April 25, 2024, 11:54:56 AM

Author Topic: FIFA News Thread.  (Read 110671 times)

Re: FIFA News Thread.
« Reply #210 on: May 28, 2015, 09:14:42 PM »

« Reply #211 on: May 28, 2015, 10:06:50 PM »
Here's the question. Do we really think this is just about misappropriation of money? The US and England was over the moon in Russia and Qatar hosting the WC (there are some true concerns). The South African choice was criticized, and even the choice of Brazil came under some fire - it's a good thing the footballing world is more misogynistic than socially conscious.

So there is a group who's pushing and applauding these investigation who have previously shown that the WC may potentially be rotated to only a few of the bigger, "less corrupted" countries. Currently we are poised to have future WCs in USA, Europe (mainstream countries), and Asia may get tossed a bone.

Notice at the podium the ONLY WC hosting allocations to be referenced as tainted are SA, Russia and Qatar. No mention of how come the US was awarded a WC without even having a Pro League. What sort of "deals" were cut to pull that off? The wild card of Japan/Korea? No question there?

Could all be some conspiracy to bring down the developing football nations as you suggest.  Or just maybe the players in this situation are mainly from these developing football nations or affiliated with CONCACAF.  England and the US were never "over the moon" about the Qatar and Russia outcomes, quite the opposite.  Yuh might want to google the meaning of the term.  As for the US getting the WC, perhaps some backroom deals went down... and perhaps FIFA also saw the US as a vast un-tapped market and wanted to promote the sport here.

...or again, it could be some kinda tabanca/grudge revenge thing to bring down de small man.

I know what over the moon means.

It's not about bringing down the small men, but more so of putting the small men in they place. A whole restructuring of the hierarchy of world football. They need the small men to be part of the structure just the small men have to understand they role and function and not get to big for their britches.

« Reply #212 on: May 28, 2015, 10:11:19 PM »
You know what was really crazy to hear at the presser that many MSM ran with, that the money stolen denied young players field, equipment, etc. Coming from the USA that takes balls to say with a straight face.

Thousands of dollars for a young player to experience the game in the US out of their (the young player's) pocket. Many places in the US you can't get a field to play soccer on, and some even if they're are available are controlled by some bureaucratic dad, or you need insurance or some other hurdle that a young player have to navigate to gain access to the game.

« Reply #213 on: May 28, 2015, 10:24:30 PM »
Majority of Asia, Africa and South America is in support of Blatter. There is no chance of him losing.

The Nigerian FA President was on news saying Blatter did a lot to develop the smaller and poorer nations in football.

Blatter's base is Asia and Africa, he doesn't have CONMEBOL... although some Federations may vote for him independently.  Contrary to what you say, there's a fair chance that he could be defeated.
If Blatter win this election i think FIFA will be Bitterly divided.

« Reply #215 on: May 29, 2015, 01:55:05 AM »
Fresh from prison Warner says he's not holding back any longer on Kamla.
By Anna Ramdass (Express).

The Gloves are Off

Declaring that the "gloves are off", Jack Warner said last night he that intends to go after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and reveal all through a tape which he will give to four lawyers.

Warner was speaking for the first time since being released from prison at an Independent Liberal Party (ILP) cottage meeting in Endeavour, Chaguanas.

“I want to tell Kamla that as of tonight the gloves are off! Kamla having jailed me, as of tonight the gloves are off!” said Warner.

“Everything I have against Kamla I will bring it out. I have kept it back too long and I will bring it out...but not tonight,” he continued.

Warner said he feels his life is under threat and as such he has decided to make a video tape and give it to four lawyers--from the ILP, the People's National Movement (PNM), the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) and his own private attorney.

Warner, a former FIFA Vice President , was taken to prison on Wednesday evening after appearing before Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar in the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court following his surrender to Fraud Squad detectives earlier that day.

He is wanted in the United States on charges of fraud, racketeering and money laundering in that country and Trinidad and Tobago while holding the position of vice-president of FIFA. The indictment lists eight charges, but when Warner appeared before Ayers-Caesar, a total of 12 charges were read. The alleged offences occurred as far back as 1990.

He was released yesterday after supplying a proper deed to secure his $2.5 million bail.

Persad-Bissessar, when questioned by the media yesterday following the opening of the new Maloney Police Station, said she received no funding from Warner when she contested the United National Congress (UNC) internal election in 2010. She also denied receiving money from Warner for the 2010 general election or the 2013 Tobago House of Assembly election.

“I will tell you something--she lie,” said Warner last night in response to her comments. He said he will name all the contractors he and Persad-Bissessar went to.

Warner said in one case it was so “obscene” that he walked out and “Stacy (Roopnarine) walked in”.“All gloves are off, I remained silent for too long...they believe they could walk all over me,” said Warner.

Warner maintained he is innocent of the charges leveled against him by US authorities.He said if he's being accused of financial impropriety, then the question should be asked, who gave it (the money).

He said this issue was bigger than people in Trinidad and Tobago think. “Why is it only third world countries are charged?” he asked. He further questioned what was wrong in giving countries like Russia and Qatar the opportunity to host the World Cup. He said being from a third world country, he understood Qatar's position but, “the US felt they have the divine right to anything”.

He said that he cut all ties with FIFA four years ago. “If after four years they still can't forget Jack Warner something wrong,” he said. Warner said he was never questioned with respect to the charges made against him. “They never ask me once...charges...I Jack Warner know nothing about those charges, what our lawyers have done is tell them to prove it,” he said.

Calls from Panday/Dookeran

Warner said he was overwhelmed with calls and messages from all over the globe. But the two calls that touched his heart were from the Panday family—former prime minister Basdeo Panday, his wife Oma and daughter Mickela - and the second call from Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran and his wife. He disclosed that though he was depressed as he has never been to jail in his life, he thinks it is a “mark of honour” as he noted that Basdeo Panday, Nelson Mandela, Indira Gandhi and (Fidel) Castro all served time in jail. He said he received “Hyatt” treatment whilst in jail and showered praise and gratitude to the prison officers and deputy Prisons Commissioner.

Warner also slammed Attorney General Garvin Nicholas, whom he claimed signed extradition papers in 15 minutes.He said it took three months before extradition papers were signed for Ish Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson.“How the hell after five years he can't ask the US to send back Calder Hart here,” said Warner.

Warner claimed everything that was happening was a plot by the Government to get rid of him. “I'm surprised that Keith (Rowley) didn't understand that,” said Warner, expressing disappointment over the comments Rowley made in an Express report.

He said the Government, “having killed Rowley” with his suspension from Parliament, was now turning on him.

Warner's return was an emotional one for his supporters as Josh Groban's “You Lift Me Up” was played on his entry. Warner noted the heavy media presence at last night's meeting, including the BBC.

"If to make one day jail cause that I should make two,” he joked.“Jack is alive and kicking. I want to tell you he will be with you to the end,” said Warner.

« Reply #216 on: May 29, 2015, 02:09:58 AM »
Jennings tweets Blatter is a target.
T&T Newsday Reports.

Scottish investigative reporter, Andrew Jennings, revealed via his Twitter account yesterday that FIFA president Sepp Blatter is also on the watch-list even though the Swiss national pledged his complete innocence at the sport’s governing body annual meeting in Zurich.

Jennings, a world renowned journalist who specialises on corrupt practices at FIFA and the International Olympic Committee (IOC), tweeted at approximately 6am (TT Time) yesterday morning, “I gave the FBI the crucial documents that triggered yesterday’s arrests. There will be more to come. Blatter is a target.”

Jennings was commenting in relation to Wednesday’s indictment of 15 former and current FIFA executives, inclusive of CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb and former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner, and four convicted defendants - which also comprises of Warner’s two sons, Daryan and Darryl Warner.

This groundbreaking revelation saw Jennings’ statement retweeted approximately 4200 times. Blatter, however, has put on a brave face amidst the scandal enveloping FIFA though, pleading his innocence and lauding the ongoing investigation by the United States Department of Justice and Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

“I know many people hold me ultimately responsible (but) I cannot monitor everyone all the time,” said a sombre Blatter yesterday.

« Reply #217 on: May 29, 2015, 02:26:52 AM »
What do you think of the latest developments in the Fifa corruption crisis? What outcome would you like to see in Friday's Fifa presidential election? Are you in any of the regions affected by the scandal? You can share your views by emailing haveyoursay@bbc.co.uk.

If you are available to speak to a BBC journalist, please include a contact telephone number.

You can send your photos and videos to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to 61124 (UK) or +44 7624 800 100 (international) number. Alternatively you can send pictures via our WhatsApp number +44 (0)7525 900971. Or you can upload here.

« Reply #218 on: May 29, 2015, 03:28:00 AM »
You know what was really crazy to hear at the presser that many MSM ran with, that the money stolen denied young players field, equipment, etc. Coming from the USA that takes balls to say with a straight face.

Thousands of dollars for a young player to experience the game in the US out of their (the young player's) pocket. Many places in the US you can't get a field to play soccer on, and some even if they're are available are controlled by some bureaucratic dad, or you need insurance or some other hurdle that a young player have to navigate to gain access to the game.

The U.S. Model is indeed pay to play but this is so far off base. Why are you stretching so far to promote this conspiracy theory?

Offline R45

« Reply #219 on: May 29, 2015, 08:26:58 AM »
Blatter received pledges of support from 10 federations as his bid for a fifth term as the head of the governing body gathers pace, with Trinidad and Tobago FA chief Raymond Tim Kee also praising him as the "father of football".

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/9809090/sepp-blatter-likened-to-mandela-at-concacaf-congress

Our FA's relationship with Blatter looks to be just about the same as the constituents of Chaguanas West and Warner. No one wants to bite the hand that feeds them, and everyone is willing to turn a blind eye once they are getting a little kickback here and there. Blatter is now dangling converting the WC half-spot for CONCACAF to a full spot, and looks like that's enough to keep the CFU in line.

We have no leaders in our politics, and certainly none in our football administration. I will never support anything of the TTFA.

Offline gb8702

« Reply #220 on: May 29, 2015, 08:29:10 AM »
http://www.justice.gov/opa/file/450231/download
Sorry if this has already been posted?
interesting read from paragraph 29
Fail to prepare - Prepare to fail

« Reply #221 on: May 29, 2015, 09:07:14 AM »

The U.S. Model is indeed pay to play but this is so far off base. Why are you stretching so far to promote this conspiracy theory?

This isn't a conspiracy theory. I just find it funny they advocating access to the game when it's less than accessible to many youth in the US.

« Reply #222 on: May 29, 2015, 09:28:16 AM »

This isn't a conspiracy theory. I just find it funny they advocating access to the game when it's less than accessible to many youth in the US.

word...

well there are many movements trying to change this... and it is in the USSF's best interest to do so. They will not soon be world champions with a suburban, minivan driving, playing population

« Reply #223 on: May 29, 2015, 09:45:58 AM »
LIVE NOW: FIFA 65th Congress 2015 - FIFA President Election

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZX-gu9pdKyg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZX-gu9pdKyg</a>

« Reply #224 on: May 29, 2015, 09:48:53 AM »
Majority of Asia, Africa and South America is in support of Blatter. There is no chance of him losing.

The Nigerian FA President was on news saying Blatter did a lot to develop the smaller and poorer nations in football.

Blatter's base is Asia and Africa, he doesn't have CONMEBOL... although some Federations may vote for him independently.  Contrary to what you say, there's a fair chance that he could be defeated.

How much more divided than now? UEFA has been against Blatter and FIFA for years now. Blatter will maintain the same support he had before the elections.

People in here seem not to understand his support is due to how much he has done to help poorer and developing nations in football over the years. This is the reason for his support.

« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 09:50:39 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #225 on: May 29, 2015, 10:06:36 AM »

How much more divided than now? UEFA has been against Blatter and FIFA for years now. Blatter will maintain the same support he had before the elections.

People in here seem not to understand his support is due to how much he has done to help poorer and developing nations in football over the years. This is the reason for his support.

Futuristic developments will tell
« Last Edit: May 30, 2015, 12:23:02 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #226 on: May 29, 2015, 10:22:24 AM »
I believe I just saw Tim Kee walk up and vote.
I only caught it as he was walking out the booth.

Yeah I was able to go back and get a better look.

So who in charge of the city of Port of Spain today?
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 10:32:46 AM by Peong »

« Reply #227 on: May 29, 2015, 10:32:05 AM »

Platini threatening a UEFA pull out if Blatter win. If only he had the same passion to deal with football racism in Europe

« Reply #228 on: May 29, 2015, 10:37:57 AM »

Platini threatening a UEFA pull out if Blatter win. If only he had the same passion to deal with football racism in Europe

Platini's "moral authority" seems to have re-emerged in the wake of this week's events. Steups.

« Reply #229 on: May 29, 2015, 10:50:05 AM »
I believe I just saw Tim Kee walk up and vote.
I only caught it as he was walking out the booth.

Yeah I was able to go back and get a better look.

So who in charge of the city of Port of Spain today?

Allegedly a spot off de Savannah.

« Reply #230 on: May 29, 2015, 10:58:38 AM »

« Reply #231 on: May 29, 2015, 11:03:32 AM »
Blatter wins it.  133 to 73 I think.

My mistake.
There will be a second round of voting.  Blatter needed 139 to win outright.

13m ago
12:59
We will have a second round of voting! Blatter gains 133 votes to Prince Ali's 73: not enough for a two-third majority

Of the 209 votes, three were spoiled, and so only 206 counted. A simple majority is required in the second round. If the votes stay the same in this round, Blatter will remain president of Fifa for the next four years, he now needs just 105 of the votes to win.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 11:14:27 AM by Peong »

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #233 on: May 29, 2015, 11:16:02 AM »

That is one way to look at it, the more cynical and much closer to the truth imho is that he has been cute for a very long time, with the voting structure the way it is, looking after the poorer nations and their associations has ensured he has for the most part been untouchable.  This has been the reason for the arrogance of him and his sidekicks over the previous many years.

The reality is in terms of voting UEFA doesn't matter nor do their opinions, however without them in a world cup it becomes meaningless but more importantly to the sponsors worthless.  That money has underpinned everything that has gone on and Blatters power base, without it he won't have many friends left.  When he does go there will more than one or two skeletons to come out of the cupboard. 

Blatter will be elected as sure as eggs are eggs, by the same token there is no way he will last anywhere near a term.  Then the real fun starts.

« Reply #234 on: May 29, 2015, 11:20:25 AM »
Ali withdraws, Blatter wins.

Blatter said he wants to do something for Oceania's world cup spots.  Bad news for Concacaf?
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 11:28:23 AM by Peong »

« Reply #236 on: May 29, 2015, 11:32:37 AM »
Best outcome for now.

« Reply #237 on: May 29, 2015, 12:25:29 PM »

CO-SIGNNNNNN

« Reply #238 on: May 29, 2015, 12:38:28 PM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MSG5fi2XntM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MSG5fi2XntM</a>

« Reply #239 on: May 29, 2015, 12:43:09 PM »
JW have files on everyone  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Mr is the International man Of Wey Wey! Bussing Mark comes natural. Mr cud grandcharge oui!

Jack eh stupid, Sepp go be he live blanket in jail.

« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 12:44:41 PM by Jumbie »