April 19, 2024, 12:45:38 AM

Should Stern John be playing in this world cup campaign

yes
8 (61.5%)
no
5 (38.5%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Author Topic: Stern John Thread  (Read 297810 times)

Give Stern a chance urges Bristol boss
« Reply #1020 on: April 01, 2009, 05:41:52 AM »
Give Stern a chance urges Bristol boss

Shaun Fuentes

Bristol City boss Gary Johnson has appealed the club’s fans to give Stern John a chance. Signed from Southampton on loan until the end of the season, the 32-year-old striker has still to win over a majority of Bristol City fans. The Trinidad & Tobago international has scored only twice since arriving at Ashton Gate in October and has come in for criticism from supporters, some of whom question his commitment to the cause.

But manager Johnson believes John’s languid demeanour can be misleading and he feels Bristol City fans have been slow to recognise the former Premier League marksman’s qualities. He said: “Sometimes fans want to pick out someone to be a scapegoat and that has happened to Stern on occasions. “I think it’s down to the impression he gives off and it’s definitely unfair. “As a manager, it’s up to me to pick the best team in the best interests of the football club. I have to be single-minded and not listen to what other people are saying.” Southampton‘s leading scorer last season, John is determined to earn a City deal.

Although the former Birmingham star has struggled to hold down a regular place in Johnson’s Championship starting line-up, he has still played a significant part in Bristol City’s rise up the table. An experienced campaigner, John has consistently created chances for others and helped bring out the best in 22-year-old Nicky Maynard.

Back in the side for last weekend’s game at Derby , he also started against Coventry on Tuesday and is expected to feature in Sunday’s match with Cardiff at Ashton Gate. Johnson remains happy with the Trinidadian’s contribution. He said: “Stern is one of those players who does a lot of things which go unnoticed. “He’s played in the Premier League and in the World Cup and he gives us that little bit of quality in the final third.”

Re: STERN JOHN APPRECIATION TREND!!!
« Reply #1021 on: April 01, 2009, 06:41:30 AM »
And he will be starting tonight ..alongside KJ . ;)

Re: Bristol City fans urged to give Stern John a chance
« Reply #1022 on: April 01, 2009, 06:43:04 AM »
How everybody have to be begging for stern so?

I sensing ah double on Sunday!!

Well is he and KJ starting tonite so a double is all in order .

Re: Bristol City fans urged to give Stern John a chance
« Reply #1023 on: April 01, 2009, 06:47:10 AM »
stern is mi boy but he done. Is time for stern to move back to di MLS or a local outfit like Jabloteh or Public. Stern days is done as a striker , I dont think he will  be plying his trade in england too long again.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:    apart from a jamaican wanna be pr!ck, yuh cud now add comedian tuh yuh resume .

Re: Stern John
« Reply #1024 on: April 01, 2009, 08:03:25 PM »
miss 3 sitters today.  Where Cornell Glen?

« Reply #1025 on: April 01, 2009, 08:04:18 PM »
?

Offline trini warrior

« Reply #1026 on: April 01, 2009, 08:05:06 PM »

wow

3 sitters??????
maybe i was watching ads when that happened

but i guess when men calling any chance you get a sitter that's a good sign

« Reply #1027 on: April 01, 2009, 08:05:21 PM »

sitters?  :rotfl:

Cornell Glen cyah even trap properly..... steups

« Reply #1028 on: April 01, 2009, 08:07:32 PM »
....should never don a tnt shirt again. If i see him with his palms up, bitching at his teammates as he walks around the field and miss chance after chance i will break my tv. get that fat f**k out

« Reply #1029 on: April 01, 2009, 08:09:28 PM »
And he jogging around tired in the 2nd half.  Somebody get a wheelchair for him, he old

« Reply #1030 on: April 01, 2009, 08:12:16 PM »
Games like tonight is the reason why he WILL start every game.. Other forwards don't have a clue how to play with their back to goal.

« Reply #1031 on: April 01, 2009, 08:13:46 PM »
And he jogging around tired in the 2nd half.  Somebody get a wheelchair for him, he old

was our best forward today. 100% better hold up play and distribution than KJ, who looked really out of sorts. thought Stern played well, but missed one golden opportunity when he mistrapped Carlos' cross at the far post after a superb run by the wide man. otherwise, i doh see how anyone can fault him tonight. the team didn't have 3 sitters all game  ???

« Reply #1032 on: April 01, 2009, 08:14:17 PM »
Allyuh ent tired talk assness?

Offline Augi

« Reply #1033 on: April 01, 2009, 08:14:36 PM »
Whats do all u haters have to say about him now?????????????????????????????????

Apparently a lot boss. Listening to CTNT and every man on the street they interview talking bad bout Stern.A man even ask for a baseball bat to beat Stern.Why is Stern hated so?

I don't know what game ppl were looking at. Stern had chances tonight because he worked for them.Running off the ball, and making passes.

« Reply #1034 on: April 01, 2009, 08:14:45 PM »

was our best forward today. 100% better hold up play and distribution than KJ, who looked really out of sorts. thought Stern played well, but missed one golden opportunity when he mistrapped Carlos' cross at the far post after a superb run by the wide man. otherwise, i doh see how anyone can fault him tonight. the team didn't have 3 sitters all game  ???

Filho, i dont know what game you watched. Stern did nothing all match long.

« Reply #1035 on: April 01, 2009, 08:14:51 PM »
Stern was not bad tonight.  By the way how all yuh could tell which forward was Stern, all ah dem ah carbon copies of each other.  NONE can create or cause havoc with the ball at his feet.

Blessings

Offline Augi

« Reply #1036 on: April 01, 2009, 08:17:08 PM »

wow

3 sitters??????
maybe i was watching ads when that happened

but i guess when men calling any chance you get a sitter that's a good sign

true that.Maybe is because Stern has done so much for us, we hold to a higher standard.

« Reply #1037 on: April 01, 2009, 08:20:39 PM »
It's part of our culture to waste down heroes

I am not surprised... If he was really the downfault of the team i would understand the verbal attacks...

But being singled out when we could easily pick 5 or 6 other players who really made a mess of it tonight it's very clear.

« Reply #1038 on: April 01, 2009, 08:21:53 PM »
Fellas good yes,how men could come blast stern and say nnothing about kj

« Reply #1039 on: April 01, 2009, 08:23:24 PM »

was our best forward today. 100% better hold up play and distribution than KJ, who looked really out of sorts. thought Stern played well, but missed one golden opportunity when he mistrapped Carlos' cross at the far post after a superb run by the wide man. otherwise, i doh see how anyone can fault him tonight. the team didn't have 3 sitters all game  ???
It's quite clear that he was our best foward and deserves a starting role in this team.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 08:27:49 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #1040 on: April 01, 2009, 08:25:48 PM »
imagine men berating Stern in front KJ.

KJ to me now is just like pre-2005 Dwight Yorke in a national shirt.

We need to move on from thinking premiership ballers are the best thing in a national shirt at CONCACAF level.

Imagine Carlos sweating more for the reserves and playing a class above KJ in national colours.

Dwight Yorke scored a hattrick vs Arsenal on sunday and didnt make a note on Wed WCQ vs Jamaica.

Go figure.

Stern fought hard tonight, mistrapped, but played good link up, and created a decent half chance in the first half.

« Reply #1041 on: April 01, 2009, 08:27:37 PM »
not really saying much but stern was the best payer tonight in a tt shirt.  doesn't mean much cause america dominate tt in every aspect.

Offline trini warrior

« Reply #1042 on: April 01, 2009, 08:28:54 PM »

We need to move on from thinking premiership ballers are the best thing in a national shirt at CONCACAF level.

Imagine Carlos sweating more for the reserves and playing a class above KJ in national colours.

Dwight Yorke scored a hattrick vs Arsenal on sunday and didnt make a note on Wed WCQ vs Jamaica.

Go figure.

Stern fought hard tonight, mistrapped, but played good link up, and created a decent half chance in the first half.

kj was never one to create his own chances - and in this side he have no service

« Reply #1043 on: April 01, 2009, 08:31:36 PM »

Go figure.

You insulting Yorke now man...

Yorke always had an impeccable touch and technique... ALWAYS

Jones looking like Balrog come out to take ah sweat

« Reply #1044 on: April 01, 2009, 08:33:37 PM »

Go figure.

You insulting Yorke now man...

Yorke always had an impeccable touch and technique... ALWAYS

Jones looking like Balrog come out to take ah sweat

Oh gawd..... I eh go lie, in light of the madness on the field tonight this is the best i see all night

« Reply #1045 on: April 01, 2009, 08:34:26 PM »
Stern gave it his all in dis game... nobody better not come talk no shit about de man tonight.

« Reply #1046 on: April 01, 2009, 08:36:01 PM »
He take a man with more heart Cornell Glenn spot. for sake Cornell plays with more heart than fatty Jason Scotland

« Reply #1047 on: April 01, 2009, 08:36:52 PM »
Stern gave it his all in dis game... nobody better not come talk no shit about de man tonight.

Stern mighta be the best player on the field tonight... which go to show how low we reach

oh god fellas ah on kicks... ease meh up

« Reply #1048 on: April 01, 2009, 08:37:08 PM »

Yeah he played very well....held up the ball, showed good composure on the ball and brought players into the attack very well....

Only once his touch let him down when he was in the clear for a scoring chance in the second half... Other than that a very good showing.

KJ on the other hand was piss poor... really really awful. 

« Reply #1049 on: April 01, 2009, 08:37:24 PM »
Ah on facebook watching a setta Trinis bad talk him.