March 28, 2024, 06:46:22 PM

Author Topic: Barca vs Chelsea  (Read 13709 times)

Barca vs Chelsea
« on: October 18, 2006, 11:05:09 AM »
2:30 pm today

Team news from Vitalfootball.co.uk

Chelsea Team News:
Of couse, Chelsea will be without their first two goalkeepers, so it will be third-choice Hilario (subject to a vote of confidence by José, Joe Cole and John Terry) who will take the duties between the sticks. All other injuries that kept players away this weekend seem to have cleared up, so José has more or less a clear choice for his outfield players. That would put Ashley Cole, John Terry, Ricardo Carvalho and Khalid Boulahrouz in defence; Michael Ballack, Michael Essien, Frank Lampard and Claude Makalele in midfield, and Andriy Shevchenko and Didier Drogba in attack. We expect that Joe Cole will make an appearance, though, and we very much hope not to see 4th choice keeper, Yves Makabu Ma Kalambay, anywhere else but the bench!

Player to watch: Drogba, Essien and Sheva?

We're tempted to say that 3 players will have something to prove. One is Didier Drogba, sent off 2 seasons ago in the Nou Camp for 2 very soft yellow cards (and, incidentally, on fire at the moment). A second is Michael Essien, also on fire, and who was unavailable for selection last time we played Barça, courtesy of a high-pitched whine from Liverpool. A third is Andriy Shevchenko, who played against Barça often enough when he was at Milan, and who needs to demonstrate that he's fitting in at Chelsea.

Barcelona Team News:

We know that two Barça players won't be on the pitch: Samuel Eto'o (knee-knock) and Beletti (shoulder). The absence of Eto'o will be a blessing, but his replacement is likely to be one Eidur Gudjohnsen. Courtesy of the Spanish press, we know the starting line-up: Valdes; Marquez, Puyol, Edmilson, Van Bronkhorst; Zambrotta, Xavi, Deco; Messi, Gudjohnsen and some bloke called Ronaldinho.

Player to watch: Eidur Gudjohnsen

We'll nominate our very own Eidur Gudjohnsen. Before the match, Chelsea want to honour a player who gave so much to The Blues. An injury to Samuel Eto'o gives Eidur a rare starting place at Barça, and Eidur says that he's been briefing Rijkaard on how to beat Chelsea. Whatever his performance, much like Chelsea did with Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, let us remember a fans favourite this evening.

« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 11:09:33 AM by Grande man »

Re: Barca vs Chelsea
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2006, 11:18:03 AM »
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 11:19:58 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2006, 11:21:19 AM »
Thank you Jah!  :beermug: pun intended  ;D

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2006, 11:37:29 AM »

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2006, 12:01:57 PM »
Jah Gol. Bless. Hopefully the link go be wokin.
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2006, 12:04:26 PM »
Thanks Jah Gol, but I gettin it live here on TSN
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2006, 12:12:35 PM »
I find Saviola should start over Gudjonsen, he is de most natural replacement for Eto'o

« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2006, 12:22:31 PM »
I find Saviola should start over Gudjonsen, he is de most natural replacement for Eto'o

.............And he seemed to have had a fiery pace of a start early in the season, going back to the pre-season, heck, going back to de damned World Cup!!  I thought he was one of Argentina's standout players in the tournament, but Gudjonsen has come in and played pretty good, too, so it's a tough choice for Frank, i imagine.

« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2006, 12:32:10 PM »

« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2006, 12:35:57 PM »
Its up now.

« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2006, 12:39:34 PM »
Are you getting audio ?

Offline SOBRIQUET

« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2006, 12:42:29 PM »
no audio, but that aint no scene. thanks for the link horse

Offline SOBRIQUET

« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2006, 12:44:00 PM »
gettin audio now, Jah Gol, u is a boss

« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2006, 12:45:30 PM »
gettin audio now, Jah Gol, u is a boss
cool

« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2006, 12:48:14 PM »
I go tell allya de score as dat link is 10 seconds behind my TV. ;D ;D ;D ;D
JK
It is very good link
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2006, 12:59:12 PM »
jah gol, thank u bredda.

« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2006, 01:18:37 PM »
Thanx JahGol ...
Respect...

« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2006, 01:45:18 PM »
Thanks JahGol ... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
obsevations.... both teams are playing tentative football...ashley cole seems like he is always out of position....and  tommy smyth has a personal grudge against ronnie..he had the nerve to say with a straight face that ronnie had only 1 or 2 good games last year.... ???

« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2006, 01:47:48 PM »
Thanks JahGol ... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
obsevations.... both teams are playing tentative football...ashley cole seems like he is always out of position....and  tommy smyth has a personal grudge against ronnie..he had the nerve to say with a straight face that ronnie had only 1 or 2 good games last year.... ???

he was talking about the Champions league run (in which he had those good games) and then the World Cup...in which context I fully agree with Tommy Smyth

Ashley Cole getting beat as usual

Whoa Drogba now score a beauty...similar to one he scored recently. The way he was moving in the 1st half I say he done for the game...apparently not

come on Barca
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 01:50:12 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2006, 01:49:10 PM »
Drogba..........GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLL..............sweet one
and the third string "Keeper ent doin too bad :o

Lets go Barca  ;)
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 01:55:52 PM by RedHowler »

« Reply #20 on: October 18, 2006, 01:49:34 PM »
whey sah de man was dizzy in de first half and score ah sweet one in de second!!!

Offline Trezegoal

« Reply #21 on: October 18, 2006, 01:51:23 PM »
Simply Class from Drogba!!!

C'mon you Blues!!!!

« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2006, 01:51:34 PM »
good... de game go open up now...great goal  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: October 18, 2006, 01:54:57 PM »
it's funny how much a game is open up when a goal scores........

goal boy drogba!

Offline Trezegoal

« Reply #24 on: October 18, 2006, 01:56:23 PM »
C'mon Essien......you got give it to Sheva in that instance!!!!

« Reply #25 on: October 18, 2006, 01:57:14 PM »
Sheva is Flopping Big time.... He needs to score

Offline Trezegoal

« Reply #26 on: October 18, 2006, 01:57:52 PM »
OMG!!!!
Sheva has to finish that!!!! Geez.....how much is this man being paid???
Can someone say Kezman???

« Reply #27 on: October 18, 2006, 01:58:44 PM »
let's see if iniesta could change the game...

« Reply #28 on: October 18, 2006, 01:58:53 PM »

Essien no what he was doin by not givin it to Sheva...yuh eh see dat sitter he jus miss  ;D

Offline Trezegoal

« Reply #29 on: October 18, 2006, 02:01:01 PM »

Essien no what he was doin by not givin it to Sheva...yuh eh see dat sitter he jus miss  ;D
LoL....Mourinho jus had to pull him adise an give him a lil talking too....that was an easy 2-0