April 20, 2024, 12:00:23 AM

Author Topic: West Indies V Sri Lanka  (Read 2275 times)

Offline Remie

West Indies V Sri Lanka
« on: October 13, 2006, 06:54:39 AM »
Whoever wins this match gets the 'easier' group. It will be a very good test for our progressing ODI side.

Is anyone concerned that our middle to lower order lacks a batsman that is comfortable against spin. In time Bravo may prove to be a good batsman against spin but in the current line up after our top four we do not really have anyone that can tick runs off easily against spinners. Sri Lanka will come with Murali and some others in the middle and later stages of the 50 overs. Im concerned, thats why i would bat Chanders at 5- but he has done a good job opening.

Apart from that our bowling looks potent, especially if Bradshaw, Taylor and Collymore all play together. I am really looking forward to seeing these 3 in action.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2006, 10:32:41 AM by dwolfman »

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
Re: West Indies V Sri Lanka
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2006, 01:46:17 PM »
..and TI used to say I was bad. :rotfl: :rotfl:
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2006, 10:06:19 PM »
i dont think im sleeping tonite, so i might juss come home back and juss watch de game oui lol

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2006, 10:37:33 PM »
I just finished an online quiz. No rest for the wicked... I'm going to take a nap sitting so I can wake up. I have 6:00 training. Might as well follow the match one time.

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2006, 11:37:35 PM »
hello Stickman, when is the game goin an start...thanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Remie

« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2006, 02:49:29 AM »
Game starts in 10 minutes.

West Indies won the toss and chose to bat.

West Indies make 2 changes to the side. Bradshaw and Taylor out. Dwayne Smith and Edwards in.

I am so dissapointed we have picked a weaker side. Lara said pre-match that they would not mess about with team selction but they obviously cannot help themselves.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2006, 03:14:20 AM »
West Indies 7/1 (1.4 ov)

CH Gayle c wicket-keeperSangakkara b Vaas for duck!
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2006, 03:16:56 AM »
West Indies 12/2 (2.1 ov) :'(
Sarwan OUT- Duck again!
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2006, 03:22:45 AM »
West Indies 13/3 (3.1 ov)
Canderpaul gone for 8
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2006, 05:29:41 AM »

80 all out

Time to go over to the SSFL now

Offline Remie

« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2006, 06:56:47 AM »
Sri Lanka win by 9 wickets.

It was a total shambles.

Our middle to lower order is a shambles. With our current line-up, if the top 4 do not make runs we will lose. It is as simple as that. That is why i would suggest Chanders at 5 to help our lower order and stop these damn collapses.

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2006, 08:04:14 AM »

This is unbelievable. I get up this morrning hoping to see some action some good fight and a victory i must say after our morale boosting wins earlier. To my shocking suprise there we were all out for 80 runs nah I thought I was still sleeping. My God what went wrong. HMMMMMMMMMMM well in a sense I glad we got the tougher group, i believe that if we got the easier group we would get complacent. I glad we know now that we have it against us to perfrorm with world class teams. I genuinely felt that something went wrong, this is not a scenario where Sri Lanka is in a different category to us in World Cricket. We have proven to play them be competitive and even beat them. Well I hope we are shaked to our senses. Regroup and rebound and contend for the title.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2006, 08:59:14 AM »
Mankind make me stay up all night to face this shit.  I too vex.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2006, 08:56:57 PM »
I'm seeing the logic in Remie's point about Chanders. Hinds isn't doing the role justice. Besides that though our batsmen need to get tougher mentally. It's not beyond them either...