April 16, 2024, 12:16:13 AM

Author Topic: Marvin Andrews returns to Raith Rovers.  (Read 13425 times)

Marvin Andrews returns to Raith Rovers.
« on: October 04, 2006, 08:28:14 AM »
Raith Rovers return for big Marv.
By: Craig Smith (Evening Telegraph).

Raith Rovers have announced the sensational return of fans’ favourite Marvin Andrews to Stark’s Park today on a three-year deal.
The 30-year-old has attracted the interest of a number of clubs since being released by Rangers in the summer.
But Raith manager Craig Levein has staged something of a coup for the Kirkcaldy club by capturing the towering defender’s signature.
Exact details of how the player’s wages will be funded have not been disclosed by Raith, although Andrews will move on a free transfer following his departure from Ibrox.
The Trinidad and Tobago international quickly established himself as a cult hero with fans after joining in September 1997, making 63 league appearances and scoring five times in his term at Stark’s Park.
Rovers sold Andrews to Livingston for around £50,000 in September 2000 and he joined Rangers in 2004.
Rovers manager Levein said Andrews’ return only confirmed his belief that the club had the potential to progress up the division.
“Marvin has over 100 caps for his country and has amassed a great deal of experience, which makes him a significant presence on the park,” he said.
“He will give everyone a huge confidence boost, especially the young guys, who will feed off his composure.
“As he’s shown many times before, Marvin is a great personality and a proven winner — and the fact he has turned down offers from England and Scotland sends a great message to the fans. This is a club on the up.”
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 09:32:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Marvin Andrews returns to Raith Rovers
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2006, 08:31:35 AM »
He is only 30?
Not bad. I thought he was older than that. He has a next WC in him

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2006, 08:33:04 AM »
 :applause:
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2006, 08:46:55 AM »
Well done to Dog but has he gotten his knee sorted yet?

Can anyone confirm?

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2006, 08:56:56 AM »
he has not have any surgury yet but it most be feeling better

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 08:57:45 AM »
Taken from www.bbc.com---->www.raithroversfc.com

Marvin Andrews’ return to Starks Park today has an added significance for the local community with the Rovers legend announcing the setting up of the new Marvin Andrews Youth Development Trust.
Already known for his strong commitment to local people, Marvin’s new Development Trust is being set up to pioneer youth and community work. The big defender will be the Chairman and leader of the new Trust.
Backed by support from the club and the Fife Free Press, the Trust will promote youth work among teenagers and improve youth services in the area.

A key aim of the Trust is to make sports, particularly football, a central feature of future youth community work. Planned initiatives include Midnight football.

Bank of Scotland Scottish Premier League Table
    P GD PTS
1 Celtic 9 10 22
2 Hearts 9 9 19
3 Rangers 9 5 15 --------------------(Andrews left)
4 St Mirren 9 -1 13
5 Aberdeen 9 1 12
6 Kilmarnock 9 -6 12
7 Hibernian 9 2 11
8 Inverness CT 9 0 11
9 Falkirk 9 -6 10 -----------------(Latas)
10 Dunfermline 9 -3 8
11 Dundee Utd 9 -6 8-----------(Colin Samuel)
12 Motherwell 9 -5 7

Below are the team standings in the leagues below the top league (Scottish Premier League.) So English Championship is at the same rung as Scottish First Division (2nd tier). Andrews is going to division 2 (3rd tier)

Scottish Football League Championship First Division Table
    P GD PTS
1 Gretna 8 11 16
2 Livingston 8 9 16
3 St Johnstone 8 8 16 -----------(Scotland)
4 Partick 8 -5 14
5 Dundee 8 6 13
6 Hamilton 7 -4 11
7 Clyde 7 1 9
8 Ross County 8 -8 6
9 Airdrie Utd 8 -8 4
10 Queen of South 8 -10 2

Scottish Football League Championship Second Division Table
    P GD PTS
1 Morton 9 17 23
2 Stirling 9 5 16
3 Ayr 9 0 16
4 Cowdenbeath 9 9 14
5 Peterhead 9 3 11
6 Brechin 9 0 11
7 Stranraer 9 -5 11
8 Raith 9 -1 10--------------(Andrews)
9 Alloa 9 -11 6
10 Forfar 9 -17 5

Scottish Football League Championship Third Division Table
    P GD PTS
1 East Fife 9 7 19
2 Arbroath 9 8 18
3 Montrose 9 -1 17
4 Stenhousemuir 9 2 16
5 Berwick 9 2 14
6 Dumbarton 9 3 13
7 Queens Park 9 -1 11
8 Albion 9 -3 11
9 East Stirling 9 -4 10
10 Elgin 9 -13 0

Very proud of Andrews. He knows exactly what he is doing and how he can contribute and lengthen his career.

« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 09:15:13 AM »
steups!!

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2006, 09:18:42 AM »

3 years.  :-X

Hope Raith shop his around for a substantial transfer fee.

Good luck Marvin.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2006, 09:21:13 AM »
Am glad he find a club i hope spann and theobald get something soon!!!!

Re: Marvin Andrews returns to Raith Rovers.
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2006, 09:56:40 AM »
Marvin is an interesting character....seems like he is more into people and living  than wages and best economic move I hope the move is a good one for him and i feel he is blessed

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2006, 09:58:45 AM »
steups!!

Exactly.  If what we read about Reading was true, then Marvin make a serious drop.  AH hope is not because he didn't want to have knee surgery, and more about him wanting to stay near his church. Not exactly the level you want to see your national center back playing at.

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2006, 10:01:26 AM »
This is the kind of thing that bothers me. Gally and Vidale still talking about Latapy. I am more concerned with where we will get 2-3 good central defenders.

Steups for real !

« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2006, 10:08:58 AM »
This a 2 divisions below his level !!... :thumbsdown:

« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2006, 10:12:27 AM »
He might as well come back in the Pro League. I'm not joking. 3rd Division in Scotland is probably on the same level of the Pro League.

« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2006, 10:16:03 AM »
I am glad the man has a job period as he would have been expected to quit football entirely or stay on the bench in a hbigger club and waste time with the manager's mind games. Apparently at Rovers he can best formulate a survival plan for himself, family, schooling of children, property, investment etc, who knows. and minimize disruption to his life at the end of his career. Yuh have to plan for life after football (and with his knee, life after football is coming quick) so I cyah understand all the steupsing. Its not only about the bling bling or how it go look on socawarriors website. Out there eh easy breds. Things that we NEVER could understand probably went into that decision.

« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2006, 10:20:03 AM »
money cyah buy life or happiness. Possible reason for signing with Raith:

Andrews returns to Raith Rovers   

GLASGOW, Oct 4 (Reuters) - Trinidad & Tobago defender Marvin Andrews, a devout Christian who turned down a move to Reading because it was too far from his church, has re-joined Scottish third division club Raith Rovers.

The 30-year-old spent two years with Raith before moving to Livingston and Rangers before being released in the close season by incoming manager Paul Le Guen.

Raith are based in the Fife town of Kirkcaldy where Andrews preaches at the Zion Praise International Church.

Andrews caused a stir last season when he turned to the power of prayer to heal a cruciate knee ligament injury.

The powerful defender confounded medical experts, who had recommended surgery, by returning to action in a matter of weeks.(from Yahoo Sports)
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 10:21:42 AM by Andre »

« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2006, 11:02:01 AM »
I happy he didn't quit football. :thumbsup:

« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2006, 11:13:32 AM »
Me eh like dat move, ah doh know what he was thinking tuh accept dat, but say war, man have tuh live and feed dey family. Bless.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 11:17:26 AM by SUPA »

« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2006, 11:45:16 AM »
money cyah buy life or happiness. Possible reason for signing with Raith:

Raith are based in the Fife town of Kirkcaldy where Andrews preaches at the Zion Praise International Church.

This is probably the main reason. There were offers from bigger clubs i.e. Reading and Motherwell

I thought he had quit football for good to focus on preaching, but maybe he want a balance of both

« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2006, 11:47:27 AM »
i tell you

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2006, 11:50:07 AM »
as jah goal say is best de man did come back and play in de pro-league atleast he wud of been able tuh help develope one two up and comers and add ah bit more quality tuh de league in terms of defense.
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2006, 11:56:12 AM »
Something tells me that football is not the number one priority in his life right now. i sure Marvin looks back in his life and regrets nothing. He just happy to play football in conjunction with his developing Ministerial career. He is living life on his own terms, he has played football at the highest level in scotland and unlike most others he declined a contract as opposed to being optimistic about being offered one.

« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2006, 12:00:12 PM »
in all the overseas players he is the only one playing at such a level,A LOW LEVEL THAT IS STEUPS,he might as well go plant some corn and forget about football

« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2006, 01:27:33 PM »
Rangers better be careful...look how low Raith reach since Andrews leave them  :devil:
Livingston made the drop too...it could be a pattern when u no longer have God's #1 footballer playing for you.

« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2006, 01:31:04 PM »
in all the overseas players he is the only one playing at such a level,A LOW LEVEL THAT IS STEUPS,he might as well go plant some corn and forget about football

atiba charles also...

« Reply #25 on: October 04, 2006, 02:44:50 PM »
You'll may be vex with his decision and to a point I am too.But one thing you must admire about Dog is that he is not influence by anyone and he beats to his own drum.Not that of money , people places or things.Yuh must admire that.

« Reply #26 on: October 04, 2006, 03:24:35 PM »
dog

this is the most stupid football move ever and i am totally and wholeheartedly dissapointed in the turn of events

enjoy third devision boss

shotta

« Reply #27 on: October 04, 2006, 03:53:29 PM »
All the men who vex with his move and have a tertiary level education and more than five years of experience the country need your intellect. 

Start posting names of who coming back to stop the brain drain.  :devil:

Who vex loss. Andrews make a decision about his life and his faith. I glad he still kicking some kinda ball. Who know maybe he could link somebody from the PFL.

It does amaze me how men here does want people to sacrifice they life for Trinidad football and they themselves leave the country and ain't want to come back.

« Reply #28 on: October 04, 2006, 04:35:49 PM »
wow dis kill me
from rangers to raith

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2006, 06:57:09 PM »
I have developed a tremendous respect for Marvin Andrews. Although this is not the best footballing decision he could have made, he has proven that his commitment to his faith is the important thing. He wants to enjoy this game - not be a slave to it and de paper - We can learn from Marvin.
Marvin is useing football as an empowerment tool - well done Andrews.