,150 nautical miles) at Mach 0.85. The aircraft also has a new “zero flaps” take-off ability, which will allow access to more “hot and high” airports. The first flight of the aircraft took place in January 2005 and it entered service in December 2005.

Re: Mannings on test flight of private jet.
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2006, 04:50:35 AM »
imagine dat..and we still can't buy we own Tobago ferry..steups
dis man is a God unto himself oui.

Offline dyansie

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2006, 05:04:24 AM »
we are buying our own ferry, but i mean once UNC not in power Feliziano vex, but i assure you, you will remain vex for the next hundred years   :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2006, 05:05:33 AM »

But a=a, why we didn't buy de Ferry with some ah de Biche school money or some ah de airport money? Or instead ah de London apartment?

But I digress!

What is wrog with the Head of state having a private jet?

My only issue is dat dey buying a canadian jet?????  Dat is stupid, when yuh could get more quality from ah US made jet.

« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2006, 06:23:48 AM »

My only issue is dat dey buying a canadian jet?????  Dat is stupid, when yuh could get more quality from ah US made jet.

LOL!!! ah did see dat commin yuh know

Dais arrite leh de man stick to de bombardier.....de yankee jet go be constant symbol of opression and when he land to go and visit he cuban pardner or he south american pardners ..dem go look to blow it up  :D

I think he should lease de ting instead of buyin...plane doh go up in price when yuh done wit it

« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2006, 06:31:35 AM »

LOL!!! ah did see dat commin yuh know

Dais arrite leh de man stick to de bombardier.....de yankee jet go be constant symbol of opression and when he land to go and visit he cuban pardner or he south american pardners ..dem go look to blow it up  :D

I think he should lease de ting instead of buyin...plane doh go up in price when yuh done wit it

I added that after the original post, although tinged with the tongue in cheek type ah humour,,,yuh know is true.

which airling you know does use anything but US made jets?

except Russia dat is?

« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2006, 06:35:24 AM »
Bombardier and Airbus givin dey counterparts at Boeing and Gulfstream fits these days

"Bring em on"

oh and just because I does enjoy rubbin salt
http://www.sybarites.org/2006/06/06/oprah-winfrey-to-recieve-bombardier-global-express-xrs/
« Last Edit: September 14, 2006, 07:22:20 AM by Dutty »

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2006, 09:54:16 AM »

But a=a, why we didn't buy de Ferry with some ah de Biche school money or some ah de airport money? Or instead ah de London apartment?

But I digress!

What is wrog with the Head of state having a private jet?

Pure foolishness, so he  had a scare on a coast guard plane, here is a suggestion buy better planes for the coast guard. But that would be too simple, and make sense plus the guard might use that for purposes that might benefit national security.  Wasn't this the same person bashing the US but why he trying so hard to be bush, first he seize the president grounds for he white house lawn and  now he he want to buy a airforce one equivalent.  Unlike panday who do it secret, Manning doing it front your face, but that still don't make it right, a thief is a thief jus one more boldface wit it .
« Last Edit: September 14, 2006, 12:57:22 PM by trinindian »

« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2006, 10:16:11 AM »
and also the Biche school woulda benefit the nation
at least it was the thought that counts right? ;D

« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2006, 10:19:05 AM »
whheeeeee yuh know how much 10 day wok ppl could get employed from US$50 million

Offline dyansie

« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2006, 10:49:32 AM »
and also the Biche school woulda benefit the nation
at least it was the thought that counts right? ;D

then you would say the PNM government send de people children in a school that not good, just leave the government na, try and fix the UNC. If you cannot fix your own house, how can you fix someone else house. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Even if manning buy a jet, if he come out of power your boy panday will ride in it

« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2006, 01:15:59 PM »
From the moment I read the article this was the first thing that came to mind.

« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2006, 05:07:07 AM »
while people are starving and have no homes...

« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2006, 06:43:00 AM »

« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2006, 10:33:00 PM »
typical trini response   ;D

Trinidad Express
Saturday, September 16th 2006

Let Caricom heads ask Chavez for jet

So 15 Caricom members want T&T to purchase a jet on their behalf? Why should we? When we travel to their country with our dollars these same people scoff at our currency and refuse to accept it.

As BC Pires would say, "let them go to firetrucking hell". Considering that almost all of them were ever so eager to back-stab T&T by jumping on the PetroCaribe bandwagon let them go ask their new godfather, Chavez, to buy them a jet!

Or they can ask Owen Arthur for a sleigh that is drawn by "flying" fish.

Oke Zachary

via email

« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2006, 07:20:00 AM »
This is completel bullshit... manning is doing whatever the f**k he wants and no one is stopping him... If UNC dont organize their leader soon yuh never know maybe he'll appoint Hazel as the opposition leader.

stewps.