April 24, 2024, 04:47:40 AM

Author Topic: UPDATE - Game on from 6:30pm today.  (Read 2709 times)

UPDATE - Game on from 6:30pm today.
« on: October 07, 2006, 11:54:05 AM »
St Vincent collects a handful.

For one evening, with money off their minds, Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers demonstrated their superiority over World Cup rivals St Vincent and the Grenadines with a 5-0 victory in Saturday’s friendly international at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
Playing before a crowd of 4,116 fans, the Dwight Yorke led team of which the World Cup players  signaled their intentions to consider retiring from the international stage due to contract disputes with the TTFF, left all their worries off the field as they outplayed the visiting Vincentians.
A double by a much fitter looking Stern John, a fabulous strike by Chris Birchall and one each by Yorke and Kerry Baptiste had the fans cheering on.
T&T showed early intentions to take control of proceedings. Inside the opening five minutes, defender Atiba Charles found Carlos Edwards out on the right and he played inside for John whose effort narrowly missed the target.
The Vincentians took long to settle and paid the price for it. On 13 minutes after Edwards was brought down by Markneil Lewis, Yorke’s header was cleared and Birchall did the rest, smoothly unleashing a low right footer which went in off the right post.
A sharp looking John then hit one wide and then after leaving his man for dead, he saw his right footer crash off the crossbar on 35 minutes.
A bit earlier the Coventry City man made no mistake though when goalie Melvin Andrews failed to handle Birchall’s cross and he was on spot to tuck it home after 24 minutes. Strike partner Jason Scotland also had a good try at goal before the interval.
With a 2-0 lead at the break, T&T picked the pace up again after the resumption. This time, John had a time as he left two defenders and eased the ball over the advancing Andrews for a 3-0 lead on 48 minutes.
As the game went on, St Vincent did manage some tries on goal but goalie Jan Michael Williams kept them at bay with some flawless work between the sticks. And frustration kept in as the visitors lost Benford Joseph (two yellow cards) and Dexter Walker in quick succession to play the final 25 minutes with nine men. 
Following the foul on Kenwyne Jones which led to the second sending off, Yorke picked his spot with ease, sending the ball into the left of the net from the free kick. And substitute Baptiste met a left side cross from John and hammered home on his first touch of the match to complete the rout. Next up, T&T are scheduled to face Panama at the same venue on Wednesday from 6:30pm.

Line-Up.

1.Jan Michael Williams; 8.Cyd Gray, 2.Atiba Charles (Andre Toussaint 70th), 6.Dennis Lawrence, 13.Nigel Daniel; 11.Carlos Edwards (18.Kerry Baptiste 75th), 7.Christopher Birchall, 19.Dwight Yorke (capt), 12.Collin Samuel; 20.Jason Scotland (15.Kenwyne Jones 60th), 14.Stern John.
News from the 07th of October 2006.

Game on from 6:30pm today.

Pursuant to the undertaking given by the TTFF that we would, by noon today, advise of developments in the situation involving The Soca Warriors, we wish to advise that the game against St Vincent & the Grenadines will proceed as scheduled from 6.30 pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
Captain Dwight Yorke and the full squad will take the field as originally agreed and for the purpose for which they had been brought to Trinidad & Tobago by the Football Federation. Although nothing in their statement indicated otherwise, we felt the need to proceed with caution, given the degree of surprise with which the players' news conference was sprung upon us yesterday.
We take this opportunity to reiterate that the players had agreed to ventilate the causative issue on Monday and we were surprised when, notwithstanding this decision,  their representatives chose the course of action that they did.

Today's start team is as follows:

Jan Michael Williams, Cyd Gray, Atiba Charles, Dennis Lawrence, Nigel Daniel, Carlos Edwards, Christopher Birchall, Dwight Yorke (capt), Collin Samuel, Jason Scotland, Stern John.

Subs:

Marvin Phillip, Dwayne Jack, Avery John, Kerry Baptiste, Andrei Pacheco, Andre Toussaint, Kenwyne Jones.

Sincerely,
Richard Groden,
General Secretary,
Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2006, 07:48:44 AM by Flex »

Re: Posted on TTFF: UPDATE - GAME ON FROM 6:30PM TODAY
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2006, 11:57:32 AM »
thank god......... dat starting line up kinnda weird doe   scotty ..jones and stern

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2006, 12:05:43 PM »
UPDATE - GAME ON FROM 6:30PM TODAY 

Pursuant to the undertaking given by the TTFF that we would, by noon today, advise of developments in the situation involving The Soca Warriors, we wish to advise that the game against St Vincent & the Grenadines will proceed as scheduled from 6.30 pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Captain Dwight Yorke and the full squad will take the field as originally agreed and for the purpose for which they had been brought to Trinidad & Tobago by the Football Federation. Although nothing in their statement indicated otherwise, we felt the need to proceed with caution, given the degree of surprise with which the players' news conference was sprung upon us yesterday.

We take this opportunity to reiterate that the players had agreed to ventilate the causative issue on Monday and we were surprised when, notwithstanding this decision,  their representatives chose the course of action that they did.  (Oct 7, 2006)

Today's Start Team is as follows :Jan Michael Williams, Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray,Carlos Edwards, Chris Birchall,Collin Samuel,Jason Scotland, Stern John, Dennis Lawrence, Kenwyne Jones, Dwight Yorke.

Subs: Marvin Phillip, Dwayne Jack, Andre Toussaint, Nigel Daniel, Avery John, Kerry Baptiste and, Andrei Pacheco

Sincerely,

Richard Groden,

General Secretary,

Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation

steups...a failed attempt to turn the fans against the players.

« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2006, 01:25:01 PM »
Curious to see what formation we play with that lineup.  Potentially 3 strikers unless Jones or Scotland drop back to midfield.  Wonder if Edwards is playing right back like he did at the WC or if we go with 3 at the back.  So much for giving the youth a chance to blend with the senior players

« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2006, 01:37:46 PM »
Curious to see what formation we play with that lineup.  Potentially 3 strikers unless Jones or Scotland drop back to midfield.  Wonder if Edwards is playing right back like he did at the WC or if we go with 3 at the back.  So much for giving the youth a chance to blend with the senior players

could be a 3-4-3

--jah michael---

--Atiba---           --Lawrence---      ---Cyd----

---Carlos                 ---Birchall--             ---Yorke---          ---Samuel---

---Jones                         ---Scotty---
                                     --STERN 14--

« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2006, 01:46:37 PM »
that could be the line-up right dey. With no Whitley or Latas, that is our best midfield.
Good to see our 1st team playing (w/ exception of Sancho and Avery). We eh win a game since Iceland and I real itching for a nice convincing victory.

« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2006, 01:49:01 PM »
No bad Small Mag. But i think Cyd needs to replace Atiba on the right and left footed Avery is to replace Cyd on the left. Not sure though that we are ready for 3 n the back umless Carlos and Samuel do a hell of a lot of running as we are historically vulnerable to conter-attack down the wings if our wing backs ran forward. I expect the youngsters to come on as substitutes with less pressure after Yorkie and dem buss net. Just like in cricket, blood yuh young players in favourable conditions to protect them from excessive pressure and fear of failure

« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2006, 01:58:31 PM »
Ah like that line up SM !!

« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2006, 02:12:41 PM »
what kind ah lineup is that why not start more of the local players along with the foreign based steeps boy i tell you

« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2006, 02:16:27 PM »
anybody see hardest agent..Captain Bung? aka TI

« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2006, 02:20:21 PM »

Nah, de youths will get ah chance. Wim needs a win so he just using de more experienced players to soften up SVG before he leggo de youths. If he plays more of the youngsters at de start and we concede a goal or 2, we doh want to be playing catch up in we own yard.

« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2006, 03:15:21 PM »
Nah, de youths will get ah chance. Wim needs a win so he just using de more experienced players to soften up SVG before he leggo de youths. If he plays more of the youngsters at de start and we concede a goal or 2, we doh want to be playing catch up in we own yard.
Ya really tink he want to loose de game like Jamrock?
not at all...big guns on de pitch.
Go Warriors Go
onto Africa 2010
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.