April 18, 2024, 06:25:41 PM

Author Topic: latapy.......concacaf's great  (Read 7253 times)

latapy.......concacaf's great
« on: September 25, 2006, 12:37:21 PM »
would you consider russell latapy as one of de greatest footballers to have evolved from concacaf zone.he is a great ochestrator,leader and possess great control.in my opinion yes.

Re: latapy.......concacaf's great
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2006, 12:39:02 PM »
Yes. No argument

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 02:06:35 PM »
would you consider russell latapy as one of de greatest footballers to have evolved from concacaf zone.he is a great ochestrator,leader and possess great control.in my opinion yes.

You askin answers hoss.

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2006, 02:25:54 PM »

Without a doubt. I have not seen any other player in concacaf that possess the ability Latas did (at least during his tenureship as a player).

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2006, 04:16:39 PM »

You askin answers hoss.

I was about to say de same thing.

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2006, 05:21:16 PM »
He's the best I've seen,but he should've been more celebrated around the world as not only trinidad & tobago best but one of the best in the world and I believe it's because of bad breaks early in his career.

But still the zeus of football...............

« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2006, 05:37:10 PM »
Fuh sure.

« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2006, 07:06:34 PM »
Most definitely..a superb player with style, substance and longeivity

« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2006, 07:09:50 PM »
the "one of the" makes that a rhetorical question.
if you had simply said "the" then we woulda have to think a lil harder

Offline watch de ride

« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2006, 07:46:57 PM »
Reggaefan once said, "Latapy is a genius!" For RF to call ah trini ah genius, yuh have to be ddddddarm good!!! Personally speaking, I haven't seen anyone in Concacaf with his tunnel vision and ball control over the last three decades.

Watch de Ride

« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2006, 08:25:07 PM »
What is the point of asking a question that everybody is going to say yes to. There is no boubt adout it he is a legend in Concacaf.

« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2006, 04:58:23 AM »
Asking answers on a trini site might be considered as asking question on a mexican one...

The best one has ever seen depends on if one has seen him...
This is just my 2 cents to encourage the Little Magician documentation project once again  :-[

Peace out.

« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2006, 06:41:38 AM »
...as Tina Turner say, Latas is "Simply The Best", hands down knees to the ground!

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2006, 07:42:30 AM »

baye! yuh go ask de pope if he is ah catholic ?  :devil: :rotfl:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2006, 07:47:20 AM »
Latapy was never a good footballer in my opinion.......(that's the best I could do to make this thread interesting)......

Offline Darkromeo

• Tru Tru warrior
« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2006, 07:58:50 AM »

lawwwwd do kill meh :rotfl: My answer is yes..............But would Stern be considered one of the greatest as well with his goal scoring record at international level??????? thats my question Latapy is ah sure yes leh meh see What d masses hav to say bout Johny boy that should make this interesting  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2006, 09:09:08 AM »

lawwwwd do kill meh :rotfl: My answer is yes..............But would Stern be considered one of the greatest as well with his goal scoring record at international level??????? thats my question Latapy is ah sure yes leh meh see What d masses hav to say bout Johny boy that should make this interesting  :devil:

Stern is definitely one of the greatest if not the greatest goal-scorer in CONCACAF history! Without a shadow of a doubt!

Latapy's is CONCACAF's greatest midfielder
Stern is CONCACAF's greatest goal-scorer
Yorke is CONCACAF's most famous!

Allyuh notice that they are all from two small islands in the southern Caribbean that plenty folks always trying to under-rate?!  8)

« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2006, 09:42:14 AM »
Asking answers on a trini site might be considered as asking question on a mexican one...

The best one has ever seen depends on if one has seen him...
This is just my 2 cents to encourage the Little Magician documentation project once again :-[

Peace out.

someone must have some clips from his earlier days in portugal. there must be some long-time boavista or porto fans that has some.  :praying:

« Reply #18 on: September 26, 2006, 11:17:21 AM »
He not only askin if the Pope Catholic, he askin if the present pope is German.

« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2006, 11:45:38 AM »
Latapy was never a good footballer in my opinion.......(that's the best I could do to make this thread interesting)......

Stern is the best ever. Latapy pales in comparison.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2006, 12:07:38 PM »
Why is this even being discussed?  :o

« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2006, 01:03:30 PM »
It is because we are in a Trini forum we say latapy is the best in concacaf.

but this question has been asked on different forums...Check big Soccer.

Americans and most Latins swear by Hugo Sanchez.

But for me is still Latapy followed by Yorke.

« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2006, 01:44:56 PM »

Well to be fair....the question is ONE OF THE BEST...not THE BEST.

Besides Latas, other great CONCACAF players would be

Phillipe Vorbe
Emmanuel Sanon
Roy George
Omberg
Leo De Leon
Warren Archibald
Paulo Wanchope
Ronald Gomez
Hugo Sanchez
Rafael Marquez
Alan "Skill" Cole
Theodore Whitmore
Carlos Ruiz
Mauricio Cienfuegos
Kasey Keller
Brad Friedel

« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2006, 01:49:16 PM »
Palos

Educate meh about these three players on yuh list..

Emmanuel Sanon
Roy George
Omberg

Thanks

« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2006, 01:52:10 PM »

Well to be fair....the question is ONE OF THE BEST...not THE BEST.

Besides Latas, other great CONCACAF players would be

Phillipe Vorbe
Emmanuel Sanon
Roy George
Omberg
Leo De Leon
Warren Archibald
Paulo Wanchope
Ronald Gomez
Hugo Sanchez
Rafael Marquez
Alan "Skill" Cole
Theodore Whitmore
Carlos Ruiz
Mauricio Cienfuegos
Kasey Keller
Brad Friedel

add David Suazo to that list....probably currently the best player in CONCACAF.....

« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2006, 01:53:53 PM »

:o :o

First TI and TT having a pleasant conversation online...and now THIS??

I better find some kinda religion quick oui....the end of times is near

« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2006, 01:54:31 PM »
Palos

Educate meh about these three players on yuh list..

Emmanuel Sanon
Roy George
Omberg

Thanks

Emmanuel Sanon was quite simply the greatest Haitian striker of all time and arguably, the greatest striker from CONCACAF.  It was his goals that took Haiti to Germany in 1974.  He was the one that scored Haiti's only goal in those finals.  Frankly....the man was a mountain.

Roy George was one of Suriname's best ever strikers and again..one of the best in the region.  When he played against T&T, invariably it would hbe his goals that would sink us.

Omberg was the Surinamese captain on that same team.  A colossal defender with a thunderous left foot shot.  I saw him score a left foot free kick in the QP Oval in a WC qualifier when we had all we pros....David, Archibald, Gally, De Leon etc.  I think the game did draw but we eneded up losing out to them on overall aggregate.

Ask Coop's bout dem fellas.  He probably played against both Surinamese players at least when Army and Robin Hood used to have dey epic wars back in de day.

« Reply #27 on: September 26, 2006, 02:01:03 PM »
Thanks Palos

Alyuh Old Timers  ;D hadda keep enlightening us younger folk of the happenings of yesteryear.

And I concur with Kicker...Suazo is a big player...same way Wanchope is a man as old as he, is could still destroy we.

« Reply #28 on: September 26, 2006, 05:00:51 PM »
I've only seen clips of Hugol. How good was Hugo Sanchez ?

« Reply #29 on: September 26, 2006, 06:33:43 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: disgruntle yuh is ah ass oui!