March 18, 2024, 10:20:59 PM

Author Topic: Women's Football Discussion Thread  (Read 17036 times)

Re: Women's Football Discussion Thread
« Reply #90 on: July 17, 2022, 05:35:09 PM »
Wonder how you will feel when/if Saintfiet is named CAF coach of the year.  :devil:

He is doing a good job in Gambia

« Reply #91 on: July 25, 2022, 07:40:15 AM »
Copa America semi-finals:

Colombia v Argentina --- today
Brazil v Paraguay ---tomorrow

AFCON final: Morocco v South Africa
« Last Edit: July 25, 2022, 07:43:16 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #92 on: July 26, 2022, 09:32:54 AM »
Allyuh ain't see dat French women's team boy. Oooh Guude

Our men's NT could learn some things from them. I sincerely think they could beat our men.

They don't need men strength. They let the ball do the work. They are skillful, intelligent and play fast.

Wow

« Reply #93 on: July 26, 2022, 10:45:51 AM »

Our men's NT could learn some things from them. I sincerely think they could beat our men.

They don't need men strength. They let the ball do the work. They are skillful, intelligent and play fast.

Wow

Ah wanted Spain to poison England ... now I'm hoping Sweden can deliver the sobering dose. France emerging against Germany won't be straightforward but I hope it happens.

When one thinks of the names not on the pitch or in the French squad, iz hard not to take notice.

« Reply #94 on: July 26, 2022, 04:22:45 PM »

Wow

Ah wanted Spain to poison England ... now I'm hoping Sweden can deliver the sobering dose. France emerging against Germany won't be straightforward but I hope it happens.

When one thinks of the names not on the pitch or in the French squad, iz hard not to take notice.

Wah yuh against England? Empire posture? Overly friendly whistle?

Ah find mehself hoping the same ting. For the above reasons.

But for beautiful play? The limited amount of games I was able to see, FRANCE boy. Especially #11.

« Reply #95 on: July 26, 2022, 06:34:12 PM »
🔥 🔥 🔥 bun England and that non-diverse, meat and potatoes, "unidimensional" efficient Brexit squad.

When the FA shows some commitment to diversity on this side of the game, post-Aluko, ah might entertain dem ...especially if I've had 2 days rest vis-à-vis my opponent and the desire to relive the 1966 WC final on the women's side.

England wants to win two WC trophies in the same calendar year.  If that's to be, let it be hard fought.

« Reply #96 on: July 27, 2022, 02:16:39 AM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/xsK-sKL6p14" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/xsK-sKL6p14</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/cnGYwZjLXrs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/cnGYwZjLXrs</a>
« Last Edit: July 27, 2022, 02:20:32 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #97 on: July 27, 2022, 04:44:07 AM »

Wow

Well, as usual, full of themselves. Overestimating themselves.
🔥 🔥 🔥 bun England and that non-diverse, meat and potatoes, "unidimensional" efficient Brexit squad.

When the FA shows some commitment to diversity on this side of the game, post-Aluko, ah might entertain dem ...especially if I've had 2 days rest vis-à-vis my opponent and the desire to relive the 1966 WC final on the women's side.

England wants to win two WC trophies in the same calendar year. If that's to be, let it be hard fought.

As usual, England full of themselves. Overestimating themselves. I don't see them winning it all on either side.

« Reply #98 on: July 27, 2022, 06:44:03 AM »
As usual, England full of themselves. Overestimating themselves. I don't see them winning it all on either side.

Why do you say so ? To me, right now they playing as good as any other women team. This team appears to much, much better than previous team. Will they win ..... not sure, but their chances are good if they play tenacious football.

« Reply #99 on: July 27, 2022, 02:34:33 PM »
France: a tad too slow on transition. A lil less fluid than Germany. Oops ... Germany goal as I post.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2022, 05:52:32 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #100 on: July 31, 2022, 05:59:30 AM »
If England lifts the 🏆 football will be forever changed.  ::)

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0cq429b

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #101 on: July 31, 2022, 12:53:30 PM »

I guess that football will be forever changed!

« Reply #102 on: July 31, 2022, 01:05:27 PM »

Pack it up if they win in Qatar. :devil:

The injury to Popp was not quite Ronaldo not lining up in 1998, but it reverberated on this outcome. The better team won.

« Reply #103 on: July 31, 2022, 05:58:10 PM »

The injury to Popp was not quite Ronaldo not lining up in 1998, but it reverberated on this outcome. The better team won.
I feel you just a undercover supporter  :D
No way you can be so wrong so many times.  :devil:

« Reply #104 on: August 01, 2022, 06:10:00 AM »

I feel you just a undercover supporter  :D
No way you can be so wrong so many times.  :devil:

Nice try.  :)

This late in the dance I didn't expect to have to point out the difference between prediction and aspiration.

Prediction can lead to error. Aspiration inherently doesn't lend itself to error.

I didn't predict England would lose or that France would win. Merely preferred other outcomes while recognizing the footballing aspect of the work that was put in by England --- Note the use of the word 'efficient' in my description of England.

That stated, it was your other national team coach (an Englishman) whose comment prompted the 'forever changed' post (listen on the link above at 24:10).
« Last Edit: August 01, 2022, 06:11:51 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #105 on: August 01, 2022, 06:15:30 AM »
<a href="https://youtube.com/v/RKscWI19RkM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/RKscWI19RkM</a>

<a href="https://youtube.com/v//9tt9z8qx5x0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v//9tt9z8qx5x0</a>
« Last Edit: August 01, 2022, 06:18:56 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #106 on: August 01, 2022, 07:34:12 AM »
In the media conference, Sarina Wiegman wraps up her comments by mention of "changing society". Changing society has to signify a broader tent. As expressed earlier on the thread, my reluctance and opposition to an England win has been grounded on the manner in which the FA squandered gains made in the diversification of whom among girls and women plays the game and who is tapped into for progression to the national team.

There has always been the very real danger of this victory conclusively leading down paths, and to tendencies, that should be reversed.

I like Sarina Wiegman. She is an excellent coach. However, time for the FA to step up and resolve the gaps.

<a href="https://youtube.com/v/3WhYiw_zrkU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/3WhYiw_zrkU</a>

« Reply #107 on: August 01, 2022, 03:50:30 PM »
Sorry, I can’t comment nor offer any opinion. Simply because I have no knowledge of England women FA, clubs or even who the current players are, farless who ARE the best players and which other players could have been included. As far as I’m concerned that is England issue. At present, I am more interested in getting our own house in order( both Canada - no complaints there. - and TT, before I would consider following other countries. I personally didn’t care who won, I should of at least watched for educational purposes. Sadly, I didn’t even do that. I was more interested in World T&F.
PS: no complaints on diversity there. Fastest times, longest jumps and throws are most certainly selected.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2022, 03:55:12 PM by maxg »

« Reply #108 on: August 02, 2022, 02:43:37 AM »
Sorry, I can’t comment nor offer any opinion. Simply because I have no knowledge of England women FA, clubs or even who the current players are, farless who ARE the best players and which other players could have been included. As far as I’m concerned that is England issue. At present, I am more interested in getting our own house in order( both Canada - no complaints there. - and TT, before I would consider following other countries. I personally didn’t care who won, I should of at least watched for educational purposes. Sadly, I didn’t even do that. I was more interested in World T&F.
PS: no complaints on diversity there. Fastest times, longest jumps and throws are most certainly selected.

That is a curious stance for a number of reasons.

Let's start with one of the most fundamental inquiries: back during the days of England's First Division were you ever exercised by who was ripping up the fields and who wasn't being selected despite so ripping up the fields?

« Reply #109 on: August 02, 2022, 01:54:18 PM »

That is a curious stance for a number of reasons.

Let's start with one of the most fundamental inquiries: back during the days of England's First Division were you ever exercised by who was ripping up the fields and who wasn't being selected despite so ripping up the fields?
Not sure I understand your question. If you mean was I ever following English football and/or it’s potential Ntl players, my answer is No. Note, I was, still am, happy to see an inclusion of players of diverse ethnicity in any country in any sport, as long as they are chosen based on talent and production. To summarize I can’t say I follow any Country potential candidates for football selection. I hardly Can follow my own. We can ask,( think Sam wondered awhile back) how come we don’t select more indo-Trinis/ other-Trinis on our Ntl team, when nearly 50% of population are such ? I wish we can find a way to tap into that vein, if it could possibly improve our chances of future performances. Sure it would generate even more Bachanal and complaints, just how we like it.  :D :D
« Last Edit: August 02, 2022, 02:11:11 PM by maxg »