April 17, 2024, 06:04:11 PM

Should Stern John be playing in this world cup campaign

yes
8 (61.5%)
no
5 (38.5%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Author Topic: Stern John Thread  (Read 297660 times)

Re: STERN JOHN APPRECIATION TREND!!!
« Reply #990 on: March 29, 2009, 06:25:43 PM »
Not to rain on the Stern love parade but he has just as much to thank T&T for. If he hadn't been selected so often for the national squads (even when under performing!) he would have never had the oppertunity to score (and throw away) all them goals. He has been a great servant but that doesn't mean we should just give praise regardless of what he does on the pitch. IMHO he hasn't played that well fuh T&T in some time. I don't think he should start games (my opinion). All countries have players that get stick from media and fans. Why T&T should treat Stern any different, he is ah big man....he could take it......usually  ::) .

« Reply #991 on: March 29, 2009, 06:30:46 PM »
Not to rain on the Stern love parade but he has just as much to thank T&T for. If he hadn't been selected so often for the national squads (even when under performing!) he would have never had the oppertunity to score (and throw away) all them goals. He has been a great servant but that doesn't mean we should just give praise regardless of what he does on the pitch. IMHO he hasn't played that well fuh T&T in some time. I don't think he should start games (my opinion). All countries have players that get stick from media and fans. Why T&T should treat Stern any different, he is ah big man....he could take it......usually  ::) .
He wouldn't have been selected so many times by several different coaches if he wasn't the best. 

« Reply #992 on: March 29, 2009, 06:33:11 PM »
Where d Mats appreciation thread after all we unbeaten in d hex.

« Reply #993 on: March 29, 2009, 06:35:48 PM »
for real i want to a man make a thread like that. hmm  :devil:

« Reply #994 on: March 29, 2009, 06:36:21 PM »

You just like to chook fire.... :devil:

« Reply #995 on: March 29, 2009, 06:36:54 PM »
Trend?

« Reply #996 on: March 29, 2009, 06:37:19 PM »

« Reply #997 on: March 29, 2009, 06:38:41 PM »
Trend?

Is a trend 2 big up peeps who nuff peeps feel is hound.

« Reply #998 on: March 29, 2009, 06:40:07 PM »
Stern John

« Reply #999 on: March 29, 2009, 06:40:34 PM »

Yuh on de wrong thread kakahole ,just search de forum and  yuh go find nuff other thread putting down #14 ,choose 1 and yuh cud add de manure yuh just post above .

« Reply #1000 on: March 29, 2009, 06:40:34 PM »
He wouldn't have been selected so many times by several different coaches if he wasn't the best. 

I beg to differ....more recently it has been a selection based on reputation and past glory rather than form. Just ask Scotland, Roberts, Sealy and Jones who have all missed out at various stages in the past though playing better than John. Don't get me wrong he is still a good player but I just don't think he deserves praise for his current contribution.

« Reply #1001 on: March 29, 2009, 06:45:09 PM »

Yuh on de wrong thread kakahole ,just search de forum and  yuh go find nuff other thread putting down #14 ,choose 1 and yuh cud add de manure yuh just post above .

Oh dear!!! I seem to have offended someone. Point taken, ah go leave yuh to yuh love-in

« Reply #1002 on: March 29, 2009, 06:45:57 PM »
The only reason I went GErmany was the foot of stern John. Nuff said

« Reply #1003 on: March 29, 2009, 06:49:45 PM »

Well said had 2 tell some fellas dat at d under 2o game who was chattin nonsense bout how he goalis v B'dos like we does play Portugual/Brazil and Spain often.

« Reply #1004 on: March 29, 2009, 07:12:21 PM »

Oh dear!!! I seem to have offended someone. Point taken, ah go leave yuh to yuh love-in

Buh bye ...
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 07:18:22 PM by berris »

« Reply #1005 on: March 29, 2009, 07:29:31 PM »
I rather start Stern in front of KJ anytime.

The man does find himself in some good scoring position and i think he really hustling these last few matches.

« Reply #1006 on: March 29, 2009, 07:38:57 PM »
While here please join the most populated and popular Stern John group on facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?sid=41ce0720d648126ac200cdfbd85ceaec&gid=48916803260

Here are some testimonies by some passionate yet unsatisfied customers.

"stern john is one massive gigantic shit hound...dat man will miss he funeral...." - K. Gittens wrote

"stern "off-side" john. i neva see a man off-side so. d 1 goal we get in world cup, d man was off-side"- N. Pierre

"wait na...  dis man does still play football?? steups" - D. Sandy

"ALL YUH SHOULDA BUY A COMPASS FOR DE MAN FOR CHRISTMAS!!!" - D. Kirton
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 07:44:58 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #1007 on: March 29, 2009, 07:46:58 PM »

:devil: :devil:

« Reply #1008 on: March 29, 2009, 07:49:34 PM »
While here please join the most populated and popular Stern John group on facebook
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?sid=41ce0720d648126ac200cdfbd85ceaec&gid=48916803260

"stern john is one massive gigantic shit hound...dat man will miss he funeral...." - K. Gittens wrote

"stern "off-side" john. i neva see a man off-side so. d 1 goal we get in world cup, d man was off-side"- N. Pierre

hahahahaha oh geeeeeedddd lol  :D

« Reply #1009 on: March 29, 2009, 07:55:59 PM »

hahahahaha oh geeeeeedddd lol  :D
is all kicks ehhh. I wish Stern all the best, cuz its bess for we too

« Reply #1010 on: March 29, 2009, 08:03:14 PM »
Big up the Stern Buss them on Wed.

« Reply #1011 on: March 29, 2009, 11:01:41 PM »

Germany?  How many years ago that was?

« Reply #1012 on: March 30, 2009, 12:06:04 AM »

Stern John is my horse!!! haul all ah allyuh hating sc**ts!!!

« Reply #1013 on: March 30, 2009, 12:49:06 AM »

Germany?  How many years ago that was?

3 years arrow, and its been the same crap ppl been talking about stern for 5 years including last WCQ rounds if you forget

Offline Peter

« Reply #1014 on: March 30, 2009, 01:24:59 AM »
I appreciate all you've done for this country Stern! Don't study all the criticism, there are many of us out here who love you as our fellow countryman and national player.

I know the man isn't the perfect player, but on so many important occasions hes showed up and scored goals for this ungrateful nation. You don't have to say hes Maradona, but don't abuse and deride the man. He is one of the few players on our team that anytime we don't do well or he messes up, he looks visibly hurt about it. The man obvious loves his country(in mould of how Beckham loves England), we can at least return the love and not aforementioned abuse and derision, even if he has his periods of less than stellar scoring form.

It have so many Trinidadians who does leave here and don't look back, we should at least show some appreciation for those who show genuine commitment and love for this nation like Stern John does.

Kudos to you Stern John and stay strong!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #1015 on: March 30, 2009, 02:59:39 PM »
its time to bring stern on as a super sub, condense all his attempts in the last 15 20 minutes attack

« Reply #1016 on: March 30, 2009, 03:48:06 PM »

I beg to differ....more recently it has been a selection based on reputation and past glory rather than form. Just ask Scotland, Roberts, Sealy and Jones who have all missed out at various stages in the past though playing better than John. Don't get me wrong he is still a good player but I just don't think he deserves praise for his current contribution.

Isn't that our entire team selection process right now? If this team was representing JA, you would have heard much different reports on the team.

« Reply #1017 on: March 30, 2009, 04:14:10 PM »
Stern has done yoe-man service for TT. His legacy is set. But TT scoring problem is our underperforming mid-field play and our inability too string 4 consecutive passes instead of hitting a long for Stern between two defenders. It happends 80% of the matches. To foot, to foot, to f___ing foot.

« Reply #1018 on: March 30, 2009, 04:17:01 PM »
Stern has done yoe-man service for TT. His legacy is set. But TT scoring problem is our underperforming mid-field play and our inability too string 4 consecutive passes instead of hitting a long for Stern between two defenders. It happends 80% of the matches. To foot, to foot, to f___ing foot.
If I tried I couldn't put it better.

« Reply #1019 on: March 31, 2009, 09:34:17 PM »
Bristol City boss Gary Johnson has appealed the club’s fans to give Stern John a chance. Signed from Southampton on loan until the end of the season, the 32-year-old striker has still to win over a majority of Bristol City fans. The Trinidad & Tobago international has scored only twice since arriving at Ashton Gate in October and has come in for criticism from supporters, some of whom question his commitment to the cause.

But manager Johnson believes John’s languid demeanour can be misleading and he feels Bristol City fans have been slow to recognise the former Premier League marksman’s qualities. He said: “Sometimes fans want to pick out someone to be a scapegoat and that has happened to Stern on occasions. “I think it’s down to the impression he gives off and it’s definitely unfair. “As a manager, it’s up to me to pick the best team in the best interests of the football club. I have to be single-minded and not listen to what other people are saying.” Southampton‘s leading scorer last season, John is determined to earn a City deal.

Although the former Birmingham star has struggled to hold down a regular place in Johnson’s Championship starting line-up, he has still played a significant part in Bristol City’s rise up the table. An experienced campaigner, John has consistently created chances for others and helped bring out the best in 22-year-old Nicky Maynard.

Back in the side for last weekend’s game at Derby , he also started against Coventry on Tuesday and is expected to feature in Sunday’s match with Cardiff at Ashton Gate. Johnson remains happy with the Trinidadian’s contribution. He said: “Stern is one of those players who does a lot of things which go unnoticed. “He’s played in the Premier League and in the World Cup and he gives us that little bit of quality in the final third.”