April 28, 2024, 01:34:33 AM

Author Topic: Pan History Help  (Read 1362 times)

Pan History Help
« on: September 26, 2006, 04:38:38 PM »
1.) In Sparrow choon, "The Band plays on", he mentions a few people...anyone know their names?

2) Where can I get history of Steelbands.....I took a look at   http://www.pantrinbago.co.tt/  site but most dont have websites and some of the links doh work no mo'.

Thanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Pan History Help
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 05:18:19 PM »
Where can I get history of Steelbands.....I took a look at   http://www.pantrinbago.co.tt/  site but most dont have websites and some of the links doh work no mo'.

Check Review of Forty Years in the Steelbands

« Last Edit: September 26, 2006, 06:12:17 PM by palos »

Re: Pan History Help
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2006, 06:39:47 PM »
Thanks for those links Tallman and Palos
I go be reading for days.... ;)
I guess that Victor Wilson was famous for other things than playin pan :devil:

i am sure i will read about
Junior Pouchette
Ellie Manette
Hugh Borde

they are featured on an NPR show
http://www.npr.org/templates/dmg/dmg.php?prgCode=ATC&showDate=04-Mar-2003&segNum=6&NPRMediaPref=WM&getAd=1

I found a few cd's here wid some real ole time choons from early o'clock
http://www.rounderstore.com/category.asp?D=D0001&S=24&G=G1&V=&C=994&N=1
i jez ordered two cd's
1) Shango, Shouter & Obeah: Supernatural Calypso from Trinidad 1934-1940
2) Calypso Pioneers 1912-1937
« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 09:59:44 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Need help!!!-Steelpan History
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2010, 01:44:52 PM »
I know it have some serious pan experts like Palos on this site.  Mih brother need ah lil article on the history of steelpan for ah cultural brochure at his job.  Allyuh send some links.