April 23, 2024, 12:17:44 PM

Author Topic: U.S. soccer targets Eriksson for coach's job  (Read 6804 times)

U.S. soccer targets Eriksson for coach's job
« on: September 15, 2006, 11:24:35 AM »
Just saw this:
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/14851745/

U.S. soccer targets ex-England coach for job
Eriksson meets with Team USA officials about replacing Arena

Former English national team coach Sven-Goran Eriksson is the latest candidate for the head U.S. soccer job.

Officials have spoken to the Swede, who resigned as England’s coach after the World Cup, the New York Times reported. Eriksson made $5 million as the English coach, a figure that the U.S. soccer federation probably won’t be able to match, the paper reported.

He’s the latest in a long line of coaches rumored to be replacing Bruce Arena, whose eight-year tenure ended with his resignation after the World Cup.

U.S. officials also have contacted former German national coach Jurgen Klinsmaan and ex-Argentine coach Jose Pekerman.

Re: U.S. soccer targets Eriksson for coach's job
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2006, 11:36:20 AM »
Am I the only one who think Sven did a terrible job as England's coach?
Why teams running down this man so much?

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2006, 11:37:22 AM »
interesting. i think klinsmann is a better fit though.

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2006, 11:42:09 AM »

I think that historicallly his teams have  done well.
My opinion, he's a conservative coach and the England team underperformed with him at the helm. Particularly in recent years. I think he was what they needed back when he took over but in recent years they needed a different kind of approach to put them over the top as it were.

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2006, 11:43:39 AM »

He did the best job he could given the players he had to work with.  What allyuh expected he to do....tun water into wine?

« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2006, 11:44:11 AM »
sven might be better suited to the club game. that is where he made his name.

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2006, 12:00:44 PM »

If by terrible job, yuh mean dat he didn't progress beyond de quarterfinals in de Euro Cup and WC, den yes. But if yuh look at de man stats, he was by no means a failure (unless it is being solely defined by winning de WC or Euro Cup). De man only lose 10 out of 67 matches (3 out of 38 competitive matches) in a 5 year period.

CLICK HERE for Eriksson's record while coaching England.

« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2006, 12:17:40 PM »

If by terrible job, yuh mean dat he didn't progress beyond de quarterfinals in de Euro Cup and WC, den yes. But if yuh look at de man stats, he was by no means a failure (unless it is being solely defined by winning de WC or Euro Cup). De man only lose 10 out of 67 matches (3 out of 38 competitive matches) in a 5 year period.

CLICK HERE for Eriksson's record while coaching England.

Well said, Tallman.  I might not agree totally with his selection and positional choices, but he was not a disaster.  When he took over, England were in a rot.  That said, he did not maximize the talent that he had at his disposal, and ah think he had a bout of insanity when he selected Walcott for Germany.

« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2006, 12:27:12 PM »

He did the best job he could given the players he had to work with.  What allyuh expected he to do....tun water into wine?

More like he turn wine into water. This 2006 England squad showcased some of the best individual players in Europe but as a team they were unexciting, uninspiring and amateurish. I have a feeling Klinsmann will get the nod though.

« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2006, 01:47:40 PM »
More like he turn wine into water. This 2006 England squad showcased some of the best individual players in Europe

No offence...but

:bs: :bs: :bs:

You really fall fuh dah hype?  ::)

« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2006, 01:53:19 PM »
I've always wondered if the us association chooses coaches on name or on proven ability to improve and influence certain types of players...errikson as a coach would be amusing

« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2006, 02:30:44 PM »
I somehow don't see Eriksson working well with US players. If he is selected I'll probably ignore US soccer even more than I do now. If Klinsmann were selected I may actually take up an interest.

« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2006, 03:27:38 PM »
More like he turn wine into water. This 2006 England squad showcased some of the best individual players in Europe

No offence...but

Palos I going by what I see....Michael Owen, Terry, Lampard, Hargreaves and Gerrard (esp him) rate among the best to me. And I doh even like England.

« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2006, 04:59:54 PM »

No offence...but

Palos I going by what I see....Michael Owen, Terry, Lampard, Hargreaves and Gerrard (esp him) rate among the best to me. And I doh even like England.

Only Rooney & Terry are world class players on that England team.

Owen......pure hype
Lampard....even more hype
Gerrard...he close to bein world class but not dey yet
Hargreaves....A man play one or two decent games in a WC and all of a sudden he is one a de best individual players in Europe?   Even de England supporters was callin he shithong prior to dat.  It go take more dan some decent appearances against Ecuador, Portugal, Andorra & Macedonia (barring Portugal...look at dem sides nah) to convince me.  But hey....if you convince...more power.  ::)

« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2006, 05:26:39 PM »
Palos is right, most of the current England players are overhyped, and I am a man who following England long time. He could have done better but England still wasn't winning no WC.

As for the US he will be a good coach. Just like when Arena came in he will organize the team and revitalize the program.

The players will respect him and the US players will stick to his system and be more than England players. Don't expect great looking football but they will be hard to beat and kick better penaltes than England.

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2006, 05:32:35 PM »

No offence...but

Owen......pure hype
Hargreaves....A man play one or two decent games in a WC and all of a sudden he is one a de best individual players in Europe?   Even de England supporters was callin he shithong prior to dat.  It go take more dan some decent appearances against Ecuador, Portugal, Andorra & Macedonia (barring Portugal...look at dem sides nah) to convince me.  But hey....if you convince...more power.  ::)

Wel Palos yuh can't only watch international games - esp when coached by someone unimpressive as Erikkson - and forumulate a conception of de players. Remember they have club football year-round too - so it is from this I get evidence to strengthen meh opinion on class players and furthermore, criticize a national coach fuh struggling to make them gel.

Michael Owen still young but he has proven himself playing for Liverpool and especially Real Madrid. Almost every game he play for the latter, he scored, coming off de bench no less. Raul get push back in midfield because of Owen. I rue de fact that I will never see more of a Ronaldo-Owen attack. If you want to look on the biggest stage internationally (WC), Owen has scored against the biggest teams you will find: Argentina (1998) and Brazil (2002).

Yuh say Gerrard close to world class but I say he there already. He IS world class. He saved Liverpool in countless league games, the FA Cup final and more notably, Champions League final against AC Milan. Nuff said. Just look at the man performances week in and out, grit and determination to inspire anybody.

Maybe we can find some level of agreement on Hargreaves - but he was easily England's best player in Germany for me and held his own against big opposition. But he young and have potential too. Fact that Bayern Munich doh want to sell him must say something.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2006, 08:00:15 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #16 on: September 15, 2006, 05:38:39 PM »
He would fit in well because America soccer is and the England team was all hype

« Reply #17 on: September 15, 2006, 05:40:27 PM »

No offence...but

Owen......pure hype

Owen might be injury prone..but he is not pure hype man palos. When fit, Owen is pressure for any defense at club or international level. The man is a goal machine..check the stats. And he bussin the net against all the biggest teams..Brazil, Argentina, Germany..any and everyone. Injury is his biggest enemy..but that affects his form (which we all know is temporary)..

If Gerrard is not world class..then you must have a very small list of world class players.

Lampard was definitely world class in Euro 2004 and he excels in the EPL...one bad WC and some indiffernt form lately and everyone want to get down on the man.

Hargreaves is a starter at Bayern Munich for how many years now? Dat alone is enough for me..and the man is still pretty young. England's best player at the WC definitely is performing like a world class player right now. I doh care who the opposition is..if any Trini played like him in the WC, I seriously think we woulda be calling them world class right now.

It really comes down to what you mean by world class I guess. If you look at the absolute vast number of people trying to make it in the game professionally, these fellas are at the absolute pinnacle. If you are a starter for Bayern Munich, Liverpool, Chelsea etc for years....and are a key member of teams that winning trophies or highly competitive at international and club level, you are world class in my books. I suspect if any Trini  was doing what these fellas doing, we woulda be rating them among the world's best

« Reply #18 on: September 15, 2006, 06:08:39 PM »
It really comes down to what you mean by world class I guess. If you look at the absolute vast number of people trying to make it in the game professionally, these fellas are at the absolute pinnacle. If you are a starter for Bayern Munich, Liverpool, Chelsea etc for years....and are a key member of teams that winning trophies or highly competitive at international and club level, you are world class in my books. I suspect if any Trini  was doing what these fellas doing, we woulda be rating them among the world's best

World Class FOR ME is if you name a world 1st and 2nd XI....if any a dem players could make de side.

For me....from England...only Terry & Rooney could do dat.

In my opinion, the word World Class is a word bandied about way too easily.  Jes like de word GREAT.

So in my opinion.....

Pirlo is World Class   -   Hargreaves is a cadet.  Cyah even make a world 5th XI at his position

Kaka is World Class   -   Gerard eh dey yet.  Good candidate for World 3rd XI at his position

Requelme is World Class   -   Lampard is jes hype.  MIGHT make a World 4th XI at his position

Schevchenko is World Class   -   Owen ain't.  MIGHT make a World 4th XI at his position....unless yuh lookin at de specialist super sub position....den he might move up a XI or 2

Ronaldinho is GREAT.

I said it before and I'll say it again.  Many people here and elsewhere does get caught up in the marketing machine that is the EPL.  It have a channel called Fox Sports World.  There is a show called Fox Sports World Report.  Does anyone ever wonder why it is that they start off every program with the EPL highlights?  Know why?  Because EPL pays them to!  It's part of their contract.  They CANNOT start off with Italian highlights or La Liga highlights etc.

Yuh ever listen to a EPL game?  Yuh ever check how much times de commentator does say something to the effect of "this game is a prime exmaple of why the Barclays English Premier League is the most entertaining in football"?  Dey does say it AT LEAST 4 times EVERY BROADCAST.  Check it out.  And if dey eh find de game dat entertainin....dey say it eh as entertainin as what normally happens in the Barclays English Premier League.  Dey does HAVE TO get dey quota een.

I have nothing against EPL....but it have other excellent leagues out there with just as and many times better players than exist in the EPL.  Den dem players show up in a Euro 2008 tournament or a Champions League or a World Cup and people who focusin MAINLY on EPL wonderin whey dah player come from?  Dey does be in shock when dey EPL 'GIANTS" take blows in dey pweffen from other teams.  Doh even talk fuh when England get lick up.  Dat does seriously upset dey sense a symmetry.

EPL is the best MARKETED league in de world bar none.  And the statement England have some of the best individual players in Europe is testament to that marketing.

But hey...daz jes me.

« Reply #19 on: September 15, 2006, 08:25:31 PM »

World Class FOR ME is if you name a world 1st and 2nd XI....if any a dem players could make de side.

In my opinion, the word World Class is a word bandied about way too easily.  Jes like de word GREAT.

So in my opinion.....

Pirlo is World Class   -   Hargreaves is a cadet.  Cyah even make a world 5th XI at his position

Kaka is World Class   -   Gerard eh dey yet.  Good candidate for World 3rd XI at his position

Requelme is World Class   -   Lampard is jes hype.  MIGHT make a World 4th XI at his position

Schevchenko is World Class   -   Owen ain't.  MIGHT make a World 4th XI at his position....unless yuh lookin at de specialist super sub position....den he might move up a XI or 2

Ronaldinho is GREAT.

Palos I disagree with some of de comparisons there but to each his own. You put Pirlo and Kaka as world-class players - and they are - but then yuh put Gerrard 2 levels below them.

BOTH Pirlo and Kaka play in the AC Milan team that faced Gerrard's Liverpool in the Champions League final. Who end up inspiring their team to a comeback from being 3-0 down, getting on de scoresheet and end up lifting the trophy?

I said it before and I'll say it again.  Many people here and elsewhere does get caught up in the marketing machine that is the EPL.  It have a channel called Fox Sports World.  There is a show called Fox Sports World Report.  Does anyone ever wonder why it is that they start off every program with the EPL highlights?  Know why?  Because EPL pays them to!  It's part of their contract.  They CANNOT start off with Italian highlights or La Liga highlights etc.

Yuh ever listen to a EPL game?  Yuh ever check how much times de commentator does say something to the effect of "this game is a prime exmaple of why the Barclays English Premier League is the most entertaining in football"?  Dey does say it AT LEAST 4 times EVERY BROADCAST.  Check it out.  And if dey eh find de game dat entertainin....dey say it eh as entertainin as what normally happens in the Barclays English Premier League.  Dey does HAVE TO get dey quota een.

I have nothing against EPL....but it have other excellent leagues out there with just as and many times better players than exist in the EPL.  Den dem players show up in a Euro 2008 tournament or a Champions League or a World Cup and people who focusin MAINLY on EPL wonderin whey dah player come from?  Dey does be in shock when dey EPL 'GIANTS" take blows in dey pweffen from other teams.  Doh even talk fuh when England get lick up.  Dat does seriously upset dey sense a symmetry.

EPL is the best MARKETED league in de world bar none.  And the statement England have some of the best individual players in Europe is testament to that marketing.

But hey...daz jes me.

I watch Fox Sports World and yes I am exposed to the blatant EPL marketing, but I regard La Liga as the best league. Well-schooled football commentators - be they British or not - don't get shocked when a non-EPL team and its players schooling their beloved EPL teams.

Even though I don't rate the EPL as the highest, or even second-highest, this takes nothing away from my regard of the above mentioned EPL players. Owen, Terry, Lampard and Gerrard have all played against foreign clubs with their respective teams and emerged victorious not so? Rating a player simply by the league they play in is not enough, you have to also see who they playing against too. In those instances, more than domestically, do they show their true worth.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2006, 08:28:16 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2006, 08:41:10 PM »
Palos I disagree with some of de comparisons there but to each his own. You put Pirlo and Kaka as world-class players - and they are - but then yuh put Gerrard 2 levels below them.

BOTH Pirlo and Kaka play in the AC Milan team that faced Gerrard's Liverpool in the Champions League final. Who end up inspiring their team to a comeback from being 3-0 down, getting on de scoresheet and end up lifting the trophy?

It had a fella name Charisteas did play in a European Cup Final in 2004.  He score de winnin goal against Portugal in dat final for his team Greece.

De point is....FLUKES does happen in football.   Greece.  European Champions.

Dat CL victory by Liverpool against Milan was exactly that...a FLUKE.  Liftin a trophy once in yuh lifetime doh say much.  Consistency is de true indicator.  Nex season dey didn't even make it past de round robin.  Gerard is a very good player but he eh ready yet re: de World Class business.   By the way...yuh pick the wrong players and clubs to look to make yuh point.  Dem fellas and dey clubs ALWAYS in de thick of things when it come to major honours.  Not win someting fluky one year and den bomb out of de competition de nex.

« Last Edit: September 15, 2006, 08:45:52 PM by palos »

« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2006, 08:58:35 PM »

It had a fella name Charisteas did play in a European Cup Final in 2004.  He score de winnin goal against Portugal in dat final for his team Greece.

De point is....FLUKES does happen in football.   Greece.  European Champions.

Dat CL victory by Liverpool against Milan was exactly that...a FLUKE.  Liftin a trophy once in yuh lifetime doh say much.  Consistency is de true indicator.  Nex season dey didn't even make it past de round robin.  Gerard is a very good player but he eh ready yet re: de World Class business.   By the way...yuh pick the wrong players and clubs to look to make yuh point.  Dem fellas and dey clubs ALWAYS in de thick of things when it come to major honours.  Not win someting fluky one year and den bomb out of de competition de nex.

Palos as much as I couldn't STAND Greece winning Euro 2004, it was not a fluke.

They beat Portugal TWICE that tournament. Group stage AND final. And to reach the final check who they beat: France. Czech Republic. They tied Spain. ALL of that is fluke?

What they had was a unique approach to the tournament: momentum and defensive tactics while maximizing set plays. It wasn't sexy but it had teeth.

How can you say Liverpool's CL victory against Milan was a fluke? You eh see the 2nd half? How can you not rate Gerrard a world class player after that, his domestic performances - not to mention the World Club Cup - aside? Yorke win de Treble with Manchester United - dey eh win nothing of that magnitude after and Yorke fell out of favour. Ent we does still call him a world class player? Sometimes yuh does have one opportunity to prove yourself, somtimes few, sometimes many. It depends on many factors. The important thing is yuh prove yourself in the chance you get.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2006, 09:23:01 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2006, 10:59:31 PM »
Grande Man.  Palos on a different level from yuh.  You looking at a few games and a fluke tournament here and there compared to Palos who is arguing consistency over a period of years.  When looking at it from a world point of view, is only Rooney and Terry could get mention without thinking too hard.  Owen past he best.  Lampard buckle under de pressure.  Gerrard is a good player but nobody eh exactly breaking down de door to get him on a transfer.  Is obvious yuh like de EPL but oh gosh man.  When I think world class, me eh studying country and club...jes de player and what he brings to the table.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2006, 11:06:23 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #23 on: September 15, 2006, 11:12:09 PM »
Ok......... please someone explain to me why people are still recruiting this man....

for what?

with England... Eriksson took in an extremely talented team and has had, at best, very mediocre results...

he has also made many very dubious and short sighted desicions that the most basic of manager's would have deciphered much more carefully... for instance... taking on two dodgy strikers... I dont care if they are very good... your a huge country with hundreds of top class strikers waiting to break out? Why risk taking ones that obviously were never going to be fully fit...

and what happened in the end?

Rooney was ineffective and Owen was even more woeful...

so he takes Walcott, a little boy my age to play in the World Cup after his highest level of performance was at the Championship level??

and then after sacrificing qaulity Premiership strikers like Defoe, Bent and Johnson... you then dont even play Walcott once!?

and in all his interviews leading up to the World Cup and then to the knock out round... he was characterless and bland...

he said the bear minimum any idiot could... well... em... he scores goals... em... he ez a strong player...wellll emmm, i em not scared... no... emm... i em not concerned... emmm... i dont want answer zat.

If Eriksson came to coach us I think i'd run to my last convinient resort... Terry Fenwick??

rubbish.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2006, 11:30:52 PM by Jefferz »

« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2006, 05:12:12 AM »

No offence...but

Owen......pure hype

this is bull. But if you want to use your reasoning palos then italy doesnt have many 'world class' players and should not have been expected to win the WC. Everyone can have an opinion on who is great and who is not but despite the fact that england were overhyped, they did have alot of fantastic players that should have gone deeper in the WC and should have done better in group and rd of 16 play.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2006, 05:15:30 AM by supporter »

« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2006, 07:52:06 AM »
Grande Man.  Palos on a different level from yuh.  You looking at a few games and a fluke tournament here and there compared to Palos who is arguing consistency over a period of years.  When looking at it from a world point of view, is only Rooney and Terry could get mention without thinking too hard.  Owen past he best.  Lampard buckle under de pressure.  Gerrard is a good player but nobody eh exactly breaking down de door to get him on a transfer.  Is obvious yuh like de EPL but oh gosh man.  When I think world class, me eh studying country and club...jes de player and what he brings to the table.

Savannah Boy so if you not studying country and especially club in defining a world class player, what exactly yuh studying? De size of he draws?

As much as you doh like a team, in modern football I believe there are no fluke tournaments. There might be a fluke game, yeah. Something have to be clicking within a team for them to win a whole tournament.

You say it obvious I like de EPL...I am La Liga through and through. So I go assume you eh read my posts. De fact that you counting Rooney a world class player OVER Gerrard implying to me that you might be affected by de same EPL marketing that Palos had talked about.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2006, 07:57:44 AM by Grande man »

« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2006, 08:30:32 AM »
It really comes down to what you mean by world class I guess. If you look at the absolute vast number of people trying to make it in the game professionally, these fellas are at the absolute pinnacle. If you are a starter for Bayern Munich, Liverpool, Chelsea etc for years....and are a key member of teams that winning trophies or highly competitive at international and club level, you are world class in my books. I suspect if any Trini  was doing what these fellas doing, we woulda be rating them among the world's best

So in my opinion.....

Ronaldinho is GREAT.

But hey...daz jes me.

How many times in an EPL game you would see  somebody hit a long ball and as it drops it bounces  2 or 3 times in the middle of the field and nobody can't trap it. Its the 3rd best league in the world. Let's not forget that its a very good league but I have to agree with you Palos. The marketing machine for the EPL is responsible for all of the hype. Watch any 2 Spanish teams play and look at the technique of the players. Look at how little the margin of error is. Compare that with the number of times an English team would give up possesion. Mallorca would be lucky to finish in midtable in Spain and they impress me more than the majority of English Clubs.

I would never consider that league the best or even the most entertaining. Watching 2 bottom clubs or even 2 midtable clubs in England play is not very easy on the eyes. Compare that to Spain or Italy. Every man jack have decent technique- if you your ball control is suspect in those leagues you stand out. I enjoy watching 2 "english" teams Arsenal and Manchester United. The rest of them make me sick. Liverpool could kill the already dead with that brand they play and Chelsea.....steups. You always here them talking about how fast and strong you need to be to play there. I'm all for phsical play but not at the expense of sound technique and tactical patience. The english idea of transition from defense into attack is to hit the ball long out the defense in hope of reaching an attacker.

One thing though, Gerard is big player that almost any manager would want. I rate him as world class.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2006, 03:18:59 PM »
Amazing! All the posts I have read alluded to Eriksson being better for the US team. A complete turnabout compared to the negative posts that lamblasted Jamaica.
 ??? ???. I wondering the reason for this.
jjbrown

« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2006, 03:25:52 PM »
Amazing! All the posts I have read alluded to Eriksson being better for the US team. A complete turnabout compared to the negative posts that lamblasted Jamaica.

Go and mourn on de RBSC board nah and leave big people alone.  Even RF say overs de dotishness fuh one day and yuh cyah resist.

Steupes

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #29 on: September 16, 2006, 03:43:21 PM »

Go and mourn on de RBSC board nah and leave big people alone.  Even RF say overs de dotishness fuh one day and yuh cyah resist.

Steupes
Know what. I'm now watching a replay of the Jamaica vs T&T Digicel Cup match last year on TVJ Sports Network. So I understand where you coming from. ;D :devil: :rotfl:
jjbrown