April 27, 2024, 09:23:33 PM

Author Topic: Mento Music  (Read 1775 times)

Mento Music
« on: September 27, 2006, 11:29:16 AM »
look wha i stumbled across today...Mento Music from Jamaica
I have ah feeling is ole time Calypso oui ;D ;D
http://www.mentomusic.com/WhatIsMento.htm
« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 11:34:32 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Mento Music
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2006, 11:32:53 AM »
dey should put dat music in a bottle ah diet coke

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2006, 03:18:39 PM »
Some Mento Compilations

http://www.siebethissen.net/Dr_Auratheft/Mom_Radio/Mambo_Bang_Bang.mp3  66,1MB  Calypso/Mento 'Night Food' & 'Africa' Classics dis one have Holly Betaudier as de MC.  ;D ;D

http://www.siebethissen.net/Dr_Auratheft/Mom_Radio/Bam_Bam.mp3   60,3MB  Bam Bam (Jamaican Mento Mixxx), a collection of mento classics

http://www.siebethissen.net/Dr_Auratheft/Mom_Radio/index.htm
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2006, 03:32:07 PM »
Last nite on soca therapy "Nurse Karen" mentioned a form of music (she from St Vincent I think) ... but I couldn't remember the name. Supposedly it was created by the local people ( slaves that were shipwrecked on the island who mixed with the local (native) indians).

Does anyone know the name of this music (similar to calypso, but in their native language)?

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2006, 03:49:15 PM »
Last nite on soca therapy "Nurse Karen" mentioned a form of music (she from St Vincent I think) ... but I couldn't remember the name. Supposedly it was created by the local people ( slaves that were shipwrecked on the island who mixed with the local (native) indians).

Does anyone know the name of this music (similar to calypso, but in their native language)?

Ah tink is Garifuna, but it mostly associated wit Belize now. De first time ah hear about it was on de show Caribbean Rhythms on BET. Dey was profiling Machel in Belize.

« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2006, 05:57:22 PM »

Ah tink is Garifuna, but it mostly associated wit Belize now. De first time ah hear about it was on de show Caribbean Rhythms on BET. Dey was profiling Machel in Belize.

Thx. Yep, thats exactly what she mentioned..about it being also in Belize and other central american countries where it was taken to or developed.

« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2006, 08:27:39 PM »
I have not heard this music before......thanks Jumbie

here is the National Geographic story

music link ( samples here also)
http://www.garinagu.com/music/
there must still speak West African language (not sure what it is called) there then, as none of songs are in english or spanish.

here you will find some Garifuna Language links
http://www.native-languages.org/garifuna.htm

and endless history links here
http://www.centrelink.org/Belize.html
« Last Edit: October 17, 2006, 10:14:49 AM by RedHowler »