March 28, 2024, 10:32:15 AM

Author Topic: Suggest some new names for Pro League teams...  (Read 6941 times)

Suggest some new names for Pro League teams...
« on: September 29, 2006, 04:09:35 AM »
Hopefully sometime in the future they will rename pro legaue teams after an area rather than their sponsors so suggest areas and the nickname as in Arsenal - Gunners, Man U - Red Devils

St Anns FC - Mad Crew
Arima - Warriors
San Fernando - The Oilers
Real Port Of Spain
Tobago FC - Cocrico's

Re: Suggest some new names for Pro League teams...
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2006, 05:58:35 AM »
as ah Diego martin man, and as we have current troubles in Diego

I suggest:  Diego Martin FC   (de gangsters)

why yuh feel we need to call de teams names after de area dey from rather dan after de company dat bank rolling dem?

If and when we get enhanced support from de communities den why bother?  And ah know some go say well we go get more support if man see dat de teams have names after de area dey from...nah it doh go so.

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2006, 06:09:16 AM »
I find it weird that team are called after sponsors names I dont know any other leagues where just sponsors names are used. The league is not getting much support from the communities at present and a change, which I belive can only increase support at minimal cost cant be a bad thing.
It's like supporting the school you went to and supporting the team from your area.
I would think it is easier to identify with St. Anns Fc rather than superstar rangers for instance.
Let kids growing up seeing them training in their area and running youth programs as well.
If you grow up and the team is an integral part of your community I believe you are more likely to support them as an adult.

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2006, 06:48:08 AM »
As a woodbrook man.... Woodbrook Warriors

Offline Darkromeo

• Tru Tru warrior
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2006, 06:53:28 AM »
Dred yuh take that idea right out meh head ahyuh. U know how long i saying dat..... It doh hav ah real conection between communities and the clubs. cause if u r not ah hardcore follower of local football u hav no clue as to where that club is from ( unless is san juan or tobago) so how can u ever feel any kind of pride For example if u hear St James Unt beat Real Sando 3-1 and u from St james it would be ah totally different vibes eh..... Leave the sponsor names on the kits man. If it is ever done it would increase crowd support.... tell meh ah lie..... think bout it

« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2006, 02:45:47 PM »
the teams abroad change sponsors regularly, whereas our teams really depend on the sponsors for almost everything. No other support. maybe the clubs just need to come up with more creative marketing ideas to get support $$.
Grande Superstars
Barataria Rebels

« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2006, 04:03:06 PM »
so change de name and all of ah sudden men go support

righttttttttttt

« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2006, 05:56:00 PM »
Barrackpore Flooders
Debe Doubles
Point Fortin Pitchers
St Anns Mad House

« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2006, 06:13:07 PM »
Do any of the clubs try to establish a relationship with the areas they want support from?

« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2006, 06:19:24 PM »
 So why Sando have to be the Oilers :rotfl: ...Why not the...Laventille Shooters...Arima Aids...The Town Trans

« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2006, 01:20:09 AM »
Ah think ah like:

Tobago Dumplins  ;D
FC Sando Tempo
Pt. Lisas Smelters

« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2006, 02:04:05 AM »
In Carenage I going wid Big Yard United  ;D

« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2006, 03:37:21 PM »
I guess Tobago Untd have the most support out of all the teams?

CL Financial San Jaun Jabloteh.
North East Starts.

I guess these three teams have real community support.

Joe Public is the team name but they are also  known as the Eastern Lions.

Everybody know W. Connection reppin the South.

Is not about the name of the team is what the team doing and what they represent.
They need to form realtionships with schools and start some comunity leagues where they can recruit talent.
If Connection helping my child community team ,whether it be by coaching or league prize money,then I would go support them.
Teams need to take advantage of technology. You don't need to send a coach in person. It have things called dvd, video cassette etc.
Tape a training session and show community coaches what you have the pro teams doing. Get team stars to show what drills they do etc.

I don't think the teams need to be renamed.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2006, 03:42:08 PM by rippin »

« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2006, 04:17:05 PM »

North East Starts.

Is not about the name of the team is what the team doing and what they represent.
They need to form realtionships with schools and start some comunity leagues where they can recruit talent.
If Connection helping my child community team ,whether it be by coaching or league prize money,then I would go support them.
Teams need to take advantage of technology. You don't need to send a coach in person. It have things called dvd, video cassette etc.
Tape a training session and show community coaches what you have the pro teams doing. Get team stars to show what drills they do etc.

finally ah man with some sense

lavantille shooters :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

man suggesting oilers all kinda thing  stupessssssssssssssss

« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2006, 04:18:23 PM »

North East Starts.

:applause: :applause:
teams like Connection pull decent crowds cuz they involved in de community. Jabloteh and north east stars seem to do the same as well

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2006, 09:52:13 PM »
In Carenage I going wid Big Yard United  ;D

L"anse Mitan lions

« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2006, 07:37:20 AM »
  Lavetille Hing men

Couva marijauna indians

San Do Mary Jane lovers.

Westmoorings Lock dem all up.

« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2006, 08:58:30 AM »
Put some billboards up,

If i driving to grande and as soon as i reach i see a big billboard

"Welcome to Sangre Grande, home of the North East all stars, keep Grande beautiful"

It's all about visibility. Schedules and Banners should be everywhere.

« Reply #18 on: October 01, 2006, 09:11:23 AM »
Toco sharks

« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2006, 10:07:32 AM »
east dry river FC, st.joseph united :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2006, 06:27:08 AM »

North East Starts.

In addition to what Rippin say above if we link each local football team with the name of the local steelband side then community support bound to grow dramtically. The local steelband should also be part of the supporting cast at games, so it will be a great party atmoshere but with intense rivalry much like at Panorama for Carnival.

So when Trinidad Stars FC meets Fonclaire United everyone will automatically know that its a Port-of-Spain side vs a Sando side and will be nuff rivalry with north & south supporters coming out.

We need to convert our local cummity steelband supporters into local football team supporters as well and they will definitely come out in their numbers and support with passion much like we get for the Panorama competitions.

In other words the key is to fuse our culture with our football.

If we do this our PFL will start making proper money at the gates and will grow from strenght to strenght.

This is in addtion to the things that Rippin recomended above!  8)

Ah hope allyuh could see the potential of this as clearly as I can!
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 06:30:52 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #21 on: October 02, 2006, 06:58:07 AM »
maraval united- The bush men

« Reply #22 on: October 02, 2006, 07:06:20 AM »
port of spain united,diego-martin limers,st.james insomniacs,woodbrook fc,arima hill climbers utd.   

« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2006, 07:12:07 AM »
Westmoorings Rehab FC

Carenage Netters

St.James Hosay Stars

Couva Choppers

Paramin Planters

Port of Spain Pipers

« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2006, 09:01:05 AM »
Couva Choppers

Port of Spain Pipers

« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2006, 09:25:08 AM »
Real Santa Cruz !!!

« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2006, 09:34:18 AM »
Real Santa Cruz !!!
As a former Santa Cruz yute I like this one. I ent care too much for Real but Real Santa Cruz sounding good. Royal Saint Cross hmmmm......it have a kinda ring to it.

« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2006, 09:47:16 AM »
Real Santa Cruz !!!
As a former Santa Cruz yute I like this one. I ent care too much for Real but Real Santa Cruz sounding good. Royal Saint Cross hmmmm......it have a kinda ring to it.

This would actually translate to Royal Holy Cross.... just nitpicking thru

« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2006, 09:50:42 AM »
Real Santa Cruz !!!

This would actually translate to Royal Holy Cross.... just nitpicking thru
How come ?

« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2006, 10:43:10 AM »
My views on new namesfor teams would be to name them according to the areas they are from,nothing else would bring back the crowds to domestic Football in T&T.

We have to consider it may have times these teams may have to play internationally and you need names that will relate to a worldwide audiance,Citys and Towns do very well.

The same way our national team gave the country some exposure clubs can do the same thing,i see where the Pro league have it's own Website/Magazine i guess it will be exposed all over the world,the names we carry will say a lot about us.