April 29, 2024, 09:27:51 PM

Author Topic: how do u make a sweeper?  (Read 6339 times)

how do u make a sweeper?
« on: September 29, 2006, 04:01:27 AM »
how do you coach a youngster 2 b a sweeper. its such an important role but its not a natrual one. 

Re: how do u make a sweeper?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2006, 05:35:18 AM »
how do you coach a youngster 2 b a sweeper. its such an important role but its not a natrual one. 

Maybe this book could help: The Sweeper by Richard Bate.

Offline syd

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2006, 05:39:39 AM »
Tallman, where do you get that book? because I am also interested.

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2006, 06:13:28 AM »
The sweeper has become obsolete.

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2006, 06:38:52 AM »
Look for players who have good anticipation, who can read the game well, can communicate well and likes to play defense.
good Tackling ability and passing ability.
good speed is a bonus

You cannot make players

You can only mold players natural tendancies abilities and put them into a position where they can flourish.

look at your players and you can see who amoung the bunch can be a good sweeper

Also be prepared for tendancies to change

« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2006, 06:39:03 AM »

I guess that´s it for Puyol, Thuram, Ayala, Canavarro .....

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2006, 07:25:55 AM »
Gown are the days of Gentile,and Passarella(sp). As jai john listed are good people to view. A sweeper must be a hard tackling brute, but still possess shooting and passing ability like Toure,Thuram,Gallas(can play sweeper).
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2006, 07:49:47 AM »

That is pure unadulterated garbage Doc.  And you know it.  Please try not to make blanket statements when it may not in fact be the case.

While the use of the sweeper is not as common as it once was, the position is still one that is used, especially at the youth and lower division levels. 

The most commonly used alternative to a sweeper, the flat back four, is a system that is best employed when a team has the requisite talent to execute it.  One has to take into account the fact that the flat back four needs two central backs that not only have the pace to get across, but more importantly, the vision and communication to ensure that attacks are broken down and mix-ups do not occur.

To answer your question freakazoid, creating a sweeper is not a hard task.  Creating a good sweeper is though.   :)  To begin with, you are looking for a certain temperment in the player.  You can coach many things, but temperment is innate I believe. 
« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 07:56:28 AM by Jahyouth »

« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2006, 08:00:03 AM »

That is pure unadulterated garbage Doc.  And you know it.  Please try not to make blanket statements when it may not in fact be the case.

While the use of the sweeper is not as common as it once was, the position is still one that is used, especially at the youth and lower division levels. 

The most commonly used alternative to a sweeper, the flat back four, is a system that is best employed when a team has the requisite talent to execute it.  One has to take into account the fact that the flat back four needs two central backs that not only have the pace to get across, but more importantly, the vision and communication to ensure that attacks are broken down and mix-ups do not occur.

Strong words pardnah. In all seriousness, name 2 club, youth or national teams that employ a sweeper. The sweeper was once popular, but is not anymore, therefore it has become obsolete! QED ;D

« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2006, 08:01:37 AM »

I might stirr up some trouble for saying this, but I will try to address it anyways.

A sweeper is a defensive position and that position requires defensive instincts/qualities. In this way I mean, being aggressive, being able to read the game, proper communication to other defenders/teammates, being able to slow down the play starting from defensive, maintaining the shape of the defense etc etc.

Having said that, in my opinion these qualities are learnt over a period of time (by watching the game and by playing; being students of the game). You cannot teach these things. You could use whatever book/lecture/seminar or whatever, but it still would not come naturally. It comes naturally by playing over and over and over.

Practice does'nt make perfect; no one is perfect (only the almighty). Practice makes permanent.

However, a sweeper also needs to be able to distribute the ball well from defense and also win headers. These are things that you can teach/coach a player to do.

There are some things you can teach a player and some things that come naturally. Football is a game of cunningness (me being able to out think you and thus score/scoring and then prevent you from scoring on me.

« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2006, 08:10:43 AM »
Get a good  cocoyea broom. Makes a nice sweeper  ;D

« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2006, 08:15:02 AM »
Strong words pardnah. In all seriousness, name 2 club, youth or national teams that employ a sweeper. The sweeper was once popular, but is not anymore, therefore it has become obsolete! QED ;D

I interested in hearin dese names too.

Besides....a man call Puyol a sweeper... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2006, 08:28:49 AM »

Is this enough proof for you, at International level as well.....

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hong Myung-Bo (born February 12, 1969 in Seoul) was a South Korean football player; who retired from playing following the end of the 2004 Major League Soccer season, having finished his career with the Los Angeles Galaxy. Hong was a key member of the Korean national team for the 1990 FIFA World Cup, the 1994 FIFA World Cup, the 1998 FIFA World Cup, and the 2002 FIFA World Cup, the first Korean player to play in four consecutive World Cup tournaments.

Hong won the prestigious Bronze Ball award in the 2002 World Cup as the third best player in the tournament, as he captained the Korean national team to a historic fourth place finish. He ended his international career after the 2002 World Cup as the all-time leader in appearances for the South Korean national team, with 135 caps.

A skillful midfielder-turned-sweeper, Hong's calm temperament and leadership qualities made him a natural choice for captain of the national team. Somewhat like legendary libero Franz Beckenbauer, Hong was an all-round player and excelled as an attacking sweeper - his trademark was to orchestrate attacks from the defense with his superior vision and creative long-range passing. He was also an exceptional reader of the game and his clever positioning added great stability to Korea's defense. In addition to this, Hong could also threaten goalkeepers with his explosive long-range shooting when given space to roam forward, as England keeper David Seaman found out in an England vs South Korea pre-World Cup friendly in 2001. During his time in the J-League, his exceptional passing skills were utilized in midfield instead - for example during his 3 seasons with Kashiwa Reysol he operated as a defensive midfielder with creative duties.

Hong was named by Pelé as one of the top 125 greatest living footballers in March 2004.

On September 26, 2005, he was named assistant head coach of the South Korean national team.

« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 08:33:07 AM by Jahyouth »

« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2006, 08:38:40 AM »
More information:

http://www.expertfootball.com/coaching/positions.php

#3. Sweeper / Libero

The "libero" position was popularized by German legend Franz Beckenbauer in the 1970's. At the 1990 World Cup, in Italy, even the Brazilian squad employed a sweeper for the very first time. The outraged Pelé severely criticized national head coach Lazaroni as Brazil was eliminated early in the tournament. Conversely, at the World Cup 1990, Germany finished first while playing with a libero. Since Italy 1990, many teams have abandoned the use of a sweeper, yet many (especially German) clubs still employ it today.

The sweeper must always be "the last player" in defense (after the goalkeeper, of course). His job is to close down gaps left by other defenders. The libero roams laterally, a few meters behind the last line of fullbacks. He must try not to sway too far towards the flanks. The sweeper analyzes the development of plays, anticipates where open angles and passing lanes are forming and make quick decisions about dealing with them. Because they never mark enemy attackers, sweepers can move a great deal forward when their team is in possession of the ball. This frequently finds the enemy defense unprepared as an unmarked player is unexpectedly introduced to the play.

Overall, the sweeper should be very perceptive (usually experienced) with good ball handling skills and confidence.

« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2006, 08:58:33 AM »

A skillful midfielder-turned-sweeper, Hong's calm temperament and leadership qualities made him a natural choice for captain of the national team. Somewhat like legendary libero Franz Beckenbauer, Hong was an all-round player and excelled as an attacking sweeper - his trademark was to orchestrate attacks from the defense with his superior vision and creative long-range passing. He was also an exceptional reader of the game and his clever positioning added great stability to Korea's defense. In addition to this, Hong could also threaten goalkeepers with his explosive long-range shooting when given space to roam forward, as England keeper David Seaman found out in an England vs South Korea pre-World Cup friendly in 2001. During his time in the J-League, his exceptional passing skills were utilized in midfield instead - for example during his 3 seasons with Kashiwa Reysol he operated as a defensive midfielder with creative duties.

Is dat de bess you could do ??? :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2006, 09:01:04 AM »
so after all dat wikipedia about a korean player....the real question is yuh still tink puyol is a sweeper  ;D

« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2006, 09:05:48 AM »

Doc, you are wrong.  The sweeper position is not "obsolete".  Why not just concede that you were incorrect?  While not used as much as before, it in totally incorrect to state that it is obsolete.

#3. Sweeper / Libero

The "libero" position was popularized by German legend Franz Beckenbauer in the 1970's. At the 1990 World Cup, in Italy, even the Brazilian squad employed a sweeper for the very first time. The outraged Pelé severely criticized national head coach Lazaroni as Brazil was eliminated early in the tournament. Conversely, at the World Cup 1990, Germany finished first while playing with a libero. Since Italy 1990, many teams have abandoned the use of a sweeper, yet many (especially German) clubs still employ it today.

« Reply #17 on: September 29, 2006, 09:17:53 AM »

Doc, you are wrong.  The sweeper position is not "obsolete".  Why not just concede that you were incorrect?  While not used as much as before, it in totally incorrect to state that it is obsolete.

#3. Sweeper / Libero

I only ask for just name me two!!!!!!!!! how difficult is that since there are so many ???

« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2006, 09:54:42 AM »

You might be interested in this.... ????

The question was what are the positons in football ?

Answer
The sweeper is sometimes called "stopper".

Defenders are supposed to steal the ball from the other team's attackers. Therefore, they are usually the best tacklers in the team.

Midfielders are supposed to take passes from defenders/steal the ball from the other team, and pass it to the attackers so they could score. They are usually the best headers in the team, since they constanly fight for the ball in high passes with the other team. they are also good passers (hopefully...), since they need to pass the ball to the attackers.

The wingers are usually the fastest players on a team, since they need to attack quickly,before the midfielders go to the defence and make it much harder to score. They are also good shooters, since they need to score. Strikers are usually the best shooters. They are also good dribblers and have good ball control, since they need to go through the enemie's defense in order to score.

Hope I made things clearer. Have fun, and keep playing the world's best game!

End of quote ...

« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2006, 09:57:58 AM »

I'll say that it is not the modish style of play at the highest levels of the game, but yuh never know, it might come back.  I was watching a classic FA Cup final between Man U and Everton on FSC this summer and they were playing with a flat back four having two center backs.  I was saying to myself that football goes in cycles, look how we back to playing with two center backs again.  

« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2006, 10:12:21 AM »

I'll say that it is not the modish style of play at the highest levels of the game, but yuh never know, it might come back.  I was watching a classic FA Cup final between Man U and Everton on FSC this summer and they were playing with a flat back four having two center backs.  I was saying to myself that football goes in cycles, look how we back to playing with two center backs again.  

You have said a whole lot here and i agree .....maybe detractors should look more closely at at Perea for Colombia and Athleico Madrid , Rio Ferdinand for England and Man United, Juan for Brazil, Ayala for Argentina and Valencia. You may find that what goes around comes around. tactics change all the time....remember the Dutch total football style led by Cryuff ?
The attacking wing play of the 70's Brazil....the slow build up and possession play of the 66 and 70 england team ?...who is to say these tactics wont return ??... What do they know who only football know ?

« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2006, 10:17:19 AM »

Let him play midfield and learn to read the game and then put him behind the defence and tell him his primary role is not to tackle but to read the plays, intercept and distribute.

He should already be a leader on the team in order to play the role well.
In training, put him in small goal situations and advise him to win the ball without slide tackling, it teaches u to use other skills and helps development as a player.

« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2006, 10:31:04 AM »

Let him play midfield and learn to read the game and then put him behind the defence and tell him his primary role is not to tackle but to read the plays, intercept and distribute.

He should already be a leader on the team in order to play the role well.
In training, put him in small goal situations and advise him to win the ball without slide tackling, it teaches u to use other skills and helps development as a player.

Why not tell de man to sign up with W Connection and learn from one of the best swepers to ever play in trinidad ?

Offline Lightning

« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2006, 10:34:38 AM »
Why are we trying create sweepers in this day and age?  It seems people are looking a today's game and interpreting then even trying to coach based on how they were coached in the 70s and 80s.  Its this sort of "I real know this game boy. I was a big player in '77" thinking that will lead to the miseducation of young players
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2006, 10:59:44 AM »

I guess that´s it for Puyol, Thuram, Ayala, Canavarro .....

When last have any of those players played as a sweeper?

« Reply #25 on: September 29, 2006, 11:03:51 AM »
Why are we trying create sweepers in this day and age?  It seems people are looking a today's game and interpreting then even trying to coach based on how they were coached in the 70s and 80s.  Its this sort of "I real know this game boy. I was a big player in '77" thinking that will lead to the miseducation of young players

So if the man has a team with one dominant central defender and another so-so one, why NOT use the dominant one as a sweeper?  You must try to use systems that correspond to the players you have and not just use a system because you have always played it, you like it or otherwise.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #26 on: September 29, 2006, 11:13:46 AM »

So if the man has a team with one dominant central defender and another so-so one, why NOT use the dominant one as a sweeper?  You must try to use systems that correspond to the players you have and not just use a system because you have always played it, you like it or otherwise.

When its time for the player to move on to the next level (college, pro, international) his chances at a smooth transition may be limited based on the fact that he's been taught using outdated concepts.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 11:39:24 AM by Lightning »
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2006, 11:55:11 AM »

When its time for the player to move on to the next level (college, pro, international) his chances at a smooth transition may be limited based on the fact that he's been taught using outdated concepts.

fear not. if he is well coached he will easily fit into a conventional center back role in a flat back four.  Or even into the defensive central midfield position.  Or even the "bolt" if his new team plays a 3-5-2 or a similar variant.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2006, 12:05:23 PM »

fear not. if he is well coached he will easily fit into a conventional center back role in a flat back four.  Or even into the defensive central midfield position.  Or even the "bolt" if his new team plays a 3-5-2 or a similar variant.

That is a big if :praying: Why not teach the player in those 2 systems to begin with?
« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 12:11:20 PM by Lightning »

« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2006, 12:28:05 PM »
thx JahYouth and Kingman for the insights and the rebuttal of that "sweepers are obsolete" line of thinking....just because i go to a state coaching course and some coordinator say we are moving away from having a sweeper doesn't mean that i have to listen to he! i could go on and on, but suffice it say to say, i have a 16-year old on my boys-JV who I have playing sweeper.....ah yet to see him eh get dey to clean up some some poor unsuspecting opposition player who tell heself he get thru de defence.....so again thx fellahs, ah was just ah little miffed when ah see the "sweepers are obsolete" statement....