April 28, 2024, 08:01:22 AM

Author Topic: World Cup photo shocker emerges  (Read 9195 times)

World Cup photo shocker emerges
« on: September 25, 2006, 06:05:45 AM »
World Cup photo shocker emerges
By Cecily Asson (T&T Mirror)

WORLD Cup Football 2006 is now in the past, but some haunting memories on the field of play during the saga of our local boys the “Soca Warriors” during their historic debut on the big stage in Germany last July, continue to linger on!

In the days following commendable performances against big name football nations like Sweden, England and Paraguay, pictures of our boys in action were splashed across international media.

One photo, however which hurt T&T most, was the one which showed England’s Peter Crouch pulling on to Brent Sancho’s dreadlocks during the crucial game.

Sancho was at the time defending his goal during the game in Nuremburg when Crouch pulled on his hair to get him out of the way and successfully scored the goal.

That period was considered the most decisive, since it was that goal which took England to victory after the Soca Warriors had put up a very good show, up almost to the end, against the side loaded with international football stars.

But while T&T cringed at Crouch’s offensive tug at Sancho’s locks, little did we know Sweden had a similar experience during that first game and Sancho was also involved.

This time according to Swedish folks it was Sancho who put the hurt on their player.

In a full page colour photo appearing in a Swedish daily newspapers Dagens Nyheter, Sweden’s prized player Henrik Larsson and Sancho is seen airborne in a tussle to head the ball.

Clearly seen in the picture Sancho’s hand taking what seemed to be firm grip in a very delicate area.

“The caption reads:

“Brent Sancho of Trinidad and Tobago takes a disallowed grip on Henrik Larsson during the World Cup match in Dortmund.”

Re: World Cup photo shocker emerges
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2006, 06:14:47 AM »
Tell me that is a joke please...

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 06:21:53 AM »
Tell me that is a joke please...

oh gorm, is de mirror yuh dealin wit...wuh yuh tink

on top ah dat look just under sancho sleeve...de photoshop eh even good self

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2006, 06:40:49 AM »
surely something like that would have surfaced before now.. :-\
.horrible if true :-[

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2006, 06:47:50 AM »
The tnt mirror photoshop man could have done a better job...

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2006, 07:06:28 AM »
nah this picture is genuine.. i got that a couple months now

« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2006, 07:40:48 AM »
“Brent Sancho of Trinidad and Tobago takes a disallowed grip on Henrik Larsson during the World Cup match in Dortmund.”

I saw Brent Sancho last night at the Miss Trinidad & Tobago UK Beauty Pageant show at the Hammersmith Palis in West London (I believe he was one of the judges) and if I had seen above picture before I would have quizzed him about it.

At any rate I believe its the T&T Mirror's photoshop man trying to help them sell more papers because I was at the T&T vs Sweden game and have a recording of the game as well and observed no such foul act by Sancho.

Didn't know that the T&T Mirror would sink so low!  >:( Man if I was Sancho I would propably sue their backside but then again Sancho probably has more important things to concentrate on with his career here in the UK.

Btw Congrates to Chardani Persaud who was crowned the T&T UK Beauty Pageant Queen for 2006 as well as to all the other contestants who took part.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2006, 07:46:35 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2006, 07:43:56 AM »
how can ulook at that and say it genuine steups. i dont think this should have been posted. its clear that that isnt sancho's hand unless he wore gloves that reached up to his elbow

« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2006, 07:49:30 AM »
why would de mirror post something like that the error starts by brents left arm by the elbow area look at the difference in coloration them low dpwn newspapers boy jeeeez....my fellow trinis bunch of pigs

« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2006, 07:56:31 AM »
nah this picture is genuine.. i got that a couple months now

because you seen it already that makes it real?

I know alot of us just gonna instinctivly react that its fake cause it makes TnT look bad, but i really think the photoshop job is poorly done and that it is fake. 
I dont think it was photoshopped by the TnT Mirror either, they just dotish and run the dam article...stueeps
If i was Sancho I would sue both papers

« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2006, 08:01:13 AM »
Allyuh ppl for real? It making Trinidad look bad?

I find it funny.... real or not

« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2006, 08:05:03 AM »
Allyuh ppl for real? It making Trinidad look bad?

I find it funny.... real or not
yuh know how much people out there (and in here) go belive that pic.
Enquirer, and TnT Mirror does sell plenty papers yuh know...

« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2006, 08:18:50 AM »
Whats the relavance of this article (and picture) 3 months after the world cup?

« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2006, 08:19:26 AM »
They should print this one....a*sholes...Sancho has done nothing but represent us well and be a fantastic role model..I can't believe they would try to drag his name in the mud like that...I genuinely vex...

« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2006, 08:20:54 AM »
He could always tell his children and grand children,I had henrik larsson by the balls ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2006, 08:41:50 AM »
They should print this one....a*sholes...Sancho has done nothing but represent us well and be a fantastic role model..I can't believe they would try to drag his name in the mud like that...I genuinely vex...

As a graphics man myself I am also familiar with photo editing software, if you look carefully where Larson's left leg is in front of Sancho's the lighting is inconsistent, and you can clearly see a very distinct sharp edge which makes Larsson's image more 2 dimensional than 3, This effect is easily done with a clean up tool in photoshop. The ridiculously close proximity of their shoulders makes it look as though Sancho is going through his body as opposed to just making contact.

« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2006, 08:56:51 AM »
here is a cleaner image of the shot.  i got it in email months ago....

to me i dont find its no photoshop job, if u look at the light splotch on sancho's arm, u'll see it spreads from the grass onto the arm then over onto larsson. so its really probably just a splotch on the original scan of the image or a drop of water on the lens...

anyhow it doh matter anyway.. i used the picture to mash up meh swedish colleagues here at work and tell dem we hold dem by dey balls to a 0-0 draw...   ;D

« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2006, 09:16:22 AM »
hoo gives a f**k....     we got the draw.... allyuh really some pussys    get the win or in our case draw any means necessary

« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2006, 09:30:58 AM »
Whey sancho get da green boots from??

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2006, 09:36:55 AM »
so crouch is a shit snake is sancho one now? ::)

« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2006, 09:53:38 AM »
theyre just trying to make the crouch incident less meaningfull. sancho aint grabbing the guy anyway

Offline thane

« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2006, 09:55:46 AM »
das a genuine photo...since world cup goin on..dat dere

« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2006, 10:31:06 AM »
Whey sancho get da green boots from??

Sancho, Cyd, Avery, Lawrence and Edwards was wearing dem:

« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2006, 10:34:49 AM »
strange..I never notice dem green boots atall......den again I have ah black & white tv..so dat might explain it  :-[

I like dis shot tho

« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2006, 10:43:12 AM »
Look at larsson's left hand by his fingers. That looks like Sancho's fingers there to me. This photo it fake.

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #25 on: September 25, 2006, 11:17:12 AM »
im sure if this was england player doin somethin to sweden it wudnt be fake

« Reply #26 on: September 25, 2006, 11:23:56 AM »
Look at larsson's left hand by his fingers. That looks like Sancho's fingers there to me. This photo it fake.

Dat is de number 11 on he pants.

« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2006, 11:25:36 AM »
Sancho left arm looks like it is 2 different colors AND..I not too sure he grabbin' anything. Dat 'grip' looking a lil too high

« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2006, 11:30:42 AM »

rippin squint a lil bit more.....

« Reply #29 on: September 25, 2006, 11:34:53 AM »
If anybody believe this pic is real then ah really doh know what to say..just look at larson crotch area..does it really look like he getting grip? Just take this as a joke nah..cause dat is waht it is  :rotfl: