March 28, 2024, 05:30:16 AM

Should Stern John be playing in this world cup campaign

yes
8 (61.5%)
no
5 (38.5%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Author Topic: Stern John Thread  (Read 295642 times)

Offline leon

Re: #14 IS D WORSE TING IN A TUGS
« Reply #450 on: May 31, 2006, 05:27:18 PM »
Touches u are right...
TNT won't be able to get away with being 2- 0 at halftime and come back second half and win 3-2 as they did to the Vincentians in the qualifiers....
This aint no joke ting..

« Reply #451 on: May 31, 2006, 05:28:22 PM »
... but Touches.... de ppl and dem say:

If Better can't be done.... Let de worse continue!!  :-X

But what funny is... if it was Disgruntled post dis.... he woulda done get lynch!

« Reply #452 on: May 31, 2006, 05:28:56 PM »
ummm Touches when ya finish exposing meh whip ya think ya could return it where ya find it ?

God knows why i didn't watch dat game yes. up to now i ain't hear one person say something positive about the team on their way to dey WC

Everytime i come in dey forum normally i scann de website.....

"Soca Warriors’ get Welsh lesson" and now this "Slovenia spank T&T 3-1".   WHA' NEXT  >:(

steups

« Reply #453 on: May 31, 2006, 05:31:33 PM »
It is not the result that bothers me.

It is the performance or rather lack thereof that needs work.

I am simply of the view we are not ready.

I more than anyone else want TT to win some games and advance.

But I cannot see it happening with that brand, that defence and that striker.

I just dont want us be embarrassed when we play our three games.

Lemme not call no names...........but some of alyuh posters gettin orn like a person who boil a pot of white rice, put orn a pair brown shades and eating it and bawling the pelau tasting good.

Face the reality and doe let the patriotism goggles blind yuh.

We in white rice mode and we ent eating nice atall.

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #454 on: May 31, 2006, 05:35:57 PM »
is like my coach always used to tell us.....ur only as good as ur last game!!

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #455 on: May 31, 2006, 05:46:24 PM »

Right now ah sure yuh have real waggonist searching google to figure out who is #14

Offline prodigy23

« Reply #456 on: May 31, 2006, 06:01:21 PM »
I ain't go lie, that mortal combat anology was real funny :rotfl:

but seriously give d number 14 thing a rest, get over it. this so called worst thing in tugs is we best hope, so u might as well get used to it for now!!!
thanks

« Reply #457 on: May 31, 2006, 06:09:31 PM »
the thing i agree with most is the Momentum factor... we create none of it... we are sticky and hesitant... I see only three players on our team that create good attacking Momentum and they arnt the best player necessarily...

those players are, Latapy, Birchall and Wise.

All the others can string up passes and beats once or twice... but they cant put it in the net and it is sorely frustrating to watch.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #458 on: May 31, 2006, 06:11:40 PM »
I was in a self imposed silence since the Arsenal game, but I real vex with this side.

I sorry for Shaka but both he and the defence is to blame for all d shit goals and we start back shadowing and pointin. Bring Back Ince yes put Ince in the post for the Czech game.

I will maintain my WC prediction as nothing has shown me otherwise but yuh know what.

I also really want to see Ince in goal for the Czech game; at least to see the man in action. That said  Jack is still the #1 keeper.

What are your predictions for the WC?

« Reply #459 on: May 31, 2006, 06:16:42 PM »
I am a huge Stern John fan  but today he shoullda finish 1 of the 3....

still he is 100000000 times better than "the socalled furture" kenwyne jones hoo 2 me is a shithound

was it now like 2 goals in 15caps

when you f**king reach 65 in 93 den you cud start till den

to all you forumites take a royal f**k off

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #460 on: May 31, 2006, 06:21:52 PM »

still he is 100000000 times better than "the socalled furture" kenwyne jones hoo 2 me is a shithound

:applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #461 on: May 31, 2006, 06:27:03 PM »
shut up!!!i figure it out... Bennie trying to confuffle the world b4 the WC!!!! and as for stern i dont think u should complain... although he didnt put away his chances he still got alotta them and tended to be in the best positions we got throughout the game

And what does that mean exactly about he got alot of chances and was in the best positions,look here me out here the best defense is a great offense and if yuh ent scoring,get somebody-else to do it.

I here man saying he go score in the world cup,he go light it up,and this is all based upon what he has accomplished against what mostly mediocre opposition,it's not to say we play shit and win,we play shit and lose,so there goes the saying out the door,the ugliest of wins is better than the prettiest of lorses.

And in the end how much chances  does one need to prove himself worthy of the praise given to him.........        

Offline prodigy23

« Reply #462 on: May 31, 2006, 06:30:24 PM »

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :cheers:

« Reply #463 on: May 31, 2006, 06:34:59 PM »

if you going to talk about how much goals Jones score in his 15 games then you have to talk about how much of those caps he get playing midfield and defence and then after that you have to talk about how much games he only get to come on as a sub later in the game.

If Stern is the man getting pick every game, and he playing whole game for the most part, none of the other forwards will have as much goals as him.  It would be good to see Scotland get a decent opportunity.  

« Reply #464 on: May 31, 2006, 06:37:41 PM »
All ah you just shut up and give the boys a break!  An anyone who think that going to the 2nd round was a certainty and that because they lose all of a sudden they can't play are the ones who need the bull pistle.  They go do deh best and we go still root for them.  They belong to us!  Go Warriors!

Offline #8

« Reply #465 on: May 31, 2006, 06:40:58 PM »

if you going to talk about how much goals Jones score in his 15 games then you have to talk about how much of those caps he get playing midfield and defence and then after that you have to talk about how much games he only get to come on as a sub later in the game.

If Stern is the man getting pick every game, and he playing whole game for the most part, none of the other forwards will have as much goals as him.  It would be good to see Scotland get a decent opportunity.  

well said  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee

« Reply #466 on: May 31, 2006, 06:48:07 PM »

Cheyenne dred... you know im a big Stern supporter too... but the man should have finished 3 of his 3 chances... and Kenwyne is the future... he is a raw talent yes... but he has the most potential out of all our other strikers.

« Reply #467 on: May 31, 2006, 06:54:45 PM »
It is not the result that bothers me.

It is the performance or rather lack thereof that needs work.

I am simply of the view we are not ready.

I more than anyone else want TT to win some games and advance.

But I cannot see it happening with that brand, that defence and that striker.

I just dont want us be embarrassed when we play our three games.

Lemme not call no names...........but some of alyuh posters gettin orn like a person who boil a pot of white rice, put orn a pair brown shades and eating it and bawling the pelau tasting good.

Face the reality and doe let the patriotism goggles blind yuh.

We in white rice mode and we ent eating nice atall.

Watch d side Beenie play.
Yorke in d back.
You really tink u can judge our performance from that?
No way.
All this is training. Allyuh gettin frustrated for nuttin.

« Reply #468 on: May 31, 2006, 06:57:23 PM »

ok fair enuff.....   Started as ST against USA ...0 goals

Started as ST against Guatemala ...0 goals

Started as ST against Atlanta Silverbacks..... 0 goals

Started as ST against Alianza Lima......0 Goals

Started as ST against Bermuda......1 Goal

Came on as ST against Panama......0 Goals

Came on as ST against Honduras(gold cup)....0 Goals

Came on as ST against Panama (gold cup).....0 Goals

Came on as ST against USA.....0 Goals

Came on as ST against Panama....0 Goals

Came on as ST against Bahrain....0 Goals

Started as ST against Bahrain....0 Goals

Started as ST against Peru.... 1 Goal

Started as ST against Austria Wien...1 Goal

Started as ST against Wales .... 0 Goals

As a Striker Kenwyne Jones has scored 3 goals in 15 games........ Yeh but he is so much better than Stern John and uis the future of TnT football....Yeh Effing Rite!

« Reply #469 on: May 31, 2006, 06:59:06 PM »
ok fair enuff.....   Started as ST against USA ...0 goals

AS a Striker Kenwyne Jones has scored 3 goals in 15 games........ Yeh but he is so much better than Stern John and uis the future of TnT football....Yeh Effing Rite!

Cheyenne dred... he is young and unpolished of course he isnt going to be a huge goal socring phenom from the get go... yuh have to have patience... he is plenty younger than Stern and is much more so the "future" of our football... If Stern was fit like Yorke i would agree that he could still make another world cup but unfortunately he isnt...

so dont always judge the man by his stastics.

Offline 1989

« Reply #470 on: May 31, 2006, 06:59:45 PM »

Right now ah sure yuh have real waggonist searching google to figure out who is #14

LOL!!
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #471 on: May 31, 2006, 07:06:50 PM »

Wey you feel it is????  Yuh feel stern get orn de team jes so one day????? Is de lil opportunity he get on TNT team from de early days ah Yorke and Latas dat bring he here today. De lil 20, 30 minutes he get in dem matches he was bussin net dat bring he to be de most lethal attacker we have today . Man doh jes get freeco ting jes so brudda an doh have to earn dey keep. Work yuh ass off and wait for de day you get ah break.

As is right now nobody scoring regularly odder dan stern.

Offline 1989

« Reply #472 on: May 31, 2006, 07:09:00 PM »

I was in a self imposed silence since the Arsenal game, but I real vex with this side.

It is painfully obvious we ent beating nobody with that brand we playing and what is worse is we get three from a shit side.

Slovenia ent play nuttin and alyuh just looking for excuse.......

I realise many of you all didnt see the 1st half as the stream wasnt running then.

If you did, you woulda see how we didn't have a clue..........that first goal 7 men in our area vs 3 clueless TT defenders.

Yorke playing first stopper and we just ent have a clue going fwd.

We couldnt come out our half for the first 20 min .

The second goal shaka do shit and a man tuck it in.

But I notice alyuh ent talk about the man who for me was the Goat of the game.

This #14 fella.

Who making excuse for he today.

#14 Get this in yuh head and all the other men on the field......

OK fair enough.... How many goals does Yorke have again? 15? That's it??  With Latapy in the area all these 20 years and he only has 15 goals?  
Stern is a boss.  
If Stern was mess, then Yorke should have compensated - but quite FRANKLY he CAN'T.
Stern has over 4 times the goals of Yorke, and over twice the goals of Latapy.  Right now Brazil has only produce ONE player that has more goals than Stern.  One man can't do everything, let Yorke shoot instead of doing a pass to Stern in the penalty box (in the first half) that Stern has to twist to shoot.  Let ANYBODY, for that matter score more than Stern over 20 10 matches and I will rest my case.

You know what?!!  Beenhakker should have really rested Stern in that Guatemala game... All you #14 people would be cussing praising Yorke ::)

« Reply #473 on: May 31, 2006, 07:09:35 PM »

It's ok if you want to keep supporting #14 blindly, after all even the coach of our national team doesn't seem to know how to differentiate a good striker from one who purging regular.  But Jones aint no shithoud.

How many of those 15 games has Jones actually started and played a full 90?
How many of those games did he start at striker? (BSC had him playing right wing back in the earlies)
How many games did he play against the Caribbean minnows in Shell Cup to pad his stats?

Anyway its not Stern's fault nah.  It's Beenie who insists on playing him a full 90 EVERY f*cking game when men like Glen can't even get a 10 minute run to prepare to face some of the best defenders in the world.
Even BSC would have been embarrassed to be associated with Beenie's decisions in this match - 10 DAYS BEFORE THE WORLD CUP!!
Cyd playing center back when he's played right back all his life
Edwards playing right back when he's probably our most creative player going forward
Sancho benching when he's our next most accomplished backup central defender and he's short on int'l match practice
Yorke our best midfielder who's played striker all his life, marshalling the back line
Stern playing a full 90 regardless of anything and everything that transpires on the field

Anyway no sense complaining...allyuh like it so!!

« Reply #474 on: May 31, 2006, 07:13:16 PM »
Started as ST against USA ...0 goals

« Reply #475 on: May 31, 2006, 07:14:56 PM »

As a Striker Kenwyne Jones has scored 3 goals in 15 games........ Yeh but he is so much better than Stern John and uis the future of TnT football....Yeh Effing Rite!

ok, just for argument's sake (I done after this because I can't change Beenie mind and I feel Stern due for a scoring spree), over that time period you listed there Stern play 19 games by my count (10 in the Hex, 3 in the GC, 2 against Bahrain and 1 each against Iceland, Wales, Austria Wien and Slovenia, correct me if I'm wrong) and scored 5 in the Hex (1 in each game against Panama, 2 against Guatemala and 2 against Mexico), 1 against Slovenia and 1 against Wales for a total of 7 goals in those 19 games.  Now is that really so much better than 3 in 15 when Stern starting all the time and Kenwyne come on as a sub in 6 of his 15 games?

edit: 1+1+2+2 = 6 goals in the Hex, so I apologize for my poor algebra.  So 8 goals in 19 games, is a reasonable return as a standalone statistic.  I'll leave it to others to decide if it's reasonable in context (quality of opposition etc)
« Last Edit: May 31, 2006, 08:01:42 PM by daryn »

« Reply #476 on: May 31, 2006, 07:17:07 PM »
Small Mag

I have resigned myself to seeing Stern start every match and I accept that he is our #1 Striker.

But When he play shit I calling him out.......same way I will applaud him if he do good.

I just want the man score.....thats all.

If is tough love he need and he cuss we as fans after he score like in the Guatemala game thats no scene....but just score the government ball nah man.

I never see a set of men defend a shit performance like alyuh on this site....and turn and twist it round all how and look to call man waggonist and naysayers and all kinda ting when all we simply want is the team to play better.

I was silent before but I go start back posting...I going and rile up alyuh tail here on this board.

Alyuh does accept mediocrity......... but not me...I want and I expecting more from this side....and I havent even set meh standards too high....I know full well what we are capable or not capable of.

As I will repeat again...........I ent mind we lorse a game........but it is the performance that matters.........TT not performing.

All d training game and beenie experiementing comment etc...is alyuh way of shutting out reality, of providing a lil sense of mental comfort so alyuh could sleep good at night.

Lemme tell alyuh something.....I doe be surprised when TT lorse a game.....I does be surprised we win.....and this side ent do nuttin yet to change my perception of this team.

But I wishing them all the best, may they put they best foot fwd and I hope #14 find the back of the net in the three games that count.

Offline 1989

« Reply #477 on: May 31, 2006, 07:17:26 PM »

As a Striker Kenwyne Jones has scored 3 goals in 15 games........

Thanks for bringing the point out loud and clear!  But let's take it further.

Celebrity Yorke has 15 from 51 games playing as a striker - and that is counting the 2 he scored against Iceland!  Do you really think that he would have survived another international team with that record?  HELL NO!
Stern worked his way up and nobody is a better striker than him - not Kenwyne, not Samuel, not Latapy (although he is not a striker), and SURE AS HELL NOT Yorke.

« Reply #478 on: May 31, 2006, 07:20:23 PM »

Wey you feel it is????  Yuh feel stern get orn de team jes so one day????? Is de lil opportunity he get on TNT team from de early days ah Yorke and Latas dat bring he here today. De lil 20, 30 minutes he get in dem matches he was bussin net dat bring he to be de most lethal attacker we have today . Man doh jes get freeco ting jes so brudda an doh have to earn dey keep. Work yuh ass off and wait for de day you get ah break.

As is right now nobody scoring regularly odder dan stern.

with all due respect, what Stern was doing in the 20, 30 minutes he was getting back in the day have surprisingly little to do with who is the best man for the job now. 

« Reply #479 on: May 31, 2006, 07:20:38 PM »

As a Striker Kenwyne Jones has scored 3 goals in 15 games........

Thanks for bringing the point out loud and clear!  But let's take it further.

Celebrity Yorke has 15 from 51 games playing as a striker - and that is counting the 2 he scored against Iceland!  Do you really think that he would have survived another international team with that record?  HELL NO!
Stern worked his way up and nobody is a better striker than him - not Kenwyne, not Samuel, not Latapy (although he is not a striker), and SURE AS HELL NOT Yorke.

wait wait wait wait.... 1989 if you are trying to say that Stern is a better striker than Dwight then you must be a complete moron...