April 29, 2024, 09:55:23 PM

Author Topic: The Metamorphic Warrior.  (Read 15313 times)

The Metamorphic Warrior.
« on: October 01, 2006, 09:42:49 AM »
The Metamorphic Warrior.
By: Hannibal Najjar.

A Sincere Appeal

This article is meant to petition our football leaders to look at the bigger developmental gains as they consider the demands on the national youth players to withdraw from the Secondary Schools Football League.
The SSFL is facing a showdown with the T&TFF who is drawing on the “country before school” appeal that may be especially strong coming on the heels of our senior team’s World Cup performance. The T&TFF wants to embark on a long-term training plan in preparation for the CONCACAF Youth World Cup Qualifiers due to take place at the end of the first quarter of 2007. The T&TFF is accusing the SSFL of being unpatriotic, disorganized, and of a low standard. Is the T&TFF being fair, or practical? Is their recommendation best for the overall good?

The September, 4th Express quoted Anton Corneal as saying that, “the low standard of the SSFL would erode the forward steps made by his players in their third place finish at the 2006 Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Youth Tournament.” I believe this to be a strange, inaccurate, and politically incorrect statement. It is sad to hear people blame any one organization in our psychologically changing country for the apparent low standard of football. In the September 14th Express, another technical person stated that, “more should be done to improve the quality of football in schools”. And, if that citation is true, which it is, how can removing the best players from the SSFL system, assist in over-riding that status and achieving the desired objective? Furthermore, on what grounds are we to judge our third place finish, in a tournament, played at home, as substantial and of a sizeably high quality? Is it because we defeated Jamaica? Where were we in our other games against Barbados (0-0 - tie) and Haiti (0-1 - loss)? Winning one game of substance gives us the right to redicule the production possibilities and product capabilities of the SSFL? We have an ideal situation looming and available to us at this time – we have a vibrant and very hyped SSFL season currently in full stream, where these young national players can engage in constant competition that would see them through November-December. Thereafter, they could be “handed over” to the new caretakers, the T&TFF, who would still then have adequate time to build on the emerging foundations and minds as we set our sights on the CONCACAF U-17 Youth World Cup Qualifiers, due to take place sometime in April-May, 2007 (?).

The September 14th Express also reports that National Team coach, Wim Rijsbergen is insisting that “national training take precedence over all other interests”. No one is ever agruing that National duties should not take precedence over others, this especially the case for those persons who vie to perform on the national stage. But, is it wise to take away the “spark plugs” and the “light houses” from the SSFL when there is no urgent need?  Would we not then be propelling the SSFL into certain “low quality”?  Isn’t this the very reason that Wim Rijsbergen seemingly withdrew the national team from playing our two International “Friendlies” against Mexico and Columbia? Wasn’t the reason for this decision that, the pro-players and the Pro-League were not good enough, i.e. Rijsbergen would have played the games if he had the World Cup nationals available for those encounters? Then, wouldn’t we be yielding the same fate if we sought to remove the “stars” from the SSFL? There seems to be little foresight, even hindsight and, care with this proposition. These national coaches are arguing that it would serve the young national college stars best if they would entrust 8 months or so (Aug ’06 – March/April ’07), in the care of the Federation. The alternative is that the SSFL players ensue the next 4 months in the up-and-running, vibrant SSFL, and thereafter, the following 4 months (Dec ’06 – March/April ’07) could be spent in preparation for the all-crucial U-17 CONCACAF tournament, where 5 of 8 countries would qualify for the Youth World Cup in Korea in 2007.

The Dutch Model – Pro Level?

Apart from the parallel I see between cancelling the “friendlies” and the pulling of the SSFL players, I would like to state clearly that I think cancelling the games against Mexico and Columbia, is a huge mistake. Personally, there has to be more in the reasoning behind the cancellation of these two friendlies than the verdict that, ‘the Pro-League and pro-players aren’t good enouigh’. I met the man, Wim Rijsbergen once on my last trip home in July-August, and I dare say that this decision would not be made in Holland, and so I say, he had to be misunderstood or misrepresented.

We need these international friendlies to help develop our younger senior-team players. In addition, we owe it to the world and FIFA, CONCACAF, CFU, and T&T, given the commendable performance of our Warriors at the recently concluded 2006 World Cup. It took more than two decades of football development to see us qualify for the World Cup. Why not try to make in one decade this time around? They should be sculpturing a plan to make it happen in eight years, for the 2014 World Cup. Or, maybe we can be creative and continue with the momentum of our 2006 WC performance, and get ourselves ready for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.  We should not cancel the games because they are assessed as to be too difficult to overcome. Who did the scheduling of these games anyway, and why? There are no easy games anymore in world football; if you don’t show up, you’ll be shown up!  Playing those “friendlies” is a way to continue to “bait” the local players to push themselves. Otherwise, the very accusation being made of the Poe-League’s standard of play, instead of being temporarily true, would become a permanent fixture in our football and worse still, in the minds of our players and future hopefuls.

The Dutch Model – Youth Level?

From my understanding of the Dutch Model as described in the September 14th Express, it suggests that our “youth national players assemble in the early morning, and then again after school to train with their SSFL team”. Who is suggesting this? This proposal is seriously flawed and we must consider the complications and implications before implementing.  In this day and age, such a proposition would result in a social, educational and emotional catastrophe. It would be a logistical fiasco if we were to ask these young U-16 and U-17 student-athletes, to get to a designated site for early a.m. training with the National Team. Then, the players are to get freshened up, changed into school clothes, find transportation to get to school in time. Thereafter, these student-athletes are to get into the right frame of mind to learn in their academic setting! During school hours, these student-athletes would be engaging in much thought, measuring themselves either, for the scheduled training, or game in the p.m. Who is saying that this thinking is a workable model for our youth today? Apart from time constraints, there would be chaos in the minds of these adolescents as they deal with the deciphering of  same-day training and game objectives for both, the national team and their SSFL school team.

The Nation’s Best

Back to my main point on the SSFL. I submit that the SSFL is, as it has always been, the best run, least contentious football organization in the country.  They should be commended for their efforts and achievements – congrats Azad Khan and company. If there is some merit in suggesting that the quality at the SSFL level could be better, then assist in this “adventure”. The national coaches and technical directors should submerge themselves in this project and not seek to remove the youth from their “nursery bed”, but assist in the development process. This is the very forum that will shape their personality and positively affect their confidence, creativity, and in the end, their national pride.

I submit that, it is by this nurturing, that the student-athlete will learn to realize and attain their fullest potential.  I believe that the challenges and rivalries of sports for the Under-16 and U-17 age group levels are best left to take their natural courses in the school environment, where the best opportunities for development and leadership naturally evolve. The T&TFF should be encouraging the SSFL and its student-athletes to make the most of the season. They should be inspiring the better players to dream of playing for their country by setting the right tone at this stage. This would allow for the realization of their dream to be seen as the crowning honour at the end of a season in which they gave of their best both, in their training and on the field of play. These T&TFF technical men should see that the retention of the chosen stars in the SSFL, will inspire and improve other, not-yet-chosen student-athletes, to reach their potential and challenge the already-chosen national players, to maintain their position on the national team – the school environment would be the ideal push-pull operative, for our young football hopefuls.

SSFL – The Football Bakery

If this line of reasoning for the developmental role of the SSFL does not appeal to those advocates who seem bent on cutting the umbilical chord of the college player from his school, let them cast their minds back to their SSFL (formerly, CFL) playing days. Would the following stand-out student-athletes, and I am writing as they are coming to mind, have wanted such a decision to be made when playing for their St. Mary’s, QRC, Fatima or Belmont, or Malick or whichever school they attended?  Did they suffer by remaining in the SSFL? The list of players that have been nurtured and refined by the SSFL in the Who’s Who in Trinidad and Tobago football archives – from that self same Anton Corneal, Alvin Corneal, Lincoln Phillips, Sedley Joseph, Tyrone DeLaBastide, Warren Archibald, Leroy Deleon, Leo “Twinkletoes” Brewster, Andy Aleong, Jean Mouttet, Gerold Figarreau, Clive Pantin, Pat Gomez, Joey Golnsalves, Richard Nieves, Willie Rodriguez, Raymond Moraldo, Ian Bain, Alvin Henderson, Brian Rigsby, Richard Chinapoo, Michael Wiley, Ian Clauzel, Trevor Leiba, Roger Mathews, Ken Butcher, Russell Tiexiera, Everald Cummings, Ray Roberts, Bobby Banfield, Wifred Cave, Steve David, Russell Latapy, Leonson Lewis, Marlon Morris, Clayton Morris, Craig Demmin, Sheldon Bennett, Dwyane Demmin, Avery John, Mickey Trotman, Lester Felician, Emmerson Dubisson, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Stern John, Arnold Dwarika, Andre Toussaint, David Nakhid, Ron Laforest, and Hannibal Najjar ……...just kidding, and others too many to mention.  I apologize to those that I failed to mention, it is just a case of time, space and memory constraints!

All of the above footballers were never pressured into relinquishing their obligations when playing and developing at the SSFL. It was an honour to participate there and then to be selected for the next level as it carried with much pride to share your accomplishments with your classmates, teachers, principals, and on the playing pitch for your college. It was there and then that you knew that everyone knows your national acclaim and that brought the crowds out, and raised the standard of the game and the league. Truly, I know about this feeling, I worked very hard for that recognition and was rewarded with a glimmer of a hope for the National Youth Team in 1970. And boy, did that carry me through many a trial and into evey sphere of my life, and even as I speak to you today, it still does. I admired all those who were selected even though there was some envy and frustration for some who made it ahead of me. But again, was it good, and is it memorable!

Ask The Students

What I will challenge the T&TFF technical men to do is, to conduct a survey (anonymous) that asks the involved student-athletes themselves, which way they would rather go at this very point in time i.e. the T&TFF training or the SSFL and school participation? Like the turtle’s neck, I believe that the T&TFF would withdraw its head following the results.

Concluding Remarks and A Word from Two National Greats

Personally, there is too much danger in pulling these kids from representing their schools – it will literally remove them from the positive literacy statistic in our country, for without football and sport, we are sure to lose a fair amount of students from school. The sad thing here would be that, that statistic would befall the Afro-Trini population more than it would any other.
I contend that the youth should be allowed to relish and play in the “mud” and to learn to discover themselves, learn to share, resolve and solve, do battle with teammates as well as rivals, solidify relationships with teammates and compile a plan to confront the obstacles that they are destined to meet, particularly at the individual level. It is by this nurturing that, the student-athlete would learn which Nathan Hale they wish to be? Hale was a high school and Yale University student who became a Captain and patriot in the American Continental Army. He was most known for his famous, before-he-was hanged line “I only regret that I have but one life to give to my country”. It is by this nurturing that, the student-athlete would learn which Jonathan Livingston Seagull they would become? J. L. Seagull was a gull that did not want to remain as a scrap-getting seabird, but wanted to soar as eagles and sprint as the falcon. Without the challenges that are so naturally imminent and beautifully set in the workings and environment of the school, and in the rivalries of school sport and competition, the student-athletes would miss out on the awesome opportunity of learning the traits of leadership and “followship”, sacrifice, responsibility, accountability and the likes. These are the qualities that we so vividly saw finally emerging in our Warriors at the 2006 World Cup, and it began in the SSFL, taking many-a-year and trial to become what it is today.

Eric and Rudranath

In the final analysis, the transition from boy to man, from adolescent to adult, has to take its natural course. Such a transaction indicates that student-athletes interact with all of their life’s content, using their experiences, world knowledge, skills, motivation, and strategies to construct meaning in their lives and decision-making. Do allow our young men to be thoroughly feathered, physically nurtured, and emotionally and psychologically matured before we escort them to life’s new dawning!
We should try asking our great leaders of yesteryear, Dr. Eric Eustace Williams (PNM), and Dr. Rudranath Capildeo (DLP) what they would have us do. Both of these great men were QRC Island Scholarship Winners. I am a St. Mary’s boy and I would have preferred that they were too. By the way, Eustace captained his college’s football team and was known to be a “selfish forward” who always wanted the ball for he loved to score and did so often. I am certain that this contributed to his many “scorings” later in life. These men saw that the future was in our schoolbags, and in our school experiences, and in the hand-in-hand partnerships with the parents, churches, and communities. Now remember, if these young men are not playing sport, in this case, football, there will not be any schoolbags. This joint-ventured partnership will empower our student-athletes to impact, our nation, region, and eventually, the world for the glory of our lives, sport, work, and God. Let the young student-athletes, remain in their flow and keep up their glow. Allow them to bask in their school’s sun and environment unless of course, our country is under siege – then with absolute certainty, country shall take precedence over school.

In the short, before the “Warrior” can carry the sword or bear the weight of the armor, he must be strong, must know endurance, and the difference between skill and will, these, even if he does not until much later, understand his metamorphic nature.

Offline Trini_fan

Re: The Metamorphic Warrior.
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2006, 10:24:15 AM »
 :applause: :applause:

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2006, 10:43:04 AM »

eloquence does not equate to intelligence

what in there was worthy of applause?

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2006, 10:49:16 AM »

So you agree that the youth players on the national team should not play in the SSFL????

« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2006, 10:55:24 AM »
Najjer sounds like he sincerely wants to see progress. The tone is not hostile or xenophobic like Gally and the lot. But I want to say this:

The best in the world start young. The teams of the final of the U17 WC last year, like so many other teams at that tournament, had squads that came from professional clubs (some of them were already training with the full senior team at their clubs).We cannot compete with that.

If we want to strive to be the best we have to find a way either to make the transition solely to pro academies or to adopt world class techniques and structures in school football. I think the emotional pleas are unneccessary. As much as I acknowledge that school football is a part of the historical framework of football in this country I cannot ignore the fact that it is anything but world class.

I support any move to give our U16 team a better chance at qualifying for the WC. My national team is more important than any school.

With the supposed construction of a national football centre. We have a great chance to have live in camps year after year for successive youth teams. This facility ought to be equiped with a few class rooms and staffed with teachers, coaches, physios, phychologists etc.The season can continue without the national players.

« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2006, 10:58:42 AM »
Najjer sounds like he sincerely wants to see progress. The tone is not hostile or xenophobic like Gally and the lot. But I want to say this:

The best in the world start young. The teams of the final of the U17 WC last year, like so many other teams at that tournament, had squads that came from professional clubs (some of them were already training with the full senior team at their clubs).We cannot compete with that.

If we want to strive to be the best we have to find a way either to make the transition solely to pro academies or to adopt world class techniques and structures in school football. I think the emotional pleas are unneccessary. As much as I acknowledge that school football is a part of the historical framework of football in this country I cannot ignore the fact that it is anything but world class.

I support any move to give our U16 team a better chance at qualifying for the WC. My national team is more important than any school.

With the supposed construction of a national football centre. We have a great chance to have live in camps year after year for successive youth teams. This facility ought to be equiped with a few class rooms and staffed with teachers, coaches, physios, phychologists etc.The season can continue without the national players.

Really good post.  Opinion well articulated.   :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2006, 11:02:33 AM »
bless

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2006, 11:07:12 AM »

Good points however do you think the current Trinidadian 'mentality' allows for such?

« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2006, 11:51:33 AM »
 :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2006, 12:56:57 PM »
flex yuh win as usual bredda, ah BESS... :beermug:

God is de BOSS..

« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2006, 01:09:15 PM »

Good points however do you think the current Trinidadian 'mentality' allows for such?

If by "mentality" you are referring to the acceptability of a such a fundamental change in the football landscape I think that while there is some resistance, a great portion of the people will support it. Even haters like Vidale and Gally last night said that the football centre was a good idea. Ken Butcher in particular mentioned class rooms and dorms, that to me implies live-in camps. So I think there is support for it. The major issue is with the the schools. I don't see how the absence of 20-30 players will kill the league.

The other aspect of "mentality" or culture is how is would influence the exective operations of the football centre. We have a less than sterling record organisationally. In order for these things to work organisational expertise must be acquired to ensure the effective use of the new facility and tax payers' money. Will choose to adopt best practice, accountability and value-based decision making. The trend of nepotism ought to be discontinued.

My vision for such an institution is a organisation in the business of honing national teams. Our national teams must be seen as the product of this business. The administrators of this organisation must do work to add value to our teams. Everything from players emotional to atheletic development must be a concern. I think that approach is a much more dynamic one to that which now pertains. What happens now does not produce continuity in the overall value chain of the Trinidad and Tobago football. This organisation should operate in semi-autonmously from the TTFF. Coaches should concentrate on the physical, technical and tactical development of their respective teams and players. Permanent staff should be responsible for the other functions of the institution. But there must communication between stakeholders to facilitate planning and execution.

I think if we can get it right organisationally we don't have to worry about mentality too much. I think is the org. culture is such that it encourages accountability it will influence the behaviour of the various stakeholders.

« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2006, 10:04:51 PM »

I have to totally agree here.

When will we get it in our heads that right now only, just for this season the players should not play,granted they do have a plan in place for the youths. Not for the rest of their lives, just this year. Next year there will be no u17 WC to play in and we will have 4 yrs to fix the problem/lift the standard of the SSFL. What will the SSFL loose by ONE year letting 20 something players not play. And what would the counrty gain.

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2006, 02:32:10 AM »
De Haiti team dat play like if they coulda give our senior team ah real run ent play in any stupid gallery league.
Dey train together for 3 yrs an went on a African tour with there u 19 brothers , who by the way make TT look like ah girl guides team.
We can't be serious if the little talent pool we have spend valuable time playing in a league that pandering to gallery and flams.

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2006, 03:36:03 AM »
I am going to make a spirited attempt at refuting Mr Najjar's appeal.

Firstly he says " country before school" as if to cast us towards " country before club"
Unlike the schools the clubs pay big money for their players and they recover this by their success in a season , like a club making champions league second stage.
So what he does here is belittle the issue.

The second point he gets to is whether our recent performance in the CFU Youth tournament was really an acheivement, ofcourse again he starts it by quoting Corneal's comment about the low standard of the SSFL.
He does not say what his opinion of the standard of the SSFL is but rather alludes to the fact that we only beat Jamaica ( a team of substance) and he rambles on about the hyped SSFL season being available and players engaging in constant competition.
This competition is really hyped up and the only reason for this is because of school loyalties , media ,the girl factor and the priveleges the players get from the school administrations. It is not hyped up because of good skills, tactical play, endurance or an abundance of talent (there are however truly gifted players that you may count with your fingers)
How oes one measure adequate time to build a cohesive unit for a qualifying tournament ?
At the age these players are I suggest that the national coachs need as much time with the team that is availble right now.
In fact Mr Najjar recognises the team is not where it should be even at the just concluded tournament.
A little note on the coaching done in the schools, how much set plays have you seen these teams employ and use successfully over the years?
Normally the teams are put together over the August holidays and have little time to gel as units(this creates the individuals who pander to the gallery and the standouts but not team). In fact the only set play by any team that I saw used regularly was Pres south , a wall in front of the wall when they had direct frees in front of goal !

Mr Njjar thinks that removing 20 odd players from a SSFL that has over 400 players will further erode the quality of the league. No comment on this required , it is simply to silly a statement to comment on.
I fully agree with Mr Najjar that the friendlies against Mexico and Columbia should have been played, my reason though was to enable the local football fraternity (which includes supporters ) to have an early opportunity assess Mr Rijsbergen regardless of whether we lost both games or not (I personally think that was Wims reason not to play the games)
The last point in this chapter I have dealt wiyh previously.

The chapter Dutch Model Prolevel just repeats what was earlier written about apart from the Pro League problem.
If you take only Pro League players to play against any other side other than Carribean teams then our cutarse book, however Wim could of shown us a style that would have made of say yea or nay. We did not get that opportunity , so I agree with Najjar that the games should have been played but agree with Wim that the players aren't good enough for that particular opposition.

The rest of the appeal rambles on about who the SSFL produced blah blah blah.

The bottom line Mr Najjar is that we only have at any age group at the best of time 30 odd players who can be coached and nutured into a team that could perform creditably on an international stage and the work that was done with the u 16 players could and probably would be eroded by thier participation in the SSFL when that time could have been spent training a national TEAM that would stand a better chance of performing creditably against international opponents.

« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2006, 03:59:22 AM »

When will we get it in our heads that right now only, just for this season the players should not play,granted they do have a plan in place for the youths. Not for the rest of their lives, just this year. Next year there will be no u17 WC to play in and we will have 4 yrs to fix the problem/lift the standard of the SSFL. What will the SSFL loose by ONE year letting 20 something players not play. And what would the counrty gain.
I again make this plea for assistance in removing my head from the "fog of the unknowing". What really is this plan? Why does it merit implementation now? ??? ??? ??? ???

« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2006, 06:14:56 AM »
first of all the idea of early morning and afternoon training for the players is not realistic- those of you who do not live in our country cannot imagine that it takes 2 hours on the road for someone lving in Chaguanas to get to POS on a morning, unless you leave at 5.30, when it takes one hour!! that is also if you have your own transport- cos if you have to get a bus or taxi, then you have to leave at 5am. anywhere in the east and yu have to leave 30 mins earlier. this place is not nice to the travelling public.
 then where are these practice sessions to be held? If south players have to get to pos to train and then get back down to south to school, training is at 3.30am? is that practical? this is not a well thought out plan, otherwise maybe they are planning to get all the players from pos? really? who knows?
logistics have to be worked out before people start calling for all kinds of plans that work elsewhere. we do not live anywhere else but here. any plan must be specific to our situation. nothing else will work.

« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2006, 06:46:32 AM »
It is important to have players play in the SSFL.

1. Because the TTFF does not have a proper program for youth players and have to rely on clubs and schools to develop our players.

2. Without the SSFL how will clubs and the TTFF recognise these players in the first place.

3. By players playing in the SSFL it will allow them to be scouted to go to bigger and better things like a club picking them up or even gaining a scholarship.

4. Why should a few players who get pick to play for T&T be the only players getting recognise. And what will happen to the ones who get drop or the ones who was never called. They will go to the way side and then the TTFF will forget about them.

5. School football is very important. Players have to make the scrafice and the TTFF should work out a way where they can co-operate with the schools to have players train and play game like how we have international breaks for the senior teams. But in all fairness, if we have a progam for the under 17 team then yes, they should be given a little rest for some games in order to train with the national team.

6. We have 159 (men) players and 14 (women) playing in Colleges in North America, how do you think they got picked in the first place, because they did good for their school teams in T&T.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 07:42:00 AM by Flex »

« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2006, 07:00:27 AM »
first of all the idea of early morning and afternoon training for the players is not realistic- those of you who do not live in our country cannot imagine that it takes 2 hours on the road for someone lving in Chaguanas to get to POS on a morning, unless you leave at 5.30, when it takes one hour!! that is also if you have your own transport- cos if you have to get a bus or taxi, then you have to leave at 5am. anywhere in the east and yu have to leave 30 mins earlier. this place is not nice to the travelling public.
 then where are these practice sessions to be held? If south players have to get to pos to train and then get back down to south to school, training is at 3.30am? is that practical? this is not a well thought out plan, otherwise maybe they are planning to get all the players from pos? really? who knows?
logistics have to be worked out before people start calling for all kinds of plans that work elsewhere. we do not live anywhere else but here. any plan must be specific to our situation. nothing else will work.

So when do these kids train for SSFL ?
And where people get the idea that the plan is for them to train morning and evening.

Change is a hell of a thing.

« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2006, 07:07:47 AM »

1. Because the TTFF does not have a proper program for youth players and have to rely on clubs and schools to develop our players.

2. Without the SSFL how will clubs and the TTFF recognise these players in the first place.

3. By players playing in the SSFL it will allow them to be scouted to go to bigger and better things like a club picking them up or even gaining a scholarship.

4. Why should a few players who get pick to play for T&T be the only players getting recognise. And what will happen to the ones who get drop or the ones who was never called. They will go to the way side and then the TTFF will forget about them.

5. School football is very important. Players have to make the scrafice and the TTFF should work out a way where they can co-operate with the schools to have players train and play game like how we have international breaks for the senior teams. But in all fairness, if we have a progam for the under 17 team then yes, they should be given a little rest for some games in order to train with the national team.

6. We have 159 (men) players and 14 (women) playing in Colleges in North America, how do you think they got picked in the first place, because they did good for their school teams in T&T.

All the supportters of the live-in camp only:
Allyuh should re-read Point 2 and Point 6 of de man post

Moreover, how come allyuh suddenly giving credence to ANYTING the TTFF does propose...as if that organisation sudenly has become a fiscally responsible well oiled efficient group of thinkers

Is de same setta backward bacchanalists dat runnin de place long time..man cussin dem for years..NOW all of a sudden they have a GREAT idea?

Look if allyuh want to give yuh neck to de vampire go right ahead...but doh sacrifice we youths for a 'feel good' idea

They can do both..SSFL and 'elite' camp
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 07:42:23 AM by Flex »

« Reply #19 on: October 02, 2006, 08:01:52 AM »

All the supportters of the live-in camp only:
Allyuh should re-read Point 2 and Point 6 of de man post

Moreover, how come allyuh suddenly giving credence to ANYTING the TTFF does propose...as if that organisation sudenly has become a fiscally responsible well oiled efficient group of thinkers

Is de same setta backward bacchanalists dat runnin de place long time..man cussin dem for years..NOW all of a sudden they have a GREAT idea?

Look if allyuh want to give yuh neck to de vampire go right ahead...but doh sacrifice we youths for a 'feel good' idea

They can do both..SSFL and 'elite' camp

So what the SSFL will dry up and disappear if these youths dont play this year so they can train for the tournament??

So you feel by plaing International matches, representing their country and possibly playing in a Youth World Cup will hurt their chances of getting a scholaship??

oh gosh man!!!

« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2006, 08:07:09 AM »
 So Dutty, because of TTFF history they branded for life ?

Every youth team that come to TT and performed well  had one thing in common..... they played together for a long time and went on extensive tours ie the Haiti u 16 and u19 teams went on a 4 mth tour of Africa late last year.
If we still think that keeping the boys in the  school league then putting them together to train now and then for national service is good enough , then we deserve all the cutarse that come our way.

« Reply #21 on: October 02, 2006, 08:09:21 AM »

I again make this plea for assistance in removing my head from the "fog of the unknowing". What really is this plan? Why does it merit implementation now? ??? ??? ??? ???
Oh gosh somebody help mih nuh!!! What is the plan???? If there isn't one, them make up one that you feel would work. The vagueness is maddening ;D
« Last Edit: October 02, 2006, 08:11:22 AM by doc »

« Reply #22 on: October 02, 2006, 08:17:40 AM »

Oh gosh somebody help mih nuh!!! What is the plan???? If there isn't one, them make up one that you feel would work. The vagueness is maddening ;D

« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2006, 08:31:42 AM »

Lemmih use a bad analogy to answer that

If your brother is ah crackhead...ah serious piper, always lickin up ting in yuh house to get he next high

One day he gone to rehab, come out a few weeks later sayin he clean, he is ah changed man and he just want to stay by yuh for a couple days,,,yuh will still hide yuh TV and DVD player ent??

« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2006, 08:47:04 AM »
Ah read the last interview.......but not again....very good article but just to facking long !!

« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2006, 09:12:11 AM »

If your brother is ah crackhead...ah serious piper, always lickin up ting in yuh house to get he next high

One day he gone to rehab, come out a few weeks later sayin he clean, he is ah changed man and he just want to stay by yuh for a couple days,,,yuh will still hide yuh TV and DVD player ent??
you know something Dutty, yuh right...
that is a bad analogy!!!

« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2006, 09:32:52 AM »

you know something Dutty, yuh right...
that is a bad analogy!!!
well,, ah tell yuh was ah bad one  ;)

Hear wha I doh understand how allyuh fellahs so gung ho to have this elite ting....you applyin u.s. history of elite to ah place with a different culture and mindset

TTFF will take them youths in elite camp,,run dem ragged with 'discipline and structure' and if tihings doh work out..simply abandon it or slow funding ....as is/was the precedent in years past

ANYBODY that has done well on a global stage for T&T didnt get put in no camp , Bovell Ato,Hasley Yorke etc etc

Dem fellahs have a passion for the sport because they enjoy it,,the passion is what gives the discipline and drive to advance, the talent can be enhanced or focused later on

You put some youths in that kinda 'camp' go have 2 effects....egos will overpower or passionate flames for the game will be extinguished

Additionally, what about late bloomers...youths who wasnt all that hot when the scouting for 'the chosen ones' was in effect.....but later on find dey form?

Ah realize we go never agree on dis one mr. mc..but keep in mind is TTFF we talkin bout

« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2006, 09:49:49 AM »
Dutty I don't think you're making sense.

There is nothing wrong with giving the most talented individuals the opportunity to refine themselves even more in a professional environment. I don't think the comment about late bloomers is relevant at all. You have to choose the best players at any given time to work with. If you aren't in form at the time of scouting thats your fault. In any case  no such elite group should be cast in stone. There must be room for injection and ejection, done in a systematic way off course.

« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2006, 10:07:15 AM »
well, corneal mentioned a morning and evening programme, that's where I got it from..
I don't think i dreamt it.
I personally have nothing against change- but as I said before- where is the plan? the devil is in the details..if there is no plan, what is the point of just debarring the players from the ssl, huh?

« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2006, 10:19:45 AM »
Dutty I don't think you're making sense.

There is nothing wrong with giving the most talented individuals the opportunity to refine themselves even more in a professional environment. I don't think the comment about late bloomers is relevant at all. You have to choose the best players at any given time to work with. If you aren't in form at the time of scouting thats your fault. In any case  no such elite group should be cast in stone. There must be room for injection and ejection, done in a systematic way off course.

Well the late bloomers was mentioned as it seems the elite campers are picked and will be moulded into this footballing machine that everyone is expecting....at the detriment of possibly more talented players (diamonds in the rough, so to speak) that havent hit their stride yet ...remember is youths we talkin about whose bodies/minds are still growing and developing

Mind you I'm not against elite camps....but "banning" them from SSFL is silly...the SSFL is what ignited their passion for the game in the first place...they wanted to play for their school  and did tryouts to get onto the school team