March 28, 2024, 09:07:15 AM

Author Topic: Baseball World Series Thread..  (Read 11819 times)

Re: Baseball World Series Thread..
« Reply #30 on: October 15, 2006, 10:05:49 PM »
12-5 win.

Yeah, Glavine is next on 3 days. Games 6 & 7 starters are goats though plus Glavine I think is 2-5 playoff career on short rest. If Beltran and Delgado continue to produce then the Mets will have a chance. They're not going to score 12 runs every match though.

« Reply #31 on: October 16, 2006, 05:51:02 AM »
12-5 win.

Yeah, Glavine is next on 3 days. Games 6 & 7 starters are goats though plus Glavine I think is 2-5 playoff career on short rest. If Beltran and Delgado continue to produce then the Mets will have a chance. They're not going to score 12 runs every match though.

u is probaly the only man livin in T'dad that does follow baseball...

thats whats up  :beermug:

« Reply #32 on: October 16, 2006, 11:21:28 AM »
I don't really follow it much anymore. I tend to follow sports in general and when I lived in the U.S. it fell in naturally as one of the sports I followed. As it's the playoffs I've kept my eye on it though.

Since 1988 I've been a closet Mets fan so I'm hoping for the best here.  :devil:

« Reply #33 on: October 16, 2006, 01:59:39 PM »
12-5 win.

mets is meh team,be optimistic nah man.

« Reply #34 on: October 16, 2006, 06:29:11 PM »
game postponed, glavine gets another day of rest.  I like Jeff weaver a lot, esp after the yankees fans run him out of town, but I really hoping he not on his game tomorrow.

« Reply #35 on: October 17, 2006, 09:51:14 PM »
back to NY for game 6.  cards up 3-2.  they figured out glavine tonight

« Reply #36 on: October 18, 2006, 06:14:24 AM »
4 - 2 win for the Cardinals. Last 2 games (game 7 if necessary) will be in NY. They big problem for the Mets is still the pitching. The Cardinals ace is the starter for Game 6 vs rookie pitcher John Maine. As I said earlier, it's not everyday you're gonna get 12 runs so on these days when it doesn't happen the pitching and defense keeps you in the game.

« Reply #37 on: October 18, 2006, 08:09:34 AM »
ah still have hope fuh mets.

Offline sinned

« Reply #38 on: October 18, 2006, 04:29:46 PM »
i hope mets lose today.. i want carpenter to pitch well for the cards. in any case the tigers are gonna beat up on whoever else

« Reply #39 on: October 18, 2006, 06:41:33 PM »
no need for negative vibes.  reyes leads off with a homer to start the game off right

« Reply #40 on: October 18, 2006, 07:32:03 PM »
Well at the bottom of the 4th it's still 1-0 to the Mets. Maine has a 2-hitter going and is so far making a mockery of my lack of faith in him. Still plenty of time to go in the game though.

« Reply #41 on: October 18, 2006, 09:06:21 PM »
top of the 9th.  Billy Wagner pitching. defending a 4 run lead.  come on mets.

« Reply #42 on: October 18, 2006, 09:18:57 PM »
onto game 7.  4-2.  Don't know who's pitching for the mets.  maybe trachsel?

« Reply #43 on: October 18, 2006, 09:35:35 PM »
Steve Trachsel, Oliver Perez and long reliever Darren Oliver are the names being played with, but Trachsel is the conventional choice since he's apparently recovered from his bruised thigh. Perez isn't bad, but he's like the West Indies cricket team... never know what to expect from him.

The Mets had me nervous in the 9th when they gave up those 2 runs, but they did enough tonight. We'll see how they do in Game 7.

« Reply #44 on: October 19, 2006, 05:36:25 AM »
Steve Trachsel, Oliver Perez and long reliever Darren Oliver are the names being played with, but Trachsel is the conventional choice since he's apparently recovered from his bruised thigh. Perez isn't bad, but he's like the West Indies cricket team... never know what to expect from him.

The Mets had me nervous in the 9th when they gave up those 2 runs, but they did enough tonight. We'll see how they do in Game 7.

for a minute i taught the mets had really throw it away...

we looking for the win tonite  :beermug:

« Reply #45 on: October 19, 2006, 08:04:11 AM »
onto game 7.  4-2.  Don't know who's pitching for the mets.  maybe trachsel?
oliver perez

« Reply #46 on: October 19, 2006, 12:41:41 PM »
go cards!!!!!!!

« Reply #47 on: October 19, 2006, 09:40:24 PM »
why on earth randolph eh bunt 1st and 2nd nobody out in the 9th with a pinch hitter (even tho he could hit use a nex man) up the top of the order nex?
With the walk it wound up being the same, alltho 1 out late, but it eh make sence to me at the time

BTW Randolph look like FF  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 10:15:44 PM by ricky »

« Reply #48 on: October 19, 2006, 10:53:34 PM »
Tigers go have Cardinals to eat  :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #49 on: October 20, 2006, 07:43:11 AM »
a real heartbreaking loss for the mets last night.  things look bright for next season offensively, but Minaya will have to bring in at least one more young pitcher, Pedro, el duque, glavine and trachsel are all past their prime.

Cards will put up a better fight than all the experts predicting.

« Reply #50 on: October 20, 2006, 09:05:52 AM »
Not a good day for my teams at all... first CIC now the Mets.

Ah well, it's Friday.  :beermug:

« Reply #51 on: October 20, 2006, 09:21:57 AM »
next year we will take them. :(

« Reply #52 on: October 20, 2006, 10:50:03 AM »
that was a catch and a half  :o :o :o :o
"The first long drive to left field wound up in the webbing of Endy Chavez's glove as he crashed against the wall."
http://start.shaw.ca/start/enCA/Sports/SportsNewsArticle.htm?src=s102015A.xml
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #53 on: October 20, 2006, 11:24:28 AM »
The mets was still impressive this season...I have confidence that once they improve their picthing power they'll be an automatic playoff team next season...

The thing is , unless your name is Yankees, baseball teams rarely play the same way back to back seasons... :beermug:

« Reply #54 on: October 20, 2006, 03:37:24 PM »
why on earth randolph eh bunt 1st and 2nd nobody out in the 9th with a pinch hitter (even tho he could hit use a nex man) up the top of the order nex?
With the walk it wound up being the same, alltho 1 out late, but it eh make sence to me at the time

BTW Randolph look like FF  :rotfl:

didnt matter beltran wouldve went window shopping anyway and end the game  ;D

« Reply #55 on: October 21, 2006, 02:58:57 PM »
ok who goin and watch de game with me here?

I took this panorama ( two pictures merged into one) when I watched them play in 2004

« Reply #56 on: October 22, 2006, 06:34:00 AM »
This is why when de U.S plays Cuba and Japan dey does get beat up bad in baseball.. dem call a team from New york playing a team from some other part a de U.S  a "world series" to local team playing and dem assholes bawling , wolrd series..  ..baseball is a battyman sport!!!!!!!!!!!!
war..

« Reply #57 on: October 22, 2006, 08:04:59 PM »
They do that with all their sports... they call the winners of the Super Bowl or Basketball championships the "world" champions. Even if occassionally the team probably is the best in the world unless the "world" had an opportunity to compete for it I think it's just arrogant nonsense.

« Reply #58 on: October 22, 2006, 08:27:21 PM »
We been through this once before the term "World" for world series is due to the fact a newspaper called "the World" sponsored the first one, thus the name.  Just like all them bowl games called "fed ex orange bowl" etc
The name stuck most likely due to the American arrogant nonsense you talk about but the original name has nothing to do with world in terms of global.  However you guys are correct in assuming 70% of the American public thinks it means world in terms of global.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 08:31:04 PM by ricky »

« Reply #59 on: October 23, 2006, 12:18:01 PM »
I just learned something. Thanks Ricky.