April 28, 2024, 09:29:43 PM

Author Topic: Lateral Thinking: logic? or common sense?  (Read 1453 times)

Lateral Thinking: logic? or common sense?
« on: October 19, 2006, 06:51:59 AM »

Lateral  Thinking

Many years ago in a small village, a farmer had  the misfortune of
owing a large sum of money to a village moneylender.

The moneylender, who was old and ugly,  fancied the farmer's beautiful
daughter. So he proposed a bargain.  He said  he would forgo the
farmer's debt if he could marry his daughter.

Both the farmer and his daughter were horrified  by the proposal.

So the cunning money-lender suggested that  they let providence decide
the matter. He told them that he would put a black pebble and a white
pebble into  an empty money bag. Then the girl would have to pick one
pebble from the bag.

1) If she picked the black pebble, she would  become his wife and her
father's debt would be forgiven.

2) If she picked the white pebble she need not marry him and her
father's debt  would still be forgiven.

3) But if she refused to pick a pebble, her father would be thrown into
jail.

They were  standing on a pebble strewn path in the farmer's field. As
they talked, the moneylender bent over to pick up two pebbles. As he
picked them up, the sharp-eyed girl noticed that he had picked up two
black pebbles and put them into the bag. He then asked the girl to
pick a pebble from the bag.

Now, imagine that you were standing in the  field.
What would you have done if you were the girl?   If you had to advise
her,  what would you have told her?  Careful analysis would produce
three possibilities:

1.  The girl should refuse to take a pebble.

2. The girl should show that there were two black pebbles in the bag
and expose the money-lender as a cheat.

3. The girl should pick a black pebble and sacrifice herself in order
to save her father from his debt and imprisonment.

Take a moment to ponder over the story.   The above story is used with
the hope that it will make us appreciate the difference between
lateral and logical thinking. The girl's dilemma cannot be solved with
traditional logical thinking.   Think of the consequences if she
chooses the above logical answers.  What would you recommend to the
Girl to do?

Well, here is what she did ....The girl put her hand into the
moneybag and drew out a pebble.   Without looking at it,  she fumbled
and let it fall onto the pebble-strewn path where it immediately
became lost among all the other pebbles.

"Oh, how clumsy of me," she said.    "But never mind, if you look into
the bag for the one that is left, you will be able to tell which
pebble I picked."  Since the remaining pebble is black, it must be
assumed that she had picked the white one.

And since the money-lender dared not admit his dishonesty, the girl
changed what seemed an impossible situation into an extremely
advantageous one.

MORAL OF THE STORY:
Most complex problems do have a solution. It is only that we don't
attempt to think.  Start your day with this thought provoking story
and have a nice day.

Re: Lateral Thinking: logic? or common sense?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 03:07:17 PM »
this was very good ... thanks

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 03:16:14 PM »
I am a thinker and I liked this story..Thank you Alberta  :beermug: Nice read.

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2006, 03:38:26 PM »
But here is what actually happened after the girl dropped the pebble:

<edit>: the money lender was a lateral thinker too.

The money lender said "Ok, let's see what;s left in the bag".
He reached in and grabbed the pebble.  As he withdrew his hand, he stumbled and fell, releasing the remaining pebble, where it fell amongst the other pebbles on the ground.

He apologized, and said, let's do it again.

The Moral of the Story is:

Sometimes when you are screwed, you are screwed and there is no way out.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 03:49:04 PM by pecan »

« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2006, 03:39:41 PM »
so you learn to deal with the bad hand that life has dealt you.

« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2006, 03:44:33 PM »
furthermore, if the farmer had not indebted hislef tot he money lender, he would not be in this situation now.

The additional Moral of the Story:  doh get yuhself in debt.

« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2006, 04:00:28 PM »
" a stone in hand is worth two in the bush"
A toad in the hand is worth two in the bush.
A bird in the hand is worth two in the grocery store.
A harp in the hand is worth two in the willows.
A bird in the nesting box is worth two in the bush.
A bird in the head is worth two in the textbook.
A book in the hand is worth two in the bin.
A man in the house is worth two in the street.
A cat in the bath in worth two in the litter tray.
A stone on the board is worth two in the bowl.
A bike on the road is worth two in the shed.
An engine under the hood is worth two in the shop.
A palm in the hand is worth a visor in the mail.
Frank in the bush is worth three in the field!
A beer in hand is worth six in the fridge
a bratwurst on the bbq is worth six in the fridge
Three in the hand is worth about 14 on the black market.
A bird in the hand is worth one from the Bush.*
Two Udalls in the Congress are worth more than two Bushes in the statehouses as far as protecting the environment goes
A bird in the hand is a messy proposition.
A bird in the hand is always safer than one overhead.
A bird in the hand is a certainty, but a bird in the bush may sing.
Would you take the bird in the hand, or a 75% chance at the two in the bush?

« Last Edit: October 23, 2006, 04:02:28 PM by AlbertaTrini »