March 28, 2024, 09:51:37 AM

Should Stern John be playing in this world cup campaign

yes
8 (61.5%)
no
5 (38.5%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Author Topic: Stern John Thread  (Read 295672 times)

Re: Stern John's in line to start after good return
« Reply #1290 on: October 20, 2009, 09:28:50 AM »
Go Stern!!!!  stop missing...buss them.

« Reply #1291 on: October 20, 2009, 09:43:14 AM »
Stern John could tonight make his first start since the opening day of the season having impressed on his return at the weekend.

« Reply #1292 on: October 20, 2009, 10:42:37 AM »
kyah keep up wid de backward moves ah we star players nah ... is crystal palace now is it ?

« Reply #1293 on: October 20, 2009, 11:19:18 AM »
Best news i hear all day........

« Reply #1294 on: October 20, 2009, 12:35:55 PM »
kyah keep up wid de backward moves ah we star players nah ... is crystal palace now is it ?

Where have you been, yuh late sah?!  ???
Stern has been with CP since the start of the season but got injured and is now coming back to do his stuff.
Hopefully he'll remain injury free for the rest of the season, maintain his starting position and help Palace climb up the table!

Go Stern go!! Show them why you are respected as one of CONCACAF's highest ever goal scorers!
« Last Edit: October 20, 2009, 12:38:17 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1295 on: October 20, 2009, 12:49:49 PM »
He went from League 1 Southampton to Championship Palace. Backward?

« Reply #1296 on: October 20, 2009, 01:07:45 PM »
He went from League 1 Southampton to Championship Palace. Backward?

Leave the man in his ignorance nah, he rell late!!   8)
« Last Edit: October 20, 2009, 01:16:55 PM by Socapro »

Offline noize

« Reply #1297 on: October 20, 2009, 01:10:33 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ...damn U jus crawl out from under ah rock or wha???

« Reply #1298 on: October 20, 2009, 01:32:52 PM »

« Reply #1299 on: October 20, 2009, 01:35:37 PM »

Look like 14 is not jes he jersey # but also he place in de side.  He on de bench today.

« Reply #1300 on: October 20, 2009, 02:29:00 PM »

Look like 14 is not jes he jersey # but also he place in de side.  He on de bench today.
edit: Daiz y dey was down 2 1.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2009, 02:33:44 PM by maxg »

Stern seeks permanent deal
« Reply #1301 on: December 03, 2009, 06:10:32 AM »
Stern seeks permanent deal
By Carl Marston (Green'Un24)

STERN John would have no hesitation in signing a permanent deal with Ipswich Town, if the opportunity was to arise in January.

John's debut for Town coincided with the club's first away win of the season, thanks to a 2-1 success at Cardiff City on Sunday.

The Crystal Palace loanee impressed with his bustling performance up front, and he is expected to retain his place for this Saturday's trip to Bristol City.

Palace's financial troubles have not helped John's cause at Selhurst Park, and so the 33-year-old would jump at the chance to make his loan move permanent with Town.

He is currently on loan until the end of the year, which equates to just five more games. He will not be allowed to play against his parent Crystal Palace on Boxing Day.

"The chance to come to Ipswich was out of the blue," admitted John.

"But it didn't take me long to decide to come here. I have to take one step at a time, and see what happens in January, but for sure I'd like to stay longer.

"It didn't worry me coming here that the club was in the bottom three.

The incentive is to get out of it.

"My contract at Crystal Palace ends next summer, though with a possible one-year extension depending on appearances. But I'm a million miles away from that.

"The club has financial problems, and it's in a tricky situation.

"I dislocated my elbow during the first game of the season, and I've been working my socks off to try and get back. I've had a few games, but I feel really fit and I felt good after the 90 minutes (at Cardiff)," added John.

Trinidad-born John, who has played more than 100 games for his country, began his career in England with Nottingham Forest.

He went on to play for Birmingham, where he enjoyed some Premier League action, before moving on to Coventry City, Sunderland, Southampton and Palace.

He has also celebrated promotion from the Championship while at Birmingham and later Sunderland, under Keane.

John confirmed: "I played under Roy (Keane) at Sunderland, so I know what he wants. He got the best out of me.

"A few of the players who have never worked with him might be uncomfortable to start with, but I know that if you put the work in, you'll get the results.

"And I know what it takes to get out of the Championship."

John started alongside Tamas Priskin at Cardiff, before teaming up with substitute Jon Stead during the second half. He missed a couple of first-half chances, but was generally a handful for Cardiff's back-line.

"I was delighted with the game. I thought we played really well and deserved the win," continued John.

"Of course we rode our luck at times, but we weathered the storm and we felt at half-time, even though we were a goal down, that the next team who scored would win the match.

"I'm surprised that Ipswich Town are down there (third-from-bottom), but then the Championship can be a very funny division. If you don't respect it, then you can struggle.

"But hopefully we can take momentum from the Cardiff win.

"You're only as good as your last game, and we'll be taking a lot of confidence into the Bristol City game," concluded John, who had a loan spell at Ashton Gate a year ago.

Re: Stern seeks permanent deal
« Reply #1302 on: December 03, 2009, 06:18:43 AM »
He should try and score some blasted goals first and then talk about permanent deal.

How long Stern John eh score a goal now for club or country ?

Every club he go to bankrupt.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2009, 06:42:26 AM by Sam »

« Reply #1303 on: December 03, 2009, 06:42:59 AM »
already ???

« Reply #1304 on: December 03, 2009, 08:02:16 AM »
He should try and score some blasted goals first and then talk about permanent deal.

How long Stern John eh score a goal now for club or country ?

Every club he go to bankrupt.
You wanted him score from his sick bed or play with a cast?

« Reply #1305 on: December 03, 2009, 08:04:56 AM »
You wanted him score from his sick bed or play with a cast?

Wait, he was sick for the past 2 years ? how long he eh score, again ?

Me eh vex with de man if he want a new deal, but stop de f00cking talking and just get the job done and a deal will come. He play one game, no goals and done begging for a pernament deal.

Same for Jones, only bark, bark and no goals.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #1306 on: December 03, 2009, 09:36:49 AM »
Sam, yuh ever score ah goal in yuh mudder cant life, . I bet yuh ride ah set ah facking pine in ah village league somewhere in Rio Claro..

why yuh doh shut yuh mudder cant
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #1307 on: December 03, 2009, 10:19:29 AM »
Sam, yuh ever score ah goal in yuh mudder cant life, . I bet yuh ride ah set ah facking pine in ah village league somewhere in Rio Claro..

Why you doh open your mudda cant lemma throw some f00cking pipe in she belly. Like Stern John f00king yuh.

I like Stern John, de man took us to de world cup, but I find he should just hush he ass and study about getting de job done and then talk about contract.

Nothing wrong with what I say.

« Reply #1308 on: December 03, 2009, 10:53:33 AM »

Why you doh open your mudda cant lemma throw some f00cking pipe in she belly.
Like Stern John f00king yuh.

I like Stern John, de man took us to de world cup, but I find he should just hush he ass and study about getting de job done and then talk about contract.

oh jesus christ  :rotfl: wayyyyy  :rotfl:

« Reply #1309 on: December 03, 2009, 10:07:39 PM »

Laaaaarwd have mussy !!  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #1310 on: December 04, 2009, 07:29:35 AM »

Why you doh open your mudda cant lemma throw some f00cking pipe in she belly. Like Stern John f00king yuh.

Sam, yuh good we...

« Reply #1311 on: December 07, 2009, 06:34:16 AM »

« Reply #1312 on: December 07, 2009, 08:36:26 AM »

« Reply #1313 on: December 07, 2009, 08:55:41 AM »
Stern John - is he any better?

OK Stern mek him eat he words
Dat chew up English he writing wit dey, look like he already start.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Ipswich Town extend Stern John loan from Crystal Palace
« Reply #1314 on: January 01, 2010, 12:39:50 PM »
Ipswich Town extend Stern John loan from Crystal Palace

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/i/ipswich_town/8437316.stm

Ipswich have extended the loan deal of Crystal Palace striker Stern John for another month, meaning he can face Blackpool in the FA Cup.

The 33-year-old Trinidad & Tobago international joined Town in November and has made four Championship starts, without scoring, for Roy Keane's side.

Ipswich won two and drew two of those games, with John missing the 3-1 defeat by Palace on Boxing Day.

He is expected to start on Saturday with Jon Stead suspended.
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Re: Ipswich Town extend Stern John loan from Crystal Palace
« Reply #1315 on: January 01, 2010, 01:37:43 PM »
gosh boy. big up stern.  the work continues.

Re: Ipswich Town extend Stern John loan from Crystal Palace
« Reply #1316 on: January 01, 2010, 02:11:54 PM »
Sky Sports News sources understand Crystal Palace players have not received their wages for December.

Cash-flow problems prevented the Championship club from paying the wages of their staff and players on time at the end of November.

The matter was resolved but Palace have now encountered the same trouble for a second month.

It is understood the players will receive their wages at some point next week.

Palace manager Neil Warnock gave his full backing to chairman Simon Jordan last month, saying he would continue to support him through a 'difficult period'.

Stern John has point to prove as Ipswich Town face Southampton
« Reply #1317 on: January 22, 2010, 08:40:12 AM »
Stern John has point to prove as Ipswich Town face Southampton
By Adam Leitch (This Is Hampshire)

STERN John will be aiming to show Alan Pardew what he missed out on tomorrow.

The Trinidadian trained with Saints following Pardew’s arrival last July, but joined Crystal Palace instead a few days later.

Pardew declared he was unhappy with the circumstances surrounding John’s departure, saying he wanted him to stay and believing that John wanted to remain at the club.

John hit back by saying he was keen to stay at Saints but the club had dithered about offering him a new deal.

“He (Pardew) knows the truth and I know the truth,” John said at the time. “I told them I wanted to stay but they never sorted out a deal properly.”

John was sold by Roy Keane to Saints back in August 2007 as part of the deal which saw Kenywne Jones leave St Mary’s.

But Keane has been happy to hand him a regular run of games again after a year in the shadows John’s19 league goals – including two on the final day against Sheffield United – famously kept Nigel Pearson’s Saints out of the Championship relegation zone in 2007/08.

But the arrival of Jan Poortvliet, as well as Saints needing to reduce their wage bill, saw John initially out of favour the following season and then loaned to Bristol City in October 2008.

John only ever scored twice for the Robins, though, and quickly became a regular substitute under Gary Johnson.

He dislocated an elbow on his Palace debut in August and on his return to fitness struggled to get a regular game.

Keane swooped for the man he had sold two years earlier to bring him to Ipswich on loan, initially for the whole of December but recently extended to the end of this month.

John, who scored his first Town goal in the 3-2 home win over Coventry last weekend, could partner ex-Chester striker Jon Walters tomorrow.

Walters is Town’s joint top scorer with just six goals this season.

Keane could also be tempted to use teenage starlet Connor Wickham tomorrow.

Wickham was just 16 years and 11 days old when Keane gave him his first team debut last April.

He became Ipswich’s youngest ever player – and was 132 days younger than Theo Walcott was when he made his Saints debut against Wolves in 2005.

Wickham has started three league games this season with 11 sub appearances.

Re: Stern John has point to prove as Ipswich Town face Southampton
« Reply #1318 on: January 22, 2010, 10:52:48 AM »
Let's hope for a goalfest with David Connolly and Stern John hat tricks (and maybe a Reggie Lambe goal too) :)

Ipswich opt not to sign Stern John
« Reply #1319 on: January 28, 2010, 02:54:58 PM »
Ipswich opt not to sign Palace striker
By Richard Cawley (South London Press)

CRYSTAL Palace striker Stern John is heading back to Selhurst Park - after Ipswich decided not to extend his stay.

The Eagles forward has spent the last two months at Portman Road and has already stated he would be happy to sign for Roy Keane's men.

But the South London Press has received confirmation that Ipswich will not look to extend his stay once his loan spell expires this weekend - nor attempt to push through a permanent deal.

The news is a surprise as John has impressed for the Tractor Boys, and has not been on the losing side in the six Championship matches he has played.

His return will boost manager Neil Warnock's striking options, which have been depleted as Victor Moses has been banned from playing for the club by administrators P & A Partnership.