March 28, 2024, 05:18:55 AM

Author Topic: Earthquake in Trinidad  (Read 21081 times)

Earthquake in Trinidad
« on: September 29, 2006, 07:30:14 AM »
The PC is running on UPS . Power is gone. It Lasted about 10 seconds. Fairly strong. All my family safe. I presume not many were hurt.

Offline cocoapanyol

Re: Earthquake in Trinidad
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2006, 07:33:36 AM »
I just happended to call my friend in Point Lisas not knowing about the earthquake and she told me that they felt it very very strong up there but she doesn't know yet how the rest of the island fared.  Their land lines were knocked out.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2006, 07:40:01 AM »
my pardner in gulf view (south) say he bracing for tsunami :o   i think he overreacting but i hope that dont happen

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2006, 07:48:06 AM »
the news say magnitude 6

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2006, 07:50:18 AM »
I'm in Point Lisas, the building literally was jolted. We actually thought that there was an explosion on one of the plants close by. In parts of Port of Spain electricity got knocked out and my mom said in San Fernando everything was swaying. One of my friends was driving and he felt a jolt too and stopped cause he thought someone hit him. Out by NGC some men was working on a scaffolding, ah hear it was real speed to come off and retreat to saftey. Pressure!
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

Offline Phensic

Earthquake!
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2006, 07:50:58 AM »
Apparently there was a really strong earthquake in Trinidad about a half-hour ago.  Don't know the offical magnitude or where the epicenter was.  What I do know is that a relative of mine back home said that it was the strongest they ever felt and that Diego Martin is now without electricity.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2006, 07:51:33 AM »
I'm in Point Lisas, the building literally was jolted. We actually thought that there was an explosion on one of the plants close by. In parts of Port of Spain electricity got knocked out and my mom said in San Fernando everything was swaying. One of my friends was driving and he felt a jolt too and stopped cause he thought someone hit him. Out by NGC some men was working on a scaffolding, ah hear it was real speed to come off and retreat to saftey. Pressure!

Keep us posted nah!!!  Glad yuh safe.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline monty

« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2006, 07:58:50 AM »
I hear parts of the hilton damage significantly and the runway in Piarco damage

a big one…around a 6!

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/recenteqsww/Maps/10/300_10.php

Offline Phensic

« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2006, 08:01:13 AM »
I just happen to call my Mom today about 15 minutes after the event and the poor woman heart was racing.  She said it was the strongest she ever felt in her life and stuff was falling everywhere. She lives in Diego Martin and the power is out as well...phones still seem to work though.

« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2006, 08:03:37 AM »
boy I run outside we
I thought the apartment was coming down

my roomate jes turn over like somebody shaking he foot

this time alarm going off and bachanal in the place
current now come back

I feel like chicken licken

Re: Earthquake!
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2006, 08:03:55 AM »
Apparently there was a really strong earthquake in Trinidad about a half-hour ago.  Don't know the offical magnitude or where the epicenter was.  What I do know is that a relative of mine back home said that it was the strongest they ever felt and that Diego Martin is now without electricity.

No power in Trincity too

« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2006, 08:04:36 AM »
I just happen to call my Mom today about 15 minutes after the event and the poor woman heart was racing.  She said it was the strongest she ever felt in her life and stuff was falling everywhere. She lives in Diego Martin and the power is out as well...phones still seem to work though.

Good to hear...at least shes safe

At this point, you will probably here some very 'enhanced ' stories commin out of trini...until we get the actual truth

Hope there are no aftershocks

Earthquake in T&T
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2006, 08:09:13 AM »
Heard T&T had a big eathquake.. Hope everyone is alright

Offline Phensic

« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2006, 08:12:14 AM »

Good to hear...at least shes safe

At this point, you will probably here some very 'enhanced ' stories commin out of trini...until we get the actual truth

Hope there are no aftershocks

Thanks.

Some one earlier in the thread stated that you can't get Tsunamis in the Atlantic Ocean...is this true, or is it just semantics with words i.e. Tsunami vs Tidal Wave???

« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2006, 08:14:38 AM »
semantics...one is pacific the other atlantic.

« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2006, 08:17:31 AM »
I juss call.. people eh even know what going on..no news etc. Maybe is time TnT put some measures in place for a disaster. My sis juss tell meh when the quake hit she run for a doorway..people watching she like she mad. However, she mentioned that if you work for BP you'll probably be the most prepared people in TnT..they big on safety/security.

Ah juss hope meh lill hut eh get mash dong.

« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2006, 08:17:58 AM »
From Denver

Earthquake Details
Magnitude
6.0 (Strong)

Date-Time
• Friday, September 29, 2006 at 13:08:27 (UTC)

= Coordinated Universal Time
• Friday, September 29, 2006 at 9:08:27 AM

= local time at epicenter

Depth
62.6 km (38.9 miles)

Region
OFFSHORE SUCRE, VENEZUELA

Distances
• 41 km (26 miles) NW (305°) from PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad
• 63 km (39 miles) ENE (66°) from Guiria, Venezuela
• 123 km (76 miles) WSW (252°) from Scarborough, Tobago
• 157 km (98 miles) E (83°) from Carupano, Venezuela

Location Uncertainty
horizontal +/- 5.6 km (3.5 miles); depth +/- 6.2 km (3.9 miles)

Parameters
Nst=199, Nph=199, Dmin=896.2 km, Rmss=0.89 sec, Gp= 65°,
M-type=moment magnitude (Mw), Version=6

Source
• U.S. Geological Survey, National Earthquake Information Center
World Data Center for Seismology, Denver

« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 09:08:07 AM by Dutty »

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #17 on: September 29, 2006, 08:25:16 AM »

Keep us posted nah!!!  Glad yuh safe.

Thanks...
I ain't feel any aftershocks since this thing happened. Has anyone?
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

Big Earthquake jus hit T&T
« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2006, 08:37:12 AM »
strongest quake i ever feel in my life.
USGS say 6.1.

Rumours of house damages and explosions in Point Lisas.
Burst pipeline in Mt Hope.
But allyuh done know how trinis are with rumours...

Hope everybody ok.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 08:48:00 AM by Trini »

Re: Big Earthquake jus hit T&T
« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2006, 08:40:08 AM »
It was the biggest i ever felt in my life.

Pressure!!

ah didnt love dat atall!!

« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2006, 08:44:24 AM »
ok andre, ah correct it.

Allyuh men mind in the gutter!

« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2006, 08:47:48 AM »
strongest i ever feel in my life.
USGS say 6.1.

Rumours of house damages and explosions in Point Lisas.

Hope everybody ok.

Trini dat have to be the strongest ever if you feel it quite in Texas  ;D

under all seriousness

hope no lives were lost and no major injuries

« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2006, 09:38:56 AM »
I was in a taxi waiting by the traffic light at Jerningham (spelling?) Ave. when I feel the car start to shake. I say a man bump the taxi and eh want to stop so I swing around only to see the car about 15 feet behind us and no one else in the car react. So I say I mad. Is only going down Charlotte St. that I see no current in a couple buildings and a woman on her cell holding her chest. By the time we reach Park St. quite a few people - including many Republic Bank employees - were outside. Still a few more people were holding a hand to their chest. Nelson St. Boys was already evacuated and the students neatly organised in classes in the school yard. I pass by the bar not far from there and the 4 people calmly sitting and drinking as if nothing happened. That put a smile on my face despite myself.

All here in Tacarigua people felt it (by the time I got here), but there's current so is work as usual. I heard someone here talking about damage to the runway at Piarco. Not sure if that's a rumour though.

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2006, 09:41:52 AM »
strongest quake i ever feel in my life.
USGS say 6.1.

Rumours of house damages and explosions in Point Lisas

Hope everybody ok.

I would have known (or be dead or injured) if there were explosions in point lisas. One ammonia plant is down though and there were a couple power outages

« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2006, 09:42:29 AM »
Current just came back on in Trincity.

« Reply #25 on: September 29, 2006, 09:44:34 AM »
I heard it was confirmed that it was the strongest we ever had.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #26 on: September 29, 2006, 09:46:56 AM »
[quote I pass by the bar not far from there and the 4 people calmly sitting and drinking as if nothing happened. That put a smile on my face despite myself.

The resilience of Trinis.   ;D

« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2006, 09:56:03 AM »
[quote I pass by the bar not far from there and the 4 people calmly sitting and drinking as if nothing happened. That put a smile on my face despite myself.

The resilience of Trinis.   ;D

or maybe dem was done drunk and swayin,,so dey eh feel nuttn

« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2006, 11:02:07 AM »
Glad everyone is okay

just called home to hear meh mudda heart in she hand still
she good china break but she say is materialitic ting....now ting like dat does confused me
cause when ah break she coffee cup when ah was small, she cut meh ass and ask meh if i didn't know how much it cost >:(

ah hang up yes >:(

« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2006, 11:08:19 AM »
great that all is ok

buh ah geh ah email from meh pardner and he say is nuttin to worry bout as he an de "tick ting" (his words not mines) were tryin somting new and boat ah dem went bradap on de grong
so he say doh worry :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
he is ah real joker yes :D
he now tellin meh he cyar find he camera phone :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: September 29, 2006, 11:29:23 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.