March 28, 2024, 10:20:38 AM

Author Topic: Black Friday the 13th Thread.  (Read 7164 times)

Black Friday the 13th Thread.
« on: October 13, 2006, 12:08:57 PM »
Where did the term BLACK FRIDAY came from?

As we all know today is Friday the 13th. Ah know back home (in TnT) we also refer to this day as Black Friday and are very cautious in all we do on this day.

What ah notice is that no one here in the US knows about black friday as being the 13th. When ah ask them if they know about black friday..dey that is the day after thanksgiving day when they have ah big sale  :rotfl:

So where did we get this name from, is it ah British thing? And are anyone here do anything special on dis day? Do you avoid walking under ah ladder? what you do if you see ah black cat? do you walk with salt to trow over yuh shoulder?  ;D What's the big deal about this day? Is Freddy ever going to come BACK? :devil:

« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 05:44:40 AM by Flex »

« Last Edit: October 13, 2006, 12:55:14 PM by RedHowler »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Where did the term BLACK FRIDAY came from?
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2006, 12:24:37 PM »
The day the US Stock Market crashed
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Friday_(1869)

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2006, 12:31:29 PM »
Black Friday, September 24, 1869, also known as the Fisk-Gould Scandal, was a financial panic in the United States caused by two speculators' efforts to corner the gold market. It was one of several scandals that rocked the presidency of Ulysses S. Grant.

Now tell me...wha dey neck dis hadda do with me and why it could nah be call Dotish Friday

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2006, 12:32:06 PM »
www.investorwords.com/482/Black_Friday.html

Black Friday
Definition 1

September 24, 1869, the day the markets crashed following a failed attempt by some financiers to corner the gold market. Led to a depression.

Definition 2

In a more general sense, any Friday in which a public calamity occurred.

Definition 3

More recently, the term Black Friday has been applied to the day after Thanksgiving in which retailers make enough sales to put themselves "into the black ink.

« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2006, 12:44:11 PM »
Now tell me...wha dey neck dis hadda do with me and why it could nah be call Dotish Friday

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2006, 12:46:14 PM »

was that Friday the 13th? or was it just ah Friday? I want to know what's the connection with Friday the 13th and Black Friday..

« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2006, 12:50:37 PM »

was that Friday the 13th? or was it just ah Friday? I want to know what's the connection with Friday the 13th and Black Friday..

It was actyally the 24th Serptmber but not sure how it changed to Friday 13th. It sort of bacame a myth after and every friday 13th then became known as Black Friday. Supposed to signify a day of bad luck. Sort of like All fools day April 1st.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2006, 12:53:06 PM by Rastaman »

« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2006, 01:01:39 PM »

It was actyally the 24th Serptmber but not sure how it changed to Friday 13th. It sort of bacame a myth after and every friday 13th then became known as Black Friday. Supposed to signify a day of bad luck. Sort of like All fools day April 1st.

Well according to Sista Gertrude..September 24th shouda be All fools day instead..because ah de dotishness  ;D

« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2006, 01:13:08 PM »

Well according to Sista Gertrude..September 24th shouda be All fools day instead..because ah de dotishness  ;D

Well after more reserch I belive that Black Friday and Friday 13th are actually 2 different things but I guess with time the meanings got mixed up.

Black friday is the day the stock market crashed Friday Sept 24th 1869. The US then changed Black Friday(the day after thanksgiving) into a comercial shopping day as part of their myth

Friday 13th is when the 13th day of the month falls on a Friday which myth has as a day of bad luck.

I guess people including myself got it confused.

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2006, 01:32:00 PM »
Thanks redhowler...buh dat what happen when you edit your post after people done read it  ;D

So it seems that the 2 is connected some how, just some cultures kep it up more than some...where is cullman county?

« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2006, 01:45:27 PM »
Its the day that either the pope or the french archbishop ordered that the knights templar be executed,
for witchcraft . All majar bad events usually has 13 in it ,its a scared no . in the occult . ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2006, 01:50:24 PM »
TrueTrin used dis big ass word in another post  - paraskevidekatriaphobia to relfect on his fear of Friday de 13th.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=21735.0

My fear is not as big so I only have triskaidekaphobia. :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2006, 01:58:01 PM »
TrueTrin used dis big ass word in another post  - paraskevidekatriaphobia to relfect on his fear of Friday de 13th.

Pecan ah think you should have ah bigger fear...you know you have the 13th post on dis thread right?  ::)  :devil:

« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2006, 02:11:56 PM »

Pecan ah think you should have ah bigger fear...you know you have the 13th post on dis thread right?  ::)  :devil:

Oh Gawddddddddddddddddddd ...

yuh had topint dat out to me ......

Our Father, who art in Heaven .......

« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2006, 02:16:44 PM »

<throws ah cork ah rum, 1 cube ah ice, ah dasheen bush, ah half pot spoon ah salt, special rice and ah cup ah chile pee pee (datz fur good measures) over pecan left shoulder>. 

NOTHING ain't go happen tur ya now
Sista Gerts does take care of she own :angel:

« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2006, 02:17:24 PM »

ok this should make you feel better...here is ah really BIG fear

Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia—fear of long words (seriously).  :o  ;D

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2006, 02:19:39 PM »

<throws ah cork ah rum, 1 cube ah ice, ah dasheen bush, ah half pot spoon ah salt, special rice and ah cup ah chile pee pee (datz fur good measures) over pecan left shoulder>. 

hmmmm ....

ah have every ting excep the dasheen bush ... yuh tink spinach is a good substitute?

thanks Sista ...

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2006, 02:20:11 PM »
Thanks redhowler...buh dat what happen when you edit your post after people done read it  ;D
So it seems that the 2 is connected some how, just some cultures kep it up more than some...where is cullman county?
I think it in Alabama

buh wait nuh, I is de ONLY forumite dat does edit he posts about ten times

« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2006, 02:21:27 PM »

hmmmm ....

ah have every ting excep the dasheen bush ... yuh tink spinach is a good substitute?

thanks Sista ...

like ya want tur dead.....throw out dey spinach, ya ain't see man droppin like fly in dey US of A cause ah dey Ecoli drama ???

« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2006, 02:22:48 PM »

hmmmm ....

thanks Sista ...

Not if you want e-coli  :devil:

« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2006, 02:27:35 PM »
so wat to use ... organic carrot juice????

« Reply #23 on: October 13, 2006, 02:35:54 PM »
yeah dat ting hittin all kinda people
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=21481.msg227140#msg227140

dat question 'bout carrot juice hav meh paralyse one time
« Last Edit: October 13, 2006, 02:47:54 PM by RedHowler »

« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2006, 03:16:30 PM »
bring back dey ole time days ah growing ya lunch at dey back ah ya house

not even dey water in dey plastic bottle good fur ya
ah remember sometime 2 years ah back dey Ministry ah Health investigate ah certain company dat was bottling water from dey detroit river in plastic bottle.  Ah go get dey company name soon.

president choice dey first ting ya tink bout as soon as ya walk in Superstore and highly recommended tur dey public
dey carrot juice go make ya palayzed.

dey vegetables ya suppose to eat tur get "strong" as ya mudda use ta tell ya, full ah weedicide an e-coli.

jus' now dey go say too much sex and rum in dat order ain't good

at least meh red wine good fur meh heart  :angel:

« Reply #25 on: October 14, 2006, 12:18:45 AM »

Read the book " Beheadings and executions in England"

Mary Queen of Scots had 13 lovers, her last being a French gentleman who happened to be Black. His name was Michel Delarge.
Because of royal duties Mary could only have her clandestine meetings with DeLarge on Fridays after vespers.
Eventually DeLarge was caught by the Palace guards exiting the maids quarters and Mary had him beheaded on a Friady after vespers.
For the balance of her reign Mary would look at the jar where she kept DeLarge's infamous body part and remark to her court advisers that she misses her Black Fidays and that her luck with men would never be the same again.

Hence Black Friday the 13th.

« Reply #26 on: October 14, 2006, 12:49:25 AM »
WHY DON'T YOU PPL JUST LEAVE ME ALONE :devil:

« Reply #27 on: October 14, 2006, 06:52:46 AM »
WHY DON'T YOU PPL JUST LEAVE ME ALONE :devil:

"de Large" --- here you propagating the sterotype that all black men are large :o :o

« Reply #28 on: October 14, 2006, 03:32:34 PM »
so lemme give allyuh ah episode nah

dese ah dey times when ya forget ya in anonder man's country eh

ah siddown outside yesterday evening takin in dey coolness (needed someting tur cool down dey hot blood nah) mindin meh business and readin O mag.
aye aye jus so ah black cat appear and stand up in dey middle ah dey road. Now everybody who know meh and who ain't know meh know I doh like cyat  >:(. For some strange reason cyah is evil and dey goes bring back luck.

Ah stare down dey cyat, it stare me down....like it was ah showdown in dey junction.
Ah putdown meh magazine and same time meh eye focus on ah cinder block not too far from where ah was sitting.

Ya know by dey time meh meh right eye lookin at dey spot to putdown dey mag and meh left eye take focus on dey block, pick it up tur aim at dey cyat, by dey time ah look at dey cyat it gone...
Ah stand up look round dey place...no cyat. Ah walk out tur dey road...no cyat. Den ah remember Black ass Friday

Races inside dey house and call meh mudda tur tell she tur say ah extra decade fur meh cause ah see ah cyat and it disapper just so. After 3 bad cuss from she, cause ah must be wake she up from ah sleep...she decide she go do ah novena fur meh instead.

Goin ah play ah quick pick dis evening  ;D

dey end :beermug:

Mr De Rat doh tink ah forget ya call meh ugly eh.
lemme jus gather meh words properly.

« Reply #29 on: October 17, 2006, 07:06:16 PM »
BLACK FRIDAY IS SO CALLED BECAUSE  DURING ANCIENT TIMES....- DURING THE CRUSADES
ON Friday October 13, 1307....THE KNIGHTS TEMPLAR WERE ARRESTED AND KILLED ON  ORDERS FROM THE KING OF FRANCE AND THE POPE.
Thats the reason why.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2006, 07:08:17 PM by Organic »
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge