April 26, 2024, 03:41:41 AM

Author Topic: $5,644.08 per man.  (Read 6979 times)

Offline royalian

$5,644.08 per man.
« on: October 08, 2006, 10:50:58 PM »
Warner silent as Warrior spirit fades.
T&T Express Reports.

T&TFF $5,644.08 per man W/Cup bonus falls short of expectation.

FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser, Jack Warner, maintained his silence yesterday, as the Soca Warriors continued to slide towards disbandment.
On Friday evening, the Warriors, led by team captain Dwight Yorke, declared their intention to resign from international duty due to an alleged breach of contract by the T&TFF.
A hasty release from T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden, which erroneously accused the players of planning a boycott of Saturday's friendly against St Vincent and the Grenadines, suggested that the problem lay with the distribution of sponsorship money.
Groden submitted an unaudited statement of income and expenditure to the national media, which claimed that the T&TFF received $18,255,952 for its part in the Germany 2006 World Cup.
The players are believed to be concerned about the accuracy of the T&TFF's accounting.
For starters, there was no mention of money accrued from television rights. The deal, which was agreed to between the players and Warner two days before the first leg World Cup play-off against Bahrain, controversially failed to share television money for the Bahrain legs, as well as a host of friendly matches against the likes of Iceland, Wales and the Czech Republic. These matches were televised throughout Europe by high-profile stations like Sky Sports and Euro Sports.
There is worry that several sponsors were omitted or figures doctored as well.
The T&TFF's accountant for this project, by its own admission, is Kenny Rampersad, who was revealed to be Warner's business partner during investigations on Simpaul Travel Services last December. Rampersad, at the time, was mandated to act on Simpaul's behalf.
Worse, as far as the players were concerned, the T&TFF then deducted expenses before handing over the Warriors' share. And a $9 million share was reduced to $141,102 to be split 25 ways-24 players and one share for the players' committee.
Last Thursday, Yorke and his teammates were told that their reward for taking Trinidad and Tobago to its inaugural World Cup-a feat that secured them a place in FIFA's history book as well as $1 million and a Chaconia (Gold) medal each from the Government-was worth TT$5,644.08 per player to the T&TFF.
In short, Groden contended that sponsors hustling to get on board after the team's qualification for the Germany World Cup insisted that the T&TFF put aside one third of their money for the 2010 campaign, which must not benefit the present players.
Even if the T&TFF was honest in its assessment that money be split only after deducting expenditure, the local body calculated expenses from February 2005 while the deal with the players was done nine months later.
The income and expenses section had questionable figures too.
In near two years-a period that included six World Cup qualifiers and the farewell fixture for retired legend Russell Latapy-the T&TFF claimed to receive just $5,217 from its bar. The bar was clearly a monumental failure considering that, in the expenses column, $238,715 was subtracted for refreshments.
A paltry $20,000 was budgeted for the sale of banners over the same period, with $300,000 for broadcast rights as well as $9.3 and $8.6 million for ticket sales and sponsorship, respectively.
Yorke might have been surprised to note that the players were paying their own salaries too. The players' match fees, allowances, accommodation and transportation were all deducted from their World Cup bonus package, as were the T&TFF's "FIFA/CONCACAF dues", gate equipment and scouting fees.
Yorke does not hold an accounting degree, but he clearly felt that something was awry.
"We cannot see how we can build on anything if the contracts that we enter into are not worth the paper they are written on. It is for these reasons we now feel the need to say goodbye to the international stage," said Yorke, who read from a prepared statement on Friday.
It is Warner who agreed a contract with the Warriors, but, to date, only Groden has defended the T&TFF's interpretation of it.
Yorke was scheduled to leave Trinidad yesterday evening to return to his employers, Sunderland FC in England. The Warriors' 5-0 win over St Vincent might be the last time that local fans see him sport national colours. T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes could not confirm Warner's whereabouts yesterday.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 02:58:50 AM by Flex »

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
Re: $5,644.08 per man
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2006, 11:46:26 PM »
www.trinidadexpress.com

Warner silent as Warrior spirit fades

T&TFF $5,644.08 per man W/Cup bonus falls short of expectation

Monday, October 9th 2006

Jack Warner

FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser, Jack Warner, maintained his silence yesterday, as the Soca Warriors continued to slide towards disbandment.

On Friday evening, the Warriors, led by team captain Dwight Yorke, declared their intention to resign from international duty due to an alleged breach of contract by the T&TFF.

A hasty release from T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden, which erroneously accused the players of planning a boycott of Saturday's friendly against St Vincent and the Grenadines, suggested that the problem lay with the distribution of sponsorship money.

Groden submitted an unaudited statement of income and expenditure to the national media, which claimed that the T&TFF received $18,255,952 for its part in the Germany 2006 World Cup.

The players are believed to be concerned about the accuracy of the T&TFF's accounting.

For starters, there was no mention of money accrued from television rights. The deal, which was agreed to between the players and Warner two days before the first leg World Cup play-off against Bahrain, controversially failed to share television money for the Bahrain legs, as well as a host of friendly matches against the likes of Iceland, Wales and the Czech Republic. These matches were televised throughout Europe by high-profile stations like Sky Sports and Euro Sports.

There is worry that several sponsors were omitted or figures doctored as well.

The T&TFF's accountant for this project, by its own admission, is Kenny Rampersad, who was revealed to be Warner's business partner during investigations on Simpaul Travel Services last December. Rampersad, at the time, was mandated to act on Simpaul's behalf.

Worse, as far as the players were concerned, the T&TFF then deducted expenses before handing over the Warriors' share. And a $9 million share was reduced to $141,102 to be split 25 ways-24 players and one share for the players' committee.

Last Thursday, Yorke and his teammates were told that their reward for taking Trinidad and Tobago to its inaugural World Cup-a feat that secured them a place in FIFA's history book as well as $1 million and a Chaconia (Gold) medal each from the Government-was worth TT$5,644.08 per player to the T&TFF.

In short, Groden contended that sponsors hustling to get on board after the team's qualification for the Germany World Cup insisted that the T&TFF put aside one third of their money for the 2010 campaign, which must not benefit the present players.

Even if the T&TFF was honest in its assessment that money be split only after deducting expenditure, the local body calculated expenses from February 2005 while the deal with the players was done nine months later.

The income and expenses section had questionable figures too.

In near two years-a period that included six World Cup qualifiers and the farewell fixture for retired legend Russell Latapy-the T&TFF claimed to receive just $5,217 from its bar. The bar was clearly a monumental failure considering that, in the expenses column, $238,715 was subtracted for refreshments.

A paltry $20,000 was budgeted for the sale of banners over the same period, with $300,000 for broadcast rights as well as $9.3 and $8.6 million for ticket sales and sponsorship, respectively.

Yorke might have been surprised to note that the players were paying their own salaries too. The players' match fees, allowances, accommodation and transportation were all deducted from their World Cup bonus package, as were the T&TFF's "FIFA/CONCACAF dues", gate equipment and scouting fees.

Yorke does not hold an accounting degree, but he clearly felt that something was awry.

"We cannot see how we can build on anything if the contracts that we enter into are not worth the paper they are written on. It is for these reasons we now feel the need to say goodbye to the international stage," said Yorke, who read from a prepared statement on Friday.

It is Warner who agreed a contract with the Warriors, but, to date, only Groden has defended the T&TFF's interpretation of it.

Yorke was scheduled to leave Trinidad yesterday evening to return to his employers, Sunderland FC in England. The Warriors' 5-0 win over St Vincent might be the last time that local fans see him sport national colours.

T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes could not confirm Warner's whereabouts yesterday.

What d hell wrong with d TTFF boy...how d arse dey go deduct match fees, transportation fees etc from d players bonuses....If dats d case and dis is what really happened, then I fully support the decision dat the guys took dis weekend about threatening to retire from Int'l duty...Is time somebody stand up to dis fly by nite, sorry ass excuse for a football administration we call the TTFF.. >:( >:(
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2006, 12:19:35 AM »
 :rotfl: daiz like your boss deducting the office rent ,utilities and machine use from your pay  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl: what a joke

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2006, 12:21:17 AM »
I not defending TTFF, but since when do players get a slice of television rights - thats ridiculous.

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2006, 12:33:41 AM »
I not defending TTFF, but since when do players get a slice of television rights - thats ridiculous.

Read again, they are not demanding a share of television rights. What they were sayin is that in the accountants report of all money collected from the campaign, there was know mention of monies collected from television rights for friendly games played in Europe prior to the W. Cup...Apparently a deal was made as well by Warner for a share in T.V rights with the guys for the Bahrain game...If thats the case then they are right to protest for this also..
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2006, 12:35:34 AM »
http://www.coloradorapids.com/news/newsdetails.asp?ID=1551

like in the story above I would have thought that each player would be given a base figure and then an apperence fee for each game selected for and played in.
Doing all of this after the fact, gives me the impression that the TTFF ( Special Advisor) is NOT a very professional person.  More like a person who bullies and forces HIS way upon others. It is a shame that nothing was setup before hand.
It could be that the players were told that their compensation package would be based upon what sort of income from ALL sources the TTFF were able to get.
But still it reeks of "Ticket Take it or leave it" dont you find?
JMHO
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 12:47:19 AM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2006, 07:09:37 AM »

DOES NOT MATTER. TTFF need to handle their own bloody expenses not deduct it from money the players rightfully earned. ALL WARRIOR ACCOUNTANTS JUMP ON THIS AND SEND A LETTER OF PETITION TO THE TTFF TO REVEAL ALL!!

TALLMAN IT IS TIME FOR A WARRIOR NATION PROTEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THEY HAVE AT LEAST 1000 TRUE SUPPORTERS ON THIS FORUM AND WE NEED TO SEND A LETTER TO THE TTFF, GUARDIAN AND EXPRESS AND ASSOCIATED PRESS. WE SHOULD NOT REMIAN SILENT ON THIS ISSUE

ALL FOR A PETITION SAY AYE!!!!!
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 07:12:22 AM by grskywalker »

Re: $5,644.08 per man.
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2006, 07:21:16 AM »
Ok, Jackula and TTFF need to be told: "Thanks for showing your version of the accounting sheet, but ahem,  show us the revenue for the TV rights again please. Somehow, that escaped us and we know you would never omit that on purpose". Flecking crooks!  Meanwile Sky Sports and other media companies need to be approached. Lasana, Jennings and relevant attorneys for the warriors get ready for the big story. When a contract is breached, you sue and force documents to be revealed (especially if research into this matter cannot find the paper trail. Simple

« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2006, 08:15:25 AM »
it seem like people in the ttff are afraid to come foward and spek up... warner pay them they money nuh

Offline royalian

« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2006, 08:52:33 AM »
I just have one question in all this: Didn't the gov't reimburse TTFF for all their expenses with respect to Germany? This has to be double accounting.

« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2006, 08:54:08 AM »
$5,644.08 TT per man is obscene.

« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2006, 08:59:40 AM »

TT Dollars!!???

That's only $910 US they could do better than that. That is nothing by International Standards

« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2006, 09:06:58 AM »

Quite right grimm01. Very obscene and an insult to the fans who, this stammering jackass must assume, are illiterate and easily swayed by bullshit talk. Shame on us if tiefin' a wine in a crowd after one of our players scores, matters more than sobering up for a minute and standing up for our collective self respect and sports heroes' dignity. No damn football till dis blasted ting solved!

« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2006, 09:15:37 AM »

dat is reall lousy on the TTFF  fix that up immedieatly

« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2006, 10:10:09 AM »

What were the exact details of the agreement.
All that should have been on paper and legally binding to avoid this room for changing the numbers.

The papers are referring to a Players Assoc. now....not sure if that is something informal.

Audited reports will need to be produced for this...no doubt about that.  Player conflict or not the numbers need to be produced...and from an independent auditor.

Can't ask for money without it.

« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2006, 10:15:46 AM »

All that should have been on paper and legally binding to avoid this room for changing the numbers.

The papers are referring to a Players Assoc. now....not sure if that is something informal.

Audited reports will need to be produced for this...no doubt about that.  Player conflict or not the numbers need to be produced...and from an independent auditor.

Of course. Why are we so powerless to demand that? How could anybody have an excuse not to reveal the proper accounting/auditing. I wish I were in those TTFF meetings boy or when they have a meet the press session

« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2006, 10:26:35 AM »
I eh need to know whatthey sign to know that it have to be more than $5644.08. They cyah be serious.

« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2006, 10:37:53 AM »
Not even $1000 US no way, where the other zeros gone? Best them fellas run the bar themselves, stay in their own TT homes eat their own food.  That way no deduction from match fees.
TTFF-one of a kind, agree to 1 thing and give me that, i woulda tell em keep that and yeah put it toward the 2010 campaign like that where it really going.  But 1 request please stick a third of it up Ollie Camps behind also.

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2006, 10:39:39 AM »

If I remember correctly Jack declared that the players will get 50% of all money received by the TTFF.

« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2006, 11:22:25 AM »
ACCOUNTBILTY  ...that is the word isn't it ... the TTFF , an old ship with a new coat of paint every 4 years needs a replacement. It will not happen !!! Not even by consensus on this forum. ...because you cant get that here !
The call for accounability by albertatrini and others was never heeded ...I guess once the TTFF kept us happy with promises no one cared. If you enquired about the terms of refence of the employees OF THE ttff certain forumites even moderators asked why you didn't ask that before.
So they hired WIM, Colin Croft, kept on Shabazz, regardless of hiis succes or lack thereof.. SAY ONE THING DO SOMETHING ELSE,but who cares ...once we beat de Vincy heat or Nicaragua ...it does not matter....and panama we moving smooth.
Look how vocal Jack was for the government to pay up !! Now like jack horse ?? i remember enquiring about the TTFF contribution to the players after qualification ..... now maybe people will finally realise that this is not new. This has happened before ...many times over the years ...even to our own strike squad.
give de man de medal nah so he could ride out and leave we in peace or pieces ! It might be better that way.

« Reply #20 on: October 09, 2006, 12:01:40 PM »
I cannot begin to understand why some of us still seemed to be so shocked by these revelations.  jack warner and his band of thieves are nothing more than that.  A band of thieves.  But as Lord Nelson sang so many years ago: "We like it."

« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2006, 12:20:42 PM »
Everyone talking here and nobody ah willin to do one thing.....What kinda supporters are you??.....you call yuh self die hards ???...steups

For the last time, by this evening if nobody come wit differerent ideas or wish to add to this letter, this going out. I done talk !!

Please comment or add before I send out. Everyone can use the same letter, but we need to get our response out. Additionally if we can get a copy to the press, Ato, Shaun Fuentes, and all the media houses I95.1 and I will also post it on TTFF's website:

07/10/06

TTFF:

It is unfortunate that in the our year of our glory and at the time when we have to  be aggressive in laying a foundation for WC2010 we have promises that were made to our heroes not being honored.

The TTFF is capable of righting this ship and still has the opportunity to do so. All the players have asked for is what was rightly theirs. TTFF has a history of inept management and lack of decorum in dealing with its players. If this situation was a “one of” we the supporters would say okay lets move on, but this is a continuing pattern over the last 15years. We the supporters cannot see our game and more so our heroes that got us to the ultimate dream get disrespected in that way.

This is the tipping point for the TTFF and you can do the right thing and start getting your act together or you may open a can of worms with all the supporters and followers. This is not meant as a threat but that our appreciation, love and respect for football and our players is one we will not take for granted and by the TTFF’s doing will be bring all of our collective disappointments accumulated over the years to a head. I do not think the TTFF’s want to see that monster.

Again, while we appreciate all of  your hard work, with all due respect do the right thing.

Respectfully
Supporter
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 12:23:42 PM by trinbago »

« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2006, 12:33:35 PM »
Bago, glad to hear from you. Backing you in that letter for today.

« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2006, 12:41:04 PM »
Bago, glad to hear from you. Backing you in that letter for today.

Where you want me to sign meh name!!!!??

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2006, 12:54:04 PM »
personally I wanted to put this letter our for everyone to review and comment.
Then everyone should personally send it to:

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation

24 Dundonald Street
   P.O. Box 400 Port of Spain
   Trinidad and Tobago
Email: info@socawarriorstt.com

Unles you think everyone should sign but I do not see how that is possible.

« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2006, 01:10:22 PM »
personally I wanted to put this letter our for everyone to review and comment.
Then everyone should personally send it to:

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation

24 Dundonald Street
   P.O. Box 400 Port of Spain
   Trinidad and Tobago
Email: info@socawarriorstt.com

Unles you think everyone should sign but I do not see how that is possible.

You need to post this letter at the top of the forum again & get Flex or one ah dem to make it a sticky so that everyone can read it and add their input. Then we could all send off our versions or agree to one version to send off!  ;)

« Reply #26 on: October 09, 2006, 01:21:17 PM »
good letter. I fully endorse the idea of petition and letters to TTFF. I suggest that we include the following;
"Please remember that the TTFF is not a private enterprise, and the public is entitled to an accounting for all moneys received and spent. We are also entitled to know the terms of agreement made between the Warriors and the TTFF"

« Reply #27 on: October 09, 2006, 04:53:57 PM »
good letter. I fully endorse the idea of petition and letters to TTFF. I suggest that we include the following;
"Please remember that the TTFF is not a private enterprise, and the public is entitled to an accounting for all moneys received and spent. We are also entitled to know the terms of agreement made between the Warriors and the TTFF"

Is this in fact an accurate statement?
While on moral grounds this may be true is it legally true?
From what I can tell it is in fact a private enterprise....at least technically.
Not saying that right but just asking for the sake of accuracy.

« Reply #28 on: October 09, 2006, 04:58:06 PM »
Very responsible question dcs. Patriot, Tallman, some help here please before the letter goes out tonight

Offline saintsman

« Reply #29 on: October 09, 2006, 05:17:06 PM »
The problem stem from Jack promising a set a shit to big up his political career and fix he face after the travel agency scandal. Now TTFF  have to hold up jack shit. But seriously that money should go towards developing football in TNT, better price money for the league and knockout so more incentive for players and owners to compete at higher level. Promotion of the football in general targeting to the youths.